Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canada-British Columbia Agreement On Species At Risk

10.0 Environmental Assessment

  1. It is the intent of the Parties to ensure that potential impacts on species at risk are addressed through a single environmental assessment process in a manner that is timely, structured and informed by the best available science.
  2. If Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Parks Canada Agency determine, as defined in Section 79 of the Species at Risk Act, that a project subject to an assessment of its environmental effects under an Act of Parliament may result in potential adverse effects on a listed wildlife species or its critical habitat, the requirements of Section 79 (2) will be addressed as follows:
    • If the species to which subsection 79 (1) of SARA applies is provincially managed,, Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Parks Canada will provide any knowledge or information on the potential impacts of the project on that species to the Province.  BC will identify to Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Parks Canada the measures that the Province will take to avoid or lessen any adverse effects if the project proceeds.
    • If the species to which subsection 79 (1) of SARA applies is federally managed, British Columbia will provide any knowledge or information on the potential impacts of the project on that species to Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Parks Canada.  BC will also identify to Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Parks Canada any measures that the Province will take to avoid or lessen any adverse effects if the project proceeds.
    • The monitoring requirement in 79 (2) will be ensured by the person required to ensure that an assessment of environmental effects of a project is conducted, with consideration of any monitoring required by the Province.
  3. When requested by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency or the B.C. Environmental Assessment Office, the Coordinating Committee will co-ordinate interactions between Canada and British Columbia on project review issues related to avoiding or lessening the adverse effects on a listed wildlife species or its critical habitat.

11.0 Recovery Planning

  1. The Parties will endeavour to develop recovery strategies and action plans that meet timelines and other requirements set in federal and provincial legislation.  In doing so, the Parties will continue to apply a two stage approach to recovery planning.  The first stage, the preparation of a recovery strategy, will include the determination of whether recovery of the listed wildlife species is technically and biologically feasible.  If recovery is deemed to be feasible, the recovery strategy will include the recovery goal, objectives and strategies for achieving the objectives.  The second stage, the preparation of action plan(s), will identify and prioritize detailed measures to achieve recovery and will include an evaluation of the socio-economic costs of the action plan and the benefits to be derived from its implementation.
  2. If Canada is leading a recovery planning process, Canada will invite British Columbia to participate.  If British Columbia is leading a recovery planning process, British Columbia will invite Canada to participate.
  3. The Parties will develop training for practitioners within government jurisdictions and stakeholder organizations to facilitate the preparation of recovery strategies and action plans.
  4. The Parties will ensure the evaluation of socio-economic costs and benefits are an integral part of the development of action plans. While the focus in action plans will remain on protection and recovery of the subject species at risk, their residences and habitat, the Parties will work with stakeholders and other jurisdictions and orders of government to identify ways to minimize socio-economic impacts while identifying economic opportunities and benefits.
  5. Where a recovery strategy, action plan or a recovery team addressing an aquatic species, migratory bird or their habitat on land other than federal land identifies a need for action to prevent the reduction or loss of that species,British Columbia will be provided with an opportunity to take such action, subject to federal approval of the proposed plan of action.

12.0 Stewardship

  1. The Parties agree to coordinate species at risk recovery and stewardship activities with priorities developed for species at risk prevention, protection and recovery by:
    • providing advice on setting priorities for stewardship activities for species at risk in British Columbia.
    • exchanging information on stewardship programs, funding and agreements.
    • setting priorities for research and data collection necessary to design, implement and evaluate stewardship activities.
  2. The Parties agree that, to the extent possible, stewardship activities will be encouraged in order to provide for the protection of species at risk, residences and critical habitat.
  3. The Parties recognize that existing programs such as the “Identified Wildlife Management Strategy” under the Forest and Range Practices Act and Canada’s “Habitat Stewardship Program” provide important tools to achieve species at risk protection and recovery objectives and will work to maximize the benefits to be achieved through their implementation.
  4. The Parties agree that the Coordinating Committee will serve as the Regional Implementation Board for the Province of British Columbia under the federal Habitat Stewardship Program. British Columbia will bring proposals for provincially funded stewardship activities to the Coordinating Committee to seek opportunities for coordination and collaboration with Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie Britannique

