Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Deepwater Sculpin (Western and Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence Populations) in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Deepwater Sculpin
Myoxocephalus thompsonii

Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence populations
Western populations

in Canada
2006

Species Information

Name and Classification

Kingdom:
Animalia
Phylum:
Chordata
Class:
Actinopterygii
Order:
Scorpaeniformes
Family:
Cottidae
Genus and Species:
Myoxocephalus thompsonii (Girard 1851)
Common English name:
deepwater sculpin (Nelson et al. 2004)
Common French name:
chabot de profondeur (Coad et al. 1995)
Other common names:
kanayok (Inuktitut; McAllister et al. 1987).


The deepwater sculpin, Myoxocephalus thompsonii (Girard 1851), is a lake-dwelling sculpin with a North American distribution. It is closely related to the Arctic fourhorn sculpin, M. quadricornis (Linnaeus 1758). Much confusion and misinformation exists due to the lack of recognition of differences between three taxa: deepwater sculpin, freshwater forms of fourhorn sculpin, and marine fourhorn sculpin. This has resulted in misidentifications and muddled taxonomy. Scott and Crossman (1973) provided an extensive review of the papers that discuss the taxonomy of the deepwater sculpin. Girard (1851) first illustrated and described the bones of deepwater sculpin from Lake Ontario and listed them as Triglopsis thompsonii. This nomenclature was utilized by numerous subsequent authors, including Dymond (1926), and Hubbs and Lagler (1947). The genus Triglopsis was used in deepwater sculpin literature until the mid-1950s (McAllister 1961).

More recently, Walters (1955) referred to the deepwater sculpin as Myoxocephalus thompsoni. Based on a comparison of the morphological characteristics, distribution, and ecology of deepwater and fourhorn sculpin (M. quadricornis), McAllister and co-workers (McAllister 1961; McAllister and Aniskowicz 1976) agreed with this proposed nomenclature, and considered M. thompsoni and M. quadricornis to be distinct, but closely related, species. McAllister (1961) considered M. quadricornis to be the "ancestral" species from which M. thompsonii was derived.

Based on close morphological similarity, Hubbs and Lagler (1958) proposed that deepwater sculpin should be considered a subspecies (M. quadricornis thompsonii) of the fourhorn sculpin (M. quadricornis quadricornis). This nomenclature gained some acceptance (McPhail and Lindsey 1970). McAllister and Ward (1972) further accepted this subspecific designation of deepwater sculpin and reported the species as such when it was discovered in Upper Waterton Lake in Alberta, Canada. Scott and Crossman (1973) designated both the freshwater and marine forms as Myoxocephalus quadricornis, while Parker (1988) reported on the status of the deepwater sculpin in Canada, and referred to it as Myoxocephalus thompsonii. Using mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) sequence data of eight individuals from two continental North American sites (Lake Michigan and Upper Waterton Lake), Kontula and Vainola (2003) supported the subspecific designations of North American deepwater and fourhorn sculpin proposed by Hubbs and Lagler (1958), and McPhail and Lindsey (1970), respectively. However, in a recent study based on the genetics and ecology of deepwater sculpin throughout their entire North American range, full specific rank for deepwater sculpin as M. thompsonii is supported (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data). Furthermore, freshwater populations of fourhorn sculpin found throughout northern Canada are phylogenetically nested within the marine fourhorn sculpin, and these are both clearly distinguishable from deepwater sculpin (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data).


