Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Multi-Species at Risk in Garry Oak Woodlands in Canada (Proposed)


1. Introduction

This strategy has been developed under the broader Recovery Strategy for Garry Oak and Associated Ecosystems and their Associated Species at Risk in Canada: 2001-2006 (GOERT 2002) to address the recovery of five plant species at risk that occur within Garry oak (Quercus garryana) woodland habitat: deltoid balsamroot (Balsamorhiza deltoidea), white-top aster (Sericocarpus rigidus), small-flowered tonella (Tonella tenella), Howell's triteleia (Triteleia howellii), and yellow montane violet (Viola praemorsa ssp. praemorsa). In particular, this strategy comprises components of Strategic Approach D: "Protection and recovery of species at risk" of the GOERT strategy. This strategy covers all locations of all five of these species within Canada.

General background information that is common to all species is provided in Section A of the GOERT 2002 strategy and includes common habitat elements and background on Garry oak and associated ecosystems recovery.

The Garry Oak Woodlands Recovery Strategy provides two components of the three tiers of recovery identified by the Garry Oak Ecosystems Recovery Team (GOERT). In Section 2, key characteristics of the species, importance to people, threats to the species and habitat, critical habitat and recovery of the species are discussed. Section 3 provides detail on each species' biological needs and habitat requirements.

Table 1. Species addressed in this Recovery Strategy2
Species NameCOSEWIC StatusProvincial Rank and ListingGlobal RankSARA Status (Schedule 1)Estimated PopulationPercent Range in Canada
deltoid balsamroot
(Balsamorhiza deltoidea)
EndangeredS1 - RedG5Endangered~ 1160 plants< 1%
white-top aster
(Sericocarpus rigidus)
ThreatenedS2 - RedG3Threatened~ 54,800 – 94,800 stems~ 15%
small-flowered tonella
(Tonella tenella)
EndangeredS1 - RedG5Endangered~ 236-316 plants< 1%
Howell's triteleia
 (Triteleia howellii)
EndangeredS2 - RedG5Endangered~ 1000 plants< 1%
yellow montane violet
(Viola praemorsa ssp. praemorsa)
ThreatenedS2 - RedG5T3T5Threatened~ 45,000 plants< 1%

2 Taxonomy and nomenclature follows Douglas et al. (1998a, 1998b, 1999a, 1999b and 2001).

See Appendix 2 of the Recovery Strategy for Garry Oak and Associated Ecosystems for definitions of ranks and listings used in this table.

1.1 Stewardship Approach

For successful implementation in protecting species at risk there will be a strong need to engage in stewardship on a variety of land tenures, and in particular on private land and on Indian Reserves. Stewardship involves the voluntary cooperation of landowners to protect Species at Risk and the ecosystems they rely on. It is recognized in the Preamble to the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) that "stewardship activities contributing to the conservation of wildlife species and their habitat should be supported" and that "all Canadians have a role to play in the conservation of wildlife in this country, including the prevention of wildlife species from becoming extirpated or extinct." It is recognized in the Bilateral Agreement on Species at Risk, between British Columbia and Canada that:

"Stewardship by land and water owners and users is fundamental to preventing species from becoming at risk and in protecting and recovering species that are at risk" and that "Cooperative, voluntary measures are the first approach to securing the protection and recovery of species at risk."

1.2 Stewardship Approach for Private Lands

Since many species of risk occur only or predominantly on private lands, including some of the species in this strategy, stewardship efforts will be the key to their conservation and recovery. It is recognized that to successfully protect many species at risk in British Columbia there will have to be voluntary initiatives by landowners to help maintain areas of natural ecosystems that support these species of risk. This stewardship approach will cover many different kinds of activities, such as: following guidelines or best management practices to support species at risk; voluntarily protecting important areas of habitat on private property; conservation covenants on property titles; ecogifting part or all of their property to protect certain ecosystems or species at risk; or to sell their property for conservation. For example, both government and non-governmental organizations have had good success in conserving lands in the Province. This could be aided by the B.C. Trust for Public Lands.

