Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Walrus (proposed)


1. Background1

1.1 Species Assessment Information from COSEWIC

Date of Assessment: May 2000

Common Name (population): Atlantic walrus – Northwest Atlantic population

Scientific Name: Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus

COSEWIC Status: Extirpated

Reason for designation: Extirpated by exploitation

Canadian Occurrence: Québec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Atlantic Ocean

COSEWIC Status History: Extirpated around 1850. Designated Extirpated in April 1987. Status re-examined and confirmed in May 2000. Last assessment based on an existing status report.

1.2 Description

Walruses are large, gregarious marine mammals with front and hind limbs that have developed into flippers. Although related to the seals and sea lions, the walrus can be distinguished from all other species of marine mammals by its tusks, which are long upper canine teeth, and by its moustache of quill-like whiskers. Adult males are larger than females and have longer, broader tusks. The skin, covered sparsely with hair, is cinnamon brown but can appear pink on a warm day or almost white after a long, cold dive. At birth Atlantic walruses are about 120 cm long and weigh about 55 kg; males grow to about 315 cm and 1100 kg, females to about 280 cm and 800 kg. The walrus can support itself upright with its front flippers, like sea lions.

Walruses are polygynous (each male has several mates) and males compete for females at breeding time. Mating occurs in the water from February through April. Most young are born the following year in May-June and suckle for 25-27 months. Maternal care is very well-developed and walrus herds are protective of young, which may lead to high juvenile survival rates. Females give birth about every 3 years.

Maximum age in walruses may be greater than 35 years. Females mature at age 5-10 years, males at age 7-13 years. Because of the low rate of production of young (annual gross production of about 10%) walruses are susceptible to mortality caused by humans, including hunting.

Walruses "haul out" (i.e., come ashore for a period of time) on ice and land, sometimes in large herds. Walruses haul out to rest, for social interactions, and to give birth and rear pups. Ice is preferred for hauling out. It has been hypothesized that one of the benefits of hauling out on land is that it provides a stable temperature in the skin and appendages, which promotes regeneration of the skin and healing of wounds. Little is known of the physiological requirements of walrus or their ability to adapt to changes in food availability or environmental conditions.

1.3 Populations and Distribution

The walrus has a discontinuous circumpolar distribution in the Arctic and sub-Arctic, with distinct Atlantic (Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus) and Pacific (O. r. divergens) subspecies. The historical distribution of Atlantic walruses ranged from the central Canadian Arctic in the west to the Kara Sea (Russia) in the east, north to Svalbard (archipelago in the Barents Sea north of Norway) and south to Nova Scotia. Within this range there are two well separated populations, one to the east of Greenland and the other to the west, to which all Canadian individuals belong. The western population can be further subdivided and includes the Canadian populations described below.

Within Canada the Atlantic walrus currently ranges from Bathurst and Prince of Wales islands in the west to Davis Strait in the east, and from James Bay in the south to Kane Basin in the north. Historically, at the time non-aboriginal people first made contact with the species, the Atlantic walrus ranged south along the Labrador coast to the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Newfoundland and Nova Scotia (Figure 1). During the ice ages, walrus may have ranged as far south as the Carolinas and Georgia.

Figure 1. Approximate historical distribution of Atlantic walrus in Canada. (Source: COSEWIC in press.)

Approximate historical distribution of Atlantic walrus in Canada. Including south and east Hudson Bay, northern Hudson Bay-Davis Strait, Foxe Basin and Baffin Bay in the High Arctic

Five populations of Atlantic walrus, ranging from Nova Scotia to the high Arctic, have been recognized in Canada.. Four extant populations are currently recognized by DFO for management purposes based on geographical distribution, changes in abundance, contaminants and lead isotope ratios and signatures: 1) south and east Hudson Bay; 2) northern Hudson Bay-Davis Strait; 3) Foxe Basin and 4) Baffin Bay (High Arctic) (COSEWIC 2006). The degree of genetic isolation between these four extant populations is not known, and each may consist of sub-units that mix little or not at all.

