Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Horsetail Spike-rush (Eleocharis equisetoides) in Canada [Final Version]

Recovery

2.1    Rationale for Recovery Feasibility

The recovery of horsetail spike-rush is technically and biologically feasible. The only historically documented population in Canada still exists. Although survey data are insufficient to identify a population trend or recruitment rate, successive recent visits suggest that the number of culms and area of occupancy remain stable. There are individuals within the species’ North American range that are capable of reproduction. However, the feasibility of reintroduction is not known. The current habitat may be assumed to be sufficient for the species’ requirements, since it was first recorded here in 1953, and no other supporting populations are known from southwestern Ontario, in spite of intensive botanical exploration. There are only a few recognized threats to the species, and most of these can be monitored with a view to taking proactive measures should imminent threats to the viability of the extant population become apparent. Active recovery techniques are not currently regarded as necessary, because the known habitat and estimated population of horsetail spike-rush are not believed to be in decline.

It should be recognized that horsetail spike-rush is naturally very rare in Canada, and it is not known whether its current population or supporting natural processes are sufficient for it to persist over the long term. However, available evidence suggests that a goal of maintaining its single natural occurrence is likely attainable.

2.2    Recovery Goal

The long-term recovery goal is to maintain the single known occurrence of horsetail spike-rush at or near its recorded areal extent of 5–10 m2.

2.3    Recovery Objectives (next five years)

1.     Annually monitor the number of culms and suspected threats (Phragmites spread, water levels, herbivory) in order to assess trends and severity of threats over five years.

2.     Investigate common reed removal methods, and, if necessary, control or remove common reedin an adaptive management framework.

3.     Investigate seed viability and archiving techniques, and, if considered feasible, collect and preserve horsetail spike-rush seeds. Investigate the feasibility of rhizome harvesting, and implement as appropriate.

4.     Complete critical habitat mapping, and ensure its protection.

5.     Investigate and verify any reported new locations of horsetail spike-rush in Canada.

6.     Determine the tolerance of horsetail spike-rush to water level fluctuation, the minimum viable population and viability of the extant site, and the extent to which loss of genetic diversity poses a threat to the species.

2.4    Rationale for Goals and Objectives 

The recovery goals and objectives reflect the fact that the sole occurrence is protected through federal legislation, and natural processes within the national wildlife area are largely intact.

Horsetail spike-rush is naturally rare in Canada, likely remaining here as a relict Atlantic coastal plain species at the close of the last glaciation (Reznicek 1994; Jackson and Singer 1997). There is no evidence to suggest that any other occurrence of this species has been extirpated from Canada within European history. This population has been known from this site for several decades; assuming that conditions remain the same, it is reasonable to assume that it will persist here. Attempting to increase the area of occupancy, number of locations, or population abundance is therefore not recommended. Similarly, aiming to “delist” horsetail spike-rush as a species at risk is unrealistic, as it has probably been extremely rare in Canada since pre-European times. Given the very restricted occurrence of this species, archiving seeds or propagation from rootstock would protect the population against extirpation in the event of a severe and unforeseen impact.

Managing Phragmites spread near this site is recommended in spite of uncertainty as to whether Phragmites represents a threat. This is because controlling Phragmites while abundance is low is more likely to be effective.

2.5    Approaches Recommended to Meet Recovery Objectives

Strategies intended to reduce or eliminate threats are listed in Table 2. Strategies include monitoring, inventory, habitat management, habitat mapping, and research. They are focused on identifying, refining, and managing threats.

 

Table 2. Recovery Planning Table
PriorityObjective No.Broad approach/ strategyThreat addressedGeneral steps

Outcomes

(measurable targets)

High1Monitoring

Common reed invasion

Water level

Deer herbivory

Stochastic impacts

· Establish an annual monitoring method to determine:

o  trends in the number of culms and fruiting culms;

o  Phragmitesspread;

o  population relative to water level change; and

o  evidence of deer herbivory.

· Analyze results, and take action when required.

