Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act - Legal Listing Consultation Workbook, Fin whale (Atlantic Population)

Information on Fin Whale

Status: Species of special concern.

Last COSEWIC assessment: May 2005.

2.1. Distribution and migration of fin whale

Fin whale is a deep-water cetacean that can be found in every ocean of the world. However, it is more abundant at temperate and polar latitudes. It can be encountered in coastal waters but occurs most often in the open sea. It seems to be absent in most equatorial areas or floe edges. Northern hemisphere fin whales (Balaenoptera physalus physalus) and those from the southern hemisphere (B. p. quoyi) are likely geographically isolated sub-species, and are distinct at the reproductive level as well. Morphological differences distinguish them. Two distinct populations can be found in Canadian waters, one in the Pacific and the other in the Atlantic.

Fin whale is a migrating species that spends the summer in the northern waters rich in food between Baffin Bay, in Canada, and Cape Hatteras in North Carolina. The winter distribution range of fin whale is not well known. It travelled the waters between the coast and the continental shelf of the Newfoundland Grand Banks all the way down to the Gulf of Mexico. Generally, their summering area is not as spread out as their wintering area. Still, the distribution range limits of this cetacean throughout the year are not well documented.

In the Canadian Atlantic, different summering aggregations are spread out in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence, the Bay of Fundy, the costal and offshore waters of Newfoundland, off the coast of Labrador up to Davis Strait, and on the Scotian Shelf. During the summering period, from June to the fall, the fin whale is the most commonly seen large whale in the Bay of Fundy and on the Scotian Shelf. It seems that the Newfoundland and Nova Scotia stocks migrate south in winter, with the Newfoundland stock occupying the area vacated by the Nova Scotia stock, which migrates further south. In winter, certain individuals stay along the Atlantic coast of Nova Scotia.

In the Estuary of St. Lawrence, near Tadoussac, 88 individuals were photo identified by a team of scientists between 1986 and 2001. Of this number, approximately 30% are considered seasonal residents because they have been seen almost every year. The rest of them are considered regular or occasional visitors. Downstream, along the northern coast of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, over 300 fin whales were photo identified since the early 1980s.

2.2. Biology and behaviour of fin whale

2.2.1. Morphology

Second largest cetacean in the world after the blue whale, the Atlantic fin whale is smaller than its congeners in the southern hemisphere and reaches an average length of 24 m, with an average weight between 40 and 50 tons. Females are usually larger than males. They have slender and hydrodynamic bodies, allowing them to swim at great speeds. Their backs are dark grey to brownish grey, and their stomachs white. Fin whale is different from other species because of the nonsymmetric colouration of its lower jaw (darker on the left side) and baleens (yellowish band on the right side, in front, and the rest a greyish blue).

2.2.2. Reproduction

For the fin whale, sexual maturity is usually reached at about 6-7 years of age for females and 7-8 years of age for males (for an average length of 17.2 m). Breeding and calving appear to occur in the winter in lower latitudes. Females give birth to a single calf (of approximately 6 m) after an 11 or 12-month gestation period, and weaning occurs 6-7 months later. The interval between two births is estimated at about 2½years. The fin whale population could reproduce at an annual rate of 8 calves per 100 adult females. However, the survival rate of calves and juveniles is still mostly unknown.

2.2.3. Social behaviour and relationships among species

The bond between the mother and her young appears to end during the weaning period, and there doesn’t seem to be any lasting bond between individuals of a same population. However, there have been animals that have created temporary associations especially during movements (2-7 individuals) and at feeding sites (2 or more).

Distribution ranges and a common diet bring together different species of baleen whales. It is not rare to come across groups made up of large whales (blue and fin), and a certain number of hybrid individuals have been identified in the Northern Atlantic, particularly in Iceland. In overlapping areas, it is likely that this species shares the same food resources as other whale species. For example, there could be competition between humpback and fin whales in feeding areas harbouring schools of capelin, if this resource was limited.

2.2.4. Diet

The variety in the fin whale diet is as much a question of prey availability as it is a question of preference. This flexible dietary strategy allows the animal to change target if one particular prey diminishes. In a similar situation, a stenophagous species (restricted diet) such as the blue whale is clearly at a disadvantage. In the Northern Atlantic, the main prey for fin whales is small invertebrates, schools of fish and squid. In Canadian waters, they mostly feed on krill, capelin, and in a lesser degree, on Atlantic herring. Fin whales that are found in the St. Lawrence Estuary would benefit from the great concentration of krill and capelin found at the mouth of the Saguenay River. Capelin appear to be the main prey for fin whales found off the coast of Newfoundland, while those found in the Bay of Fundy feed mainly on krill. Fin whales have been seen feeding on herring off the coast of Nova Scotia.