A fifth population, the Northwest Atlantic population, was formerly found at Sable Island, the eastern coast of Nova Scotia, and in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Originally thought to number in the tens of thousands, this Northwest Atlantic population was heavily harvested for at least a hundred years in the 17th and 18th centuries and extirpated by the late-18th century.

All Canadian populations may once have been continuously distributed. Walrus are able to move long distances, by swimming or by drift on ice, but overall movements are little known.

Although five populations of Atlantic walrus are currently recognized in Canada (COSEWIC 2006), this recovery strategy follows COSEWIC (in press) which identified two Canadian populations for designation: an extant eastern Arctic population, and an extirpated Northwest Atlantic population. It is this Northwest Atlantic population which is on the federal List of Wildlife Species at Risk (i.e., SARA Schedule 1) and for which this recovery strategy is written.

1.4 Life History Requirements

All information on the habitat and biological requirements of the Northwest Atlantic population of Atlantic walrus is based on what is known about the extant Atlantic walrus population in the eastern Arctic.

1.4.1 Habitat and biological needs

Atlantic walruses require large areas of relatively shallow water (80 m or less), with bottom substrates that support a productive bivalve community, open water over the feeding areas, and suitable ice or land nearby on which to haul out. In the north they are associated with moving pack ice for much of the year but when ice is lacking in summer and fall, they congregate and haul out on land in a few predictable locations. Suitable land habitat is on low, rocky shores with steep or shelving subtidal zones where animals have easy access to the water.

Atlantic walruses feed mostly on benthic (bottom-living) prey at depths of 10m to 80m. Dives can last up to 24 minutes. They identify suitable prey using their sensitive whiskers, and bottom sediment patterns suggest that prey are identified by rooting with the snout and then excavated using jets of water from the mouth.

Although bivalve molluscs are the preferred prey, gastropod molluscs, sea cucumbers and sea urchins, polychaete worms, amphipod and isopod crustacea, brachiopods and priapulids have also been found in stomach contents. Over a 97-hrperiod a 1200 kg male Atlantic walrus dove 412 times and consumed an average of 53 bivalves per dive, equivalent to an intake of 57 kg wet weight of bivalve biomass per day. Walruses are also known to eat ringed and bearded seals, fishes and squids, and seabirds.

1.4.2 Ecological role

Atlantic walrus are an important predator of bottom invertebrates, particularly bivalve molluscs. The closely related Pacific subspecies, which is currently much more abundant than the Atlantic walrus (ca 200,000 individuals in the Bering Sea and adjacent areas), is considered to have a major role in the marine ecosystem, strongly influencing productivity and ecological function through predation on benthic invertebrates, disturbance to bottom sediments and facilitating flow of nutrients from the bottom to the water column (Ray et al. 2006). Nutrient flow from water in bottom sediments to the water column is estimated to be increased by two orders of magnitude by Pacific walruses.

It is not known whether competition for resources with other animals was a significant ecological factor historically.

1.4.3 Limiting factors

The low intrinsic capacity of the population to increase, mainly due to infrequent production of young (every three years), means that Atlantic walrus are particularly susceptible to additional mortality from human activities.

1.5 Threats

1.5.1 Description of potential threats

The principal threat to existing Atlantic walrus is human hunting. Hunting in the 17th and 18th centuries (for meat, oil and hides) was the cause of extirpation of the Northwest Atlantic population. However, this might not be an important potential threat to a re-established walrus population in southeastern Canada. Commercial harvesting of Atlantic walrus has been forbidden in Canada since 1928, and there was apparently no documented Aboriginal harvest in the past in southeastern Canada (COSEWIC 2006), although given the long time period since the population was extirpated, evidence may have been lost or not collected.

Human disturbances (noise from ship traffic and aircraft, oil and gas exploration, human settlements, and other human activities) could be potential threats to a re-established walrus population in southeastern Canada. Disturbances that cause walruses to leave their haul-outs may impact populations by causing stampedes (with associated juvenile mortality), interfering with feeding, increasing energy expenditures, masking communications, impairing thermoregulation and increasing stress levels. Oil spills would be a significant potential threat to walrus herds given their need for habitat near the water's edge.

