Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Deepwater Sculpin (Western and Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence Populations) in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Inland Lakes

Most locations where deepwater sculpin are found have not been sampled extensively or sequentially and, as a result, it is difficult to estimate population sizes and trends of deepwater sculpin. Therefore, population data on deepwater sculpin throughout their range (including the distinct lineages present in both Upper Waterton and Fairbank lakes) are mostly limited to presence/absence data that must be interpreted with caution. In the 2004 survey of deepwater sculpin across inland lakes in Canada, search effort and methods were designed to specifically target deepwater sculpin (T. Sheldon, unpubl. data). Previous sampling efforts relied largely on trawling (Dadswell 1972), with varying degrees of success.

Collapsible, square minnow traps were designed to lie flat on the lake bottom, resulting in a larger catch area along the very bottom of lakes. Fifteen to thirty minnow traps were baited with dog food and cyalume sticks, and set in each lake for a minimum duration of 12 hours. In addition, a 1.0 cm stretched mesh gillnet was set for 12 hours and a minimum of two bottom trawls of ten minutes in duration were also conducted on each lake, weather permitting. All sampling was conducted in the deeper regions of each lake. Table 2 summarizes the lake-by-lake sampling effort and the number of deepwater sculpin captured in each location.

Of the lakes sampled in 2004, deepwater sculpin were found in 16 of 23 lakes where they were previously reported (Table 2, Fig. 9). They were not found in seven lakes where they were previously found, and found in four lakes where they were not previously reported (Table 2, Fig. 9).

Thirty lakes where deepwater sculpin have been reported, but not sampled in 2004, have only been sampled incidentally and the current status of populations in these lakes are unknown.


Great Lakes

Estimates of population size are not available for the Great Lakes; however, fairly intensive long-term index sampling programs provide quite good measures of relative abundance.


Lake Superior

Deepwater sculpin biomass for American and Canadian waters, as determined by fairly long-term indexing programs (Fig. 7, Table 4), indicates quite low densities and some minor decline over time, particularly in the longer data sets from American waters (Bronte et al. 2003). They considered that deepwater sculpin indices were likely not indicative of actual densities and trends, as depths covered by the index sampling programs reach only the shallowest portions of their depth distribution. Nevertheless, deepwater sculpin appear to be present, fairly widely distributed, and are caught consistently, albeit at quite low densities. There is evidence that they are slightly more abundant in Canadian waters, although this indexing program is quite short (11 years).


Figure 7: Indices of Abundance of Deepwater Sculpin in the Upper Great Lakes for a Three-decade Period from the 1970s to the 2000s

Figure 7: Indices of abundance of deepwater sculpin in the upperGreat Lakesfor a three-decade period from the 1970s to the 2000s.

Indices are not continuous but are just measures of abundance for the particular periods indicated; data sets are of varying lengths. Illustration of data presented in Table 4.


Lake Michigan

Deepwater sculpin appear to be much more abundant (Fig. 7, Table 4) in Lake Michigan than in any of the other Great Lakes. In an indexing program from 1973 to 2004, deepwater sculpin increased in abundance, reaching a peak in the 1980s (1983-87) (Madenjian et al. 2002), declining to a lower, but relatively uniform, level from 1989 to 1995 and slightly increasing until 2002.

 

Table 4: Indices of Abundance for the Deepwater Sculpin in the Upper Great Lakes
YearLake SuperiorLake Michigan
kg/ha
Lake Huron
CPE
U.S watersCanadian waters
N/hakg/haN/hakg/ha
1973    1.44 
1974    2.89 
1975    7.43 
1976    8.77 
1977    6.76 
19782.370.006  6.23 
19794.450.020  11.25 
19807.580.048  17.95 
19816.700.028  15.77 
19821.820.003  11.68 
19834.400.014  24.55 
19848.010.033  16.17 
19859.500.019  20.43 
19869.890.024  15.97 
19873.580.011  26.28 
19883.780.012  15.96 
19894.360.0253.940.0097.96 
19905.120.0135.870.0247.83 
19911.550.0056.670.0215.14 
19923.280.0087.340.0219.09127.8
19933.010.01511.770.0266.7557.2
19942.610.01510.430.0506.11150.1
19952.670.0066.800.0227.86405.2
19962.750.03013.430.03312.24101.9
19971.190.0069.340.02514.76333.5
19984.230.0138.060.021 3.4
19990.750.0012.770.00812.0678.4
2000    5.55 
2001    10.8950.1
2002    10.5630.4
2003    9.3146.1
2004    7.5363.1

