Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Island Blue* (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) in Canada (Proposed)


Appendix 1: Recovery Strategy for the Greenish Blue insulanus subspecies* (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) in British Columbia

Greenish Blue insulanus subspecies. Photo: Jennifer Heron.

As provided by the Government of British Columbia

 

Garry Oak Invertebrates Recovery Implementation Group. 2007. Recovery strategy for the Greenish Blue insulanussubspecies (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) in British Columbia. Prepared for the B.C. Ministry of Environment, Victoria, B.C. 13pp.

* (also known as the Island Blue)

Prepared by the Garry Oak Invertebrates Recovery Implementation Group

British Columbia Ministry of the Environment Logo

June 2007

Disclaimer
Recovery Team Members
Author
Responsible Jurisdictions
Acknowledgements

About the British Columbia Recovery Strategy Series

This series presents the recovery strategies that are prepared as advice to the Province of British Columbia on the general strategic approach required to recover species at risk. The Province prepares recovery strategies to meet our commitments to recover species at risk under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada, and the Canada – British Columbia Agreement on Species at Risk.

What is recovery?

Species at risk recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of a species' persistence in the wild.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy represents the best available scientific knowledge on what is required to achieve recovery of a species or ecosystem. A recovery strategy outlines what is and what is not known about a species or ecosystem; it also identifies threats to the species or ecosystem, and what should be done to mitigate those threats. Recovery strategies set recovery goals and objectives, and recommend approaches to recover the species or ecosystem.

Recovery strategies are usually prepared by a recovery team with members from agencies responsible for the management of the species or ecosystem, experts from other agencies, universities, conservation groups, aboriginal groups, and stakeholder groups as appropriate.

What's next?

In most cases, one or more action plan(s) will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Action plans include more detailed information about what needs to be done to meet the objectives of the recovery strategy. However, the recovery strategy provides valuable information on threats to the species and their recovery needs that may be used by individuals, communities, land users, and conservationists interested in species at risk recovery.

For more information

To learn more about species at risk recovery in British Columbia, please visit the Ministry of Environment Recovery Planning webpage.

Recommended citation

Garry Oak Invertebrates Recovery Implementation Group. 2007. Recovery strategy for the Greenish Blue insulanussubspecies (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) in British Columbia. Prepared for the B.C. Ministry of Environment, Victoria, B.C. 13pp.

Cover illustration/photograph

Jennifer Heron

Additional copies

Additional copies can be downloaded from the B.C. Ministry of Environment Recovery Planning documents webpage.

Publication information

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication Data
Garry Oak Invertebrates Recovery Implementation Group.
Recovery strategy for the Greenish Blue insulanussubspecies (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) in British Columbia [electronic resource]

Available also on the Internet.
ISBN 978-0-7726-5832-6

1. Plebejus - British Columbia. 2. Butterflies - British Columbia. 3. Endangered species - British Columbia. 4. Wildlife recovery – British Columbia. 5. Wildlife conservation – British Columbia. 6. Wildlife management – British Columbia. I. British Columbia. Ministry of Environment. II. Title.

QL561.L8G37 2007     595.7'8909711     C2007-960180-4

Content (excluding illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Disclaimer

This recovery strategy has been prepared by the Garry Oak Invertebrates Recovery Implementation Group, as advice to the responsible jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species. The British Columbia Ministry of Environment has received this advice as part of fulfilling its commitments under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada, and the Canada – British Columbia Agreement on Species at Risk.

This document identifies the recovery strategies that are deemed necessary, based on the best available scientific and traditional information, to recover Greenish Blue insulanus subspecies populations in British Columbia. Recovery actions to achieve the goals and objectives identified herein are subject to the priorities and budgetary constraints of participatory agencies and organizations. These goals, objectives, and recovery approaches may be modified in the future to accommodate new objectives and findings.

The responsible jurisdictions and all members of the recovery team had an opportunity to review this document. However, this document does not necessarily represent the official positions of the agencies or the personal views of all individuals on the recovery implementation group.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that may be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy. The Ministry of Environment encourages all British Columbians to participate in the recovery of Greenish Blue insulanus subspecies.