Entanglement in fishing gear, particularly gillnets, would be a potential threat to a re-established walrus population in southeastern Canada. Fishing for prey species preferred by walrus, or disturbance to habitat of prey species from fishing, might also be potential threats. These would probably be of limited importance however, since there are currently no fisheries for molluscs (clams and scallops) which live within benthic sediments in subtidal areas at depths where walrus forage in Atlantic Canada at present. Of greater potential concern however may be the perception of walrus as competitors for fisheries and the circulation of nuisance seal permits.

Predation from polar bears and killer whales are known to occur on walrus in the north, probably mainly on young; however predation is probably limited given the protective behaviour of herds to their young and the large size of adults. Killer whale predation on individuals of the Northwest Atlantic population may have occurred historically, but the importance of this is unknown. Predation would probably not be a limiting factor for a re-established Northwest Atlantic population at present because killer whales are rarely observed in the Gulf of St Lawrence. However, killer whales are reported off Newfoundland and given possible climate related shifts in whale distribution, future abundance levels, and uncertainties with regards to the numbers necessary to induce an important predation pressure on a walrus stock, the potential importance of killer whale predation on walrus cannot be dispelled.

The potential effects of climate change on walruses or the distribution of ice floes are likely limited. The impacts of warming or cooling temperatures on a re-established walrus population in southeastern Canada are difficult to predict, but could involve direct effects such as behavioural and physiological responses as well as indirect effects such as increased vulnerability to hunting and predation. Extreme summer temperatures could potentially become a limiting factor for haul-out occupancy in southern waters. That being said, the extirpated Northwest Atlantic population of walrus presumably was able to survive in the absence of ice for much of the year, since ice cover in its area of distribution was only present in winter.


1 Unless otherwise stated, material in this section is drawn from COSEWIC (in press) and COSEWIC (2006).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du morse de l'Atlantique (proposition)


1. Contexte1

1.1 Résumé d'évaluation du COSEPAC

Date de l'évaluation : Mai 2000

Nom commun (population) : Morse de l'Atlantique – population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest

Nom scientifique : Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus

Désignation du COSEPAC : Disparue du pays

Raison de la désignation : Disparue du pays par exploitation

Présence au Canada : Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, océan Atlantique

Historique de la désignation : Disparue du pays alentour de 1850. Désignée comme disparue du pays en avril 1987. Désignation réexaminée et confirmée en mai 2000. Dernière évaluation fondée sur un Rapport de situation.

1.2 Description

Le morse est un mammifère marin grégaire de grande taille dont les membres antérieurs et postérieurs se sont développés en nageoires. Bien qu'il soit apparenté aux phoques et aux otaries, le morse se distingue des autres espèces de mammifères marins par ses défenses, qui sont des canines supérieures hypertrophiées, et par sa moustache composée de vibrisses en aiguillons. Chez les adultes, les mâles sont plus gros que les femelles, et leurs défenses sont plus longues et plus larges. La peau, qui porte peu de poils, est d'un brun cannelle, mais elle peut prendre une teinte rosée les journées chaudes ou presque blanche après une longue plongée en eau froide. À la naissance, les morses de l'Atlantique mesurent 120  de long et pèsent 55 kg environ; les mâles atteignent environ 315  et 1 100 kg, et les femelles, environ 280  et 800 kg. Comme l'otarie, le morse peut se dresser sur ses nageoires antérieures.

Les morses sont polygynes (chaque mâle peut s'accoupler avec plusieurs partenaires) et les mâles se disputent les femelles à la période d'accouplement. Celui-ci a lieu dans l'eau de février à avril. La plupart des petits naissent en mai ou juin de l'année suivante et sont allaités jusqu'à l'âge de 25 à 27 mois. Les femelles sont très maternelles et l'ensemble du troupeau protège les petits, ce qui peut aboutir à de forts taux de survie des juvéniles. Les femelles mettent bas environ tous les trois ans.

Chez les morses, l'âge maximal peut dépasser 35 ans. Les femelles atteignent la maturité entre 5 et 10 ans et les mâles entre 7 et 13 ans. En raison du faible taux de reproduction (taux de reproduction annuel brut d'environ 10 %), les morses sont vulnérables à la mortalité due à des causes humaines, y compris à la chasse.