For Lake Superior, numbers and biomass are indicated, separated by U.S. and Canadian waters. Biomass index is provided for Lake Michigan, and mean catch per 10-minute trawl tow is provided for Lake Huron. Lake Superior index is provided by Charles R. Bronte, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, New Franken, WI, and described in Bronte et al. 2003; Lake Michigan index is provided by Charles P. Madenjian, U.S. Geological Survey, Ann Arbot, MI, and described in Madenjian et al. 2002; Lake Huron index is provided by Jeff Schaeffer, USGS Great Lakes Science Center, Ann Arbor, MI.


Lake Huron

The results of a recent, relatively short-term, index-netting program for Lake Huron (Fig. 7, Table 4) indicated that deepwater sculpin were relatively widespread with 300 to 400 individuals caught per 10 minute trawl (J. Schaeffer, unpubl. data). In recent years (since 1999), catches appear to have declined and abundance may be reduced; the Lake Huron Fisheries Assessment Unit has not seen a sculpin in their assessment program since 1998 (Lloyd Mohr, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, personal communication 2006).


Lake Erie

Reports of deepwater sculpin in Lake Erie have been rare and have always been only larval individuals (young-of-the-year) (Roseman et al. 1998). Two specimens were incidentally caught in a larval fish sampling program in Ohio waters of western Lake Erie in 1995. The individuals were only 15 and 17 mm total length. While these young may have come from vessel ballast water or a reproducing population in Lake Erie, the fact that 21 similar-sized juveniles were collected upstream in the St. Clair River in 1990 indicates that their occurrence probably resulted from downstream transport from Lake Huron (Roseman et al. 1998). Indeed, the results of the index-netting program in Lake Huron suggests that in 1995 the upstream population was at record-high levels (Fig. 7, Table 4), providing additional support for the assumption that transport from Lake Huron was involved. It must be emphasized, however, that the reproductive status of the populations in Lake Erie is unclear as no adults have ever been observed in that lake.


Lake Ontario

The deepwater sculpin was once very abundant in the deep waters of the main basin of Lake Ontario (Dymond et al. 1929). In fact, they were so abundant in Lake Ontario that at one time, they were considered to be a nuisance for commercial lake trout gill net fisheries. The archived samples catalogued at the Royal Ontario Museum for the period 1926 to 1941 confirm their presence (Table 5, Fig. 8). However, they were not reported in southern Lake Ontario between 1943 and 1971, and Christie (1973) reported that the last specimens identified from northern Lake Ontario were taken in 1953. From 1953 to 1973, a few samples were brought in by commercial fishermen as a rarity, but three fish were also caught during an international deepwater trawling program in 1972 (Table 5, Fig. 8). Its rarity led Scott and Crossman (1973) to consider it to be extirpated. However, Crossman and Van Meter (1979) listed it as being present in 1972-75, probably because of the samples caught in 1972, although they noted that it was extremely rare and considered endangered. From that time until 1996, it was not reported, although very limited deepwater trawling was conducted. In 1996, one gravid female was caught in the outlet basin in a relatively shallow index trawling program. This individual signalled the reappearance of the species after a 25-year hiatus (Casselman and Scott 2003). Catching this single fish in a relatively shallow indexing program encouraged a targeted search in deep water that year. Limited targeted trawling in the 90-to-110-m depth range produced two more individuals (Table 5, Fig. 8).