Recovery Team Members

Garry Oak Invertebrates Recovery Implementation Group

  • Jennifer M. Heron (Chair), B.C. Ministry of Environment, Vancouver, BC
  • Suzie L. Lavallee, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
  • Laura Byrne, Natural Resources Canada, Victoria, BC
  • Arthur Robinson, Canadian Forest Service, Pacific Forestry Centre, Victoria, BC
  • Robert A. Cannings, Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria, BC
  • Geoff G.E. Scudder, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
  • Jessica J. Hellmann, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN
  • Shyanne Smith, Garry Oak Ecosystems Recovery Team, Victoria, BC
  • Chris Junck, Garry Oak Ecosystems Recovery Team, Victoria, BC
  • Ross Vennesland, Parks Canada Agency, Vancouver, BC
  • William Woodhouse, British Columbia Parks and Protected Areas, Nanaimo, BC

Author

Jennifer Heron

Responsible Jurisdictions

The British Columbia Ministry of Environment is responsible for producing a recovery strategy for Greenish Blue insulanussubspecies under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada. Parks Canada Agency and Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service participated in the development of this recovery strategy.

Acknowledgements

The Greenish Blue insulanus subspecies Recovery Strategy was drafted by Jennifer Heron, with subsequent review by the Garry Oak Ecosystems Recovery Team Invertebrates at Risk Recovery Implementation Group. Brenda Costanzo and Ted Lea reviewed the recovery strategy and provided information on plants and plant communities. Photographs were taken by Jennifer Heron.

Document Information

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du bleu insulaire* (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) au Canada (Proposition)


Annexe 1. Programme de rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre* (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) en Colombie-Britannique

Sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre. Photo : Jennifer Heron.

Tel que fourni par le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique

 

Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la chênaie de Garry. 2007. Programme de rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) en Colombie-Britannique. Préparé pour le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique). 17 pp.

* (également connu sous le nom de bleu insulaire)

Préparé par le Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la chênaie de Garry

Logo du ministère de l'enivronnement de la Colombie-Britannique.

Juin 2007

Avertissement
Membres de l'équipe de rétablissement
Auteure
Compétences responsables
Remerciements


Les Programmes de rétablissement de la Colombie-Britannique – Quelques mots sur la collection

Cette collection présente les programmes de rétablissement qui sont élaborés dans le but de conseiller la province de la Colombie-Britannique sur l'approche stratégique générale requise pour assurer le rétablissement d'espèces en péril. Ces programmes visent à permettre à la Province de respecter ses engagements à l'égard du rétablissement d'espèces en péril, conformément à l'Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril et l'Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est l'ensemble des mesures qui visent à arrêter ou à inverser le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays ou à atténuer ou à supprimer les menaces qui pèsent sur elle, de manière à améliorer ses chances de survie dans la nature.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement réunit les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles sur les mesures à prendre pour assurer le rétablissement d'une espèce ou d'un écosystème. Il expose ce qui est connu et ce qui reste à connaître à propos de l'espèce ou de l'écosystème visé et précise les menaces qui pèsent sur cette espèce ou cet écosystème et les mesures à prendre pour les atténuer. Les programmes de rétablissement énoncent une série de buts et d'objectifs de rétablissement et recommandent des approches destinées à assurer le rétablissement de l'espèce ou de l'écosystème visé.

Les programmes de rétablissement sont habituellement élaborés par une équipe de rétablissement, en collaboration avec des membres des organismes responsables de la gestion de l'espèce ou de l'écosystème visé et, selon les besoins, des spécialistes d'autres organismes et d'universités, des groupes de conservation, des groupes autochtones et des groupes de partenaires.

Prochaines étapes

Dans la plupart des cas, on procédera à l'élaboration d'un ou de plusieurs plans d'action visant à préciser et à orienter la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement. Ces plans d'action contiennent des renseignements plus détaillés sur les mesures requises pour atteindre les objectifs du programme de rétablissement. Le programme de rétablissement présente des renseignements précieux sur les menaces qui pèsent sur l'espèce visée et sur les besoins de cette espèce en matière de rétablissement, à l'intention des particuliers, des communautés, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes participant au rétablissement de l'espèce en péril visée.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les projets de rétablissement d'espèces en péril en Colombie-Britannique, consulter la page Web du ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique sur la planification du rétablissement (disponible en anglais seulement).

