Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Deepwater Sculpin (Western and Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence Populations) in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Deepwater sculpin is a bottom-dwelling species and is only found in deep, cold freshwater lakes throughout northern North America (Stewart and Watkinson 2004). Unlike many other freshwater cottids, its distribution is both patchy and limited solely to deepwater lacustrine environments. The fragmentation is natural; due to the current habitat requirements of the species and the historical glacial lake connections required for its dispersal (Dadswell 1974). Generally, deepwater sculpin co-occur with the glacial relict crustaceans, Mysis relicta and Diporeia spp. (Scott and Crossman 1973; Dadswell 1974).

Throughout the summer of 2004, habitat measurements were taken from deepwater sculpin locations from 20 inland lakes across Canada (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data). The measurements were taken within each lake from specific locations where deepwater sculpin were captured. The ranges, means, and both upper and lower confidence intervals, of these measurements are reported in Table 3. The data suggest that deepwater sculpin require cold, highly oxygenated water (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data). When the maximum depth exceeded 50 m in these oligotrophic lakes, deepwater sculpin were commonly found from 50 m to the maximum depth of the lake. However, in lakes which were less than 50 m deep, deepwater sculpin were most commonly caught within the deepest 20% of the lake only (T. Sheldon unpubl. data). As latitude increases, this relationship seems to weaken and deepwater sculpin are commonly found at shallow depths as well (McPhail and Lindsey 1970).

 

Table 3: Habitat Measurements for 20 Inland Lakes where Deepwater Sculpin were Collected During the 2004 Summer
 Depth
(m)
Temp
C
SDV
(m)
Oxygen
(mg/L)
Sp. Cond
(mS/cm)
Range18.6-2853.15-6.933.5-13.56.74-14.440.019-0.383
Mean85.3774.6996.3610.6290.139
95% CI upper97.1694.8546.75510.9970.156
95% CI lower73.5844.5445.96510.2610.121
Std. Dev.67.6920.8872.2672.1120.103

 

Table 3 (continued): Habitat Measurements for 20 Inland Lakes where Deepwater Sculpin were Collected During the 2004 Summer
 pH
(surface/bottom)
Salinity
(ppt)
Resistivity
*(Kohm.cm)
TDS
(g/L)
ORP
(mV)
Range7.24-9.04/7.21-8.90.01-0.1804.25-85.30.012-0.249207-407
Mean8.294/8.3560.06522.1760.093286.45
95% CI upper8.371/8.4350.07425.9110.105294.857
95% CI lower8.218/8.2780.05718.440.082278.042
Std. Dev.0.439/0.4510.04921.4430.06548.259

Data collected using sample bottle at geographic and bathymetric location where specimens caught. Depth - depth of capture; Temp - temperature; SDV - Secchi disk visibility; Oxygen – dissolved oxygen; TDS - total dissolved solids; ORP - oxidative reduction potential; Sp. Cond - Specific conductivity.

Adults in the Great Lakes are usually found between 60 and 150 m. For example, in Lake Ontario, they have been most abundant in the 90-to-110-m range (Fig. 5) (J. Casselman, unpubl. data). In Lake Superior, deepwater sculpin are most common at depths greater than 70 m and have been found as deep as 407 m (Selgeby 1988). Drifting larvae, which were assumed to have been transported from a relatively abundant population in southern Lake Huron, were collected in the St. Clair River in 1990 and in the 2-to-5-m depth range (probably atypically shallow for the life stage and species) in the west end of Lake Erie in 1995 (Roseman et al. 1998).

According to their distribution in Lake Ontario, deepwater sculpin seem to prefer temperatures of <5°C (J. Casselman, unpubl. data). In Lake Huron, they are rarely found in water shallower than 55 m, although the temperature may be <4°C at such depth (J. Schaeffer, unpubl. data).


Figure 5: Contour Map of Lake Ontario Showing Band of Deepwater Sculpin Habitat, Delineated by the 90-to-110-m Contours

Figure 5: Contour map of Lake Ontario showing band of deepwater sculpin habitat, delineated by the 90-to-110-m contours. The 60-m and 150-m contour lines are also indicated.

The 60-m and 150-m contour lines are also indicated. Provided by J.M. Casselman, Department of Biology, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario.