2.2.5. Habitat

According to the SARA definition, a “habitat” could include: calving, rearing and feeding areas, as well as migration routes on which the species’ survival depends, during the annual cycle and for each age and gender class. Unfortunately, the fin whale data collected so far focuses more on summer nursing areas than on wintering areas.

If fin whales travel a lot in coastal waters during the summer, some individuals could reach open water and the south in winter. The geographic distribution of fin whales suggests a preference, during summer, for areas where surface water temperature is cooler such as in the Bay of Fundy and for upwelling areas. Along the coasts, they feed on sites with rich concentrations of prey, such as at the head of the Laurentian Channel (St. Lawrence Estuary). Eastern Nova Scotia would have enough food to feed fin whales during the entire year.

It is difficult to describe changes to a habitat (drop in productivity, increased competition, etc.) for an aquatic, migrating and pelagic species like the fin whale. This animal appears to possess the physical capacity to travel great distances in order to find adequate parcels. Factors that are likely to change the habitat area have probably more to do with changes in productivity on a more global scale. The quality and size of the habitat also depend on interactions between the species, its prey and its competitors.

2.2.6. Communication

The fin whale vocalizes a lot. It emits low frequency sounds that can travel hundreds, even thousands of kilometres. Vocalization could be used to announce southward migration in the fall, and northern migration at the end of winter. Individuals found on the Scotian Shelf emit louder songs towards the end of August, all through fall and in the middle of winter. In the North Pacific, signals (20 Hz) used by fin whales are linked to male reproductive behaviour. It is possible that fin whales use earth’s magnetic field to find their way during migration.

2.3. Why has COSEWIC given the Fin Whale “special concern” status?

Here is the reason for the fin whale status designation by COSEWIC:

As of the late 19th century, whaling techniques improved and enabled the capture of fin whales (a very fast species whose body sinks after death). For almost a century, stocks were over-exploited and therefore dangerously reduced. The abundance of these whales was not measured until the beginning of the whaling industry. However, we do know that more than 13,337 fin whales were killed near Newfoundland and Labrador between 1903 and 1945, and that the Nova Scotia stock felt the pressure from whaling between 1964 and 1971. The most reliable and recent assessment is from 1999 and estimated that 2,814 individuals could be found between Georges Bank (N.S.) and the mouth of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and 380 individuals inside the Gulf. Even though whaling activities have been interrupted in Canada since 1971, several man-made threats are potentially harmful for fin whales.

2.4. What are the threats to the fin whale?

A degradation of the habitat caused by a drop in prey availability, and a decline in fitness brought on by chemical pollution enters into the category of limiting factors, while accidental catches, collisions and noise disturbance represent threats. Studies are nonetheless necessary in order to properly define and understand the impact of these elements on the recovery and sustainability of the species.

2.4.1. Limiting factors

Reductions in prey abundance

The habitat of large whales is intimately linked to prey distribution. Any reduction in a prey’s availability can consequently be perceived as a reduction in habitat. The phenomenons that can lead directly or indirectly to a reduction in prey are climatic changes, interspecific competition and commercial fishing.

Chemical contamination

There apparently isn’t any proof that baleen whales suffer from the toxic effects of metal or organochlorine contamination of their environment. However, other marine mammals appear to be affected by immunotoxic chemical products. The known effects of these pollutants on animals are: a reduction or change to the immune response, reproductive disorders, lesions and cancers. The organochlorine contamination rate of certain fin whales in the Gulf of St. Lawrence is nonetheless high enough to generate some concern but lower than levels recorded 20 years earlier. The contamination rate could vary according to the geographic area.

2.4.2. Threats

Entanglement in fishing gear

After whaling, which is now forbidden in Canadian waters, entanglement in fishing gear appears to be the most significant threat for fin whales. However, it is difficult to evaluate the consequences because, first of all, the number of accidental catches seems to be underestimated either because they aren’t being reported or because the individual couldn’t be identified or was never found. Secondly, fin whales appear to be less susceptible to entanglement than their congeners (blue whale, mink whale) because of their smaller appendage and their strength. Finally, because fin whales don’t expose their bodies as much during their dives, net or cable marks often remain hidden from the observer. Some cases of fin whale entanglement have been reported and some were even fatal. More than on the Pacific coast, the population of eastern Canada has seen its distribution range cross over fishery areas, which increases the risks.