10.0 Évaluation environnementale

  1. Les parties ont l'intention de veiller à ce que les effets éventuels sur les espèces en péril soient traités par un processus d'évaluation environnementale unique mis en œuvre en temps opportun et de manière structurée et éclairée par la meilleure information scientifique accessible.
  2. Si Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Agence Parcs Canada déterminent, tel que défini à l'article 79 de la LEP, qu'un projet sujet à une évaluation de ses effets environnementaux sous le régime d'une loi fédérale peut produire des effets nocifs sur une espèce sauvage inscrite ou son habitat essentiel, les exigences du paragraphe 79(2) sont satisfaites de la façon suivante :
    • Si l'espèce à laquelle le paragraphe 79(1) de la LEP s’applique est gérée par la province, Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Agence Parcs Canada fournissent toute connaissance ou information sur les effets potentiels du projet sur cette espèce à la province. La Colombie-Britannique signalera à Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Agence Parcs Canada les mesures que prendra la province pour éviter ou amoindrir les effets nocifs découlant du projet, si ce dernier est réalisé.
    • Si l'espèce à laquelle le paragraphe 79(1) de la LEP s’applique est gérée par le gouvernement fédéral, la Colombie-Britannique fournira toute connaissance ou information sur les effets potentiels du projet sur cette espèce à Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Agence Parcs Canada. La Colombie-Britannique signale aussi à Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Agence Parcs Canada toute mesure que prendra la province pour éviter ou amoindrir les effets nocifs du projet, si ce dernier est réalisé.
    • L’exigence de contrôle contenue au paragraphe 79(2) est assurée par la personne qui est tenue de veiller à ce que l'évaluation des effets environnementaux d'un projet soit menée, en tenant compte de toute mesure de contrôle requise par la province.
  3. À la demande de l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale ou du Environmental Assessment Office de la Colombie-Britannique, le Comité de coordination coordonne les interactions entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique concernant les questions soulevées lors de la révision de projets, quant aux mesures à prendre afin d’éviter ou d’amoindrir les effets nocifs sur une espèce sauvage inscrite ou son habitat essentiel

11.0 Planification du rétablissement

  1. Les parties s’efforcent d'élaborer des programmes de rétablissement et des plans d'action conformes aux calendriers et aux autres exigences établis dans les lois fédérales et provinciales. Ce faisant, les parties continuent à appliquer une approche en deux étapes à la planification du rétablissement. La première étape, soit la préparation d'un programme de rétablissement, détermine d’abord si le rétablissement de l'espèce sauvage inscrite est réalisable au point de vue technique et biologique. Si l'on considère que le rétablissement est faisable, le programme de rétablissement comprendra le but du rétablissement, les objectifs et les stratégies pour l'atteinte des objectifs fixés. La deuxième étape, soit la préparation du ou des plans d'action, identifie et priorise des mesures détaillées pour réaliser le rétablissement et comprend une évaluation des répercussions socio-économiques de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action et des avantages en découlant.
  2. Si le Canada mène un processus de planification du rétablissement, le Canada invite la Colombie-Britannique à y participer. Si la Colombie-Britannique mène un processus de planification du rétablissement, la Colombie-Britannique invite le Canada à y participer.
  3. Les parties élaborent une formation pour les praticiens des juridictions gouvernementales et pour les organisations d'intervenants afin de faciliter la préparation des programmes de rétablissement et des plans d'action.
  4. Les parties veillent à ce que l'évaluation des répercussions socio-économiques et des avantages soit un élément intégral de l'élaboration des plans d'action. Bien que les plans d'action continuent d’être axés sur la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril concernées, de leurs résidences et de leurs habitats, les parties travaillent avec les intervenants et les autres juridictions et ordres de gouvernement afin de cerner les moyens de réduire au minimum les répercussions socio-économiques, tout en identifiant les occasions et les avantages économiques.
  5. Lorsqu'un programme de rétablissement, un plan d'action ou une équipe de rétablissement, qui traite d'une espèce aquatique, d'un oiseau migrateur ou de son habitat sur des terres autres que le territoire domanial, identifie le besoin de prendre des mesures pour prévenir la décroissance ou la disparition de cette espèce, la Colombie-Britannique se fait offrir l'occasion de prendre de telles mesures assujetties à l'approbation fédérale du plan d'action proposé.

12.0 Intendance

  1. Les parties conviennent de coordonner les activités de rétablissement et d'intendance des espèces en péril avec les priorités élaborées en matière de prévention, de protection et leur rétablissement de ces espèces, aux moyens des mesures suivantes :
    • donner des conseils sur la priorisation des activités d'intendance pour les espèces en péril en Colombie-Britannique;
    • échanger de l'information sur les programmes d'intendance, le financement et les accords;
    • établir des priorités pour la recherche et la récolte de données nécessaires pour concevoir, mettre en oeuvre et évaluer les activités d'intendance.
  2. Les parties conviennent que, dans la mesure du possible, les activités d'intendance sont encouragées afin de protéger les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel.
  3. Les parties reconnaissent que les programmes existants tels que la « Identified Wildflife Management Strategy en application de la Forest and Range Practices Act et le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat du Canada fournissent des moyens importants permettant de réaliser les objectifs en matière de protection et de rétablissement des espèces en péril, et elles travaillent en vue de maximiser les avantages qui découleront de leur mise en œuvre.
  4. Les parties conviennent que le Comité de coordination sert de conseil régional de mise en œuvre pour la province de la Colombie-Britannique dans le cadre du Programme d'intendance de l'habitat fédéral. La Colombie-Britannique présente des propositions pour des activités d'intendance financées par la province au Comité de coordination afin de chercher des occasions de coordination et de collaboration avec le Canada.