Les morses passent un certain temps hors de l'eau sur des « échoueries » situées sur la glace ou sur la terre, où ils se regroupent parfois en troupeaux abondants. Ils fréquentent ces échoueries pour se reposer, pour entretenir des rapports sociaux et pour mettre bas et nourrir leurs petits. Ils préfèrent s'échouer sur la glace, mais selon une hypothèse, les échoueries terrestres leur offrent l'avantage d'une température stable au niveau de la peau et des extrémités, ce qui favorise la régénération de la peau et la guérison des blessures. On connaît mal les besoins physiologiques du morse ou sa capacité d'adaptation aux variations dans la disponibilité de la nourriture ou dans les conditions environnementales.

1.3 Populations et répartition

Les morses ont une répartition circumpolaire arctique et subarctique discontinue, comprenant des sous-espèces distinctes dans l'Atlantique (Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus) et dans le Pacifique (O. r. divergens). L'aire de répartition traditionnelle des morses de l'Atlantique s'étend depuis le centre de l'Arctique canadien, à l'ouest, jusqu'à la mer de Kara (Russie), au nord, et depuis Svalbard (archipel de la mer de Barents situé au nord de la Norvège) jusqu'à la Nouvelle-Écosse, au sud. Il existe deux populations bien distinctes à l'intérieur de cette aire de répartition, l'une à l'est du Groenland et l'autre, à laquelle appartiennent tous les individus canadiens, à l'ouest du Groenland. Cette dernière peut être subdivisée en sous-populations canadiennes, décrites ci-après.

Au Canada, l'aire de répartition des morses de l'Atlantique s'étend depuis l'île Bathurst et l'île Prince-de-Galles, à l'ouest, jusqu'au détroit de Davis, à l'est, et depuis la baie James, au sud, jusqu'au bassin Kane, au nord. Autrefois, à l'époque où les non-autochtones ont rencontré l'espèce pour la première fois, l'aire de répartition du morse s'étendait, au sud, le long de la côte du Labrador jusqu'au golfe du Saint-Laurent, à Terre-Neuve et à la Nouvelle-Écosse (figure 1). Durant les périodes glaciaires, l'aire de répartition du morse a pu s'étendre au sud jusqu'à la Caroline du Nord, la Caroline du Sud et la Géorgie.

Figure 1. Aire de répartition historique approximative du morse de l'Atlantique au Canada. (Source : COSEPAC sous presse.)

Aire de répartition historique approximative du morse de l'Atlantique au Canada. Celle-ci inclut le sud et l'est de la baie d'Hudson, le nord de la baie d'Hudson et du détroit de Davis, le bassin Foxe et la baie de Baffin dans l'Extrême-Arctique.

On a reconnu qu'il existait au Canada cinq populations de morses de l'Atlantique, réparties entre la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Extrême-Arctique. Aux fins de la gestion, le MPO considère actuellement qu'il y a quatre populations existantes, se distinguant par leur répartition géographique, les variations dans leur abondance, les teneurs en contaminants et les rapports et signatures des isotopes du plomb. Il s'agit des populations 1) du sud et de l'est de la baie d'Hudson; 2) du nord de la baie d'Hudson et du détroit de Davis; 3) du bassin Foxe et 4) de la baie de Baffin (dans l'Extrême-Arctique) (COSEPAC 2006). On ne sait pas dans quelle mesure ces populations sont génétiquement isolées les unes des autres, et chacune d'elles pourrait être constituée de sous-unités qui ne se mélangent pas du tout ou pratiquement pas.

Une cinquième population, celle de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, occupait autrefois la région qui comprend l'île de Sable, la côte est de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Cette population, dont on pensait initialement qu'elle se chiffrait à des dizaines de milliers d'individus, a été lourdement exploitée pendant au moins cent ans aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, si bien qu'elle avait disparu du pays dès le milieu du XIXe siècle.

