Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Deepwater Sculpin (Western and Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence Populations) in Canada

Biology

Little is known of the biology of deepwater sculpin, mainly because they are normally found at great depth (see Habitat). Most studies have focused on the biology of deepwater sculpin from single lakes, such as Lake Michigan, Lake Superior, or Lake Ontario within the Great Lakes or Burchell Lake in northwestern Ontario (Black and Lankester 1981; Brandt 1986; Kraft and Kitchell 1986; Selgeby 1988; Geffen and Nash 1992).


Age and Growth

Selgeby (1988) reported a maximum age of seven years in Lake Superior, while Black and Lankester (1981) reported a maximum age of five years in Burchell Lake, Ontario. Length increment is largest during the first year, and decreases by 40% during the second and third years in deepwater sculpin in Lake Superior (Selgeby 1988). In following years, length increment is only 35 to 40% of that in the first year (Selgeby 1988). Weight increment, on the other hand, increases with each succeeding year up to six years of age (Selgeby 1988). Weight increase in deepwater sculpin is significantly higher than isometric growth (Selgeby 1988).

There has been discussion of size variation in deepwater sculpin with latitude (McPhail and Lindsey 1970; Scott and Crossman 1973; Black and Lankester 1981; Selgeby 1988). Based on a large individual from Lake Ontario (235 mm in total length (TL)), and the relatively smaller sizes of deepwater sculpin from Great Slave Lake (maximum of 69 mm), these authors suggest that the maximum length of deepwater sculpin decreases as latitude increases from the Great Lakes. However, no such trend was recorded in the 2004 survey (T. Sheldon unpubl. data). The largest specimens captured during the 2004 survey were from Wollaston Lake, northern Saskatchewan at over 100 mm TL (up to 110 mm TL), while those specimens in Great Slave Lake reached lengths of 75 mm TL, and an individual from Alexie Lake, NT (just north of Great Slave Lake) measured 98 mm TL (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data).

However, deepwater sculpin in the Great Lakes are relatively large individuals compared to all other populations, including those in inland lakes of the same latitude. A typical size distribution of fish caught in routine indexing programs in Lake Huron is illustrated in Figure 6. The modal size was in the 100-110 mm range, with a few individuals approaching 200 mm. Historically, the species reaches a larger size in Lake Ontario than in any of the other Great Lakes (Scott and Crossman 1973).


Figure 6: Frequency distribution of total length of deepwater sculpin, by 10-mm length intervals, caught in indexing programs in Lake Huron

Figure 6: Frequency distribution of total length of deepwater sculpin, by 10-mm length intervals, caught in indexing programs in Lake Huron.


Reproduction

The reproductive cycle of the species is not fully understood. Age at maturity was estimated as three years for females and two years for males from individuals from Burchell Lake, Ontario by Black and Lankester (1981). Spawning period of deepwater sculpin is unknown. McAllister (1961), McPhail and Lindsey (1970), and Scott and Crossman (1973) hypothesized that spawning occurs in late summer or early fall based on nearly ripe eggs found in females in the Great Lakes in July and August. Black and Lankester (1981) suggested spawning most likely occurs in late fall or winter. Based on the appearance of eggs and ovaries, as well as the collection of young-of-the-year deepwater sculpin caught while trawling during early spring, Selgeby (1988) suggested that spawning occurs in Lake Superior from late November to mid-May, peaking in January.

In Lake Michigan, larval deepwater sculpin hatch in deep water in March, then move to the surface and are transported inshore (Geffen and Nash 1992). The larvae then move offshore and are found at depth by late fall. In Lake Ontario, a gravid female was, however, caught in relatively shallow water (30 m) on June 22, 1996 (Casselman, unpublished data).


Diet

The deepwater sculpin almost always occurs with the relict crustaceans Mysis relicta and Diporeia spp. (Dadswell 1974) and these species compose a large part of their diet. The stomach contents of individuals from Burchell Lake revealed Diporeia spp. occurring in 71% of the deepwater sculpin examined, while chironomid larvae and Mysis relicta occurred in 41% and 3% of the stomachs (Black and Lankester 1981). Diporeia spp.and Mysis relicta composed 73% and 26%, respectively, of the biomass of stomach contents of deepwater sculpin from Lake Superior while chironomid larvae composed 1% of the diet of these deepwater sculpin (Selgeby 1988). Diporeiaspp. have dominated the deepwater sculpin diet in Lake Michigan (Davis et al. 1997).   Preliminary stomach content analysis of deepwater sculpin captured during the 2004 survey indicated that the amphipod Diporeia spp. composed the vast majority of the diet, followed by Mysis relicta (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data). Chironomid larvae were the only other food item found on a somewhat regular basis. Zooplankton are probably the primary diet during the pelagic larval stage (<22 mm).