· Monitoring method developed, and monitoring conducted annually.
Medium2Habitat managementCommon reed invasion

·  Investigate possible methods for control of Phragmites on Long Point.

·  If required, select method and control. (Monitor as above.)

·  Phragmitesabsent from pond or maintained at 2005 levels and not perceived as a threat to horsetail spike-rush.
Medium4Habitat mappingAll threats· Complete mapping of critical habitat for horsetail spike-rush.· Mapping completed.
Medium3ResearchStochastic impacts

· Investigate feasibility of archiving seeds of horsetail spike-rush.

· If feasible, collect and archive seed using suitable methods.

· Investigate the potential success of rhizome propagation, to use if required.

· Seeds collected and properly archived, if feasible and appropriate.

· Rhizomes propagated, if necessary.

Low6

Research

Habitat management

Water level

· Determine the thresholds of tolerance of horsetail spike-rush to water level fluctuations.

· Recommend water level management if required.

· Thresholds identified.
Low6ResearchStochastic impacts· Complete demographic studies to determine the minimum viable population size of horsetail spike-rush and viability of extant population.

· Minimum viable population known.

· Viability of extant site estimated.

Low6ResearchStochastic impacts· Complete studies to determine seed viability/set, current reproductive strategy utilized by the species, seed dispersal.· Reproductive capacity of extant site estimated.
Low6ResearchGenetic diversity

· Answer outstanding genetics research questions:

o   Determine the genetic variability within this population.

o   Determine whether genetic erosion, genetic drift, or inbreeding depression is affecting horsetail spike-rush.

o   Identify the extent to which this may jeopardize population viability over time.

·  Genetic variability known, and extent to which loss of genetic diversity poses a threat known.
As needed5InventoryStochastic impacts

·  Investigate new discoveries of horsetail spike-rush when reported.

·  Survey Turkey Point to confirm presence/absence of 1999 record.

·  All new reports investigated.

 

2.6    Critical Habitat

2.6.1   Identification of the species’ critical habitat

The critical habitat for horsetail spike-rush is being identified, to the extent possible, in the recovery strategy. Further identification and refinement of the critical habitat will take place following the completion of the schedule of studies and will be included in the action plan. Critical habitat includes the known area of occupancy and the marsh community on Long Point in which it occurs. The buttonbush – red osier dogwood wetland community where horsetail spike-rush occurs should be described and mapped to the level of ecosite type following the Ecological Land Classification for Southern Ontario (Lee et al. 1998), which is a standard protocol for vegetation community mapping in Ontario. However, critical habitat will be limited to the pond complex that the species inhabits and will not extend to adjacent wetland areas unless new occurrences of horsetail spike-rush are discovered.

The minimum area of critical habitat required to maintain a viable population of horsetail spike-rush is not known, since there is no information on what number of individuals represents a viable population or its specific requirements. Given its historically low abundance in Canada in spite of the apparent presence of similar habitat, the extent of this vegetation community is unlikely to be limiting the population’s long-term viability. Since the recovery goal is to maintain the occurrence at or near its recorded extent (see above), it will be assumed in the absence of other evidence that the natural habitat it currently occupies will be sufficient to maintain it at these levels.

Critical habitat for horsetail spike-rush includes the inland pond where it grows in sandy organic muck along the south-facing shoreline. The pond lies between two stabilized dune ridges near the tip of Long Point National Wildlife Area. Horsetail spike-rush is considered an aquatic species, growing in water between 4 and 35 cm deep. The shoreline community at this location is dominated by buttonbush and red-osier dogwood. Other species observed growing in association with horsetail spike-rush include water bulrush, Small’s spike-rush, grass-leaved pondweed, long-leaved pondweed, common coontail, slender naiad, bulhead pond-lily, northern wild rice, and slender sedge.

2.6.2   Examples of activities likely to result in destruction of critical habitat

There are no demonstrated human activities that are likely to destroy critical habitat at this single location. All possible threats at this site are the result of natural processes.

2.6.3   Schedule of studies to identify critical habitat

To further refine the critical habitat definition, the studies described in Table 3 should be completed.