Habitat Trends

Heney Lake and Lac des Iles in southwestern Quebec, two locations where deepwater sculpin have been found historically, have become more eutrophied over the past two decades. In 2004, dissolved oxygen levels of 3.18 and 6.07 mg/L were recorded during the month of August for Heney lake and Lac des Iles, respectively (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data). These measurements were taken from the bottom of the lakes, near the deepest point, where deepwater sculpin are most often found. Both of these oxygen measures are lower than the ranges, and significantly lower than the mean, of measured dissolved oxygen levels of deepwater sculpin locations obtained during the 2004 survey, indicating that suitable deepwater sculpin habitat in these lakes may have disappeared or, at the very least, be declining. Deepwater sculpin were not found in either of these lakes during the survey.

Because deepwater sculpin are unable to exploit new habitats due to dispersal limitations, and suitable habitat may be declining in some lakes in the eastern portion of their range due to eutrophication caused by anthropogenic effects, there has been a small overall decrease in the habitat available for deepwater sculpin.


Habitat Protection/Ownership

In Canada, the deepwater sculpin occurs in publicly owned waters, and all fish habitat within these waters is protected by the federal Fisheries Act. In addition, it occurs in Upper Waterton Lake in Waterton National Park of southwestern Alberta. Therefore, its habitat may receive additional protection afforded to national parks through the National Parks Act.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEWIC sur le chabot de profoundeur (populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent et population de l'Ouest) au Canada - Mise à jour

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Le chabot de profondeur est un poisson de fond qui ne se trouve que dans les eaux douces, froides et profondes de toute la partie septentrionale de l’Amérique du Nord (Stewart et Watkinson, 2004). Au contraire de la répartition géographique de nombre d’autres chabots dulcicoles, celle du chabot de profondeur est éparse et strictement limitée à des environnements lacustres profonds. Cette fragmentation, qui est naturelle, est attribuable aux besoins actuels de l’espèce en matière d’habitat, mais aussi à sa dispersion historique par les passages entre lacs glaciaires (Dadswell, 1974). D’une façon générale, le chabot de profondeur cohabite avec les crustacés relictuels de l’ère glaciaire que sont le Mysis relicta et les Diporeia spp. (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Dadswell, 1974).

Pendant tout l’été 2004, des mesures ont été effectuées sur l’habitat du chabot de profondeur dans 20 lacs intérieurs canadiens (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Dans chacun de ces lacs, on a mesuré certains paramètres à l’endroit exact où des chabots de profondeur avaient été pris. Les fourchettes, les moyennes et les intervalles supérieur et inférieur de confiance figurent au tableau 3. Les données donnent à penser que le chabot de profondeur a besoin d’une eau froide et très oxygénée (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Quand la plus grande profondeur de ces lacs oligotrophes dépasse 50 m, on y trouve ordinairement le chabot de profondeur à une profondeur allant de 50 m à la profondeur maximale du lac. Dans les lacs de moins de 50 m de profondeur, les chabots de profondeur n’ont été capturés, la plupart du temps, que dans les 20 p. 100 du lac où la profondeur est la plus grande (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Avec l’augmentation de la latitude, cette relation semble décroître, et il n’est pas rare alors de trouver aussi ces chabots à des profondeurs moins grandes (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970).

 

Tableau 3 : Mesures des paramètres de l’habitat de 20 lacs intérieurs où des chabots de profondeur ont été capturés pendant l’été 2004
 Profondeur
(m)
Temp.
oC
PDS
(m)
Oxygène
(mg/L)
Cond. sp.
(mS/cm)
Fourchette18,6-2853,15-6,933,5-13,56,74-14,440,019-0,383
Moyenne85,3774,6996,3610,6290,139
IC supérieur 95 %97,1694,8546,75510,9970,156
IC inférieur 95 %73,5844,5445,96510,2610,121
Écart-type67,6920,8872,2672,1120,103

 

Tableau 3 (cont.) : Mesures des paramètres de l’habitat de 20 lacs intérieurs où des chabots de profondeur ont été capturés pendant l’été 2004
 pH
(surface/fond)
Salinité
(ppt)
Résistivité
(Kohm.cm)
MDT
(g/L)
Eh
(mV)
Fourchette7,24-9,04/7,21-8,90,01-0,1804,25-85,30,012-0,249207-407
Moyenne8,294/8,3560,06522,1760,093286,45
IC supérieur 95 %8,371/8,4350,07425,9110,105294,857
IC inférieur 95 %8,218/8,2780,05718,440,082278,042
Écart-type0,439/0,4510,04921,4430,06548,259

