Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canada-British Columbia Agreement On Species At Risk

7.0 Aboriginal Engagement

  1. When developing a recovery strategy, action plan or management plan, the Parties will:
    • invite the participation of any First Nations organization that may be directly affected by the recovery strategy, action plan or management plan.
    • endeavour to cooperate with wildlife management boards or other bodies that have been established by a treaty and that have an interest in the protection and recovery of species at risk.

8.0 Listing Processes

  1. The Parties will provide their best available information to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and to the processes that support the listing of species under British Columbia’s legislation.
  2. Species listed under SARA

    1. The Minister of the Environment will provide an opportunity for the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests to review and comment on the response statement referred to in subsection 25(3) of SARA prior to posting the response statement on the SARA public registry.
    2. Prior to a Governor in Council decision on a routine listing of a species, the Minister of the Environment will consult with and seek the views and input of the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests on the implications of that decision, including socio-economic considerations. The Minister of the Environment will inform the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests of the listing decision and the rationale for that decision.
    3. Prior to a Governor in Council decision on an emergency listing of a species, the Minister of the Environment will consult with the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests. The Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests intend to advise on the implications of that decision, including socio-economic considerations. The Minister of the Environment will inform the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests of the listing decision and the rationale for that decision in a manner consistent with federal legal requirements.
  3. Species listed under provincial legislation

    1. Prior to any modifications to provincial listings of species at risk, the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection will consult with the Minister of the Environment responsible for the Department of the Environment and for the Parks Canada Agency, and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans on any modifications to the lists of species at risk under the Wildlife Act or the Forest and Range Practices Act and the implications of those modifications.  The Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection will advise the Minister of the Environment responsible for the Department of the Environment and for the Parks Canada Agency, and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans on any modifications and the rationale for that decision.

9.0 Emergency Orders

  1. Prior to a Governor in Council decision on emergency orders under section 80 of SARA, the competent federal Minister will consult with the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests. The Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, and the Minister of Forests intend to advise on the implications of that decision, including socio-economic considerations.  The competent federal Minister will inform the Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection and the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries of the listing decision and the rationale for that decision in a manner consistentwith federal legal requirements.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie Britannique

7.0 Participation autochtone

  1. Lors de l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement, d'un plan d'action ou d'un plan de gestion, les parties :
    • invitent à participer les organisations des Premières nations qui pourraient être directement touchées par le programme de rétablissement, le plan d'action ou le plan de gestion;
    • cherchent à collaborer avec les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques ou autres organismes qui ont été établis en vertu d'un traité et qui ont un intérêt dans la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril.

8.0 Processus d'inscription

  1. Les parties fournissent la meilleure information accessible au Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et dans le cadre des processus qui appuient l'inscription des espèces en vertu des textes législatifs de la loi de la Colombie-Britannique.
  2. Espèces inscrites en vertu de la LEP

    1. Le ministre de l'Environnement fournit au ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, au ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et au ministre de Forests l'occasion de réviser et de commenter l’énoncé de réponse au sens du paragraphe 25(3) de la LEP avant de mettre cet énoncé dans le registre public de la LEP.
    2. Avant la prise de décision par le gouverneur en conseil d’une inscription d'une espèce selon le processus normal d’inscription, le ministre de l'Environnement consulte et demande les vues et les commentaires du ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, du ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et du ministre de Forests sur les conséquences de cette décision, y compris les considérations socio-économiques. Le ministre de l'Environnement informe le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et le ministre de Forests de la décision concernant l’inscription et la justification de cette décision.
    3. Avant la prise de décision par le gouverneur en conseil d’une inscription d'urgence d'une espèce, le ministre de l'Environnement consulte le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et le ministre de Forests. Le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et le ministre de Forests ont l'intention de fournir des conseils portant sur les conséquences de la décision, y compris les considérations socio-économiques. Le ministre de l'Environnement informe le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et le ministre de Forests de la décision concernant l'inscription et la justification de cette décision prise conformément aux exigences légales fédérales.
  3. Espèces inscrites en vertu d'une loi provinciale

    1. Avant toute modification aux listes des espèces en péril de la province, le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection consulte le ministre de l'Environnement responsable du ministère de l'Environnement et de l'Agence Parcs Canada, ainsi que le ministre des Pêches et des Océans au sujet de toute modification à ces listes sous le régime de la Wildlife Act ou de la Forest and Range Practices Act et des conséquences de ces modifications. Le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection avise le ministre de l'Environnement responsable du ministère de l'Environnement et de l'Agence Parcs Canada, et le ministre de Pêches et Océans, de toute modification et de la justification de cette décision.

9.0 Décrets d'urgence

  1. Avant la prise de décision par le gouverneur en conseil de décrets d'urgence en vertu de l'article 80 de la LEP, le ministre fédéral compétent consulte le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et le ministre de Forests. Le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection, le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries et le ministre de Forests ont l'intention de fournir des conseils portant sur les conséquences de la décision, y compris les considérations socio-économiques. Le ministre fédéral compétent informe le ministre de Water, Land and Air Protection et le ministre de Agriculture, Food and Fisheries de la décision concernant l’inscription et la justification de cette décision priseconformément aux exigences légales fédérales.