 

Table 3. Schedule of studies
Description of activityExpected resultsCompletion date
Annual monitoring of the number of culms and areal extent of horsetail spike-rushUnderstanding of the demographics of the species’ occurrenceOngoing
Mapping of critical habitat of horsetail spike-rush and its marsh communityFull identification and mapping of all known critical habitat2007
Mapping of critical habitat for confirmed new locations of horsetail spike-rush (if any) within a year of its confirmationFull identification and mapping of all known critical habitatOngoing

 

However, since critical habitat is protected from threats to its survival due to its location within a National Wildlife Area intensive demographic studies are not urgent. No specific timelines are therefore suggested for these research questions.

2.7    Existing and Recommended Approaches to Habitat Protection

All critical habitat for horsetail spike-rush known in Canada is in a national wildlife area. Ninety days after the final version of this strategy is included in the public registry, a description of the critical habitat will be published in the Canada Gazette. The prohibitions under SARA (Section 58) will then apply after a period of 90 days following the description in the Canada Gazette. This will complement existing protection in Long Point National Wildlife Area (McKeating 1983) under the Canada Wildlife Act. No land acquisition or policy approaches are required unless new sites are discovered. Protecting habitat at this site is related only to managing threats if required.

If the species is discovered on private or provincial lands, the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources will be engaged in updating the recovery strategy.

2.8    Performance Measures

Recovery can be considered successful in 2011 if the following have been met:

·       Objective 1 -- Annual monitoring data show that the areal extent, number of culms, and number of fruiting culms (or other indicators, as outlined in a monitoring method) have remained stable or increased.

·       Objective 1 -- Monitoring has determined whether herbivory or changes in water level appear to be affecting the number of culms (i.e., threats have been confirmed), and, if this is the case, possible actions have been investigated and implemented as appropriate.

·       Objective 2 -- Stands of common reed and other invasive aquatic plants are absent from the pond or at least have not expanded from 2005 levels and do not pose an immediate threat to the habitat of horsetail spike-rush.

·       Objective 3 -- Long-term seed storage and viability and/or rhizome propagation have been investigated and, if feasible, undertaken.

·       Objective 4 -- Critical habitat has been mapped at all extant locations within a year after discovery for new locations and by 2007 for Long Point National Wildlife Area.

·       Objective 4 -- Protection of horsetail spike-rush has been incorporated into any new management plans or other relevant documents for Long Point National Wildlife Area, and area managers remain involved with recovery decisions and activities.

·       Objective 5 -- New reports of horsetail spike-rush at other Canadian locations have been investigated and, if present, incorporated into recovery efforts.

·       Objective 6 -- Research activities carried out and research results have been considered to improve management activities.

2.9    Effects on Other Species

Negative impacts on other native species are not anticipated through the completion of the proposed recovery activities, which focus mainly on retaining natural ecological function of the immediate area and monitoring the population of horsetail spike-rush.

However, this strategy recommends the control of common reed; depending upon the methods used, this may have implications for other native plant or animal species living on or near these stands. Investigating non-chemical or biological control methods may help to reduce this potential impact. Although the herbicide Rodeo® is used widely in U.S. Atlantic coastal marshes for the control of Phragmites (Marks et al. 1993; Mal and Narine 2004), it is not currently licensed for use in Canada.

No other species at risk are known to co-exist with horsetail spike-rush, so the activities recommended in the strategy are unlikely to have any effect on other species at risk.

2.10  Recommended Approach for Recovery Implementation

A single-species approach to recovery is being proposed because of the limited distribution of horsetail spike-rush and because no other species at risk co-exist with it. Integrating these goals, objectives, and actions into vegetation or ecosystem management plans for Long Point National Wildlife Area is recommended.