Collisions with vessels

Fin whales are the most common victims of collisions with long and fast commercial ships. Many ships have been sighted with a carcass on their bow. Collisions are not all fatal but the numbers are likely underestimated because the bodies of these whales usually sink when they die. It is estimated that 4% of living individuals that have been photo identified have marks from accidents with ships. Because they are accustomed to the noise produced by these ships in heavy traffic areas, their vigilance might be somewhat reduced and this may cause accidents. Heavier traffic as well as the increase of ship sizes represents an additional threat for fin whales. This would be the case in the St. Lawrence Seaway, which is the main access way for commercial fleets on the east coast of North America and in the area of the port of Halifax.

Noise pollution

Ambient noise levels in the ocean have increased significantly globally over the past century. Noise produced by commercial vessels, detonations from seismic exploration, and all other low frequency noise are likely to produce behavioural and physical changes in fin whales. The distance between the noise source and the animal, the emission frequency, the intensity and duration of the noise, the recurrence of noisy events, and the whale’s hearing ability and degree of habituation are all factors that interact and determine the extent of the impact.

In response to certain noises, whales can interrupt their feeding and mating activities, divert their route, or abandon a critical habitat. Recurring sounds, even at low intensities, could produce chronic stress and have long-term health impacts on individuals. In the case of very loud noises, or when the noise source is close, the animal could experience reduced hearing sensitivity or hearing loss. Manmade noise can also overshadow (mask) sounds that fin whales need to hear to breed, feed, or navigate.

Seismic exploration and oil and gas development

Sounds emitted by seismic exploration and oil and gas development, in addition to being responsible for physical harm, would cause fin whales to avoid these areas and interrupt their dives (the noise level being lower near the surface). The impact of this type of development raises a number of questions, particularly when it comes to sound travelling over great distances in underwater environments. The issue concerns mostly fin whale populations because of potentially high hydrocarbon sectors spilling over areas harbouring heavy concentrations of the species.

Whaling

Although it has been interrupted in Canada, whaling continues in the North Atlantic, notably in Greenland (subsistence harvest) and eventually in Iceland (which is interested in resuming this activity).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril - Cahier de consultation au sujet de l'inscription sur la liste officielle, rorqual commun, population de l'Atlantique

Informations de base sur le rorqual commun

Statut : Espèce préoccupante

Dernière évaluation du COSEPAC : mai 2005

2.1. Distribution et migration des rorquals communs

Le rorqual commun est un cétacé d’eau profonde qui peut se retrouver dans tous les grands océans. Il est cependant plus abondant aux latitudes tempérées et polaires. Il fréquente les eaux côtières mais se retrouve en plus grand nombre en haute mer. Il semble être absent de la plupart des zones équatoriales et de la lisière de la banquise. Les rorquals communs de l’hémisphère nord (Balaenoptera physalus physalus) et ceux de l’hémisphère sud (B. p. quoyi) constitueraient des sous-espèces isolées géographiquement et probablement aussi sur le plan reproducteur. Des différences morphologiques permettent leur distinction. Deux populations distinctes fréquentent les eaux canadiennes, l’une dans le Pacifique et l’autre dans l’Atlantique.

Le rorqual commun est une espèce migratrice qui passe l’été dans les eaux nordiques riches en nourriture entre la baie de Baffin, au Canada et le cap Hatteras, en Caroline du Nord. L’aire de distribution hivernale des rorquals communs est peu connue.  Il parcourrait les eaux comprises entre la côte et la plateforme continentale des Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve jusqu’au Golfe du Mexique. De façon générale, les aires d’estivage sont moins étendues que les zones d’hivernage. Il demeure que les limites de l’aire de distribution de ce cétacé tout au long de l’année sont mal documentées.

