Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Cerulean Warbler in Canada

Population Size and Trend

The Cerulean Warbler has exhibited the greatest decline in abundance for any species of North American wood-warbler -- an average decline of 3% per year based on Breeding Bird Survey data for the period 1966-2000 (Robbins et al. 1992, Link and Sauer 2002). In fact, only six species of passerine exhibited more severe declines. The greatest declines were reported at the core of the breeding range (Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia) where abundances were highest (Robbins et al. 1992, James et al. 1996, Villard and Maurer 1996).

In the northeastern United States and in southern Ontario and Quebec, the Cerulean Warbler is currently thought to be expanding both its range and its abundance (Hamel 2000a, Rosenberg et al. 2000). Unfortunately, it is difficult to place the status of the current Canadian population into a historical context. Early reports of this species in Ontario are inconsistent and make it difficult to ascertain whether or not its apparent increase over the last 50 years represents an expansion into new areas (i.e., Cerulean Warblers are new to Ontario), a recolonization (i.e., Cerulean Warblers were once common in Ontario and are only now returning as forests re-grow, especially in eastern Ontario) or an artifact of the increase in the ability and desire of bird-watchers and researchers to locate this inconspicuous species.

Macoun and Macoun (1909 in McCracken 1993) classified the Cerulean Warbler as common in southwestern Ontario at the turn of the last century. It is not considered a common bird in the same area today. Eagles (1987) classified it as an uncommon local breeding bird in southern Ontario. This possible change in abundance is likely due to the continued historical loss of breeding habitat in the region (Eagles 1987). The historical status of the Cerulean Warbler in eastern Ontario is even less clear. In the 1920s, DeLury (1922) felt that the Cerulean Warbler was more common in eastern Ontario (even as far north as the Ottawa Valley) than people assumed. Broley (1929) believed that Cerulean Warblers bred north of Kingston as early as 1929 although the first documented nest in the Kingston region was found in the early 1950s (Quilliam 1965). 

The database of the Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre (NHIC) lists 45 Element Occurrences in Ontario; most of these occurrences represent small numbers of individuals. The largest geographical cluster in southwestern Ontario only supports 20-30 breeding pairs annually. In fact, there are probably fewer than 100 breeding pairs of Cerulean Warblers in southwestern Ontario (NHIC data). The single largest geographical cluster (~250 pairs) in Canada is currently on the property of the Queen’s University Biological Station north of Kingston, ON (Jones 2000; Jones et al. 2000a).

The initial results of the current Ontario breeding bird atlas project (2001-2 data) imply that the distribution of Cerulean Warblers has possibly contracted since the first atlas of 1981-5 (Figure 4). For example, in the Perth Region, 7 atlas squares reported breeding evidence in 1981-5; only 2 have done so in the current atlas effort. Similarly, in the 1000 Islands, 5 squares reported breeding evidence in the first atlas versus 0 in the current effort. Once the current atlas effort is completed, it will be possible to make a more accurate determination of a population trend. 

The only long-term demographic data set (1994 to present) on Cerulean Warblers in Ontario indicates that the local “population” at the Queen’s University Biological Station has remained relatively constant over the last 8 years (Jones et al. in review). However, this persistence is likely only due to birds immigrating from other areas as it is not producing enough fledglings to sustain itself (Jones et al. in review); the reasons why not are unclear at this time.

Most of the land that comprises the range of Cerulean Warblers in Ontario is privately owned. However, the species is found in some protected areas including national parks (e.g., St. Lawrence Islands National Park, Leggo pers. com. 2002), as well as provincial parks in both Ontario (e.g., Charleston Lake Provincial Park, Jones pers. obs.) and Quebec (e.g., Parc du Mont Saint-Bruno, Shaffer pers. com. 2002). Other protected areas include forests owned and managed by the Middlesex County and forests in Haldimand/Norfolk (owned and managed by the Long Point Region Conservation Authority).

The population of breeding birds in Quebec is at least as old as the population in eastern Ontario (first confirmed record in 1950) but the number of breeding birds is very small (less than 40 pairs; BDOMQ; Shaffer pers. com. 2002).

The combination of the NHIC data with the trends exhibited by the current Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas and data from researchers at Queen’s University (Jones et al. unpublished data) lead us to estimate that the current population of Cerulean Warblers in Canada is between 500 and 1000 breeding pairs. The bulk of this population is found in eastern Ontario. 

Current estimates of the size of the North American Cerulean Warbler population range from 85 000 to 287 000 pairs (Rosenberg et al. 2000, pers. comm. 2002).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Paruline azurée au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances de la population

De toutes les espèces de parulidés d’Amérique du Nord, la Paruline azurée a montré la baisse de population la plus forte, à savoir une diminution moyenne de 
p. 100 par an d’après les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs pour la période allant de 1966 à 2000 (Robbins et al., 1992; Link et Sauer, 2002). En fait, seulement six espèces de passereaux ont accusé une baisse encore plus importante. Les chutes d’effectif les plus fortes ont été signalées au cœur de l’aire de reproduction (Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio et Virginie-Occidentale), où la population était la plus élevée (Robbins et al., 1992; James et al., 1996; Villard et Maurer, 1996).