1.3 Description of the Habitat Area Covered by the Recovery Strategy

The species covered in this strategy mostly occur in association with Garry oak woodlands in Canada. Garry oak woodlands, for the purposes of this strategy, range from open parkland with scattered Garry oak trees, a sparse shrub layer and a diverse herb layer, to closed Garry oak woodlands, sometimes including arbutus (Arbutus menziesii) and Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) trees, with a patchy mix of shrub thickets and meadow openings. These woodlands occur as patches within the Coastal Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zone as a result of climatic, edaphic, and cultural factors (see Fuchs 2001).

Annual precipitation in Victoria, the centre of historical Garry oak woodland distribution in Canada, is approximately 600 mm (based on climate normals 1971-2000, Environment Canada 2004). Annual precipitation increases toward the periphery of Garry oak woodlands, approaching 1000 mm in Metchosin and up to 1500 mm in Duncan. The majority of this rainfall occurs in winter, with only approximately 45-65 mm per month falling in May-August in Duncan and 20 mm or less during this period in Victoria.

Soils supporting Garry oaks on southeastern Vancouver Island are often gravelly loams or gravelly sandy loams (Stein 1990). These soils are often shallow (i.e. <30 cm), with depths ranging from a few to over 100 cm, with deeper soils typically being very well-drained (Fuchs 2001, Roemer 1993). Soils can also be nitrogen poor, resulting in less competition from other native species.

It is likely that Garry oak woodlands had a more extensive range in Canada several thousand years ago as suggested by pollen in soil cores sampled on southern Vancouver Island and the adjacent mainland (R. Hebda pers. comm.; Brown and Hebda 2002, Pellat et al. 2001). The use of fire by First Nations is thought to have allowed the oak woodlands to persist and perhaps expand on southeastern Vancouver Island, particularly in areas with deeper soil, by preventing conifer encroachment as the climate became wetter (Pellat et al. 2001, Fuchs 2001, Turner 1999, Thilenius 1968).

There is little intact Garry oak woodland ecosystem left and most of the remaining stands contain an abundance of invasive, often introduced, species (MacDougall et al. 2004). In urban areas, veteran oaks remain, however, the understory has mostly been replaced by cultivated lawns and pavement. Remaining woodland patches are highly disjunct, typically small, and are most often dominated by invasive plant species. In addition, ecosystem processes (such as fire, herbivory, and hydrology) are often altered.

The remnants of Garry oak woodland habitats in which the species in this strategy are found vary between sites and do not necessarily represent typical or historical habitat conditions. Historically, Garry oak woodlands have been described as occurring in two major forms: oak parklands typified by richer, deeper soils with an understory mosaic of shrubs and herbaceous meadows, and drier scrub oak ecosystems on rocky hillsides and shorelines with poorer, shallower soils and a sparser understory (MacDougall et al. 2004). The species within this strategy typically occur in one of these woodland types, however, the majority of the habitat has been heavily invaded by exotic species, and community structure and composition has been altered by fire suppression. One deltoid balsamroot population (Tyee Spit) does not have a Garry oak overstory. One common factor in all of the sites is that they experience seasonal drought and/or have well-drained soils.

1.4 Rationale for Multi-species Approach to Recovery

Habitat protection plays an essential role in the conservation of wildlife species, as noted in the federal Species At Risk Act (SARA). GOERT has recognized this in their broad and fine filter approach to recovery planning, as discussed in the umbrella strategy (GOERT, 2002). A number of other important considerations identified by the National Recovery Working Group (2001) also indicate a need to approach species-specific recovery of Garry oak woodland species from a habitat perspective:

  • These species at risk occupy a limited geographical area and their recovery actions must be integrated at some point in the planning process.
  • These species may have conflicting needs which can be identified and addressed proactively with ecosystem and habitat approaches.
  • Some threats to these species, such as invasive species, operate at an ecosystem scale and are therefore more effectively tackled with an ecosystem or habitat-wide approach.