Morphological Description

The deepwater sculpin (Fig. 1) has an elongate body and reaches an average length of 51-76 mm and a maximum length of 235 mm (Scott and Crossman 1973). It is both dorsoventrally flattened and stout anteriorly with its greatest width at the uppermost preopercular spine, equal body depth and width at the first dorsal fin, and slender caudal peduncle (Scott and Crossman 1973). It has a large mouth with small teeth on the upper and lower jaws, palatines, vomer and tongue (Scott and Crossman 1973; McPhail and Lindsey 1970). The eyes rest on top of the head. Preoperculomandibular pores are absent, but four preopercular spines are present. The upper two spines are large, pointing upward and posteriorly, while the lower two are reduced and point downward (Scott and Crossman 1973). Frontal and parietal spines, present in fourhorn sculpin, are absent in deepwater sculpin. Two dorsal fins are present, the first is small with 7 to 10 spines, the second is larger with a long base and 11 to 16 soft rays. The second dorsal fin can be enlarged in males (Scott and Crossman 1973). The pectoral fins are large with 15 to 18 soft rays, the pelvic fins are reduced with one spine and three (rarely four) rays, the anal fin has a long base with 11 to 16 rays, and the caudal fin is square or truncated. The overall coloration is dark grey to brown, with the grey-brown back gradually lightening along the sides and further lightening ventrally. The back is further marked with several dark saddles while the sides have mild speckling. Three dark, diffuse bands are present on the pectoral fins. The pelvic fins have light spotting, while the dorsal and anal fins show faint blotches (Scott and Crossman 1973; McPhail and Lindsey 1970).


Figure 1: The Deepwater Sculpin, Myoxocephalus thompsonii

Figure 1: The deepwater sculpin, Myoxocephalus thompsonii.

Drawing from Scott and Crossman 1973, used with permission of the authors.

True scales are absent in deepwater sculpin. Tubercles (typically less than 30) are present only above the lateral line, which is generally complete. There are typically 40 vertebrae (Scott and Crossman 1973).

The deepwater sculpin can be distinguished from species in the genus Cottus based on the presence of disklike tubercles on the upper sides along the body length, and distinct separation between the two dorsal fins. The deepwater sculpin also has a gill membrane that is free from the isthmus (McPhail and Lindsey 1970). The deepwater sculpin and fourhorn sculpin are very similar morphologically, but differ based on the absence of four cephalic horns on top of the head, which are present only in fourhorn sculpin (Stewart and Watkinson 2004).


Genetic Description

Kontula (2003) examined mtDNA sequence data of cytochrome b and ATPase6,8 from eight individuals in Upper Waterton Lake and Lake Michigan and suggested a single phylogeographical split separating deepwater sculpin from fourhorn sculpin. They proposed only subspecific designation for deepwater sculpin (M. q. thompsonii), based on low sequence divergence (0.9%) between deepwater and fourhorn sculpins. They report extremely low haplotype diversity of only 1-3 nucleotide differences out of 1976 bp (0.05-0.15%) within deepwater sculpin. However, their sample size (n=8) was too small to determine any phylogeographical detail within deepwater sculpin (Kontula and Vainola 2003).

Sheldon (unpubl. data) has also analyzed deepwater and fourhorn sculpin populations (including fourhorn sculpin from freshwaters in the Arctic) across their entire ranges. To gain further understanding of the relationship between fourhorn and deepwater sculpins, and to describe regional diversity within deepwater sculpin, he used mtDNA sequence data from the control region and ATPase6, 8 genes from a larger number of samples (approximately 300) from across Canada representing over 25 locations. Like Kontula and Vainola (2003), he found one major split between deepwater and fourhorn sculpins (both marine and freshwater forms). However, the use of a larger dataset resulted in sequence divergence estimates of 1.30% and 2.48% between fourhorn and deepwater sculpins for ATPase6,8 and the control region, respectively. These molecular data suggest that inland incursion and subsequent species formation occurred in the early Pleistocene. Regional diversity within deepwater sculpin was also evident and most likely corresponds to the refugial origins of these different lineages (Table 1; Figure 2). Three separate clades were present, one of which was common throughout the entire species range. The remaining clades were only locally distributed in Fairbank Lake, near Sudbury, and Upper Waterton Lake in southwestern Alberta (Fig. 3). The population in Upper Waterton Lake is particularly interesting, suggesting that deepwater sculpin may have invaded the area on at least two separate occasions; once during the early to mid-Pleistocene and once following the Wisconsin glaciation via glacial lakes. Based on these genetic data (in combination with ecological data), Sheldon et al. (unpubl. data.) propose full species-level designation for the continental deepwater sculpin of North America; thus M. thompsonii should be retained as a full specific taxon.

Table 1: Sequence divergence (%) between the clades of the deepwater sculpin from ATPase6, 8 (below diagonal) and the control region (above diagonal)
 Mississippi cladeSouthwest cladeFairbank clade
Mississippi clade 1.851.57
Southwest clade0.62 1.35
Fairbank clade0.530.6 

Modified from Sheldon et al. unpubl. data.