 

Table 5: Deepwater Sculpin from Lake Ontario (N = 167) Archived and Catalogued at the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), Originally Acquired by, and Archived at, the OMNR Glenora Fisheries Station from 1926 to 1996
YearDateVicinityLatitudeLongitudeNSampling SourceROM Catalogue No.
Gill netTrawlStomach
192629 Oct.Port Credit43o27’a79o27’a21 12753(1), 2754(1)
192701 JulyPort Credit43o28’a79o18’a1313  3792
192718 JulyPort Credit43o28’a79o17’a3939  3628
192729 Aug.Port Credit43o28’a79o17’a2626  3790B
192701 Oct.Port Credit43o28’a79o18’a3232  2669(1), 3790A(31)
1927 Port Credit43o28’a79o18’a392 3720113
192812 JulyMain Duck Island43o42’a76o38’a22  4876(1), 4877(1)
193018 Feb.Port Credit43o28’a79o18’a44  6795
1931 Bowmanville43o39’a78o40’a11  8125
194102 Sept.Niagara-on-the-Lake43o24’a79o05’a11  13321
195328 Aug.Salmon Point43o42’a77o14’a11  70625
196122 Aug.Point Traverse43o40’76o45’11  23129
196328 Aug.Salmon Point43o42’a77o14’a44  70626b
197221 JuneCobourg43o45’278o08’.62 2 70627
197208 Sept.Cobourg43o43’.078o06’.91 1 70627
199626 JuneOutlet basin44o02’.6376o51’.391 1 70628
199620 Sept.Point Traverse43o44’.6176o49’.961 1 70629
199626 Sept.Cobourg43o47’.0378o03’.671 1 70630
Total    171127638 

Year, date, and vicinity of capture are provided, along with sampling source, coordinates (either recorded or estimated), and ROM catalogue numbers. Samples from 1953, 1961, and 1963 were provided by Stanley Rankin, commercial fisherman, Salmon Point, Prince Edward County, Ontario. Unpublished data assembled by J.M. Casselman, Department of Biology, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario.

a Latitude and longitude estimated from headings and depth.
b Glenora acquisition numbers indicate that three specimens were received in 1963; however, sample contains four individuals.


Figure 8: The Distribution of Deepwater Sculpin in Lake Ontario Based on Specimens (N=167) Archived and Catalogued at the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), Originally Acquired by, and Archived at, the OMNR Glenora Fisheries Station from 1926 to 1996


Figure 8: The distribution of deepwater sculpin in Lake Ontario based on specimens (N=167) archived and catalogued at the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), originally acquired by, and archived at, the OMNR Glenora Fisheries Station from 1926 to 1996.

Samples archived at the ROM are indicated by closed circles showing approximate origin of sample and year, with number of samples in parentheses. Closed triangles are samples originally archived at the Glenora Fisheries Station, illustrated as above. Open star indicates recent reappearance in 1996 in routine trawl indexing (30 m); closed stars indicate two sculpin captured in targeted deepwater trawling conducted in 1996 (91 and 96 m). Unpublished data assembled by J.M. Casselman, Department of Biology, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario.


Figure 9: 2004 Survey Results for Deepwater Sculpin Compared to Historical Records

Figure 9: 2004 survey results for deepwater sculpin compared to historical records.

A deeper trawling program in American waters conducted by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) produced one sculpin in 1998 at 150 m in an alewife assessment program off Thirty-Mile Point in Lake Ontario (Owens et al. 2003). This deepwater sculpin, caught off the southwest shore, was the first sighting of this formerly abundant fish in American waters since 1942 (Stone 1947). Targeted sampling in deep water produced three more individuals in 1999 and one in 2000 (Owens et al. 2003). Regardless of these recent occurrences, many continue to regard the species to be extirpated from Lake Ontario (e.g., Eshenroder and Krueger 2002). However, this is not the case. In fact, a single individual was caught in 2004, and 13 were caught in routine USGS alewife and mid-lake assessment trawling programs in 2005.

Since the recent reappearance of three fish in Lake Ontario in 1996, a total of 19 individuals have been collected. It could be argued that these appearances are related to increased trawling effort. However, this was not the case for the first individual collected in 1996, since it was caught in the eastern basin in a routine trawling program that had been begun in the early 1960s. The appearance of this individual was interpreted to reflect an increase in abundance of deepwater sculpins in deep water, so a target program that trawled deep water (90-110 m) was initiated immediately and two more individuals were caught. By contrast, fairly deep trawling in the eastern basin in the 60-m depth range in the early 1990s, as part of a juvenile lake trout indexing program, did not produce any deepwater sculpin (J. Casselman, unpubl. data). In fact, the recent appearance in 1996 and 1998 came from individuals of the 1994 and 1995 year-classes (Casselman and Scott 2003). Casselman et al. (1999) suggested that during the early 1990s, there was a substantial shift in the open-water fish community, at least in Lake Ontario. The reappearance of deepwater sculpin was one of a whole set of population and community changes.