Citation recommandée

Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la chênaie de Garry. 2007. Programme de rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) en Colombie-Britannique. Préparé pour le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique). 17 pp.

Photographie de la page couverture

Jennifer Heron

Exemplaires additionnels

Des exemplaires additionnels peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique sur la planification du rétablissement (disponible en anglais seulement).

Informations sur la publication

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
 
Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la chênaie de Garry.
Programme de rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanusdu bleu verdâtre (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) en Colombie-Britannique [document électronique]

Également disponible sur Internet.
ISBN 978-0-7726-5832-6

1. Plebejus – Colombie-Britannique. 2. Papillons – Colombie-Britannique. 3. Espèces en voie de disparition – Colombie-Britannique. 4. Rétablissement des espèces sauvages – Colombie-Britannique. 5. Conservation des espèces sauvages – Colombie-Britannique. 6. Gestion des espèces sauvages – Colombie-Britannique. I. Colombie-Britannique, ministère de l'Environnement. II. Titre.

QL561.L8G37 2007     595.7'8909711     C2007-960180-4

Le contenu de ce document (excluant les illustrations) peut être reproduit sans permission à condition que la source en soit citée correctement.

Avertissement

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été élaboré par le Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la chênaie de Garry à l'intention des compétences responsables et des organisations participant au rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre. Ce document permet au ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique de respecter ses engagements à l'égard du rétablissement d'espèces en péril conformément à l'Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril et l'Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique.

Ce document mentionne les stratégies de rétablissement qui, d'après les meilleures données scientifiques et traditionnelles, sont considérées comme nécessaires au rétablissement des populations de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre en Colombie-Britannique. Les mesures de rétablissement devant être prises pour réaliser les buts et les objectifs mentionnés ici seront fonction des priorités et des contraintes budgétaires des organisations et organismes participants. Ces buts, objectifs et méthodes de rétablissement pourraient être modifiés en fonction de nouveaux objectifs ou de nouvelles constatations.

Les compétences responsables et tous les membres de l'équipe chargée du rétablissement ont eu la possibilité d'examiner le document. Toutefois, ce dernier ne décrit pas nécessairement la position officielle de tous les organismes ou de toutes les personnes qui ont participé au processus d'examen.

La réussite du rétablissement de cette sous-espèce dépend de l'engagement et de la collaboration des nombreuses parties invitées à participer à la mise en œuvre des mesures énoncées dans le présent programme. Le ministère de l'Environnement invite toute la population de la Colombie-Britannique à participer au rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre.

Membres de l'équipe de rétablissement

Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la chênaie de Garry

  • Jennifer M. Heron (Présidente), British Columbia Ministry of Environment, Vancouver (C.-B.)
  • Suzie L. Lavallee, University of British Columbia, Vancouver (C.-B.)
  • Laura Byrne, Ressources naturelles Canada, Victoria (C.-B.)
  • Arthur Robinson, Service canadien des forêts, Centre de foresterie du Pacifique, Victoria (C.-B.)
  • Robert A. Canning, Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria (C.-B.)
  • Geoff G.E. Scudder, University of British Columbia, Vancouver (C.-B.)
  • Jessica J. Hellmann, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN
  • Shyanne Smith, Équipe de rétablissement des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry, Victoria (C.-B.)
  • Chris Junck, Équipe de rétablissement des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry, Victoria (C.-B.)
  • Ross Vennesland, Agence Parcs Canada, Vancouver (C.-B.)
  • William Woodhouse, British Columbia Parks and Protected Areas, Nanaimo (C.-B.)

Auteure

Jennifer Heron

Compétences responsables

Le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique est responsable de l'élaboration d'un programme de rétablissement de la sous-espèce insulanus du bleu verdâtre en vertu de l'Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril. L'Agence Parcs Canada et le Service canadien de la faune d'Environnement Canada ont participé à l'élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement.

Remerciements

La version préliminaire du présent programme de rétablissement a été élaborée par Jennifer Heron et a subséquemment été révisée par le Groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de l'Équipe de rétablissement des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry. Brenda Costanzo et Ted Lea ont examiné le document et ont gracieusement fourni des renseignements sur les plantes et les communautés végétales qui y sont mentionnées. Les photographies sont une gracieuseté de Jennifer Heron.

Information sur le document