Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Banded Cord-moss in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Banded Cord-moss
Entosthodon fascicularis
in Canada
2005

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:

Entosthodon fascicularis (Hedw.) C. Müll.

Pertinent synonyms:

Funaria leibergii Britt., Funaria fascicularis (Hedw.) Lindb.

Common name:

Banded Cord-moss

Family:

Funariaceae

Major plant group:

Mosses (Musci)


The Funariaceae is a large moss family characterized by species with a great degree of vegetative similarity, with most taxa having broad, light green leaves and large, pale leaf cells (Crum and Anderson 1980). Most species are considered to be short-lived, either annual or biennial (Grout 1935, Lawton 1971). Genera within the family are distinguished by differences in the sporophyte: by the shape, size, and straightness of the capsule, and by the presence, absence, or degree of development of the peristome, a fringe of tooth-like appendages surrounding the mouth of the capsule.

The genus Entosthodon consists of diminutive plants that have derived their name from the peristome which, when present, is inserted well inside the mouth of the capsule. Entosthodon has shortly exerted, erect, symmetrical, and operculate capsules with moderately large spores. Members of this genus tend to colonize ephemeral habitats that are repeatedly, but inconsistently, available in the same area, rather than depending on wind dispersal of spores to reach more widely distributed suitable areas.

There are twelve species of Entosthodon in North America, with only E. fascicularis and E. rubiginosus found in Canada, both restricted to British Columbia (Anderson et al. 1990; Ireland et al. 1987). Grout (1935) discussed E. fascicularis under E. leibergii.


Description

The following description has been derived principally from Grout (1935), Lawton (1971), and Smith (1989), and from examination of specimens. Figure 1 illustrates many of the characters described here.

Entosthodon fascicularis is a small, 2-4(-7) mm tall, acrocarpous (producing female structures and sporophytes at the tips of the main stems) species that grows in small patches on seasonally wet soil. Mature plants are pale green to yellow-green. Mature leaves are crowded at the summit of the stem and range in length from 1.5-4(-5) mm, and range from 1-2 mm in width. Leaves are oblong-lanceolate to ovate-lanceolate, acuminate to acute, erect-spreading when moist, and often contorted when dry. The leaf margins of E. fascicularis are plane below, and often weakly toothed above, and the cells along the margin are usually somewhat longer and narrower than the adjacent medial cells. The irregularly rectangular and smooth upper leaf cells are thin-walled and range is size from 50-70 µm long to 15-25 (up to 40) µm wide. Its basal cells are elongate-rectangular, with, occasionally, inflated cells present forming auricles, or ear-like lobes, at the leaf base. The costa, or midrib, usually ends below or in the leaf apex, although, rarely, it may be slightly excurrent.


Figure 1: Comparison of Entosthodon fascicularis and E. rubiginosusFootnote 4

Figure 1: Comparison of Entosthodon fascicularis (a – e) and E. rubiginosus

Entosthodon fascicularis (a – e) and E. rubiginosus (f – j); a, f: upper leaf margins (X 175); b, g: stem leaves (a:X12, b: X16); c, h: fresh capsules (c: X12, h: X16); d, i: dry capsules (d: X12, i: X16); e, j: upper cells of capsule walls (X 175); a, b, and f modified from Lawton, 1971, all others by T. McIntosh.

Entosthodon fascicularis is autoicous, with male and female organs on the same stem. The sporophytes are small, 5-9(-12) mm tall and mature in late winter and into spring. It has relatively large, distinct calyptrae (vegetative hoods that protect the young sporophyte), and they completely cover the maturing capsules. The calyptrae have long thin tips and are split near the base (see Cover Photo). The sporophytes have globose-pyriform capsules that are erect and red- to yellow-brown when mature, and often distinctly contracted below the mouth and wrinkled at the base when dry. The mouth of the capsule is bordered by a series of small transverse-rectangular cells below which are cells that are irregularly quadrate and slightly thickened (this character separates it from the similar E. rubiginosus, which has elongate and usually thicker-walled cells below the upper border). The operculum, or lid, at the top of the capsule is convex, and when it drops it reveals a rudimentary peristome, although the peristome is sometimes absent. The spores are papillose, or rough, and range in size from 22-30 µm.

Taxonomic keys and additional illustrations are found in Grout (1935), Lawton (1971), and Smith (1989, as Funaria fascicularis).

Footnotes

Footnote 4

Disclaimer: the original size of the drawing may not be reproduced accurately in the figure. The scales provided should be used only as indicators of relative size. Actual length measurements are given in the text.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’entosthodon fasciculé au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
l’entosthodon fasciculé
Entosthodon fascicularis
au Canada
2005

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :

Entosthodon fascicularis (Hedw.) C. Müll.

Synonymes pertinents :

Funaria leibergii Britt., Funaria fascicularis (Hedw.) Lindb.

Nom français :

entosthodon fasciculé

Nom anglais :

banded cord-moss

Famille :

Funariacées

Grand groupe végétal :

Mousses (Musci)


Les Funariacées sont une grande famille de mousses qui se ressemblent beaucoup quant à leurs caractères végétatifs. La plupart des espèces ont des feuilles larges, de couleur vert pâle, dont les cellules sont grandes et pâles (Crum et Anderson, 1980). On estime que la plupart ont une courte durée de vie et sont annuelles ou bisannuelles (Grout, 1935; Lawton, 1971). Les divers genres se distinguent par les caractères du sporophyte et plus précisément par la forme, la grosseur et le caractère plus ou moins droit de la capsule ainsi que par le degré de développement (ou l’absence) du péristome, qui est une couronne d’appendices ressemblant à des dents et bordant l’orifice de la capsule.

