Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Cerulean Warbler in Canada

Biology

General

Despite broad public and scientific interest in the Cerulean Warbler, the basic biology of this species remains poorly documented and understood. Although considerable advances have been made in the last 10 years (e.g. Oliarnyk and Robertson 1996; Hamel 2000a; Jones and Robertson 2001; Jones et al. 2001; Barg 2002), there remain considerable gaps in our knowledge. Rather that go into an exhaustive review of research to date, this discussion of Cerulean Warbler biology is restricted to those aspects directly relevant to the status update and survival of the species.


Reproduction

Cerulean Warblers generally raise only a single brood per year, although double-brooding has been recorded (Barg et al. unpublished data). Pairs will re-nest up to 4 times in a season following nest failure (Hamel 2000a; Barg et al. unpublished data). Female Cerulean Warblers typically lay 3 or 4 eggs per clutch. Incubation generally lasts 11-12 days and the nestlings typically fledge after 8-10 days (Oliarnyk 1996; Hamel 2000a; Barg et al. unpublished data). Over an 8-year period in eastern Ontario, average fecundity was 1.9 fledglings per breeding pair (Jones et al. in review). Most successful pairs fledged 3 or 4 fledglings but, in any given season, only two-thirds of pairs have successful nests. There can be large fluctuations in annual fecundity, ranging from 0.4 to 2.2 fledglings per breeding pair (Jones et al. 2001, unpublished data).

Brood parasitism by Brown-headed Cowbirds (Molothrus ater) has been suggested as an important factor in the decline of the Cerulean Warbler in the core of its breeding range (Robbins et al. 1992). However, there is considerable variation in its prevalence (Hamel 2000a). At the Queen’s University Biological Station, no cowbird fledglings have been produced by Cerulean Warblers in the last 8 years (Oliarnyk 1996; Jones et al. unpublished data). Parasitism rates are much higher elsewhere (e.g. Mississippi Alluvial Valley, Hamel 2000a).


Survival

Jones et al. (in review) used capture-mark-recapture models to estimate survival for adult male Cerulean Warblers in an eastern Ontario population that has been studied since 1994. Adult male survival probability (49%) was constant over time in the best-supported model. No estimates exist for females or juveniles. The current longevity record is an 8-year-old male that was banded in eastern Ontario in 1997 as an adult (i.e., at least 3 years old), and has been present every year since then, including in 2002 (Jones and Barg unpublished data). Typical life span for males is likely 3-4 years.


Movements/Dispersal

As of 1999, 1399 Cerulean Warblers had been banded in North America (Hamel 2000a). Only 1 of these birds has been recovered away from the banding location (Leberman and Clench 1975 in Hamel 2000a) suggesting strong site-fidelity in adults (Hamel 2000a, Jones et al. in review, Barg et al. unpublished data) and limited gene flow among locations. In a genetic study of five Cerulean Warbler geographic clusters throughout the breeding range (including 2 in Ontario), estimates from microsatellite data revealed sufficient levels of gene flow to prevent genetic differentiation through drift (Veit 1999). Thus, dispersal between populations (presumably by young birds) undoubtedly plays an important role in Cerulean Warbler population dynamics. Some evidence exists for limited natal philopatry in this species (Barg et al. unpublished data).

Migration appears to occur over approximately 2 months in spring and 4 months in fall (Hamel 2000a). Fall migration tends to start early; there are records of individuals arriving in South America in August (Dunn and Garrett 1997).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Cerulean Warblers appear to be strictly insectivorous during the breeding season, consuming homopterans, larval lepidopterans, dipterans and coleopterans (Sample et al. 1993, Hamel 2000a, Barg et al. unpublished data). Cerulean Warblers will avail themselves of nectar resources during the non-breeding season in South America (Jones et al. 2000b). Nestlings and fledglings are fed larval lepidopterans almost exclusively. No empirical evidence exists to support the conjecture that food availability is limiting in Cerulean Warbler populations; however, it likely plays an important role in population regulation given the well-documented importance of food abundance to breeding migrant songbirds (Newton 1998).

Aggressive interactions between Cerulean Warblers and Least Flycatchers (Empidonax minimus), Red-eyed Vireos (Vireo olivaceus), and American Redstarts (Setophaga ruticilla) are common in Ontario but their consequences are unknown (Varey 1998; Barg pers. obs.).