It is apparent that deepwater sculpin are not extirpated from Lake Ontario. Their presence, albeit in very low numbers, through the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s and, most recently, the 1990s, suggests that the present resurgence is due to increased reproductive success by a remnant population rather than to colonization by juveniles drifting from Lake Huron or ballast water transfer of larval individuals from the upper Great Lakes. Downstream transport of larvae, which probably explains the appearance of larvae in western Lake Erie in 1995, probably does not explain their presence in Lake Ontario, although Roseman et al. (1998) speculated that this could also be a plausible explanation for their occurrence in Lake Ontario.

The few individuals that are found in Lake Ontario are large and in appropriate habitat. Decreased deep-water fishing effort in the 1980s and early 1990s may have led to an assumption of extirpation. Nevertheless, they are present, albeit in very low numbers. Although they are very rare, mature, gravid individuals are present and seem to be increasing in abundance, particularly in 2005 sampling in U.S. waters (13 individuals). A number of year-classes have been identified through age assessment, and very recently, in 2005, small individuals have been caught quite frequently in U.S. waters. Although continuous colonization cannot be conclusively ruled out, the appearance of gravid females, small young fish, and the increased appearance of recent year-classes provides strong circumstantial evidence that abundance is increasing and successful reproduction is occurring.


Rescue Effect

The potential of a healthy population of deepwater sculpin returning to Canadian waters within lakes that occur on both sides of the Canada-U.S. border is high should the Canadian population become extirpated and the American population persist; however, conditions affecting the species on one side of the border may also affect it on the other side, thus diminishing this potential. Furthermore, there is virtually no potential of immigration or introduction of deepwater sculpin into inland lakes should these populations become extirpated.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEWIC sur le chabot de profoundeur (populations des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent et population de l'Ouest) au Canada - Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Lacs intérieurs

Pour la plupart, les lieux où se trouvent des chabots de profondeur n’ont pas fait l’objet d’échantillonnages vastes ou séquentiels et, par conséquent, il est difficile d’estimer la taille et les tendances des populations de cette espèce. Les données sur les populations de chabots de profondeur dans toute leur aire de répartition (y compris les lignées distinctes des lacs Waterton Supérieur et Fairbank), par conséquent, se limitent surtout à leur présence ou à leur absence, et il faut se montrer prudent dans leur interprétation. Dans la campagne menée en 2004 sur le chabot de profondeur dans les lacs intérieurs du Canada, les efforts et les méthodes de recherche ont été adaptés de manière à cibler précisément cette espèce (T. Sheldon, données inédites). Les échantillonnages antérieurs, qui reposaient largement sur le chalutage (Dadswell, 1972), ont eu des degrés divers de succès.

On a mis au point des pièges à ménés carrés et pliants qui, reposant à plat sur le fond, permettent d’agrandir la superficie de capture sur le fond même du lac. De 15 à 30 de ces pièges, appâtés avec de la nourriture pour chien et munis de bâtonnets fluorescents (cyalumes), sont mouillés dans chaque lac pendant au moins 12 heures. De plus, on a mouillé un filet maillant à maille étirée de 1,0 cm et, lorsque les conditions météorologiques le permettaient, au moins deux chalutages de fond de 10 minutes ont été pratiqués dans chacun des lacs. Tout l’échantillonnage a été fait dans les zones les plus profondes de chacun des lacs. Le tableau 2 résume, lac par lac, l’effort d’échantillonnage et indique le nombre de chabots de profondeur capturés à chaque endroit.

Parmi les lacs ayant fait l’objet de l’échantillonnage de 2004, des chabots de profondeur ont été trouvés dans 16 lacs sur 23 où ils avaient été repérés auparavant (tableau 2, figure 9). On n’en a pas trouvé dans 7 lacs où ils avaient déjà été vus, mais on en a trouvé dans 4 lacs où ils n’avaient jamais été signalés (tableau 2, figure 9).