2.11  Statement of When One or More Action Plans in Relation to the Recovery Strategy Will Be Completed

An action plan will be completed for horsetail spike-rush by 2008.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle (Eleocharis equisetoides) au Canada [version finale]

Rétablissement

2.1   Caractère réalisable du rétablissement

Le rétablissement de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est jugé réalisable sur le plan technique et biologique. La seule population répertoriée au Canada existe toujours. Bien que les données soient insuffisantes pour dégager une tendance démographique ou déterminer le taux de recrutement, les multiples visites récentes donnent à croire que le nombre de tiges et la superficie occupée sont stables. Il existe des individus capables de se reproduire à l’échelle de l’aire de répartition nord-américaine de l’espèce, mais on ne sait pas si la réintroduction est possible. On peut présumer que l’habitat actuel est suffisant pour répondre aux exigences de l’espèce, puisque celle‑ci est répertoriée depuis 1953 et qu’aucune autre population n’a été observée dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, malgré les relevés floristiques intensifs. Il n’y a que quelques menaces reconnues pour l’espèce, et un suivi peut être effectué pour la majorité d’entre elles afin que des mesures proactives soient prises si elles devaient menacer de manière imminente la population existante. Pour l’heure, il n’est pas nécessaire de prendre des mesures actives de rétablissement puisque ni l’habitat connu ni la population ne semblent en déclin.

Il faut souligner que l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est très rare à l’état sauvage au Canada et qu'on ne sait pas si son effectif actuel et les processus naturels dont elle dépend peuvent assurer sa survie à long terme. Toutefois, les données actuellement disponibles indiquent qu’il est possible de conserver l'unique colonie actuelle de l’espèce.

2.2   But du rétablissement

Le but à long terme du présent programme de rétablissement est de maintenir la seule colonie connue de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle à une superficie égale ou presque égale à celle qu'elle occupe actuellement (de 5 à 10 m2).

2.3   Objectifs du rétablissement (cinq prochaines années)

1.     Effectuer un suivi annuel de la population (nombre de tiges) et des menaces potentielles (envahissement par le roseau commun, niveau d’eau, broutage) afin de d'évaluer les tendances et la gravité des menaces sur une période de cinq ans.

2.     Enquêter sur les méthodes d’élimination du roseau commun et, au besoin, procéder à la limitation ou à l’élimination du roseau commun dans un cadre de gestion adaptative.

3.     Enquêter sur la viabilité des semences et sur les techniques de conservation. Si possible, récolter et conserver des semences de l’espèce. Évaluer la possibilité de prélever des rhizomes pour la réintroduction et mettre cette mesure en œuvre s’il y a lieu.

4.     Cartographier l’habitat essentiel et assurer sa protection.

5.     Vérifier toute nouvelle mention de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle auCanada.

6.     Déterminer la tolérance de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle aux fluctuations de niveau des eaux, la taille minimale d’une population viable et la viabilité du site existant, ainsi que la mesure dans laquelle la perte de diversité génétique constitue une menace pour l’espèce. 

2.4    Justification du but et des objectifs

Le but et les objectifs du présent programme de rétablissement ont été définis à la lumière du fait que la seule occurrence canadienne de l’éléocharide fausse‑prêle est protégée par les mesures législatives fédérales et que les processus naturels dans la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point ne sont pratiquement pas perturbés.

L’éléocharide fausse-prêle est rare à l’état sauvage au Canada et s’y trouve probablement comme relique de la flore des plaines côtières de l’Atlantique, qui s’est retrouvée isolée à la fin de la dernière glaciation(Reznicek, 1994; Jackson et Singer, 1997). Rien n’indique que d’autres populations de l’espèce auraient disparu du Canada depuis l’arrivée des colons européens. Le site de Long Point est connu depuis plusieurs décennies. Si les conditions demeurent inchangées, il est raisonnable de croire que cette population survivra. Il n’est donc pas recommandé d’accroître la zone d’occupation, le nombre de sites ou l’effectif de l’espèce. De même, il n’est pas réaliste de penser qu’on pourra un jour retirer l’éléocharide fausse-prêle de la liste des espèces en péril au Canada puisqu’elle était probablement déjà extrêmement rare avant la colonisation. Compte tenu de l’occurrence très restreinte de l’espèce, la conservation de semences ou de propagules offrirait une garantie contre sa disparition en cas d’événements stochastiques graves.