Dans l’Atlantique canadien, différents groupements estivaux se répartissent dans le golfe et l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, la baie de Fundy, les eaux côtières et extra côtières de Terre-Neuve, au large du Labrador jusqu’au détroit de Davis ainsi que sur le Plateau Néo-écossais. En période estivale, de juin à l’automne, le rorqual commun est la grande baleine la plus fréquemment observée dans la baie de Fundy et sur le Plateau Néo-écossais. Il semblerait que les stocks de Terre-Neuve et de la Nouvelle-Écosse migrent vers le sud en hiver, le stock de Terre-Neuve investissant les lieux d’estivage laissés vacants par le stock de la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui migre plus au sud. En hiver, certains individus demeurent le long des côtes atlantiques de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, près de Tadoussac, 88 individus ont été photo identifiés par une équipe de chercheurs, entre 1986 et 2001. De ce nombre, environ 30% sont considérés comme des résidents saisonniers puisqu’ils sont revus généralement d’année en année. La part restante est constituée de visiteurs réguliers ou occasionnels. En aval, le long de la côte nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, plus de 300 rorquals communs différents ont été photo identifiés depuis le début des années 80.

2.2. Biologie et comportement du rorqual commun

2.2.1. Morphologie

Deuxième plus grand cétacé au monde après le rorqual bleu, le rorqual commun de l’Atlantique est plus petit que ses congénères de l’hémisphère sud et atteint une longueur moyenne de 24 m pour un poids moyen variant entre 40 et 50 tonnes.  La femelle est généralement plus grande que le mâle. Un corps effilé confère à l’animal un hydrodynamisme qui lui permet d’atteindre une grande vitesse de nage. Gris foncé à gris brunâtre sur le dos pour devenir blanc sur le ventre, le rorqual commun se distingue des autres espèces par une coloration asymétrique de la mâchoire inférieure (plus foncé du côté gauche) et des fanons (bande d’un blanc jaunâtre sur la droite, en avant, le reste étant gris-bleu).

2.2.2. Reproduction

Chez le rorqual commun, la maturité sexuelle est atteinte en moyenne vers 6–7 ans chez la femelle et vers 7–8 ans chez le mâle (pour une taille moyenne de 17,2 m). L’accouplement et le vêlage semblent avoir lieu en hiver sous de basses latitudes. La femelle donne naissance à un seul petit (de 6 m environ) après 11 à 12 mois de gestation et le veau est sevré 6 et 7 mois plus tard. L’intervalle entre deux naissances est estimé à environ 2 ans et demi. La population de rorqual commun pourrait se reproduire à un rythme annuel de 8 veaux par 100 femelles adultes. Cependant le taux de survie des veaux et des juvéniles reste mal connu.

2.2.3. Comportement social et relations entre les espèces

L’attachement entre la mère et son petit semble prendre fin au sevrage et, de façon plus générale, aucun lien durable ne semble se former entre les individus d’une même population. Cependant, il arrive que quelques animaux forment une association temporaire surtout lors des déplacements (2 à 7 individus) et sur les sites d’alimentation (2 et plus).

Des aires de distribution et une alimentation communes favorisent le côtoiement de différentes espèces de baleines à fanons. Il n’est pas rare de rencontrer des groupes formés de grands rorquals (bleus et communs) et un certain nombre d’individus hybrides ont été répertoriés dans l’Atlantique-Nord, particulièrement en Islande. Dans les aires de recoupement, il est probable que cette espèce partage les mêmes ressources alimentaires que d’autres espèces de rorquals.  Par exemple, il pourrait y avoir compétition entre le rorqual à bosse et le rorqual commun dans les secteurs d’alimentation abritant des bancs de capelan si cette ressource s’avérait limitée.

2.2.4. Régime alimentaire

La diète variée du rorqual commun est autant fonction de la disponibilité des proies que de la préférence pour certaines d’entre elles. Cette stratégie d’alimentation flexible permet à l’animal de changer de cible si une proie en particulier diminue. Dans la même situation, l’espèce sténophage (diète restreinte) qu’est le rorqual bleu est nettement désavantagée. En Atlantique nord, les principales proies du rorqual commun sont de petits invertébrés, des poissons regroupés en banc et des calmars. Dans les eaux canadiennes, il s’alimente principalement de krill, de capelans et, dans une moindre mesure, de harengs. Les rorquals communs qui fréquentent l’estuaire de Saint-Laurent profitent présumément de la grande concentration de krill et de capelan particulière à l’embouchure du Saguenay. Le capelan semble être la principale proie des rorquals communs circulant au large de Terre-Neuve tandis que ceux de la baie de Fundy s’alimenteraient essentiellement de krill. Des rorquals communs ont déjà été observés à se nourrir de harengs au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

2.2.5. Habitat

D’après la définition de la LEP, un «habitat»peut comprendre : les aires de mise bas, de croissance et d’alimentation et les routes migratoires dont la survie de l’espèce dépend, au cours du cycle annuel et pour chacune des classes d’âge et de sexe. Malheureusement, les informations récoltées à ce jour sur le rorqual commun portent davantage sur les zones nourricières estivales que sur les aires d’hivernage.