Trente des lacs où le chabot de profondeur a été signalé, mais pas échantillonné en 2004, n’ont fait l’objet que d’un échantillonnage accessoire, et la situation actuelle des populations de ces lacs est inconnue.


Grands Lacs

Il n’existe aucune estimation de la taille des populations des Grands Lacs, mais des programmes assez intensifs de pêche indicatrice menés à long terme donnent une bonne idée de leur abondance relative.


Lac Supérieur

La biomasse du chabot de profondeur dans les eaux canadiennes et étatsuniennes, selon les programmes de pêche indicatrice à assez long terme (figure 7, tableau 4), présente de faibles densités et un léger déclin au fil du temps, particulièrement dans les ensembles de données de plus longue durée touchant les eaux étatsuniennes (Bronte et al., 2003). Selon ces auteurs, les indices sur le chabot de profondeur ne démontraient probablement pas les densités et tendances réelles, car les profondeurs des programmes d’échantillonnage indicateur n’atteignaient que les portions les moins profondes de leur distribution bathymétrique. Néanmoins, le chabot de profondeur semble présent, assez largement réparti, et pris régulièrement bien qu’en faible densité. Des preuves montrent qu’il est un peu plus abondant dans les eaux canadiennes, bien que le programme canadien de pêche indicatrice soit plutôt récent (11 ans).

 

Tableau 4 : Indices d’abondance du chabot de profondeur dans les Grands Lacs d’amont
AnnéeLac SupérieurLac Michigan
kg/ha
Lac Huron
CPE
Eaux étatsuniennesEaux canadiennes
N/hakg/haN/hakg/ha
1973    1,44 
1974    2,89 
1975    7,43 
1976    8,77 
1977    6,76 
19782,370,006  6,23 
19794,450,020  11,25 
19807,580,48  17,95 
19816,700,28  15,77 
19821,820,003  11,68 
19834,400,014  24,55 
19848,010,033  15,17 
19859,500,019  20,43 
19869,890,024  15,97 
19873,580,011  26,28 
19883,780,012  15,96 
19894,360,0253,940,0097,96 
19905,120,0135,870,0247,83 
19911,550,0056,670,0215,14 
19923,280,0087,340,0219,09127,8
19933,010,01511,770,0266,7557,2
19942,610,01510,430,0506,11150,1
19952,670,0066,800,0227,86405,2
19962,750,03013,430,03312,24101,9
19971,180,0069,340,02514,76333,5
19984,230,0138,060,021 3,4
19990,750,0012,770,00812,0678,4
2000    5,55 
2001    10,8950,1
2002    10,5630,4
2003    9,3146,1
2004    7,5363,1

Dans le cas du lac Supérieur, les chiffres et la biomasse sont indiqués séparément selon qu’ils appartiennent aux eaux canadiennes ou étatsuniennes.
L’indice de biomasse est donné pour le lac Michigan et les prises moyennes par trait de chalut de 10 minutes sont données pour le lac Huron.
L’indice du lac Supérieur a été fourni par Charles R. Bronte, du U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, New Franken (Wisconsin); il est décrit dans Bronte et al., 2003.
L’indice du lac Michigan a été fourni par Charles P. Madenjian, du U.S. Geological Survey, Ann Arbor (Michigan); il est décrit dans Madenjian et al., 2002.
L’indice du lac Huron a été fourni par Jeff Schaeffer, du USGS Great Lakes Science Center, Ann Arbor (Michigan).


Figure 7 : Indices d’abondance du chabot de profondeur dans les Grands Lacs d’amont sur 30 ans, de 1970 à 2000

Figure 7 : Indices d’abondance du chabot de profondeur dans les Grands Lacs d’amont sur 30 ans, de 1970 à 2000.

Les indices ne sont pas continus; ce ne sont que des mesures de l’abondance pendant les périodes indiquées. Les ensembles de données sont de durées diverses. Cette figure illustre les données présentées au tableau 4.


Lac Michigan

Le chabot de profondeur semble être beaucoup plus abondant (figure 7, tableau 4) dans le lac Michigan que dans n’importe quel autre Grand Lac. Un programme de pêche indicatrice couvrant la période de 1973 à 2004 a montré que l’abondance du chabot de profondeur avait augmenté, avec un pic dans les années 1980 (de 1983 à 1987) (Madenjian et al., 2002) et décliné à un niveau moindre, mais relativement uniforme, de 1989 à 1995, puis s’était accrue légèrement jusqu’en 2002.