Même s’il n’a pas été établi que le roseau commun présente une menace réelle, il est recommandé de gérer sa propagation autour du site de l’éléocharide fausse‑prêle tandis qu’il est encore peu abondant.  

2.5   Approches recommandées pour l'atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement

Les stratégies envisagées pour réduire ou éliminer les menaces sont énumérées au tableau 2. Elles comprennent notamment des suivis, des inventaires, la gestion et la cartographie de l’habitat et la recherche. Elles visent à repérer, à préciser et à gérer les menaces.

 

Tableau 2. Planification du rétablissement
Niveau de prioritéObjectifApproche ou stratégie généraleMenaces cibléesMesures proposées

Résultats attendus

(cibles mesurables)

Élevé1Suivi

Envahissement par le roseau commun.

Niveau d’eau.

Broutage par des cerfs.

Événements stochastiques.

· Établir un protocole de suivi annuel des paramètres suivants :

o  tendance dans le nombre de tiges et le nombre de tiges fertiles;

o  prolifération du roseau commun;

o  effet de la fluctuation du niveau des eaux sur la population;

o  indices de broutage par les cerfs.

· Analyser les résultats et prendre les mesures qui s’imposent.

· Élaboration et application d’un protocole de suivi annuel.
Moyen2Gestion de l’habitatEnvahissement par le roseau commun

·  Enquêter sur les méthodes possibles de contrôle du roseau commun à Long Point.

·  Si nécessaire, appliquer une méthode appropriée (assurer un suivi annuel).

· Élimination du roseau commun ou maintien de la population au niveau non menaçant de 2005.
Moyen4Cartographie de l’habitatToutes les menaces· Cartographier l’habitat essentiel de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle.· Cartographie réalisée.
Moyen3RechercheÉvénements stochastiques

· Examiner la possibilité de conserver des semences de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle.

· Si possible, recueillir des semences et les conserver de manière appropriée.

· Évaluer les possibilités de succès de l'utilisation des rhizomes pour multiplier l'espèce en cas de nécessité.

· Si possible et approprié, semences recueillies et conservées.

· Si nécessaire, multiplication par rhizomes.

Faible6

Recherche

Gestion de l’habitat

Niveau d’eau

· Déterminer la tolérance de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle aux fluctuations du niveau des eaux.

· Si nécessaire, recommander la régulation du niveau des eaux.

· Tolérance de l’espèce connue.
Faible6RechercheÉvénements stochastiques· Réaliser des études démographiques afin de déterminer la taille minimale d’une population viable et la viabilité de la population existante.

· Taille minimale d’une population viable connue.

· Viabilité de la population existante connue.

Faible6RechercheÉvénements stochastiques· Réaliser des études afin de déterminer la dispersion des graines produites, la viabilité des graines et la stratégie de reproduction actuelle de la population.· Estimation de la capacité du site à assurer la reproduction.
Faible6RechercheAppauvrissement génétique

Répondre à des questions non résolues en matière de génétique :

· déterminer la variabilité génétique de la population existante;

· déterminer si l’érosion génétique, la dérive génétique ou la dépression de consanguinité sont des facteurs qui touchent l’éléocharide fausse-prêle;

· évaluer dans quelle mesure ces facteurs peuvent compromettre la viabilité à long terme de la population.

· Connaissance de la variabilité génétique de la population et évaluation de la menace liée à l’appauvrissement génétique.
Au besoin5InventaireÉvénements stochastiques

· Vérifier toute nouvelle mention de l’espèce.

· Effectuer des relevés à Turkey Point afin de confirmer ou d’infirmer la mention de 1999.

· Nouvelles mentions vérifiées.