Si le rorqual commun navigue intensément en eau côtière durant l’été, certains individus pourraient gagner le large et également le sud pendant l’hiver. La distribution géographique des rorquals communs suggère une préférence, en période estivale, pour des régions où la température de l’eau de surface est peu élevée comme dans la baie de Fundy et pour les remontées d’eau profonde (upwellings). Le long des côtes, il s’alimente sur des sites de forte concentration de proies, comme c’est le cas à la tête du Chenal Laurentien (Estuaire du Saint-Laurent).  L’est de la Nouvelle-Écosse fournirait suffisamment de nourriture pour alimenter des rorquals communs durant toute l’année.

Il est difficile de décrire des changements survenus dans l’habitat (baisse de productivité, compétition accrue, etc.) sur une espèce aquatique, migratrice et pélagique comme le rorqual commun. Cet animal semble cependant être physiquement capable de franchir de grandes distances pour trouver des parcelles adéquates. Les facteurs susceptibles de modifier l’étendue de l’habitat sont probablement davantage liés à des changements dans la productivité à une échelle plus globale. La qualité et la superficie de l’habitat dépendent également des interactions entre l’espèce, ses proies et ses concurrents.

2.2.6. Communication

Le rorqual commun est une baleine qui vocalise beaucoup. Il émet des sons à basse fréquence qui peuvent se propager sur des centaines voir des milliers de kilomètres. Les vocalisations pourraient annoncer une migration vers le sud en automne et une migration vers le nord à la fin de l’hiver. Les individus qui fréquentent le Plateforme néo-écossaise émettent leurs chants plus intensément vers la fin du mois d’août, tout l’automne et au milieu de l’hiver. Dans le Pacifique nord, les signaux (20Hz) employés par les rorquals communs sont associés au comportement reproducteur des mâles. Il est possible que les rorquals communs se servent du magnétisme de la terre pour s’orienter durant leur migration.

2.3. Pourquoi le COSEPAC a-t-il désigné le rorqual commun « espèce préoccupante» ?

Voici les raisons de la désignation du rorqual commun par le COSEPAC :

Dès la fin du 19ème siècle, l’amélioration des techniques de chasse permet de capturer le rorqual commun (espèce très rapide et dont le corps coule après la mort). Durant près d’un siècle, les stocks furent surexploités et de ce fait, dangereusement réduits. L’abondance de ces rorquals n’a pas été estimée avant l’ère de l’industrie baleinière.  On sait cependant que plus de 13 337 rorquals communs ont été abattus près de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador entre 1903 et 1945 et que le stock néo-écossais a subit les pressions de la chasse entre 1964 et 1971. La plus fiable des évaluations récentes date de 1999 et estimerait à 2 814 le nombre d’individus circulant entre le Banc Georges (N.-É.) et l’embouchure du golfe du Saint-Laurent et à environ 380 individus pour le golfe. Les activités de chasse interrompues au Canada depuis 1971, il n’en reste pas moins que plusieurs menaces d’origine anthropique sont potentiellement néfastes pour les rorquals communs.

2.4. Quelles menaces pèsent sur cette espèce ?

Une dégradation de l’habitat entraînée par une réduction de la disponibilité des proies, et une réduction de la valeur adaptative[1] (Fitness en anglais) provoquée par la pollution chimique entre dans la catégorie des facteurs limitants tandis que les prises accidentelles, les collisions et le dérangement par le bruit constituent des menaces. Des recherches sont toutefois nécessaires pour bien définir et comprendre l’impact de ces éléments sur le rétablissement et la pérennité de l’espèce.

2.4.1. Facteurs limitants

Baisse de l’abondance des proies

L’habitat des grands rorquals est intimement associé à la distribution des proies. Toute réduction de la disponibilité d’un type de proie peut, par conséquent, être perçue comme une réduction de l’habitat. Les phénomènes qui pourraient entraîner, directement ou indirectement, une diminution des proies sont un changement climatique, une compétition interspécifique et la pêche commerciale.