Il est possible que la répartition de toutes les populations canadiennes aient déjà été continue. Le morse est capable de parcourir de longues distances, en nageant ou en dérivant, mais on sait peu de choses sur l'ensemble de ses migrations.

Bien qu'on reconnaisse actuellement cinq populations de morses de l'Atlantique au Canada (COSEPAC 2006), le présent Programme de rétablissement s'appuie sur le document du COSEPAC (sous presse), qui reconnaît deux populations canadiennes aux fins de désignation, soit une population existante, celle de l'Arctique, et une population disparue du pays, celle de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. C'est cette population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest qui figure sur la Liste des espèces en péril (annexe 1 de la LEP) établie par le gouvernement fédéral et qui est visée par le présent Programme de rétablissement. 

1.4 Besoins au long du cycle vital

Toute l'information présentée sur les besoins biologiques et les besoins en matière d'habitat du morse de l'Atlantique est fondée sur ce qu'on sait de la population qui existe encore dans l'est de l'Arctique.

1.4.1 Besoins biologiques et besoins en matière d'habitat

Les morses de l'Atlantique ont besoin de grandes étendues d'eau relativement peu profondes (80 m ou moins) dont le substrat de fond renferme une communauté productive de bivalves, d'eaux généralement libres à la surface de ces aires d'alimentation et d'échoueries où ils peuvent se hisser sur la glace ou la terre ferme à proximité. Au nord, ils restent sur la banquise mouvante presque toute l'année, mais lorsque la glace devient insuffisante en été et en automne, ils tendent à se rassembler dans quelques échoueries terrestres situées en des endroits prévisibles. À terre, l'espèce trouve un habitat propice sur les rivages bas et rocheux aux zones sublittorales escarpées ou en escalier qui offrent aux animaux un accès facile à la mer.

Les morses de l'Atlantique se nourrissent principalement de proies benthiques (vivant au fond de la mer) à des profondeurs de 10 à 80 m. Certaines de leurs plongées peuvent durer 24 minutes. Les morses détectent leurs proies à l'aide de leurs moustaches sensibles; d'après l'état des sédiments de fond, on croit qu'ils trouvent leurs proies en fouillant avec le museau puis les délogent du substrat en envoyant des jets d'eau par la bouche.

Bien que les mollusques bivalves soient leur proie favorite, on a aussi trouvé dans les estomacs des morses des gastéropodes, des concombres de mer, des oursins, des vers polychètes, des crustacés amphipodes et isopodes, des brachiopodes et des priapulides. En 97 heures, un morse de l'Atlantique mâle de 1 200 kg a plongé à 412 reprises et mangé en moyenne 53 bivalves par plongée. Cela correspond à l'ingestion de 57 kg, en poids humide, de biomasse de bivalves par jour. On sait aussi que les morses de l'Atlantique peuvent manger des phoques annelés, des phoques barbus, des poissons et des encornets, ainsi que des oiseaux de mer.

1.4.2 Rôle écologique

Le morse de l'Atlantique est un important prédateur d'invertébrés benthiques, en particulier de mollusques bivalves. La sous-espèce du Pacifique, qui lui est étroitement apparentée, est actuellement beaucoup plus abondante qu'elle (environ 200 000 individus dans la mer de Béring et les régions adjacentes) et on estime qu'elle joue un grand rôle dans l'écosystème marin et influence fortement la productivité et l'écologie en se nourrissant d'invertébrés benthiques, en perturbant les sédiments du fond et en facilitant le flux des nutriments du fond à la colonne d'eau (Ray et al. 2006). On pense que les morses du Pacifique accroissent de deux ordres de grandeur le flux de nutriments depuis l'eau des sédiments du fond à la colonne d'eau.

On ne sait pas si la concurrence avec d'autres animaux pour les ressources a été dans le passé un important facteur écologique.

1.4.3 Facteurs limitatifs

En raison de la faible capacité intrinsèque de la population à s'accroître, attribuable surtout à la production peu fréquente de petits (tous les trois ans), le morse de l'Atlantique est particulièrement vulnérable à la mortalité supplémentaire découlant d'activités humaines.