On pense que la Paruline azurée est en train d’étendre son aire et d’augmenter en nombre dans le Nord-Est des États-Unis et le Sud de l’Ontario et du Québec (Hamel, 2000a; Rosenberg et al., 2000). Malheureusement, il est difficile de replacer dans son contexte historique la situation actuelle de la population du Canada. Les premières mentions de l’espèce en Ontario sont contradictoires. Il est donc ardu d’établir avec précision si l’apparente hausse des effectifs au cours des 50 dernières années représente ou non une expansion vers de nouveaux territoires (c.-à-d. que la Paruline azurée est une nouvelle venue en Ontario), une recolonisation (c.-à-d. qu’elle était commune dans cette province et qu’elle ne fait qu’y revenir avec la régénérescence des forêts, tout particulièrement dans l’Est) ou une conséquence du fait que les ornithologues amateurs et les chercheurs montrent plus d’habileté et déploient plus d’effort pour repérer cette espèce discrète.

À la fin du XIXe siècle, la Paruline azurée a été classée par Macoun et Macoun (1909, dans McCracken, 1993) parmi les espèces communes dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario, mais elle n’est plus considérée comme telle dans cette région à l’heure actuelle. Eagles (1987) l’a classée parmi les nicheurs locaux peu communs dans le Sud de cette province. Le possible déclin est probablement dû à la perte historique continue d’habitats de reproduction dans la région (Eagles, 1987). La situation historique de la Paruline azurée dans l’Est de l’Ontario est encore moins claire. Dans les années 1920, DeLury (1922) pensait que l’espèce y était plus commune qu’on ne le croyait (même dans des régions aussi septentrionales que la vallée de l’Outaouais). Broley (1929) croyait que la Paruline azurée se reproduisait au Nord de Kingston dès 1929, même si la première attestation documentée de nidification dans la région de Kingston date du début des années 1950 (Quilliam, 1965).

La base de données du Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel (CIPN) de l’Ontario compte 45 dossiers relatifs à l’espèce dans cette province; la plupart des occurrences ne représentent que de petits nombres d’individus. Le plus grand noyau géographique du Sud-Ouest ontarien ne comprend que 20 à 30 couples nicheurs par an. En fait, il y a probablement moins de 100 couples nicheurs de Parulines azurées dans cette région (données du CIPN). Actuellement, le plus grand noyau géographique (environ 250 couples) au Canada se trouve sur les terrains du site de biologie de la Queen’s University au Nord de Kingston, en Ontario (Jones, 2000; Jones et al., 2000a).

Les premiers résultats du projet actuel d’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (données de 2001 à 2002) laissent supposer que la répartition de la Paruline azurée s’est sans doute contractée depuis la période de collecte des données du premier atlas, soit de 1981 à 1985 (figure 4). Par exemple, dans la région de Perth, des signes de reproduction ont été observés dans sept carrés d’atlas durant cette période, contre deux seulement pour la version de l’atlas en cours d’élaboration. De même, dans la région des Mille-Îles, la proportion correspondante est de cinq carrés contre aucun. Une fois la dernière version de l’atlas achevée, il sera possible de dégager avec plus de précision la tendance des effectifs.

La seule série de données démographiques à long terme (qui remonte à 1994) concernant la Paruline azurée en Ontario indique que la population du site de biologie de la Queen’s University est restée relativement constante au cours des huit dernières années (Jones et al., en cours d’examen). Cependant, cette pérennité n’est probablement due qu’à l’immigration d’individus provenant d’autres régions puisque les membres de la population locale ne produisent pas suffisamment de descendants pour assurer eux-mêmes cette persistance (Jones et al., en cours d’examen), phénomène qu’on n’a pas encore pu expliquer.

            La plupart des terres qui se trouvent dans l’aire de reproduction de la Paruline azurée en Ontario sont privées. On retrouve toutefois l’espèce dans certaines zones protégées, entre autres dans des parcs nationaux (p. ex. au parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent; Leggo, comm. pers., 2002) ainsi que dans des parcs provinciaux tant en Ontario (p. ex. au parc provincial Charleston Lake; Jones, obs. pers.) qu’au Québec (p. ex. au parc du mont Saint-Bruno; Shaffer, comm. pers., 2002). Figurent aussi parmi d’autres zones protégées des forêts qui sont la propriété et sous la responsabilité des autorités du comté de Middlesex ainsi que des forêts du comté de Haldimand-Norfolk (qui sont la propriété et sous la responsabilité de l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Long Point).

Les populations nicheuses du Québec et de l’Est de l’Ontario se sont formées à la même époque (première mention confirmée en 1950), mais le nombre de nicheurs est très faible (moins de 40 couples; BDOMQ; Shaffer, comm. pers., 2002).

Les données émanant du CIPN combinées aux tendances qui semblent ressortie des premières données de la période de collecte visant l’établissement du prochain Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, ainsi qu’aux résultats obtenus par des chercheurs de la Queen’s University (Jones et al., données inéd.) portent l’estimation de la population actuelle de Parulines azurées au Canada entre 500 et 1 000 couples nicheurs, dont la majeure partie se trouve dans l’Est de l’Ontario.

En ce qui à trait à la taille de la population en Amérique du Nord, les estimations actuelles varient entre 85 000 et 287 000 couples (Rosenberg et al., 2000, comm. pers., 2002).