Contamination chimique

Il n’existerait aucune preuve que les baleines à fanons subissent les effets toxiques de la contamination de leur environnement par les métaux et les organochlorés. Cependant d’autres mammifères marins semblent être affectés par les produits chimiques immunotoxiques.  Les effets connus de ces polluants sur ces animaux sont : une diminution, altération de la réponse immunitaire, un désordre sur le plan reproducteur, des lésions et des cancers. Le taux de contamination aux organochlorés de certains rorquals communs du golfe Saint-Laurent est cependant suffisamment élevé pour susciter l’inquiétude mais toutefois inférieur à des taux enregistrés 20 ans plus tôt. Le degré de contamination pourrait varier selon la région géographique.

2.4.2. Menaces

Enchevêtrement dans des engins de pêche

Après la chasse, désormais interdite en eaux canadiennes, l’empêtrement dans les engins de pêche semble être la menace la plus importante pour la population de rorqual commun. Il est cependant difficile d’en évaluer les répercussions, d’abord, parce que le nombre de prises accidentelles semble être sous évalué parce que non rapportées ou parce que la victime n’a pu être identifiée ou qu’elle n’a jamais été retrouvée. Ensuite, il semble que le rorqual commun est moins susceptible de s’emmêler dans des engins que ses congénères (rorqual bleu, petit rorqual) à cause de ces plus courts appendices et de sa grande force. En dernier lieu, comme le rorqual commun expose moins son corps lors de ses plongées, les marques de filets ou de câbles restent souvent cachées à l’observateur. Des cas d’empêtrement de rorqual commun qui ont été signalés, certains ont été fatals. Plus que sur la côte du Pacifique, la population de l’est canadien voit son aire de distribution chevaucher des zones de pêche ce qui accroît les risques.

Collision avec les navires

Ce sont les rorquals communs qui sont le plus souvent victimes de collisions avec des navires commerciaux longs et rapides. De nombreux navires ont été aperçus poussant de leur étrave une carcasse. Les collisions ne sont pas toutes mortelles bien que le nombre de ces dernières soit sous-estimé puisque le corps du rorqual a tendance à couler après la mort. On estime à 4% le nombre d’individus vivants photo identifiés qui portent les marques d’accidents navals. L’accoutumance des rorquals au bruit des navires dans les zones de fort achalandage pourrait réduire leur vigilance face à ces embarcations et causer des accidents. Toute augmentation de la taille des navires ou de leur nombre constituerait une menace supplémentaire pour le rorqual commun. Ce serait le cas dans la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent qui est la principale voie d’entrée de la flotte commerciale sur la côte est de l’Amérique et dans les parages du port d’Halifax.

Pollution sonore

Le niveau de bruit ambiant dans l’océan a beaucoup augmenté à l’échelle du globe au cours du siècle dernier. Les bruits émis par les navires commerciaux, les détonations associées à l’exploration sismique et tout autres sons de basse fréquence pourraient vraisemblablement entraîner des modifications comportementales et physiques chez le rorqual commun. La distance entre la source du bruit et l’animal, la fréquence d’émission, l’intensité et la durée du bruit, la répétition des phénomènes bruyants, la capacité auditive et le degré d’accoutumance de l’animal sont tous des facteurs interdépendants qui déterminent l’ampleur de l’impact.

En réaction à certains bruits, les rorquals peuvent suspendre leurs activités d’alimentation ou de reproduction, dévier de leur route, ou encore, abandonner un habitat important. Des sons récurrents, même de faible intensité, pourraient entraîner un stress chronique et affecter la santé des individus à long terme. Dans le cas de bruits très puissants ou encore lorsque la source est très proche, il peut résulter une perte de sensibilité auditive ou la perte de l’ouïe. Les bruits d’origine humaine risquent aussi de masquer des sons qui pourraient avoir une grande importance pour la reproduction, l’alimentation et la navigation du rorqual commun.

Exploration sismique et exploitation pétrolière et gazière

Les sons émis par les activités d’exploration sismique et d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, en plus d’être soupçonnés d’engendrer des dommages physiques, pousseraient les rorquals communs à éviter ces zones et à interrompre leurs plongées (le niveau sonore étant moins intense près de la surface). Les impacts de ce type d’exploitation soulèvent de nombreuses interrogations surtout en ce qui a trait à la capacité du son à voyager dans l’environnement aquatique. Le problème concerne particulièrement les populations de rorqual commun parce que les secteurs à forts potentiels d’hydrocarbures chevauchent les zones abritant des concentrations relativement denses de l’espèce.

La chasse

Bien qu’interrompue au Canada, la chasse persiste en Atlantique nord notamment au Groënland (récolte de subsistance) et éventuellement en Islande (qui est intéressée à reprendre cette activité).