Figure 2: The Phylogeographic Structure of the Deepwater Sculpin Throughout its Range Using ATPase 6,8 and the Control Region

Figure 2: The phylogeographic structure of the deepwater sculpin throughout its range using ATPase 6,8 and the control region.


Figure 3: Mitochondrial Lineages of the Deepwater Sculpin Throughout its Range

Figure 3: Mitochondrial lineages of the deepwater sculpin throughout its range.

Black circle -- Fairbank clade, grey circles -- Mississippi clade, open -- southwest clade)


Designatable Units

Data indicate that most populations of deepwater sculpin belong to a single mtDNA lineage (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data; Fig. 2; Fig. 4). However, populations in Upper Waterton Lake and Fairbank Lake appear to exhibit distinct mitochondrial lineages; the Waterton Lake unit is interesting in the presence of two clades (Figure 3), but due to the small sample size it is recommended they not be considered as designatable units.

Deepwater sculpin have a somewhat disjunct distribution and populations appear to be isolated within 4 of the 14 Freshwater Aquatic Ecozones of Canada (see COSEWIC 2004, Figure 2). Locations in Quebec and eastern Ontario (Figure 4) are within Aquatic Ecozone 10 -- Great Lakes -- Western St. Lawrence; those in western Ontario, Manitoba and central Saskatchewan, as well as the disjunct Waterton Lake population are in Aquatic Ecozone 4 -- Saskatchewan-Nelson; northeastern Saskatchewan populations are in Aquatic Ecozone 5 -- Western Hudson Bay, and locations in northern Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories are within Aquatic Ecozone 13 -- Western Arctic. Each of these could be considered a Designatable Unit (COSEWIC 2004). However, except for the Great Lakes/Upper St. Lawrence populations there is insufficient abundance and/or population size and trend information to individually assess the status of these populations, which are widespread and apparently not subject to any immediate threat. Therefore, we recommend assessment of the populations of Ecozones 4 (Saskatchewan -- Nelson), 13 (Western Arctic), as one unit, i.e., Western Populations, and those of the Great Lakes - Western St. Lawrence as a second unit, as most representative of the biological considerations for this species.


Figure 4: The Distribution of the Deepwater Sculpin Across Canada with the Generalized Extent of Former Glacial Lakes Mapped

Figure 4: The distribution of the deepwater sculpin across Canada with the generalized extent of former glacial lakes mapped.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEWIC sur le chabot de profoundeur (populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent et population de l'Ouest) au Canada - Mise à jour

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
chabot de profoundeur
Myoxocephalus thompsonii

populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent
population de l'Ouest

au Canada
2006

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Règne :
Animal
Phyllum :
Cordés
Classe :
Actynoptérygiens
Ordre :
Scorpæniformes
Famille :
Cottidés
Genre et espèce :
Myoxocephalus thompsonii (Girard, 1851)
Nom usuel français :
chabot de profondeur (Coad et al., 1995)
Nom usuel anglais :
Deepwater Sculpin (Nelson et al., 2004)
Autre nom usuel :
kanayok (inuktitut; McAllister et al., 1987)


Le chabot de profondeur, Myoxocephalus thompsonii (Girard, 1851), un chabot de lac d’Amérique du Nord, est un proche parent du chaboisseau à quatre cornes de l’Arctique, M. quadricornis (Linnaeus 1758). Il règne à son sujet beaucoup de confusion et d’erreurs, faute de connaissances précises sur les différences entre trois taxons étroitement apparentés : le chabot de profondeur, les formes dulcicoles du chaboisseau à quatre cornes et la forme marine du chaboisseau à quatre cornes. Ce manque de clarté, qui a donné lieu à des identifications erronées, se traduit par une taxinomie embrouillée. Scott et Crossman (1973) ont produit une étude poussée des documents touchant la taxinomie du chabot de profondeur. Girard (1851) a été le premier à illustrer et à décrire les os du chabot de profondeur du lac Ontario, auquel il a donné le nom de Triglopsis thompsonii, nom qu’ont utilisé plusieurs auteurs subséquents, notamment Dymond (1926), puis Hubbs et Lagler (1947). Le genre Triglopsis a été utilisé dans les publications sur le chabot de profondeur jusqu’au milieu des années 1950 (McAllister, 1961).