Les données ont été recueillies en utilisant une bouteille de prélèvement à l’endroit géographique et bathymétrique où les spécimens ont été pris. Profondeur –profondeur de la capture; Temp – température; PDS –profondeur au disque de Secchi; Oxygène – oxygène dissoute; MDT – matières dissoutes totales; Eh – potentiel d’oxydoréduction. Cond. sp. = Conductivité spécifique

PDS = Profondeur au disque de Secchi
MDT = Matières dissoutes totales
Eh = Potentiel d’oxydoréduction

Dans les Grands Lacs, les adultes se trouvent ordinairement à une profondeur de 60 m à 150 m. Dans le lac Ontario, par exemple, leur abondance est maximale de profondeur de 90 m à 110 m (figure 5) (J. Casselman, données inédites). Dans le lac Supérieur, le chabot de profondeur se rencontre le plus souvent à des profondeurs de plus de 70 m et on en a trouvé jusqu’à 407 m (Selgeby, 1988). Des larves à la dérive, dont on a supposé qu’elles provenaient d’une population relativement abondante du sud du lac Huron, ont été recueillies dans la rivière St. Clair, en 1990, et à une profondeur de 2 m à 5 m (faible profondeur probablement atypique pour l’espèce et le stade de vie) de l’extrémité ouest du lac Érié en 1995 (Roseman et al., 1998).


Figure 5 : Carte bathymétrique du lac Ontario montrant la bande de l’habitat du chabot de profondeur définie par les profondeurs de 90 m à 110 m

Figure 5 : Carte bathymétrique du lac Ontario montrant la bande de l’habitat du chabot de profondeur définie par les profondeurs de 90 m à 110 m .

Les lignes signalant les profondeurs de 60 m et 150 m apparaissent également.

Carte fournie par J.M. Casselman, département de biologie de l’université Queen’s, Kingston (Ontario).

D’après sa répartition dans le lac Ontario, le chabot de profondeur semble préférer les températures de < 5 °C (J. Casselman, données inédites). Dans le lac Huron, on trouve rarement des chabots de profondeur à des profondeurs inférieures à 55 m, bien que la température puisse être de < 4 °C à de telles profondeurs (J. Schaeffer, données inédites).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Le lac Heney et le lac des Îles, dans le sud-ouest du Québec, deux plans d’eau où l’on a déjà trouvé des chabots de profondeur, se sont beaucoup eutrophisés au cours des deux dernières décennies. En 2004, des concentrations d’oxygène dissous de 3,18 et de 6,07 mg/L ont été enregistrées pendant le mois d’août dans le lac Heney et le lac des Îles, respectivement (Sheldon, données inédites). Ces mesures ont été prises au fond des lacs, près de leur point le plus profond, où le chabot de profondeur se trouve le plus souvent. Dans les deux cas, ces chiffres sont inférieurs aux fourchettes normales, et nettement au-dessous de la moyenne, des concentrations d’oxygène dissous mesurées dans les eaux où ont été pris des chabots de profondeur pendant l’étude de 2004, ce qui indique que l’habitat favorable au chabot de profondeur de ces lacs risque d’avoir disparu ou, à tout le moins, qu’il est en déclin. On n’a trouvé de chabot de profondeur dans aucun de ces lacs lors de l’étude.

Comme le chabot de profondeur n’a pas la capacité d’exploiter de nouveaux habitats en raison de ses limites de dispersion, et comme les habitats propices peuvent décliner dans certains lacs de la partie est de leur aire de répartition en raison de l’eutrophisation anthropique, il s’est produit une légère baisse générale des habitats accessibles au chabot de profondeur.


Protection et propriété

Au Canada, le chabot de profondeur se trouve surtout dans des eaux appartenant au domaine public, et tous les habitats du poisson situés dans ces eaux sont protégés par la Loi sur les pêches, qui est de compétence fédérale. Le chabot de profondeur se retrouve également dans le lac Waterton Supérieur, dans le parc national des lacs Waterton, dans la partie sud-ouest de l’Alberta. Ainsi, son habitat peut bénéficier de la protection supplémentaire assurée aux parcs nationaux par la Loi sur les parcs nationaux.