Populations of species at risk in Garry oak woodlands are at the northern limit of their range (Ceska 1992, Pojar 1980) and may face similar important genetic and other recovery issues as a result.

Finally, due to the large number of species at risk (approximately 100 species) that occupy Garry oak ecosystems, recovery planning at the ecosystem and habitat levels enables a highly integrated and efficient planning process.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement multi-espèces visant les plantes en péril des chênaies de Garry au Canada (Proposé)


1. Introduction

Le présent programme de rétablissement, élaboré dans le cadre du programme Recovery Strategy for Garry Oak and Associated Ecosystems and their Associated Species at Risk in Canada: 2001-2006 (GOERT, 2002), vise le rétablissement de cinq espèces en péril au Canada qui sont associées aux chênaies de Garry (milieux dominés par le chêne de Garry, Quercus garryana), à savoir la balsamorhize à feuilles deltoïdes (Balsamorhiza deltoidea), l'aster rigide (Sericocarpus rigidus), la tonelle délicate (Tonella tenella), le tritéléia de Howell (Triteleia howellii) et la violette jaune des monts (Viola praemorsa ssp. praemorsa). Le présent programme reprend certains éléments du volet « Strategic Approach D: Protection and recovery of species at risk » du programme de l'Équipe de rétablissement des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry (ERECG; en anglais GOERT, pour Garry Oak Ecosystems Recovery Team) et vise toutes les stations canadiennes des cinq espèces susmentionnées.

Tableau 1. Espèces visées par le présent programme de rétablissement2
EspèceStatut attribué par le COSEPACClassement à l'échelle provincialeClassement à l'échelle mondialeDésignation de la LEP (annexe 1)Estimation de l'effectifProportion de l'aire de répartition se trouvant au Canada
Balsamorhize à feuilles deltoïdes
(Balsamorhiza deltoidea)
Espèce en voie de disparitionS1 – liste rougeG5Espèce en voie de disparition~ 1 160 individus< 1 %
Aster rigide
(Sericocarpus rigidus)
Espèce menacéeS2 – liste rougeG3Espèce menacée~ 54 800 à 94 800 tiges~ 15 %
Tonelle délicate
(Tonella tenella)
Espèce en voie de disparitionS1 – liste rougeG5Espèce en voie de disparition~ 236 à 316 individus< 1 %
Tritéléia de Howell
(Triteleia howellii)
Espèce en voie de disparitionS2 – liste rougeG5Espèce en voie de disparition~ 1 000 individus< 1 %
Violette jaune des monts
(Viola praemorsa ssp. praemorsa)
Espèce menacéeS2 – liste rougeG5T3T5Espèce menacée~ 45 000 individus< 1 %

2 Taxonomie et nomenclature selon Douglas et al. (1998a, 1998b, 1999a, 1999b et 2001).

Les cotes et autres désignations sont définies à l'annexe 2 du programme Recovery Strategy for Garry Oak and Associated Ecosystems.

On trouvera dans la section A du programme de l'ERECG (2002) de l'information générale s'appliquant à l'ensemble des espèces visées, notamment en ce qui a trait aux éléments communs de leurs habitats et au rétablissement des chênaies elles-mêmes et des écosystèmes qui leurs sont associés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement permet de répondre à deux des trois niveaux d'intervention définis par l'ERECG. La section 2 du présent document décrit les principaux caractères des espèces visées, leur importance pour la population humaine, les menaces qui pèsent sur elles et sur leur habitat, la définition de leur habitat essentiel et les mesures devant assurer leur rétablissement. La section 3 décrit les exigences biologiques et les besoins en matière d'habitat de chacune des espèces visées.