Lac Huron

Les résultats d’un programme récent de pêche indicatrice au chalut, de durée relativement courte, mené dans le lac Huron (figure 7, tableau 4) ont montré que le chabot de profondeur était assez répandu, de 300 à 400 spécimens étant pris par trait de 10 minutes (J. Schaeffer, données inédites). Dans les dernières années (depuis 1999), les prises ont semblé décliner, et l’abondance a pu aller en diminuant. L’équipe d’évaluation des pêches du lac Huron n’a relevé aucun chabot dans ses évaluations depuis 1998 (communication personnelle (2006) de Lloyd Mohr, ministère ontarien des Richesses naturelles).


Lac Érié

Les signalements de chabots de profondeur dans le lac Érié ont été rares et concernaient toujours des larves (jeunes de l’année) (Roseman et al., 1998). Deux spécimens ont été pris accessoirement lors d’un programme d’échantillonnage des larves de poissons mené en 1995 dans les eaux de la partie ouest du lac Érié situées en Ohio. Ils n’avaient que 15 mm et 17 mm de longueur totale. Bien que ces alevins puissent avoir été rejetés avec l’eau de ballast d’un navire ou provenir d’une population reproductrice du lac Érié, le fait que 21 juvéniles de taille semblable aient été recueillis en amont dans la rivière St. Clair en 1990 indique que leur occurrence résulte probablement d’une dévalaison depuis le lac Huron (Roseman et al., 1998). En effet, selon les résultats du programme de pêche indicatrice au filet mené dans le lac Huron, la population d’amont avait atteint en 1995 des niveaux records (figure 7, tableau 4), ce qui confirme l’hypothèse d’un transport depuis le lac Huron. Il faut insister, toutefois, sur le fait que la situation de la reproduction des populations dans le lac Érié n’est pas claire étant donné qu’aucun adulte n’y a été observé.


Lac Ontario

Le chabot de profondeur a déjà été très abondant dans les eaux profondes du bassin principal du lac Ontario (Dymond et al., 1929), au point d’être jugé préjudiciable à la pêche commerciale du touladi au filet maillant. Les échantillons catalogués pour la période de 1926 à 1941, que l’on peut consulter au Musée royal de l’Ontario, confirment cette présence (tableau 5, figure 8). Le chabot de profondeur, cependant, n’a pas été signalé dans le lac Ontario entre 1943 et 1971, et Christie (1973) a indiqué que les derniers spécimens identifiés dans la partie nord du lac Ontario avaient été pris en 1953. De 1953 à 1973, des pêcheurs commerciaux ont rapporté quelques individus à titre de curiosité, et trois poissons ont été pris lors du programme bilatéral de chalutage en eau profonde de 1972 (tableau 5, figure 8). La rareté du chabot de profondeur a amené Scott et Crossman (1973) à le croire disparu de la région. Crossman et Van Meter (1979), cependant, le signalent parmi les espèces présentes de 1972 à 1975, probablement en raison des échantillons pris en 1972, mais précisent qu’il est extrêmement rare et considéré en péril. Jusqu’en 1996, aucun chabot de profondeur n’a été signalé, en dépit des chalutages profonds très limités qui ont été effectués. En 1996, une femelle gravide a été prise dans le bassin de sortie, dans le cadre d’un programme de chalutage en eau relativement peu profonde. Ce spécimen signalait la réapparition de l’espèce après une absence de 25 ans (Casselman et Scott, 2003). La prise de cet unique poisson lors d’un tel programme a encouragé le lancement d’une recherche ciblée en eau profonde la même année. Un chalutage ciblé limité mené dans la tranche d’eau de 90 m à 110 m a produit deux autres spécimens (tableau 5, figure 8).

