Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Cerulean Warbler in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

a. Breeding grounds -- Cerulean Warblers are traditionally associated with forested landscapes, particularly mature deciduous forest with large and tall trees and an open understory (Hamel 2000a). They are found in both wet bottomland forests as well as upland locations on mesic slopes. In Ontario, they also occupy older second-growth deciduous forests (Peck and James 1987; Jones and Robertson 2001). The Cerulean Warbler is usually considered an area-sensitive species (Robbins et al. 1992; Hamel 2000a). Minimum area requirements reported in the literature range from 20‑30 ha in Ohio to 1600 ha in Tennessee (Robbins et al. 1992; Hamel 2000a). In eastern Ontario, Cerulean Warblers have been found breeding successfully in forest fragments as small as 10 ha (Jones and Robertson unpublished data). The spatial distribution of forest patches (especially distance between suitable patches) undoubtedly plays an important role in settlement patterns and area sensitivity. This needs further study.

At smaller spatial scales, Cerulean Warblers exhibit strong preferences for certain microhabitats. Territories are usually characterized by well-spaced large trees, with high canopies and dense foliage cover in the upper midstory and canopy, and birds tend to avoid areas of dense understory (Hamel 2000a; Jones and Robertson 2001). Individuals spend the majority of their time in the upper reaches of the canopy. There appears to be no consistent tree species preference for nest locations (Oliarnyk and Robertson 1996; Hamel 2000a; Jones and Robertson 2001). Several researchers have reported on the apparent importance of internal canopy gaps as a component of successful Cerulean Warbler territories (Bent 1953; Harrison 1984; Oliarnyk and Robertson 1996).

In eastern Ontario, Cerulean Warblers do not use all parts of their territories equally (Barg 2002). Male Cerulean Warblers have distinct areas of high use (hereafter referred to as core areas) that are associated with concentrated singing activity. These core areas are both vegetatively and structurally distinct from the rest of the territory. In particular, core areas are dominated by bitternut hickory (Carya cordiformis), a species that is among the last to fully leaf-out in eastern Ontario. As the Cerulean Warbler song does not appear to be particularly well suited for transmission in densely forested habitats (Woodward 1995), it is hypothesized that males are selecting these core areas to maximize song propagation (Barg 2002). It appears that canopy configuration (e.g. foliage stratification, gap distribution, tree species distribution) may be an important predictor of breeding habitat suitability for this species.

b. Migration -- Very little substantive information exists on habitat requirements during migration. Individuals have been observed in lower montane wet forest in Belize (Parker 1994), as well as in primary and secondary forests in Guatemala (Land 1970), Costa Rica (Stiles and Skutch 1989) and Panama (Ridgely and Gwynne 1989).

c. Winter grounds -- Cerulean Warblers winter on the eastern slope of the Andes Mountains of South America in mature, humid evergreen forests. They also use modified forests (e.g. shade-coffee plantations) as overwinter habitats (Jones et al. 2000b, 2002).


Trends

In eastern Ontario, 70-80% of the original deciduous forest had been removed by the 1880s, largely through the establishment of settlers and the logging industry (Keddy 1994; OMNR 1997). However, shallow soils rendered much of the cleared land un-arable and, over the last century, there has been a gradual shift away from agriculture as a dominant economic force in the region. As a consequence, there has been substantial re-growth of forests in eastern Ontario; the average overall forest cover in eastern Ontario is expected to level out at approximately 40% (OMNR 1997). This re-growth parallels what has been observed in certain parts of the eastern United States over the last several decades (Askins 1993). However, without detailed assessments of site fidelity and reproductive success it is difficult to determine whether this apparent increase in habitat availability is paralleled by a simultaneous increase in habitat quality. Furthermore, this apparent increase in habitat availability is highly regionalized. In southwestern Ontario, mature growth stands are becoming increasingly rare, in part due to a lack of involvement by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources in the management of private woodlots (Friesen pers. comm. 2002).

On the wintering grounds in South America, the preferred habitats of Cerulean Warblers occur in a landscape that is also ideal for human settlement and agriculture, notably the production of coffee, cacao, tea, hill rice, and coca (Robbins et al. 1992; Stotz et al. 1996). Other than the Atlantic forests of Brazil, the humid montane forests of South America have been altered more drastically than any other South American forest type (Robbins et al. 1992; Stotz et al. 1996).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

The bulk of Cerulean Warbler habitat in Ontario is privately owned although relatively large numbers are found on public protected lands (Jones pers. obs.). At this point, more precise estimates on the numbers of birds breeding on these lands are unavailable. Based on preliminary evidence (Jones unpubl. data), we estimate that 10‑20% of the Canadian population is found on public protected lands but further surveys are needed to increase the precision and accuracy of this estimate.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Paruline azurée au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

a. Lieux de reproduction – On associe depuis longtemps la Paruline azurée aux régions boisées et surtout aux forêts de feuillus matures caractérisées par des arbres de grande taille et un sous-étage ouvert (Hamel, 2000a). On retrouve l’espèce dans les forêts de terres basses humides aussi bien qu’en terrain élevé sur les pentes mésiques. En Ontario, celle-ci occupe également de vieilles forêts de feuillus de seconde venue (Peck et James, 1987; Jones et Robertson, 2001). Généralement, on considère que la Paruline azurée est une espèce sensible à la superficie de l’habitat (Robbins et al., 1992; Hamel, 2000a). Selon la documentation, la superficie minimale nécessaire oscille entre 20 et 30 hectares en Ohio et est de 1 600 hectares au Tennessee (Robbins et al., 1992; Hamel, 2000a). Dans l’Est de l’Ontario, la Paruline azurée s’est reproduite dans des parties de forêts de seulement 10 hectares (Jones et Robertson, données inédites). La distribution spatiale des îlots forestiers (particulièrement la distance entre les îlots propices) joue sans aucun doute un rôle important dans la détermination des choix de lieux de nidification et dans la sensibilité à la superficie de l’habitat de la Paruline azurée; il faudrait étudier davantage cet aspect.