Behaviour/Adaptability

There has been conjecture in the literature that the Cerulean Warbler exhibits a degree of “coloniality” during the breeding season (Robbins et al. 1992), likely due to conspecific attraction. This phenomenon has not been studied in any detail but could have significant bearing on conservation or management plans for this species if confirmed.  At QUBS, territory size ranges from 0.1 to 2.4 ha (Oliarnyk 1996; Barg 2002). However, territory size does not appear to be directly related to pair density (Jones pers. obs.); large portions of apparently suitable habitat go unoccupied each breeding season.

Cerulean Warblers appear to be relatively resilient in the face of habitat disturbance, both anthropogenic and natural (Jones 2000, Jones et al. 2000b, 2001, 2002). In eastern Ontario, they breed successfully in forests managed for the production of maple syrup and for shelterwood silviculture (Oliarnyk 1996, Jones 2000). On the wintering grounds, they can be found in good numbers in shade coffee plantations (Jones et al. 2000b, 2002). Similarly, this species is frequently found in second-growth habitat during migration (Land 1970, Ridgely and Gwynne 1989, Stiles and Skutch 1989).

Jones et al. (2001) examined the effects on forest structure and Cerulean Warbler reproductive success of the January 1998 ice storm (the worst in documented Canadian history, Kerry et al. 1999). This storm resulted in a significant reduction in the amount of foliage in the forest canopy of the study area in eastern Ontario the following spring. This was followed by a significant decline in Cerulean Warbler reproductive output in the 1998 breeding season. In 1999, Cerulean Warblers demonstrated a significant increase in territory size and a significant shift in nest-site location patterns; these shifts were accompanied by a significant increase in reproductive success. The 1999 shifts in territory size and nest-site location patterns were effected by the same individuals that were failed breeders in 1998. This suggests that Cerulean Warblers possess a degree of plasticity in their habitat preferences and that this plasticity rendered the population somewhat resilient to certain disturbances. One of the more reliable locations for Cerulean Warblers in Quebec (Mont Saint-Hilaire) was damaged by an ice storm in the early 1980s; very few sightings have been recorded there since the storm (Bannon and Robert 1996).

Cerulean Warblers exhibit two behaviours that may render individuals particularly vulnerable. The first is the high site fidelity exhibited by adults. Despite their apparent resilience to certain disturbances, the fact that adults seem unable to “recognize” habitat degradation may keep birds in unsuitable habitats. The second is their protracted migration periods in both spring (2 months) and fall (4 months). It is unclear whether the protracted appearance of Cerulean Warbler migration is due to individuals taking a long time to migrate or due to the species taking a long time to migrate (i.e. some individuals migrate early and some late). If the former scenario is true, this long traveling period could not only be subjecting individuals to high physiological stresses but may also be exposing them to high probability of predation (more travel days = more days at risk) as well as habitat disturbances along the length of their migration routes. Migration has been implicated as a major time of mortality for Cerulean Warblers (Jones et al. in review) and other wood-warblers (Sillett and Holmes 2002).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Paruline azurée au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Généralités

Malgré un intérêt marqué de la part du grand public et des scientifiques, il existe peu de documentation sur la biologie de base de la Paruline azurée, qui n’est d’ailleurs pas très bien comprise. Même si des progrès considérables ont été réalisés au cours des dix dernières années (Oliarnyk et Robertson, 1996; Hamel, 2000a; Jones et Robertson, 2001; Jones et al., 2001; Barg, 2002), notre connaissance de l’espèce comporte encore de grandes lacunes. Il ne s’agit pas ici d’examiner de manière exhaustive les recherches qui ont été faites jusqu’à présent, mais plutôt de cibler les aspects de la biologie de la Paruline azurée qui sont directement liés à la survie de l’espèce et à la mise à jour de son statut.