Plus récemment, Walters (1955) a désigné le chabot de profondeur sous le nom de Myoxocephalus thompsonii. D’après une comparaison des caractéristiques morphologiques, de la répartition et de l’écologie du chabot de profondeur et du chaboisseau à quatre cornes (M. quadricornis), McAllister et ses collègues (McAllister, 1961; McAllister et Aniskowicz, 1976) ont accepté cette nomenclature proposée et considéré le M. thompsonii et le M. quadricornis comme des espèces distinctes, mais étroitement apparentées. McAllister (1961) considérait le M. quadricornis comme l’espèce « ancêtre » du M. thompsonii.

En raison de similitudes morphologiques très nettes, Hubbs et Lagler (1958) ont proposé de considérer le chabot de profondeur comme une sous-espèce (M. quadricornis thompsonii) du chaboisseau à quatre cornes (M. quadricornis). Cette nomenclature a été acceptée dans une certaine mesure (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970). McAllister et Ward (1972) ont accepté à nouveau cette désignation de sous-espèce pour le chabot de profondeur et l’ont utilisée pour désigner l’espèce lors de sa découverte dans le lac Waterton Supérieur, en Alberta. Scott et Crossman (1973) ont désigné la forme tant marine que dulcicole sous le nom de Myoxocephalus quadricornis, tandis que Parker (1988) a fait état de la situation du chabot de profondeur au Canada en l’appelant Myoxocephalus thompsonii. En se fondant sur une analyse des données de la séquence d’ADN mitochondrial (ADNmt) de huit spécimens prélevés dans deux sites nord-américains continentaux (le lac Michigan et le lac Waterton Supérieur), Kontula et Vainola (2003) ont appuyé les désignations comme sous-espèces du chabot de profondeur et du chaboisseau à quatre cornes nord-américains, proposées respectivement par Hubbs et Lagler (1958) et par McPhail et Lindsey (1970). Toutefois, dans une étude récente axée sur la génétique et l’écologie du chabot de profondeur dans toute son aire de répartition nord-américaine, on attribue le rang d’espèce à part entière au chabot de profondeur, sous le nom de M. thompsonii (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Qui plus est, les populations dulcicoles de chaboisseau à quatre cornes repérées dans toute la zone septentrionale du Canada appartiennent, au sens phylogénétique, à la forme marine du chaboisseau à quatre cornes, et ces deux formes sont faciles à distinguer du chabot de profondeur (T. Sheldon, données inédites).


Description morphologique

Le chabot de profondeur (figure 1), poisson au corps allongé, atteint une longueur moyenne de 51 à 76 mm et une longueur maximale de 235 mm (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Il est tout à la fois aplati dorsoventralement et trapu dans sa partie antérieure; la largeur est maximale à l’origine de l’épine préoperculaire supérieure; la largeur et la hauteur sont égales au niveau; le pédoncule caudal est mince (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Le chabot de profondeur a une grande bouche parsemée de petites dents sur les mâchoires supérieure et inférieure, les palatins, le prévomer et la langue (Scott et Crossman, 1973; McPhail et Lindsey 1970). Les yeux se trouvent sur le dessus de la tête. Ce chabot est dépourvu de pores préoperculomandibulaires, mais doté de quatre épines préoperculaires. Les deux épines supérieures sont grandes et orientées vers le haut et l’arrière, tandis que les deux épines inférieures sont plus petites et dirigées vers le bas (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Les épines frontales et pariétales présentes chez le chaboisseau à quatre cornes sont absentes chez le chabot de profondeur. Ce poisson possède deux nageoires dorsales; la première, qui est petite, compte de 7 à 10 épines et la deuxième, plus grande, a une base longue et de 11 à 16 rayons mous. La deuxième nageoire dorsale est parfois élargie chez les mâles (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Les nageoires pectorales sont grandes et comptent de 15 à 18 rayons mous, tandis que les nageoires pelviennes sont réduites et ne comptent qu’une épine et 3 rayons (4 dans de rares cas); la nageoire anale a une base longue et de 11 à 16 rayons, et la nageoire caudale est carrée ou tronquée. La coloration générale du chabot de profondeur va du gris sombre au brun et la teinte gris brun du dos pâlit graduellement le long des flancs et encore davantage sur le ventre. Le dos porte plusieurs bandes sombres en forme de selle; les flancs sont légèrement mouchetés. Trois bandes sombres peu marquées apparaissent sur les nageoires pectorales. Les nageoires pelviennes sont parsemées de points clairs tandis que les nageoires dorsales et la nageoire anale portent de grandes taches peu marquées (Scott et Crossman, 1973; McPhail et Lindsey, 1970).