Parasitism

The relationship between parasitism and the health of deepwater sculpins is unknown. However, parasites reported in deepwater sculpin from Burchell Lake, Ontario include trematodes (Diplostomulum spp.), cestodes (Cyathocephalus truncatus, Bothriocephalus spp.), and nematodes (Cystidicola stigmatura, Spirurine larva) (Black and Lankester 1981). Parasites reported from deepwater sculpin across their range include copepods (Ergasilus spp.) on the gills, cestodes (Bothriocephalus spp., Proteocephalus spp.) in the intestine, digeneans in the intestine, nematodes in the liver (Raphidascaris spp.), and acanthocephalans (Echinorhynchus spp.) in the stomach and intestine (J. Carney, unpubl. data).


Predation

Deepwater sculpin are an important item in the diet of piscivores, such as lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) and burbot (Lota lota) (Scott and Crossman 1973; Stewart and Watkinson 2004).


Physiology

There is virtually no information on the physiology of deepwater sculpin. Stapleton et al. (2001) reported that deepwater sculpin are able to reduce their polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) load by as much as 10% by forming MeSO2-PCBs through a biochemical pathway which is novel for freshwater fish species.


Dispersal/Migration

Historically, dispersal of deepwater sculpin occurred via proglacial lakes. Presently, there is virtually no potential for migration or dispersal between inland lakes due to the ecological requirements of the species (occurring only at significant depths in lakes). Drift of larvae occurs between Lake Huron and Lake Erie (Roseman et al. 1998).


Interspecific Interactions

Brandt (1986) suggested that the disappearance of deepwater sculpin from Lake Ontario during the 1950s may have been due to the loss of piscivores (lake trout and burbot) from the lake, resulting in monopolization of benthic habitats by sympatric slimy sculpin (Cottus cognatus). Brandt (1986) hypothesized that this would have resulted in increased competition or predation on young deepwater sculpin by slimy sculpin. Present trends of increasing appearance in Lake Ontario do not support this contention. Slimy sculpin are quite abundant in deepwater trawls in which deepwater sculpin have been collected recently (J. Casselman, unpubl. data). Smith (1970) suggested that the disappearance of deepwater sculpins in Lake Ontario may have been due to alewife (Alosa pseudoharengus) and rainbow smelt (Osmerus mordax)predation on the eggs and larvae of deepwater sculpin. In the 2004 survey of inland lakes, spoonhead and deepwater sculpin were rarely found in the same lakes (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data), perhaps suggesting competitive exclusion between the two species.


Adaptability

The adaptability of deepwater sculpin is relatively unknown, but evidence suggests it is extremely limited. Although downstream transport of larval individuals into new habitats may occur (i.e. from Lake Huron into Lake Erie), reproducing populations of deepwater sculpin are not known from locations other than their preferred deep, cold, highly oxygenated habitats. Further, deepwater sculpin have not been kept in captivity.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEWIC sur le chabot de profoundeur (populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent et population de l'Ouest) au Canada - Mise à jour

Biologie

On sait peu de choses de la biologie du chabot de profondeur, surtout parce qu’il se trouve normalement à de grandes profondeurs (voir la section Habitat). La plupart des études étaient axées sur la biologie du chabot de profondeur dans un lac particulier, comme le lac Michigan, le lac Supérieur ou le lac Ontario, dans les Grands Lacs, ou le lac Burchell, dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario (Black et Lankester, 1981; Brandt, 1986; Kraft et Kitchell, 1986; Selgeby, 1988; Geffen et Nash, 1992).


Âge et croissance

Selgeby (1988) fait état d’un âge maximum de sept ans dans le lac Supérieur, tandis que Black et Lankester (1981) signalent un âge maximum de cinq ans dans le lac Burchell (Ontario). Le gain de longueur est particulièrement grand pendant la première année de vie et décline de 40 p. 100 pendant la deuxième et la troisième années chez le chabot de profondeur du lac Supérieur (Selgeby, 1988). Au cours des années suivantes, le gain de longueur n’est que de 35 p. 100 à 40 p. 100 de celui de la première année (Selgeby, 1988). Le gain de poids, par contre, s’accroît au fil des ans jusqu’à la sixième année de vie (Selgeby, 1988). Le gain de poids du chabot de profondeur est nettement plus élevé que sa croissance isométrique (Selgeby, 1988).

