Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Banded Cord-moss in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Entosthodon fascicularis has a western North American–western Eurasian disjunctive pattern. It is relatively rare in North America, found only in British Columbia, Washington, Idaho, and Oregon (Fig. 2; Grout 1935, Lawton 1971). NatureServe Explorer (2002) does not list it for Idaho, but does list it for the other locations. It is more common in Europe, found in Sweden, Denmark, Britain, and Ireland (Smith 1989, NatureServe Explorer 2002), and, possibly, the Middle East (Kürschner 2000).


Figure 2: North American Distribution of Entosthodon fascicularis

 North American distribution of Entosthodon fascicularis


Canadian Range

In Canada, the banded cord-moss is restricted mainly to a small coastal area in southwestern British Columbia, with a lone collection from southeastern British Columbia (Fig. 3). Along the coast, it has been found at twelve sites on southeastern Vancouver Island, and once on each of three nearby islands: Trial Island near Victoria, Saturna Island, east of Victoria, and Hornby Island (Sadler 2005; Table 1).


Figure 3: Canadian Distribution of Entosthodon fascicularis

Figure 3. Canadian distribution of Entosthodon fascicularis

Dots may represent more than one location; see Table 1 for details.

 

Table 1: Population Information for Entosthodon fascicularis
Population #LocationDates visitedDates confirmed
1 (1)Malahat, N. of Victoria1982/2002No (2002)
2 (2)Eagle Heights, near Duncan1999/2002No (2002)
3 (3, 9)Uplands Park, Victoria1982/2001/2002Yes (2002 by Wynne Miles and T. McIntosh)
4 (4, 5, 6, 7)Nanoose Hill, near Nanaimo1969/1975/1976/
1993/2002
No (2002)
5 (8)Victoria (King’s Pond)1961/2002Yes (2002 by Wynne Miles and T. McIntosh)
6 (10)Trial Island, near Victoria1982/2000not visited in 2002 - 2004
7 (11)Old Baldy Mountain, near Duncan1970/2002No (2002)
8 (12)Sooke1969No (2002)
9 (13)Saturna Island1997not visited in 2002- 2004
10 (14)Yahk Park, Kootenay area1978not visited in 2002 - 2004
11Christmas Hill, VictoriaMay 13, 2004Yes (by A. and O. Ceska)
12Skirt Mountain, VictoriaMarch 21, 2004Yes (by A. and O. Ceska)
13Harmac, near NanaimoApril 8, 2004Yes (by A. and O. Ceska)
14 (15)Observatory Hill, VictoriaMarch 16, 2004Yes (by T. McIntosh, W. Miles, and A. and O. Ceska)
15Helliwell Provincial Park, Hornby Island2003Yes (by K. Sadler)

Numbers in brackets following the population number refer to Collections Examined; collections 3 and 9 are the same location in Uplands Park, whereas exact locations of the Nanoose Hill collections are uncertain, and may be from different sites in the area and may represent separate populations.

Only two of the reported populations were located during initial fieldwork for this report in 2002: the Uplands Park and the King’s Pond populations in Victoria (Populations 3 and 5, respectively). Other sites that were searched where it had been collected in the past were along the Malahat highway, Eagle Heights, and Nanoose Hill. The general location (Vancouver Island, Victoria) on the herbarium packet of Population 5 was clarified as King's Pond by the original collector, W.F. Savale. However, field work was initiated in the summer of 2002, which was possibly too late for this species. The banded cord-moss grows in late winter, matures in spring, and may decompose or be covered by litter by summer, although sporophytes of the Uplands Park population were found in late August. It has also been very dry over the past few years, and sporophytes may not have been produced as frequently as in the past. Further, this species may be overlooked because of its diminutive size and its habit of growing as small, highly localized patches, sometimes hidden amongst other mosses and litter. Much of the locality information on the herbarium collection packets is not very specific and, since many of the localities have abundant potential habitat and this species is locally rare, the exact location of individual populations may have been missed.

In the spring of 2003, T. McIntosh, along with W. Miles, initiated a study of rare and interesting bryophytes in Garry oak ecosystems in coastal British Columbia (McIntosh and Miles 2005). Many open sites, including habitats characteristic of Entosthodon fascicularis, were examined across much of the range of Garry oak. In addition and mostly separate from that survey, A. and O. Ceska also searched for this species in 2004. Sites on Salt Spring Island, near Nanaimo, in the Duncan area, and around Victoria were investigated. Altogether, approximately 60 sites have been investigated by these investigators and E. fascicularis was found only four additional times (Populations 11 to 14). One additional recent site (Population 15) was found in Helliwell Provincial Park in 2003.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’entosthodon fasciculé au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

L’Entosthodon fascicularis a une aire de répartition disjointe, étant présent d’une part dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord et d’autre part dans l’ouest de l’Eurasie. Il est relativement rare en Amérique du Nord, où on le trouve seulement en Colombie-Britannique, au Washington, en Idaho et en Orégon (figure 2; Grout, 1935; Lawton, 1971). NatureServe Explorer (2002) ne relève pas la présence de l’espèce en Idaho, mais mentionne les autres territoires où elle a été signalée. L'espèce est plus commune en Europe, où elle se rencontre en Suède, au Danemark, en Grande-Bretagne et en Irlande (Smith, 1989; NatureServe Explorer, 2002). Elle pourrait aussi être présente au Moyen-Orient (Kürschner, 2000).