 

2.6    Habitat essentiel

2.6.1  Désignation de l’habitat essentiel de l'espèce

L’habitat essentiel de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est désigné, dans la mesure du possible, dans le présent programme de rétablissement. Un examen de la désignation et une description plus raffinée de l'habitat essentiel seront réalisés une fois complétés les travaux prévus au calendrier des études et seront inclus dans le plan d'action. L’habitat essentiel comprend la zone d’occupation actuelle ainsi que la communauté végétale dont l’espèce fait partie à Long Point. Cette communauté à céphalante occidental et à cornouiller stolonifère doit être décrite et cartographiée conformément aux exigences définies pour les écosites dans le système de classification écologique des terres pour le sud de l’Ontario (Lee et al., 1998), la norme ontarienne pour la cartographie des communautés végétales. Toutefois, l’habitat essentiel se limitera au complexe englobant l’étang où pousse l’espèce et ne s’étendra pas aux milieux humides voisins, sauf si de nouvelles colonies d’éléocharides fausse-prêle y sont découvertes.

On ne peut pas savoir quelle est la superficie minimale d’habitat nécessaire pour maintenir une population viable d’éléocharides fausse-prêle puisqu’on ne sait pas combien il faut d’individus pour former une population viable ni quelles seraient les exigences d’une telle population. Comme l’effectif de l’espèce a toujours été faible au Canada malgré la présence d’habitats semblables à celui qu’elle occupe, il est peu probable que la quantité disponible de ce type de milieu limite la viabilité à long terme de la population. Le but du présent programme de rétablissement étant de maintenir l’effectif actuel (voir plus haut), on peut supposer, en l’absence de données contraires, que l’habitat actuel est suffisant.

L’habitat essentiel de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est l’étang qui l’abrite à l’heure actuelle et où elle pousse dans un sol organique sableux, sur le rivage exposé au sud. Cet étang se trouve entre deux cordons de dunes fixées, près de la pointe de la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point. L’éléocharide fausse-prêle est une espèce aquatique poussant dans des eaux de 4 à 35 cm de profondeur. La végétation bordant l’étang est dominée par le céphalanthe occidental et le cornouiller stolonifère. Parmi les autres espèces associées à l’éléocharide fausse-prêle figurent le scirpe subterminal, l’éléocharide de Small, le potamot à feuilles de graminée, le potamot noueux, la cornifle nageante, la naïade flexible, le grand nénuphar jaune, la zizanie des maraiset le carex à fruits tomenteux.

2.6.2  Exemples d’activités susceptibles de détruire l’habitat essentiel

Actuellement, aucune activité humaine ne risque de détruire l’habitat essentiel de la colonie de Long Point. Toutes les menaces à la survie de ce site sont liées à des processus naturels.  

2.6.3  Calendrier des études nécessaires pour la désignation de l’habitat essentiel

Les activités décrites dans le tableau 3 sont nécessaires pour désigner plus précisément l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce.

 

Tableau 3. Calendrier des études
Description de l’activitéRésultats attendusÉchéance
Relevés annuels du nombre de tiges et de l’étendue du site.Compréhension des paramètres démographiques de la populationContinu
Cartographie de l’habitat essentiel de la population connue et de la communauté végétale dont elle fait partie.Désignation et cartographie de tout l’habitat essentiel connu2007
Cartographie de l’habitat essentiel de toute nouvelle population confirmée dans l’année suivant la confirmation.Désignation et cartographie de tout l’habitat essentiel connuContinu

 

Toutefois, comme l’habitat essentiel est protégé parce que la population se trouve dans une réserve nationale de faune les études démographiques ne sont pas urgentes, et aucune échéance n’est fixée.

 

2.7   Approches actuelles et recommandées pour la protection de l’habitat

Tout l’habitat essentiel connu del’éléocharide fausse-prêle au Canada se trouve dans une réserve nationale de faune. Quatre-vingt dix jours après que ce programme de rétablissement ait été mis dans le Registre public, une description de l’habitat essential sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada. Les interdictions découlant de l’article 58 de la LEP, s’appliqueront 90 jours suivant la publication de cette description dans la Gazette du Canada. Cette protection s’ajoutera à celle actuellement en vigueur pour la réserve nationale de faune de Long Point(McKeating, 1983) en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada. Par conséquent, il ne sera pas nécessaire d’acquérir des terres ou d’adopter des politiques particulières, sauf si de nouveaux sites de l’espèce sont découverts. La protection de l’habitat se limitera à l’élimination des menaces.