 

Tableau 5 : Chabots de profondeur du lac Ontario (N = 167) archivés et catalogués au Musée royal de l'Ontario ROM), acquis à l'origine et archivés à la station des pêches de Glenora du ministère ontarien des Richesses naturelles, de 1926 à 1996
AnnéeDateLieuLatitudeLongitudeNSource des échantillonsNo de catalogue du ROM
Filet
mail-
lant
ChalutEsto-
mac
192610.29Port Credit43°27’ a79°27’ a21 12753(1), 2554(1)
192707.01Port Credit43°28’ a79°18’ a1313  3792
192707.18Port Credit43°28’ a79°17’ a3939  3628
192708.29Port Credit43°28’ a79°17’ a2626  3790B
192710.01Port Credit43°28’ a69°18’ a3232  2669(1), 3790A(31)
1927 Port Credit43°28’ a79°18’ a392 3720113
192807.12Main Duck Island43°42’ a76°38’ a22  4876(1), 4877(1)
193002.18Port Credit43°28’ a79°18’ a44  6795
1931 Bowmanville43°39’ a78°40’ a11  8125
194109.02Niagara-on-the-Lake43°24’ a79°05’ a11  13321
195308.28Salmon Point43°42’ a77°14’ a11  70625
196108.22Point Traverse43°40’76°45’11  23129
196308.28Salmon Point43°42’ a77°14’ a44  70626b
197206.21Cobourg43°45’,278°08’,62 2 70627
197209.08Cobourg43°43’78°06’,91 1 70627
199606.26Bassin de sortie44°02’,6376°51’,391 1 70628
199609.20Point Traverse43°44’,6176°49’,961 1 70629
199609.26Cobourg43°47’,0378°03’,671 1 70630
Total    171127638 

L’année, la date et le lieu des captures sont fournis, de même que la source de l’échantillonnage, les coordonnées (enregistrées ou estimées) et les numéros de catalogue du Musée royal de l’Ontario.
Les échantillons de 1953, 1961 et 1963 ont été fournis par Stanley Rankin, pêcheur commercial, Salmon Point, comté de Prince Edward (Ontario).
Les données inédites ont été rassemblées par J.M. Casselman, département de biologie de l’université Queen’s, Kingston (Ontario).

a Latitude et longitude estimées d’après le cap et la profondeur.
b Les chiffres d’acquisition de la station de Glenora indiquent que trois spécimens ont été reçus en 1963, mais l’échantillon en contient quatre.


Figure 8 : Répartition du chabot de profondeur dans le lac Ontario d’après les spécimens (N = 167) archivés et catalogués au Musée royal de l’Ontario (ROM), acquis et archivés à l’origine à la station des pêches de Glenora du ministère ontarien des Richesses naturelles, de 1926 à 1996

Figure 8 : Répartition du chabot de profondeur dans le lac Ontario d’après les spécimens (N = 167) archivés et catalogués au Musée royal de l’Ontario (ROM), acquis et archivés à l’origine à la station des pêches de Glenora du ministère ontarien des Richesses naturelles, de 1926 à 1996.

Les échantillons archivés au ROM sont indiqués par des cercles noirs montrant l’origine approximative de l’échantillon, l’année de la prise et, entre parenthèses, le nombre d’échantillons. Les triangles noirs représentent les échantillons archivés d’abord à la station des pêches de Glenora. Les étoiles blanches désignent les réapparitions récentes, en 1996, dans des opérations régulières de pêche indicatrice au chalut (30 m) et les étoiles noires marquent les lieux où ont été pris deux chabots dans le cadre d’un chalutage ciblé en eau profonde effectué en 1996 (à 91 m et 96 m). Données inédites rassemblées par J.M. Casselman, département de biologie de l’Université Queen’s, Kingston (Ontario).


Figure 9 : Résultats de l’étude de 2004 sur le chabot de profondeur comparés aux données historiques.

Figure 9 : Résultats de l’étude de 2004 sur le chabot de profondeur comparés aux données historiques.

Un programme de chalutage plus profond mené dans les eaux étatsuniennes par le United States Geological Survey (USGS) a tiré de l’eau un chabot, en 1998, à une profondeur de 150 m dans le cadre du programme d’évaluation du gaspareau mené au large de la pointe Thirty-Mile, dans le lac Ontario (Owens et al., 2003). Ce chabot de profondeur, pris au large de la rive sud-ouest, constituait la première observation depuis 1942 de ce poisson autrefois abondant dans les eaux étatsuniennes (Stone, 1947). Un échantillonnage ciblé en eau profonde a produit trois autres exemplaires en 1999 et un en 2000 (Owens et al., 2003). En dépit de ces occurrences récentes, nombre d’intéressés persistent à considérer l’espèce comme disparue du lac Ontario (p. ex. Eshenroder et Krueger, 2002). Ce n’est toutefois pas le cas. En fait, un seul spécimen a été pris en 2004 et 13 en 2005, lors de programmes réguliers de chalutage menés par l’USGS pour l’évaluation du gaspareau et l’étude des eaux pélagiques.