Figure 1 : Chabot de profondeur, Myoxocephalus thompsonii

Figure 1 : Chabot de profondeur, Myoxocephalus thompsonii.

Dessin tiré de l’ouvrage de 1973 de Scott et Crossman, utilisé avec la permission des auteurs.

Le chabot de profondeur est dépourvu de vraies écailles; les tubercules (normalement moins de 30) ne sont présents qu’au-dessus de la ligne latérale, qui est ordinairement complète. On compte normalement 40 vertèbres (Scott et Crossman, 1973).

Le chabot de profondeur se distingue des espèces du genre Cottus par la présence de tubercules en forme de disques sur le haut des flancs, tout le long du corps, et par une séparation distincte entre les deux nageoires dorsales. Il est également doté d’une membrane branchiale non rattachée à l’isthme (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970). Le chabot de profondeur et le chaboisseau à quatre cornes sont, au sens morphologique, très ressemblants, à l’exception des quatre cornes céphaliques présentes seulement sur le dessus de la tête du chaboisseau à quatre cornes (Stewart et Watkinson, 2004).


Description génétique

Kontula (2003), qui a étudié les données de la séquence d’ADNmt du cytochrome b et de l’adénosine triphosphatase (ATPase 6,8) de huit spécimens pris dans le lac Waterton Supérieur et dans le lac Michigan, juge qu’un seul écart phylogéographique distingue le chabot de profondeur du chaboisseau à quatre cornes. Il n’a proposé qu’une désignation de sous-espèce pour le chabot de profondeur (M. q. thompsonii), en raison de la faible divergence de séquence (0,9 p. 100) observée entre le chabot de profondeur et le chaboisseau à quatre cornes. Il signale une très faible diversité haplotypique, avec seulement une à trois différences de nucléotides sur 1 976 paires de bases (pb) (0,05 - 0,15 p. 100) chez le chabot de profondeur. La taille de l’échantillon (n = 8), toutefois, ne suffisait pas à mettre en évidence des détails d’ordre phylogéographique (Kontula et Vainola, 2003).

Sheldon (données inédites) a aussi analysé les populations de chabots de profondeur et de chaboisseaux à quatre cornes (y compris le chaboisseau à quatre cornes des eaux douces arctiques) sur l’ensemble de leur aire de répartition. Pour mieux comprendre le lien entre le chaboisseau à quatre cornes et le chabot de profondeur et pour décrire la diversité régionale propre au chabot de profondeur, il a étudié les données des séquences de la région de régulation de l’ADNmt et les gènes de l’ATPase 6,8 d’un échantillon plus vaste (quelque 300 exemplaires) prélevé à environ 25 emplacements sur l’ensemble du Canada. Tout comme Kontula et Vainola (2003), il a relevé un net écart entre le chabot de profondeur et le chaboisseau à quatre cornes (tant marin que dulcicole). Cependant, son ensemble de données étant plus vaste, ce chercheur a obtenu des divergences de séquences de 1,30 p. 100 et 2,48 p. 100 entre le chaboisseau à quatre cornes et le chabot de profondeur en ce qui concerne l’ATPase 6,8 et la région de régulation respectivement. Ces données moléculaires permettent de penser que l’entrée dans les eaux intérieures et la formation subséquente de l’espèce se sont produites au début du Pléistocène. La diversité régionale du chabot de profondeur est aussi mise en évidence et correspond fort probablement au fait que l’origine des différentes lignées est liée aux refuges (tableau 1, figure 2). Trois clades distincts étaient présents, dont l’un était commun à toute l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. Les clades restants avaient une répartition locale, au lac Fairbank, près de Sudbury, et au lac Waterton Supérieur, dans la partie sud-ouest de l’Alberta (figure 3). La population du lac Waterton Supérieur est particulièrement intéressante, puisqu’elle semble indiquer que le chabot de profondeur peut avoir envahi la région à au moins deux occasions différentes, l’une entre le début et le milieu du Pléistocène et l’autre, après la glaciation wisconsinienne, via les lacs glaciaires. S’appuyant sur ces données génétiques (combinées aux données écologiques), Sheldon et al. (données inédites) proposent la désignation comme espèce à part entière du chabot de profondeur continental d’Amérique du Nord, de sorte que le M. thompsonii devient un taxon de niveau spécifique.

