Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Deepwater Sculpin (Western and Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence Populations) in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Assessment Summary

Great Lakes - Western St. Lawrence Populations

Assessment Summary – April 2006

Common name:
Deepwater Sculpin

Scientific name:
Myoxocephalus Thompsonii

Status:
Special Concern

Reason for designation:
This species occurs in the deeper parts of 10 coldwater lakes, including lakes Superior, Huron and Ontario, in Ontario and Quebec.  Previously thought to be exterminated in Lake Ontario, it now appears to be reestablished in that lake, albeit in small numbers.  Populations have been exterminated in 2 lakes in Quebec due to eutrophication of these lakes, and may be in decline in Lake Huron, possibly in relation to the introduction of zebra mussel.

Occurrence:
Ontario, Quebec

Status history:
The "Great Lakes - Western St. Lawrence populations" unit (which includes the former "Great Lakes populations" unit designated Threatened in April 1987) was designated Special Concern in April 2006. Last assessment based on an update status report.

 

Western Populations

Assessment Summary – April 2006

Common name:
Deepwater Sculpin

Scientific name:
Myoxocephalus Thompsonii

Status:
Not at Risk

Reason for designation:
This species is widely distributed in western Canada where it is found in the deepest parts of at least 52 coldwater lakes in northwestern Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and the Northwest Territories. There is no evidence to indicate population declines, or of any threats that would convey a degree of risk to these populations.

Occurrence:
Northwest Territories, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario

Status history:
Designated Not at Risk in April 2006. Last assessment based on an update status report.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEWIC sur le chabot de profoundeur (populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent et population de l'Ouest) au Canada - Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Sommaire de l’évaluation

Populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent

Sommaire de l’évaluation -- Avril 2006

Nom commun :
Chabot de profondeur

Nom scientifique :
Myoxocephalus thompsonii

Statut :
Espèce préoccupante

Justification de la désignation :
L'espèce se trouve dans les parties plus profondes de 10 lacs d'eaux froides, dont les lacs Supérieur, Huron et Ontario, ainsi qu'en Ontario et au Québec. On la croyait éliminée du lac Ontario, mais elle semble s'y être rétablie, bien que ce soit en petits nombres. Les populations ont été détruites dans deux lacs au Québec en raison de l'eutrophisation de ces lacs et pourraient être en déclin dans le lac Huron, possiblement en raison de l'introduction de la moule zébrée.

Répartition :
Ontario, Québec

Historique du statut :
L'unité « populations des Grands Lacs-Ouest du Saint-Laurent » (y compris l'ancienne unité « populations des Grands Lacs » désignée « menacé » en avril 1987) a été désignée « préoccupante » en avril 2006. Dernière évaluation fondée sur une mise à jour d'un rapport de situation.

 

Populations de l'Ouest

Sommaire de l’évaluation -- Avril 2006

Nom commun :
Chabot de profondeur

Nom scientifique :
Myoxocephalus thompsonii

Statut :
Espèce non en péril

Justification de la désignation :
Cette espèce est largement répandue dans l'ouest du Canada où elle se trouve dans les parties les plus profondes d'au moins 52 lacs d'eaux froides dans le nord-ouest de l'Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan, de l'Alberta et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il n'existe pas de preuve indiquant un déclin des populations ou toute menace qui pourrait représenter un risque quelconque pour ces populations.

Répartition :
Territoire du Nord-Ouest, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario

Historique du statut :
Espèce désignée « non en péril » en avril 2006. Dernière évaluation fondée sur une mise à jour d'un rapport de situation.