1.1 Approche en matière d'intendance

Pour mettre en œuvre une protection efficace des espèces en péril, il sera très important d'entreprendre des activités d'intendance à l'égard de terrains présentant divers régimes fonciers et notamment de terrains privés et de réserves des Premières Nations. Ces activités supposent une coopération volontaire des propriétaires des terrains visés en vue de protéger les espèces en péril et les écosystèmes nécessaires à leur survie. En effet, dans le préambule de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale, il est admis « que les activités d'intendance visant la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat devraient bénéficier de l'appui voulu pour éviter que celles-ci deviennent des espèces en péril » et « que tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans la conservation des espèces sauvages, notamment en ce qui a trait à la prévention de leur disparition du pays ou de la planète ». De même, dans l'Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique, il est reconnu que « l'intendance par les propriétaires de terres et de plans d'eau, ainsi que par leurs utilisateurs, est essentielle afin d'éviter que des espèces ne deviennent en péril et de protéger et rétablir les espèces qui sont en péril » et que « les mesures coopératives et volontaires sont les premières approches pour assurer la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril ».

1.2 Approche en matière d'intendance des terrains privés

Comme de nombreuses espèces en péril, dont certaines des espèces visées par le présent programme, se rencontrent uniquement ou principalement sur des terrains privés, les activités d'intendance seront essentielles à leur conservation et à leur rétablissement. Il est reconnu que la protection efficace de nombreuses espèces en péril de Colombie-Britannique exigera que les propriétaires des terrains visés prennent des mesures volontaires pour aider à conserver certains secteurs des écosystèmes naturels abritant ces espèces. Cette approche inclura de nombreux types d'activités, dont : le respect de lignes directrices ou bonnes pratiques de gestion visant à soutenir les espèces en péril; la protection volontaire de secteurs importants d'habitat se trouvant sur des terrains privés; la conclusion d'accords de conservation visant les titres de propriété; le don d'une partie ou de la totalité des terrains aux fins de la protection de certains écosystèmes ou de certaines espèces en péril; la vente des terrains aux fins de conservation. Plusieurs organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales sont parvenues à bien conserver certaines terres dans la province. Ce type d'activité peut être appuyé par le B.C. Trust for Public Lands.

1.3 Description des milieux visés par le présent programme

Les espèces visées par le présent programme se rencontrent principalement dans les chênaies de Garry. Aux fins du programme, celles-ci comprennent aussi bien la chênaie-parc, formée de chênes de Garry dispersés, d'une strate arbustive clairsemée et d'une strate herbacée diversifiée, que la chênaie plus dense, où l'arbousier (Arbutus menziesii) et le douglas (Pseudotsuga menziesii) accompagnent parfois le chêne de Garry mais qui demeure parsemée d'arbustaies et d'herbaçaies. En raison de facteurs climatiques, édaphiques et anthropiques, les chênaies de Garry forment des îlots dispersés au sein de la zone côtière à douglas (voir Fuchs, 2001).

À Victoria, centre de l'aire de répartition canadienne historique des chênaies de Garry, les précipitations annuelles sont d'environ 600 mm (d'après les Normales climatiques 1971-2000, Environnement Canada, 2004). Elles sont plus importantes à la périphérie de l'aire du chêne de Garry, approchant les 1 000 mm à Metchosin et atteignant les 1 500 mm à Duncan. Les précipitations ont lieu surtout en hiver, la moyenne mensuelle pour la période de mai à août se situant entre 45 et 65 mm environ pour Duncan et à 20 mm ou moins pour Victoria.

Dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver, les sols où croît le chêne de Garry sont souvent des loams graveleux ou gravelo-sableux (Stein, 1990), souvent minces (<30 cm) mais variant entre quelques centimètres et plus de 100 cm, les plus épais étant en général très bien drainés (Fuchs, 2001; Roemer, 1993). Certains sont pauvres en azote, ce qui défavorise l'envahissement par d'autres espèces indigènes.