À plus petite échelle, la Paruline azurée montre des préférences marquées pour certains micro-habitats. On reconnaît habituellement les territoires par la présence de grands arbres bien espacés, avec de hauts couverts forestiers et un feuillage dense dans le haut de l’étage médian et le couvert, parce que les oiseaux ont tendance à éviter les endroits où le sous-étage est dense (Hamel, 2000a; Jones et Robertson, 2001). Les individus passent la majeure partie de leur temps dans le haut du couvert forestier. Il ne semble pas y avoir de préférence systématique quant au choix de l’essence forestière pour l’établissement des nids (Oliarnyk et Robertson, 1996; Hamel, 2000a; Jones et Robertson, 2001). Plusieurs chercheurs ont signalé l’importance apparente d’ouvertures à l’intérieur du couvert forestier pour l’établissement de territoires propices à la reproduction de l’espèce (Bent, 1953; Harrison, 1984; Oliarnyk et Robertson, 1996).

Dans l’Est de l’Ontario, les Parulines azurées n’utilisent pas toutes les parties de leur territoire de la même façon (Barg, 2002). Les mâles utilisent davantage certains secteurs (secteurs centraux), où se concentre la majeure partie de l’activité vocale. Dans chaque territoire, le secteur central se distingue par la végétation et la structure. Certains secteurs centraux en particulier sont dominés par le caryer cordiforme (Carya cordiformis), une des essences de l’Est de l’Ontario dont la feuillaison complète est la plus tardive. Comme le chant de la Paruline azurée ne semble pas particulièrement adapté pour assurer une portée efficace dans les forêts denses (Woodward, 1995), on suppose que les mâles choisissent ces secteurs centraux pour en maximiser la propagation (Barg, 2002). Il semble que la configuration du couvert forestier (p. ex. la stratification du feuillage et la répartition des essences et des ouvertures) puisse être une caractéristique importante de l’habitat de reproduction propice à l’espèce.

b. Migration– On possède peu de renseignements de fond sur les besoins en matière d’habitat de la Paruline azurée pendant les migrations. Des individus ont été observés dans des forêts alpestres humides à faible élévation au Belize (Parker, 1994), ainsi que dans des forêts primaires et secondaires du Guatemala (Land, 1970), du Costa Rica (Stiles et Skutch, 1989) et du Panama (Ridgely et Gwynne, 1989).

c. Aire d’hivernage – La Paruline azurée passe l’hiver sur le versant est des Andes, en Amérique du Sud, dans de vieilles forêts sempervirentes humides. Elle établit aussi ses quartiers dans des forêts modifiées, comme des plantations de caféiers sous couvert forestier (Jones et al., 2000b, 2002).


Tendances

Dans l’Est de l’Ontario, entre 70 et 80 p. 100 de la forêt caducifoliée originale a été défrichée avant les années 1880, en grande partie à cause de l’établissement de colons et de l’industrie forestière (Keddy, 1994; MRNO, 1997). Cependant, les sols minces ont rendu la plupart des terrains déboisés non cultivables, de sorte qu’au cours du dernier siècle, l’agriculture a graduellement perdu son statut de secteur économique dominant dans la région. Par conséquent, il y a eu une importante régénérescence des forêts; on s’attend à ce que le couvert forestier global moyen se stabilise à environ 40 p. 100 dans l’Est de l’Ontario (MRNO, 1997). Cette régénérescence correspond à ce qui a été observé dans certaines parties de l’Est des États-Unis au cours des dernières décennies (Askins, 1993). Toutefois, sans études détaillées de la fidélité au site et du succès de reproduction de la Paruline azurée, il est difficile de déterminer si cet accroissement apparent de la disponibilité de l’habitat est accompagné d’une hausse simultanée de la qualité de l’habitat. De plus, ce phénomène reste particulier à certaines régions. Dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario, les peuplements matures sont devenus de plus en plus rares, en partie à cause du manque d’engagement du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario dans la gestion des boisés privés (Friesen, comm. pers., 2002).

Dans l’aire d’hivernage d’Amérique du Sud, la Paruline azurée préfère des habitats qui sont aussi prisés par les humains pour la colonisation et l’agriculture, entre autres, pour la production de café, de cacao, de thé, de riz d’altitude et de coca (Robbins et al., 1992; Stotz et al., 1996). À l’exception des forêts de la côte atlantique du Brésil, les forêts alpestres humides d’Amérique du Sud ont été altérées plus fortement que n’importe quel autre type de forêt sud-américaine (Robbins et al., 1992; Stotz et al., 1996).


Protection de l’habitat et propriété des terrains

En Ontario, même si un nombre relativement élevé de Parulines azurées occupe des terres publiques protégées, la majeure partie de l’habitat de l’espèce appartient à des particuliers (Jones, obs. pers.). En ce moment, on ne possède pas d’estimation précise du nombre de Parulines azurées qui se reproduisent sur des terres publiques. En s’appuyant sur des données préliminaires (Jones, données inéd.), on estime qu’entre 10 et 20 p. 100 de la population du Canada se trouve sur des terres publiques protégées, mais il faudra mener d’autres études pour préciser cette estimation.