La différence de taille du chabot de profondeur selon la latitude a été abordée par plusieurs auteurs (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970; Scott et Crossman, 1973; Black et Lankester, 1981; Selgeby, 1988). S’appuyant sur l’examen d’un gros spécimen du lac Ontario (235 mm de longueur totale [LT]) et sur la longueur relativement moindre des chabots de profondeur du Grand lac des Esclaves (maximum de 69 mm), ces auteurs pensent que la taille maximale du chabot de profondeur décroît à mesure que l’on monte en latitude par rapport aux Grands Lacs. Aucune tendance de cette nature, cependant, n’a été remarquée lors de l’étude de 2004 (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Les plus gros spécimens pris pendant cette étude provenaient du lac Wollaston, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan, et étaient d’une LT de plus de 100 mm (LT maximale de 110 mm), tandis que les spécimens du Grand lac des Esclaves atteignaient une LT de 75 mm et qu’un spécimen du lac Alexie (Territoires du Nord-Ouest, juste au nord du Grand lac des Esclaves) avait une LT de 98 mm (T. Sheldon, données inédites).

Les chabots de profondeur des Grands Lacs, toutefois, sont relativement gros si on les compare à toutes les autres populations, y compris celles des lacs intérieurs situés à la même latitude. La répartition typique par taille des poissons pris dans le cadre des programmes permanents de pêche indicatrice du lac Huron est illustrée à la figure 6. La taille modale se situait dans la fourchette de 100 mm à 110 mm, quelques spécimens approchant les 200 mm. Historiquement, les spécimens de l’espèce atteignent une plus grande taille dans le lac Ontario que dans n’importe quel autre Grand Lac (Scott et Crossman, 1973).


Figure 6: Répartition des fréquences de la longueur totale, par intervalles de longueur de 10 mm, des chabots de profondeur pris à la pêche indicatrice dans le lac Huron

Figure 6: Répartition des fréquences de la longueur totale, par intervalles de longueur de 10 mm, des chabots de profondeur pris à la pêche indicatrice dans le lac Huron.


Reproduction

On ne comprend pas entièrement le cycle de reproduction de l’espèce. L’âge de la maturité a été estimé par Black et Lankester (1981) à trois ans pour les femelles et à deux ans pour les mâles, à partir de spécimens du lacBurchell (Ontario). L’époque de la fraye du chabot de profondeur n’est pas connue. McAllister (1961), McPhail et Lindsey (1970) et Scott et Crossman (1973) supposent que la fraye a lieu à la fin de l’été ou au début de l’automne, en se fondant sur la présence d’œufs presque arrivés à maturité chez des femelles des Grands Lacs en juillet et en août. Black et Lankester (1981), pour leur part, pensent que la fraye se produit fort probablement à la fin de l’automne ou en hiver. D’après l’apparence des œufs et des ovaires examinés, et du fait de la capture de jeunes de l’année lors d’opérations de chalutage exécutées au début du printemps, Selgeby (1988) juge que la fraye a lieu dans le lac Supérieur de la fin de novembre à la mi-mai, avec un pic en janvier.

Dans le lac Michigan, les larves de chabot de profondeur éclosent en eau profonde en mars, puis remontent à la surface et sont transportées vers le littoral (Geffen et Nash, 1992). Elles retournent ensuite au large et se trouvent en profondeur en fin d’automne. Une femelle gravide a toutefois été prise dans le lac Ontario, dans des eaux relativement peu profondes (30 m), le 22 juin 1996 (Casselman, données inédites).