 

Tableau 1 : Divergence des séquences (en %) entre les clades du chabot de profondeur pour l’ATPase 6,8 (sous la diagonale) et la région de régulation (au-dessus de la diagonale)
 Clade (Mississippi)Clade (sud-ouest)Clade (Fairbank)
Clade (Mississippi) 1,851,57
Clade (sud-ouest)0,62 1,35
Clade (Fairbank)0,530,6 

Modifié d’après Sheldon et al., données inédites.


Figure 2 : Structure phylogéographique du chabot de profondeur dans toute son aire de répartition d’après l’ATPase 6,8 et la région de régulation

Figure 2 : Structure phylogéographique du chabot de profondeur dans toute son aire de répartition d’après l’ATPase 6,8 et la région de régulation.


Figure 3 : Lignées mitochondriales du chabot de profondeur dans toute son aire de répartition

Figure 3 : Lignées mitochondriales du chabot de profondeur dans toute son aire de répartition.

Cercles noirs – clade de Fairbank; cercles gris – clade du Mississippi; cercles vides – clade du sud-ouest).


Unités désignables

Les données indiquent que la plupart des populations de chabots de profondeur relèvent de la même lignée d’ADNmt (T. Sheldon, données inédites, figures 2 et 4). Les populations du lac Waterton Supérieur et du lac Fairbank, cependant, semblent appartenir à des lignées mitochondriales distinctes; l’unité du lac Waterton est intéressante en présence de deux clades (figure 3), mais en raison de la petite taille de l’échantillon, il est recommandé qu’ils ne soient pas considérés comme des unités désignables.

La répartition du chabot de profondeur est quelque peu disjointe, et ses populations semblent restreintes à 4 des 14 Aires écologiques d'eau douce (AEED) du Canada (voir COSEPAC, 2004, figure 2). Les emplacements du Québec et de l’est de l’Ontario (figure 4) font partie de l’AEED 10 – Grands Lacs et Ouest du Saint-Laurent; ceux de l’ouest de l’Ontario, du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan centrale ainsi que la population disjointe du lac Waterton, de l’AEED 4 – Saskatchewan-Nelson; les populations du nord-est de la Saskatchewan, de l’AEED 15 – Ouest de la baie d’Hudson et les emplacements du nord de la Saskatchewan et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de l’AEED 13 – Arctique de l’Ouest. Chacune de ces populations pourrait être considérée comme une unité désignable (COSEPAC, 2004) mais, à l’exception des populations des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent, il n’existe pas assez d’information sur leur abondance et/ou sur la taille et les tendances de ces populations pour en évaluer individuellement le statut; elles semblent répandues et peu sujettes à une menace immédiate. Nous recommandons, par conséquent, que les populations des AEED 4 (Saskatchewan-Nelson) et 13 (Arctique de l’Ouest) soient évaluées comme une seule unité, celle des populations de l’ouest, et les populations des Grands Lacs et de l’ouest du Saint-Laurent constituent une seconde unité comme étant la plus représentative des considérations biologiques de cette espèce.


Figure 4 : Répartition du chabot de profondeur dans tout le Canada et couverture généralisée des anciens lacs glaciaires à l’échelle de 1 cm:300 km

Figure 4 : Répartition du chabot de profondeur dans tout le Canada et couverture généralisée des anciens lacs glaciaires à l’échelle de 1 cm:300 km.