Figure 2 : Répartition nord-américaine de l'Entosthodon fascicularis

Figure 2 : Répartition nord-américaine de l'Entosthodon fascicularis


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, l'Entosthodon fascicularis pousse principalement dans une petite zone côtière du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. On en a également trouvé une population isolée dans le sud-est de la province (figure 3). Le long de la côte, l'espèce a été trouvée à douze endroits dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver ainsi qu'à un endroit dans chacune de trois îles situées à proximité : l’île Trial, près de Victoria, l’île Saturna, à l’est de Victoria, et l’île Hornby (Sadler, 2005; tableau 1).


Figure 3 : Répartition canadienne de l'Entosthodon fascicularis

Figure 3 : Répartition canadienne de l'Entosthodon fascicularis.

Certains points peuvent représenter plus d'un site; voir le tableau 1 pour plus de détails.

 

Tableau 1 : Information sur les populations d'Entosthodon fascicularis.
Numéro de la populationLieuDates de visiteConfirmation
1 (1)Malahat, au nord de Victoria1982/2002Non (2002)
2 (2)Eagle Heights, près de Duncan1999/2002Non (2002)
3 (3, 9)Parc Uplands, à Victoria1982/2001/
2002
Oui (2002, par Wynne Miles et T. McIntosh)
4 (4, 5, 6, 7)Colline Nanoose, près de Nanaimo1969/1975/
1976/1993/
2002
Non (2002)
5 (8)Victoria (étang King)1961/2002Oui (2002, par Wynne Miles et T. McIntosh)
6 (10)Île Trial, près de Victoria1982/2000Pas de visite en 2002-2004
7 (11)Mont Old Baldy, près de Duncan1970/2002Non (2002)
8 (12)Sooke1969Non (2002)
9 (13)Île Saturna1997Pas de visite en 2002-2004
10 (14)Parc Yahk, région des Kootenays1978Pas de visite en 2002-2004
11Colline Christmas, à Victoria13 mai 2004Oui (par A. et O. Ceska)
12Mont Skirt, à Victoria21 mars 2004Oui (par A. et O. Ceska)
13Harmac, près de Nanaimo8 avril 2004Oui (par A. et O. Ceska)
14 (15)Colline de l’Observatoire, à Victoria16 mars 2004Oui (par T. McIntosh, W. Miles, et A. et O. Ceska)
15Parc provincial Helliwell, à l’île Hornby2003Oui (par K. Sadler)

Les numéros entre parenthèses suivant chaque numéro de population renvoient à la section « Spécimens examinés ». Les spécimens 3 et 9 ont été récoltés au même endroit dans le parc Uplands. Le lieu exact des récoltes de la colline Nanoose est incertain; celles-ci pourraient provenir de différentes localités du secteur et même représenter des populations distinctes.

Seulement deux des populations qui avaient déjà été signalées ont pu être retrouvées lors des travaux de terrain menés en 2002 dans le cadre du présent rapport : celles du parc Uplands et de l’étang King, à Victoria (populations 3 et 5). D'autres localités où l'espèce avait été signalée dans le passé ont été visitées, celles d’Eagle Heights, de la colline Nanoose et du chemin Malahat. Dans le cas de la population 5, l’indication générale (île de Vancouver, Victoria) figurant sur l’étiquette d’herbier a été précisée par l’herborisateur, W.F. Savale. Il s'agissait de l’étang King. Nos travaux de terrain ont débuté pendant l'été 2002, mais il était alors probablement trop tard pour étudier l’espèce. En effet, l'Entosthodon fascicularis croît durant la fin de l'hiver, arrive à maturité au printemps et peut se décomposer ou être recouvert de litière durant l'été. Cela dit, des sporophytes de la population du parc Uplands ont été trouvés vers la fin du mois d'août. Par ailleurs, les dernières années ayant été très sèches, il est possible que la mousse n'ait pas produit de sporophytes aussi souvent que par le passé. Enfin, comme la mousse est petite et pousse habituellement en petites colonies très localisées, parfois cachées dans la litière et parmi d'autres mousses, elle a pu passer inaperçue durant nos relevés. Enfin, comme la plupart des indications de lieu de récolte figurant sur les étiquettes d’herbier ne sont pas très précises, que la plupart des localités renferment de nombreux habitats potentiels et que l’espèce y est rare, il se peut que nous n’ayons tout simplement pas réussi à repérer les populations.

Au printemps 2003, nous avons entrepris avec W. Miles une étude sur les bryophytes rares et intéressantes poussant dans les écosystèmes des chênes de Garry des zones côtières de Colombie-Britannique (McIntosh et Miles, 2005). Nous avons ainsi examiné de nombreux espaces découverts, dont des habitats caractéristiques de l'Entosthodon fascicularis, dans la majeure partie de l'aire de répartition des chênes de Garry. De leur côté, A. et O. Ceska ont étudié cette espèce en 2004. Ils ont ainsi examiné une soixantaine de localités de l’île Salt Spring ainsi que des environs de Nanaimo, de Duncan et de Victoria. Ils n’ont ainsi pu repérer que 4 nouveaux sites d’E. fascicularis (populations 11 à 14). Un site additionnel récent (population 15) a été trouvé au parc provincial Helliwell en 2003.