Reproduction

Habituellement, les couples ne produisent qu’une seule nichée par année, mais des doubles nichées ont été observées (Barg et al., données inéd.). Un couple peut faire jusqu’à quatre tentatives au cours d’une saison en cas d’échec de la nidification (Hamel, 2000a; Barg et al., données inéd.). La femelle pond en moyenne de trois à quatre œufs par couvée et, la plupart du temps, l’incubation dure de 11 à 12 jours. Les oisillons quittent habituellement le nid après 8 à 10 jours (Oliarnyk, 1996; Hamel, 2000a; Barg et al., données inéd.). Dans l’Est de l’Ontario, au cours d’une période de huit ans, la fécondité moyenne était de 1,9 jeune à l’envol par couple (Jones et al., en cours d’examen). Les couples qui avaient le plus de succès voyaient trois ou quatre oisillons prendre leur envol mais, chaque année, le succès de la reproduction n’est réservé qu’aux deux tiers des couples. La fécondité annuelle varie énormément, soit de 0,4 à 2,2 oisillons par couple (Jones et al., 2001, données inéd.).

Le parasitisme pratiqué par le Vacher à tête brune (Molothrus ater) serait peut-être une cause importante du déclin des effectifs de la Paruline azurée au centre de son aire de reproduction (Robbins et al., 1992). Cependant, sa prévalence varie beaucoup (Hamel, 2000a). Au site de biologie de la Queen’s University, aucun oisillon de Vacher à tête brune n’a pris son envol d’un nid de Paruline azurée au cours des huit dernières années (Oliarnyk, 1996; Jones et al., données inéd.). Le taux de parasitisme est beaucoup plus élevé dans d’autres régions (p. ex. la vallée alluviale du Mississippi; Hamel, 2000a).


Survie

Jones et al. (en cours d’examen) ont utilisé des modèles de capture-marquage-recapture pour évaluer le taux de survie des mâles adultes dans une population de Parulines azurées de l’Est de l’Ontario à l’étude depuis 1994. Le modèle le mieux étayé indiquait une probabilité de survie (49 p. 100) des mâles adultes constante dans le temps. Aucune évaluation n’existe concernant les femelles et les juvéniles. Le record de longévité est présentement détenu par un mâle de huit ans qui a été bagué dans l’Est de l’Ontario en 1997 alors qu’il était déjà adulte (c.-à-d. âgé d’au moins trois ans) et qui, depuis, a été présent toutes les années, y compris en 2002 (Jones et Barg, données inéd.). La durée de vie habituelle d’un mâle est probablement de trois à quatre ans.


Déplacements et dispersion

Depuis 1999, 1 399 Parulines azurées ont été baguées en Amérique du Nord (Hamel, 2000a). Un seul de ces oiseaux a été retrouvé à l’extérieur du site de baguage (Leberman et Clench, 1975 in Hamel, 2000a). Ce qui laisse supposer que les adultes sont très fidèles aux sites (Hamel, 2000a; Jones et al., en cours d’examen; Barg et al., données inéd.) et que le flux génique serait limité entre les sites. Dans une étude génétique portant sur cinq noyaux géographiques de Parulines azurées dispersés dans l’aire de reproduction (dont deux en Ontario), des estimations tirées de données fournies par microsatellite ont permis de constater des niveaux de flux génique suffisants pour prévenir une différenciation génétique par dérive (Veit, 1999). Dès lors, la dispersion entre les populations (probablement des jeunes) joue à coup sûr un rôle important dans la dynamique des populations de Parulines azurées. Des données portent à croire qu’il y a une philopatrie natale limitée chez cette espèce (Barg et al., données inéd.).

La migration semble durer environ deux mois au printemps et quatre à l’automne (Hamel, 2000a). Celle d’automne tend à commencer tôt; on a observé des individus qui arrivaient en Amérique du Sud en août (Dunn et Garrett, 1997).


Nutrition et interactions interspécifiques

La Paruline azurée serait uniquement insectivore pendant la saison de reproduction, où elle se nourrit d’homoptères, de diptères et de coléoptères ainsi que de larves de lépidoptères (Sample et al., 1993; Hamel, 2000a; Barg et al., données inéd.). Elle consomme du nectar pendant l’hiver en Amérique du Sud (Jones et al., 2000b). Les oisillons et les jeunes à l’envol sont nourris presque exclusivement de larves de lépidoptères. Il n’y a aucune donnée empirique pour soutenir l’hypothèse que la disponibilité de la nourriture pourrait avoir un effet limitatif sur les populations de Paruline azurée. Toutefois, selon des données bien documentées sur l’importance d’une nourriture abondante chez les oiseaux chanteurs migrateurs en nidification, il semble que cette disponibilité joue un rôle important dans la régulation des populations (Newton, 1998).