Le genre Entosthodon réunit des espèces minuscules et tire son nom du fait que le péristome, s’il existe, est inséré assez loin du bord de l’orifice, à l’intérieur de la capsule. La capsule est légèrement exserte, dressée, symétrique et munie d’un opercule. Les spores sont modérément grosses. Les mousses de ce genre tendent à coloniser des milieux éphémères qui apparaissent de manière répétée mais irrégulière dans le même secteur, plutôt que de dépendre de la dispersion des spores par le vent, qui permettrait d’atteindre des milieux propices plus éloignés.

En Amérique du Nord, il existe 12 espèces d’Entosthodon, dont seulement deux sont présentes au Canada, et uniquement en Colombie-Britannique, l’E. rubiginosus et l’E. fascicularis(Anderson et al., 1990; Ireland et al., 1987). Grout (1935) traite de l’E.  fascicularis sous le nom E. leibergii.


Description

La description suivante s’inspire principalement de Grout (1935), de Lawton (1971) et de Smith (1989), ainsi que de l'examen de spécimens. La figure 1 illustre plusieurs des caractères ici décrits.


Figure 1 : Morphologie comparative de l’Entosthodon fascicularis et de l’E. rubiginosusNote de bas de page 6

Figure 1 : Morphologie comparative de l’Entosthodon fascicularis et de l’E. rubiginosus

Entosthodon fascicularis (a – e) et de l’E. rubiginosus (f – j); a, f : marge de feuille supérieure (x 175); b, g : feuille caulinaire (a : x12, b : x16); c, h : capsule à l’état frais (c : x12, h : x16); d, i : capsule à l’état sec (d : x12, i : x16); e, j : cellules supérieures de la paroi de la capsule (x 175); a, b, et f d’après Lawton (1971); autres dessins par T. McIntosh.

L'Entosthodon fascicularis est petite mousse acrocarpe (produisant ses organes femelles et ses sporophytes au bout des tiges principales), haute de 2 à 4 mm (atteignant parfois 7 mm), qui pousse en petites colonies sur sol demeurant humide une partie de l’année. À maturité, la mousse est vert pâle à vert-jaune. Les feuilles pleinement développées forment un groupe serré au sommet de la tige et mesurent de 1,5 à 4 mm (jusqu’à 5 mm) de longueur et de 1 à 2 mm de largeur. Les feuilles sont oblongues-lancéolées à ovées-lancéolées, acuminées à aiguës, dressées-étalées à l’état humide et souvent contortées à l’état sec. Leurs marges sont plates dans la partie inférieure de la feuille et souvent un peu dentées dans la partie supérieure. Les cellules marginales sont généralement un peu plus longues et plus étroites que les cellules laminales adjacentes. Les cellules supérieures sont lisses, irrégulièrement rectangulaires, à parois minces, et elles mesurent de 50 à 70 µm de longueur et de 15 à 25 µm (jusqu'à 40) de largeur. Les cellules basales sont allongées-rectangulaires, et la feuille présente parfois des oreillettes formées de cellules gonflées. La nervure se termine généralement dans l'apex de la feuille, ou en deçà; elle peut aussi être légèrement excurrente, quoique cela soit plutôt rare.

L'Entosthodon fascicularis est autoïque : les organes mâles et femelles se rencontrent sur la même tige. Les sporophytes sont petits (de 5 à 9 mm [jusqu’à 12] de hauteur) et arrivent à maturité à la fin de l'hiver et au printemps. La coiffe (capuchon de tissus gamétophytiques protégeant le jeune sporophyte) est relativement grande et distincte et couvre entièrement la capsule pendant sa maturation. Elle est fendue près de la base et se termine par une longue pointe mince. La capsule est globuleuse-piriforme, dressée, brun-rouge à brun-jaune à maturité. À l’état sec, elle est souvent nettement contractée sous l'orifice et plissée à la base. L'orifice de la capsule est bordé par une série de petites cellules transversalement rectangulaires sous lesquelles se trouvent des cellules irrégulièrement carrées dont les parois sont légèrement épaissies (ce dernier caractère distingue l’E. fascicularis de l'Erubiginosus, chez lequel ces cellules sont allongées, avec des parois généralement plus épaissies). L'opercule (couvercle de la capsule) est convexe; lorsqu'il tombe, on peut constater que le péristome est rudimentaire, ou parfois absent. Les spores sont papilleuses, ou rugueuses, et mesurent de 22 à 30 µm.

On trouvera des clés d’identification et des illustrations supplémentaires dans Grout (1935), Lawton (1971) et Smith (1989, sous Funaria fascicularis).

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 6

Mise en garde : le format original du schéma n’est peut-être pas reproduit avec exactitude dans la figure. Les échelles fournies devraient être utilisées seulement comme indicateurs de taille relative. Des mesures réelles de longueur sont indiquées dans le texte.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6