Alimentation

Le chabot de profondeur se retrouve presque toujours en compagnie des crustacés relictuels Mysis relicta et Diporeia spp. (Dadswell, 1974), qui forment une large part de son alimentation. L’estomac de 71 p. 100 des spécimens examinés, qui provenaient du lac Burchell, contenait des Diporeia spp., et des larves de chironomes et des Mysis relicta étaient présents respectivement dans 41 p. 100 et 3 p. 100 des cas (Black et Lankester, 1981). Les Diporeia spp. et les Mysis relicta représentaient respectivement 73 p. 100 et 26 p. 100 de la biomasse du contenu stomacal des chabots de profondeur du lac Supérieur, alors que les larves de chironomes représentaient 1 p. 100 de l’alimentation de ces poissons (Selgeby, 1988). Les Diporeia spp. dominent dans l’alimentation du chabot de profondeur du lac Michigan (Davis et al., 1997). L’analyse préliminaire du contenu stomacal des chabots de profondeur capturés pendant la campagne de 2004 indique que les amphipodes Diporeia spp. constituent la vaste majorité de leur alimentation, suivis du Mysis relicta (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Les larves de chironomides sont le seul autre aliment observé assez régulièrement. Le zooplancton constitue probablement le principal aliment du chabot de profondeur pendant son stade larvaire pélagique (< 22 mm).


Parasitisme

Le lien entre le parasitisme et la santé du chabot de profondeur n’est pas connu, mais les parasites signalés chez les chabots de profondeur du lac Burchell (Ontario) comprennent des trématodes (Diplostomulum spp.), des cestodes (Cyathocephalus truncatus, Bothriocephalus spp.) et des nématodes (Cystidicola stigmatura, larves de spirurines) (Black et Lankester, 1981). Sur l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition des chabots de profondeur, les parasites signalés comprennent des copépodes (Ergasilus spp.) sur les branchies, des cestodes (Bothriocephalus spp., Proteocephalus spp.) dans l’intestin, des digéniens dans l’intestin, des nématodes dans le foie (Raphidascaris spp.) et des acanthocéphales (Echinorhynchus spp.) dans l’estomac et l’intestin (J. Carney, données inédites).


Prédateurs

Le chabot de profondeur compte pour beaucoup dans l’alimentation des piscivores, comme le touladi (Salvelinus namaycush) et la lotte (Lota lota) (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Stewart et Watkinson, 2004).


Physiologie

Il n’existe pour ainsi dire aucune information sur la physiologie du chabot de profondeur. Stapleton et al. (2001) signalent que le chabot de profondeur est capable de réduire de 10 p. 100 sa charge de polychlorobiphényles (PCB) par la formation de MeSO2-PCB selon une voie biochimique jusqu’ici jamais observée chez les espèces dulcicoles.


Déplacements et dispersion

La dispersion historique du chabot de profondeur s’est faite par des couloirs entre lacs pro-glaciaires. Il n’existe à l’heure actuelle pratiquement aucune possibilité de migration ou de dispersion entre lacs intérieurs à cause des exigences écologiques de l’espèce (qui ne peut vivre qu’à de grandes profondeurs lacustres). Il y a dérive de larves entre les lacs Huron et Érié (Roseman et al., 1998).


Relations interspécifiques

Brandt (1986) juge que la disparition du chabot de profondeur du lac Ontario pendant les années 1950 pouvait être attribuable à la baisse des populations de piscivores (touladi et lotte) du lac, qui aurait favorisé la monopolisation des habitats benthiques par le chabot visqueux (Cottus cognatus), espèce sympatrique du chabot de profondeur. Selon Brandt (1986), il en serait résulté une concurrence plus âpre ou une prédation des jeunes chabots de profondeur par le chabot visqueux. Les tendances récemment observées dans le lac Ontario ne vont toutefois pas dans le sens de cette théorie. Les chabots visqueux étaient assez abondants dans les traits de chalut où on a récemment capturé des chabots de profondeur (J. Casselman, données inédites). Selon Smith (1970), la disparition du chabot de profondeur du lac Ontario pouvait résulter d’une prédation exercée par le gaspareau (Alosa pseudoharengus) et l’éperlan (Osmerus mordax) sur les œufs et les larves de l’espèce. Lors de la campagne réalisée en 2004 dans les lacs intérieurs, on a remarqué que les chabots à tête plate et les chabots de profondeur se trouvaient rarement dans les mêmes lacs (T. Sheldon, données inédites), suggérant peut-être une exclusion par la compétition entre les deux espèces.


Adaptabilité

L’adaptabilité du chabot de profondeur est relativement inconnue, mais, selon certaines indications, elle serait extrêmement limitée. Bien qu’une dévalaison passive des larves vers de nouveaux habitats puisse survenir (notamment du lac Huron au lac Érié), on ne connaît pas de populations reproductrices de chabots de profondeur ailleurs que dans leurs habitats profonds, froids et hautement oxygénés. Qui plus est, le chabot de profondeur n’a jamais été gardé en captivité.