Des interactions agressives entre la Paruline azurée et le Moucherolle tchébec (Empidonax minimus), le Viréo aux yeux rouges (Vireo olivaceus) et la Paruline flamboyante (Setophaga ruticilla) sont courantes en Ontario, mais on ignore leurs conséquences (Varey, 1998; Barg, obs. pers.).


Comportement et adaptabilité

On relève dans la documentation que l’espèce montre une certaine « colonialité » pendant la saison de reproduction (Robbins et al., 1992), vraisemblablement à cause d’une attraction entre congénères. On n’a pas encore effectué d’étude détaillée sur ce phénomène mais s’il était confirmé, il pourrait influencer grandement les plans de conservation ou de gestion de l’espèce. Au site de biologie de la Queen’s University, la superficie du territoire des Parulines azurées varie de 0,1 à 2,4 ha (Oliarnyk, 1996; Barg, 2002). Toutefois, elle ne semble pas directement liée à la densité des couples (Jones, obs. pers.); une grande partie de l’habitat apparemment convenable reste inoccupée chaque saison de reproduction.

Il semble que la Paruline azurée soit relativement résistante aux perturbations à la fois anthropiques et naturelles de son habitat (Jones, 2000; Jones et al., 2000b, 2001, 2002). Dans l’Est de l’Ontario, elle se reproduit avec succès dans des forêts où l’on pratique l’acériculture et la sylviculture de régénération par coupes progressives (Oliarnyk, 1996; Jones, 2000). Dans l’aire d’hivernage, on peut trouver l’espèce en bon nombre dans des plantations de café sous couvert forestier (Jones et al., 2000b, 2002). Dans le même ordre d’idées, on trouve souvent la Paruline azurée dans des forêts de seconde venue au cours de sa migration (Land, 1970; Ridgely et Gwynne, 1989; Stiles et Skutch, 1989).

Jones et al. ont observé les effets sur la structure de la forêt et le succès de reproduction de la Paruline azurée à la suite de la tempête de verglas de janvier 1998 (la pire enregistrée dans l’histoire du Canada; Kerry et al., 1999). Au printemps suivant, on a noté une réduction considérable du feuillage du couvert forestier de la zone d’étude dans l’Est de l’Ontario. Ultérieurement, durant la saison de reproduction de 1998, il s’est produit une baisse marquée du taux de reproduction de l’espèce. En 1999, on a observé une augmentation notable de la superficie des territoires et un changement important dans le choix de l’emplacement des nids; ces changements ont entraîné une forte augmentation du succès de reproduction de l’espèce. Ce sont les mêmes individus qui ne s’étaient pas reproduits en 1998 qui ont modifié l’étendue de leur territoire et leurs choix d’emplacement des nids l’année suivante. Cela indique que la Paruline azurée possède une grande souplesse quant à ses préférences en matière d’habitat et que c’est ce qui a rendu la population résistante jusqu’à un certain point à certaines perturbations. L’habitat du mont Saint-Hilaire, un des sites les plus propices à l’espèce au Québec, a été endommagé par une tempête de verglas au début des années 1980. Depuis, très peu d’observations de Parulines azurées ont eu lieu à cet endroit (Bannon et Robert, 1996).

La Paruline azurée présente deux comportements qui peuvent rendre les individus particulièrement vulnérables. Premièrement, les adultes manifestent une grande fidélité au site. Malgré leur résistance apparente à certaines perturbations, le fait que les adultes semblent incapables de « reconnaître » la dégradation de l’habitat peut les amener à rester dans un habitat inapproprié. Deuxièmement, la période de migration est longue non seulement le printemps (deux mois) mais aussi l’automne (quatre mois). Est‑ce parce que le temps de migration de certains individus est long ou que certains migrent tôt et d’autres tard? Si la première possibilité se confirme, cette longue période de déplacement peut non seulement soumettre les individus à un stress physiologique élevé, mais aussi les exposer à un risque accru de prédation (plus de jours de déplacement = plus de jours en situation de risque). De plus, les oiseaux sont confrontés à des perturbations d’habitats le long de leur route. La migration serait la principale période de mortalité chez la Paruline azurée (Jones et al., en cours d’examen) et chez d’autres espèces de parulidés (Sillett et Holmes, 2002).