1.5 Menaces

1.5.1 Description des menaces possibles

La principale menace qui pèse contre les populations de morse existantes est la chasse pratiquée par les humains. Aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, c'est à cause de la chasse (pour la viande, l'huile et les peaux) que la population de morses de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest a disparu du pays. Toutefois, la chasse ne constituerait peut-être plus une grande menace éventuelle pour une population de morses qui aurait été reconstituée dans le sud-est du Canada. La capture commerciale du morse de l'Atlantique est interdite au Canada depuis 1928 et il n'y a pas eu par le passé, que l'on sache, de capture par les Autochtones dans le sud-est du Canada (COSEPAC 2006); mais étant donné que la population a disparu du pays depuis longtemps, il se peut que certains renseignements probants à cet égard aient été perdus ou n'aient pas été recueillis.

Les perturbations de source humaine (bruit causé par le trafic maritime et aérien, prospection du pétrole et du gaz, établissements humains et autres activités humaines) risqueraient de menacer une population de morses qui aurait été reconstituée dans le sud-est du Canada. Les perturbations amenant les morses à abandonner leurs échoueries peuvent influer sur la dynamique des populations en occasionnant des mouvements de panique (et une mortalité juvénile connexe), en interrompant la recherche de nourriture, en accroissant les dépenses énergétiques, en masquant les communications, en nuisant à la thermorégulation et en accroissant le niveau de stress. Les déversements d'hydrocarbures pourraient constituer une menace importante pour les troupeaux de morses, compte tenu du fait que ceux-ci ont besoin d'un habitat situé au bord de l'eau.

L'empêtrement dans les engins de pêche, en particulier dans les filets maillants, risquerait d'être une menace pour une population de morses reconstituée dans le sud-est du Canada. La pêche des espèces-proies préférées des morses ou les perturbations occasionnées par la pêche dans l'habitat des proies pourraient aussi constituer des menaces possibles. Toutefois, ces menaces seraient vraisemblablement d'une importance limitée, puisqu'il n'y a pas actuellement au Canada atlantique de pêche des mollusques (palourdes, myes et pétoncles) vivant dans les sédiments benthiques des zones infralittorales aux profondeurs auxquelles les morses recherchent leur nourriture. Ce qui pourrait être plus inquiétant, cependant, ce serait la perception des morses comme concurrents dans la pêche et l'octroi de permis de chasse de phoques (mammifères marins) nuisibles.

On sait que dans le nord, les morses, probablement surtout les jeunes, sont la proie des ours polaires et des orques, mais cette prédation est vraisemblablement limitée par le comportement protecteur des troupeaux envers les petits et par la grande taille des adultes. Il a pu exister autrefois une prédation par les orques dans la population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, mais on ne sait pas à quel degré. La prédation ne serait probablement pas un facteur limitatif du rétablissement de la population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest à l'heure actuelle, parce que les orques sont rares dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Toutefois, on en observe au large de Terre-Neuve et, compte tenu des changements que les variations climatiques pourraient occasionner dans la répartition des orques, de l'abondance future de leur effectif et des incertitudes au sujet du nombre d'orques qui serait nécessaire pour exercer une prédation conséquente parmi le stock de morses, on ne saurait sous-estimer l'importance éventuelle d'une telle prédation.

Les effets possibles du changement climatique sur les morses ou sur la répartition des floes sont probablement limités. Il est difficile de prédire les incidences d'un réchauffement ou d'un refroidissement des températures sur une population de morses qui aurait été reconstituée dans le sud-est du Canada, mais elles pourraient comprendre des effets directs sur le comportement et la physiologie aussi bien que des effets indirects comme une vulnérabilité accrue à la chasse et à la prédation. Des températures estivales extrêmes pourraient constituer un facteur limitatif à la fréquentation des échoueries dans les eaux du sud. Cela dit, la population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest maintenant disparue du pays a vraisemblablement survécu à l'absence de glace pendant une partie de l'année, puisque dans sa zone de répartition la couverture de glace n'était présente qu'en hiver.


1 Sauf indication contraire, l'information présentée dans cette partie est extraite de COSEPAC (sous presse) et de COSEPAC(2006).