Depuis la réapparition récente de trois poissons dans le lac Ontario en 1996, on a recueilli au total 19 spécimens. On pourrait arguer que ces observations sont liées à la hausse de l’effort de chalutage, mais ce n’est pas le cas pour le spécimen pris en 1996, car il a été capturé dans le bassin et lors d’un programme régulier de chalutage lancé au début des années 1960. L’apparition de ce spécimen a été interprétée comme le reflet d’une hausse de l’abondance du chabot de profondeur en eau profonde, aussi un programme ciblé de chalutage en eau profonde (de 90 à 110 m) a-t-il été lancé immédiatement; deux spécimens ont été pris. Au contraire, les pêches relativement profondes menées dans le bassin est, dans la tranche d’eau de 60 m, au début des années 1990 dans le cadre d’un programme de pêche indicatrice des touladis juvéniles, n’ont produit aucun chabot de profondeur (J. Casselman, données inédites). En fait, les spécimens observés en 1996 et 1998 appartenaient aux classes de 1994 et de 1995 (Casselman et Scott, 2003). Selon Casselman et al. (1999), il s’est produit au début des années 1990 un changement substantiel dans la communauté ichtyenne pélagique, du moins dans le lac Ontario. La réapparition du chabot de profondeur s’inscrit donc dans un ensemble complet de changements survenus dans la population et dans la communauté.

Il semble bien que le chabot de profondeur n’ait pas disparu du lac Ontario. Sa présence, bien qu’en très faible nombre, au fil des années 1950, 1960, 1970 et, plus récemment, 1990, suggère que son actuelle résurgence est attribuable au succès reproductif accru de la population restante plutôt qu’à la colonisation par des juvéniles ayant dérivé depuis le lac Huron ou au transfert, par les eaux de ballast, de larves provenant des Grands Lacs d’amont. Le transport vers l’aval des larves, cause probable de l’apparition de larves dans la partie ouest du lac Érié en 1995, n’explique pas pour autant la présence de chabots dans le lac Ontario, bien que, pour Roseman et al. (1998), une telle explication soit plausible.

Les quelques individus trouvés dans le lac Ontario sont gros et occupent un habitat approprié. La baisse de l’effort de pêche en eau profonde survenu pendant les années 1980 et au début des années 1990 peut expliquer que l’on ait supposé l’espèce disparue. Le chabot de profondeur est néanmoins présent, mais en très petit nombre. Malgré leur grande rareté, des individus adultes gravides ont été observés, et ils semblent croître en nombre, particulièrement selon un échantillonnage mené en 2005 dans les eaux étatsuniennes (13 spécimens). Un certain nombre de classes d’âge ont été identifiées au moyen de l’évaluation de l’âge et tout récemment, en 2005, de petits spécimens ont été pris assez fréquemment dans les eaux étatsuniennes. Bien que la poursuite de la colonisation ne puisse être définitivement exclue, l’apparition de femelles gravides et de jeunes de petite taille, et la présence accrue de classes d’âge récentes constituent des preuves circonstancielles convaincantes de la hausse de l’abondance et du succès de la reproduction.


Activités de sauvetage

Les possibilités de retour d’une population saine de chabots de profondeur dans les eaux canadiennes, dans des lacs se trouvant des deux côtés de la frontière canado-étatsunienne, sont élevées. S’il arrivait toutefois que la population canadienne disparaisse et que la population étatsunienne persiste, les conditions influant sur l’espèce d’un côté de la frontière pourraient aussi avoir des effets de l’autre côté, ce qui diminuerait le potentiel. Qui plus est, il n’existe pratiquement aucune possibilité d’immigration ou d’introduction du chabot de profondeur dans les lacs intérieurs si ces populations disparaissaient.