Si l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est découverte sur des terrains privés ou sur des terrains provinciaux, le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario sera appelé à participer à la mise à jour du programme de rétablissement.

2.8    Mesures de rendement

Le rétablissement sera jugé réussi en 2011 si les critères suivants ont été rencontrés :

·       Objectif 1 – Les données des suivis annuels montrent que l’étendue du site ainsi que le nombre total de tiges et le nombre de tiges fertiles (ou d’autres indicateurs définis dans le protocole de suivi) sont demeurés stables ou ont augmenté.

·       Objectif 1 – Les suivis ont permis de déterminer si le broutage ou les fluctuations de niveau des eaux semblent avoir un impact sur le nombre de tiges (c.-à-d. les menaces ont été confirmées) et, si tel est le cas, les mesures possibles ont été évaluées et mises en œuvre de façon appropriée.

·       Objectif 2 – Les populations de roseaux communs et d’autres espèces aquatiques envahissantes sont absentes de l'étang ou ont été maintenues à leur niveau de 2005 et ne présentent aucune menace immédiate à l’habitat del’éléocharide fausse-prêle.

·       Objectif 3 – Des études ont été menées sur la conservation à long terme de semences et la multiplication à partir de rhizomes. Ces activités ont été mises de l’avant si, à l’issue des études, elles ont été jugées réalisables.

·       Objectif 4 – L’habitat essentiel de toutes les populations répertoriées a été cartographié : dans l’année suivant leur découverte pour les nouvelles populations, et d’ici 2007 pour le site de la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point.

·       Objectif 4 – Des dispositions visant la protection de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle ont été intégrées aux nouveaux plan de gestion de la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point ou autres documents pertinents, et les gestionnaires continuent de participer aux décisions et aux mesures prises en vue du rétablissement de l’espèce.

·       Objectif 5 – Toutes les nouvelles mentions de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle ont été vérifiées, et les mentions avérées ont été prises en compte dans les mesures de rétablissement.

·       Objectif 6 – Des travaux de recherche ont été effectués, et les résultats de ces recherches ont été examinés pour améliorer les activités de gestion.

2.9  Effets sur les espèces non ciblées

Les mesures de rétablissement proposées ne devraient avoir aucune répercussion négative pour les autres espèces indigènes non visées, puisqu’elles portent principalement sur le maintien des fonctions écologiques naturelles du milieu de même que sur le suivi de la population d’éléocharides fausse-prêle.

Le présent programme recommande toutefois des mesures de contrôle du roseau commun. Selon les méthodes qui seront employées, ces mesures pourraient avoir des répercussions sur d’autres espèces indigènes de plantes ou d’animaux vivant dans les roseaux ou à proximité. L’emploi de méthodes biologiques ou non chimiques pourrait atténuer les répercussions potentielles. Bien qu’aux États‑Unis, l’herbicide Rodeo® soit largement utilisé dans les marais des plaines côtières de l’Atlantique pour lutter contre le roseau commun (Marks et al., 1993; Mal et Narine, 2004), ce produit n’est pas actuellement autorisé au Canada.

Aucune autre espèce en péril connue ne cohabite avec l’éléocharide fausse-prêle. Par conséquent, aucune espèce en péril ne sera touchée par les activités recommandées dans le présent programme.

2.10 Approche recommandée pour la mise en œuvre du présent programme

Compte tenu de la répartition limitée del’éléocharide fausse-prêle et de l’absence d’espèces en péril dans cette aire, nous recommandons une approche monospécifique. Nous recommandons que le but et les objectifs visés par le présent programme ainsi que les mesures proposées pour les atteindre soient intégrés aux plans de gestion des communautés végétales ou des écosystèmes de la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point.

2.11 Échéance prévue pour l’élaboration du plan d’action

Un plan d’action pour le rétablissement de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle sera préparé d’ici 2008.