L'analyse palynologique des carottes de terre prélevées dans le sud de l'île de Vancouver et dans la région voisine du continent indique que l'aire canadienne du chêne de Garry était plus étendue il y a plusieurs milliers d'années qu'elle ne l'est aujourd'hui (R. Hebda, comm. pers.; Brown et Hebda, 2002; Pellat et al., 2001). Le brûlage pratiqué par les peuples autochtones dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver a probablement favorisé le maintien et peut-être même l'extension des chênaies de Garry, en particulier dans les zones à sol épais, en empêchant leur envahissement par les conifères durant la période où le climat est devenu plus humide (Pellat et al., 2001; Fuchs, 2001; Turner, 1999; Thilenius, 1968).

Il reste très peu de chênaies de Garry intactes; la plupart ont été envahies par d'autres espèces, dont un grand nombre d'exotiques (MacDougall et al., 2004). En milieu urbain, il subsiste des chênes de Garry vétérans, mais le sous-étage est en majeure partie remplacé par du gazon ou des revêtements. Il ne reste que des îlots, généralement très réduits, de chênaies de Garry, très éloignés les uns des autres et le plus souvent dominés par des espèces envahissantes. En outre, les processus écologiques (feu, broutage, régime hydrologique) y sont en grande partie modifiés.

Les chênaies de Garry visées par le présent programme ne possèdent pas toutes les mêmes caractères ni forcément les caractères typiques ou historiques de ce type de formation. Dans le passé, on a décrit deux types de chênaies de Garry : la chênaie-parc, à sol riche et épais et à sous-étage formé d'arbustaies et d'herbaçaies, et la chênaie broussailleuse occupant le littoral ou les versants rocheux, à sol pauvre, mince et sec et à sous-étage plus clairsemé (MacDougall et al., 2004). Les espèces visées par le présent programme sont généralement associées à l'un ou à l'autre des deux types de chênaies. Cependant, la majeure partie de leur habitat est fortement envahi par des espèces exotiques, et la lutte contre les incendies ainsi que l'abandon des pratiques de brûlage ont entraîné une modification de la structure et de la composition de la végétation. Une des populations de balsamorhize à feuilles deltoïdes (celle de la flèche Tyee) pousse même dans un milieu sans couvert de chênes de Garry. Toutes les stations des espèces visées ont cependant en commun d'être exposées à une période de sécheresse saisonnière ou de pousser sur un sol très bien drainé.

1.4 Justification de l'approche multi-espèces

La protection de l'habitat est un facteur clé dans la conservation des espèces sauvages, comme le reconnaît la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada. L'ERECG a tenu compte de ce facteur dans la définition des approches générales et particulières de sa stratégie globale (GOERT, 2002). Plusieurs autres points importants soulevés par le Groupe de travail national sur le rétablissement (2001) montrent également que le rétablissement de chacune des espèces en péril associées aux chênaies de Garry nécessite la protection de leur habitat.

  • Ces espèces ont une aire de répartition restreinte, et les mesures de rétablissement prévues à leur égard doivent être intégrées à l'une ou l'autre des étapes de la planification.
  • Ces espèces ont peut-être des besoins conflictuels qu'une approche écosystémique permettrait de déceler et de concilier.
  • Certaines menaces qui pèsent sur ces espèces, par exemple l'empiètement d'espèces envahissantes sur leur habitat, se font sentir à l'échelle de l'écosystème, de sorte qu'il est plus efficace de s'y attaquer à cette échelle.

Les espèces en péril visées par le présent programme se trouvent, au Canada, à la limite septentrionale de leur aire de répartition (Ceska, 1992; Pojar, 1980), et il est possible que leurs populations canadiennes soient toutes confrontées à des problèmes génétiques et à des difficultés de rétablissement semblables.

Enfin, compte tenu du grand nombre (une centaine) d'espèces en péril présentes dans les chênaies de Garry et écosystèmes associés, une approche visant le rétablissement de leur habitat ou de leur écosystème est plus efficace, puisqu'elle permet un niveau élevé d'intégration des mesures visant le rétablissement des espèces individuelles.