Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the swift fox (Vulpes velox) in Canada (2000)

Introduction

COSEWIC update

In 1978 the status of swift foxes in Canada was designated by COSEWIC as "Extirpated" (Saskatchewan Department of Tourism and Renewable Resources 1978).  At the time the conclusion was that "many authorities consider the swift fox extinct in Canada. There have been sightings over the past few years but none can be considered as confirmed."

 

Status report

Status reports provide current information on species that have been identified for special consideration.  The swift fox was returned, as a result of a reintroduction program, to parts of its original Canadian range.  The ecological consequences of the disappearance of the species have never been evaluated.  Similarly, its niche within altered ecosystems following reintroduction has not been fully evaluated. This report documents the restoration and numerical status of a small carnivore once present, then missing, and now returned to one of Canada's most threatened ecosystems.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada - Mise à jour (2000)

Introduction

Mise à jour du COSEPAC

En 1978, le COSEPAC classait le renard véloce parmi les espèces « disparues du Canada » (Saskatchewan Department of Tourism and Renewable Resources, 1978). À l'époque, le comité avait tiré la conclusion suivante : « De nombreux spécialistes considèrent le renard véloce comme une espèce disparue du Canada. Quelques observations ont bien été signalées au cours des dernières années, mais aucune ne peut être considérée comme confirmée. »

 

Rapport de situation

Les rapports de situation donnent de l’information à jour sur les espèces faisant l'objet d'une attention spéciale. Par suite d'un programme de réintroduction, le renard véloce est revenu dans certaines parties de son aire de répartition originale au Canada. Les conséquences écologiques de la disparition de l'espèce n'ont jamais vraiment été évaluées, pas plus que sa niche dans les écosystèmes altérés après sa réintroduction. Le présent rapport fait état du rétablissement et des effectifs d'un petit carnivore revenu dans l'un des écosystèmes les plus menacés du Canada après en être disparu.