Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the swift fox (Vulpes velox) in Canada (2000)

Habitat

General description

Swift foxes typically prefer short or mixed grass prairie with flat to rolling terrain and sparse vegetation.  Such conditions appear to provide optimum opportunities, in face of predators, for mobility and visibility.  The fox likely chooses areas with long sight-lines, therefore avoiding vegetation or topographic features such as canyons, steep hills, dense shrub, forests and coulees (Whitaker-Hoagland, 1997).  Vegetation of preferred areas usually is sparse and short (25 cm or less in height).  At times, swift foxes in the United States have also been present in areas considered somewhat non-typical such as Badland-like areas in Wyoming (Lindberg 1986; Wooley et al., 1995).  Sandhills of Nebraska (Blus et al., 1967) pinon-juniper habitat in Colorado (Covell 1992), cultivated areas adjacent to shortgrass prairies (Floyd and Stromberg 1981) or even in cultivated fields (Kilgore 1969;  Cutler 1958;  Jackson 1997).

In Canada and in the northern United States, swift foxes favour native grasslands over cultivated farmlands.  The reasons for this are not completely understood.  Food availability may be important.  In northern areas pasture sage (Artemisia frigida) and grasses, such as blue gramma (Bouteloua gracilis), spear grass (Stipa comata), and fescue (Festuca, spp.) are the dominant vegetation in these areas. 

In addition to native prairie, several other habitat features may be important to swift fox populations.  Unlike other canids, swift foxes use multiple den sites year round for shelter and rearing young, and to escape predators.  The presence of fossorial animals, such as badgers (Taxidea taxus) and ground squirrels (Spermophilus spp.), is therefore desirable, as swift foxes will modify existing burrows.  If the soil type is suitable for excavation, swift foxes will dig dens themselves.  Dens are usually located in well-drained sites.  Permanent water bodies and low predator abundance also enhance habitat suitability for swift fox (Mamo 1994b).

 

Habitat destruction

Habitat loss to swift foxes can include outright destruction (e.g. ploughing) or alternation (e.g. grazing regimes) and modification of components (keystone species) within the system.  Destruction involves the removal of habitat (native prairies), while modification changes the biological components and energy flow within the system.  A century and a half of European settlement on the Canadian prairies has left a marked imprint on the landscape.  Agriculture has transformed more than 80% of the native Canadian prairie landscape (Gauthier and Patino 1993).  American native prairies, likewise, have been extensively modified (Licht 1997).  This resulted in massive habitat degradation and loss to the swift foxes located at the northern portion of their range in North America.

In southern Saskatchewan (core areas of the former distribution) for example, 60% of the grasslands were already under cultivation by 1931 (the beginning of an era of major natural droughts), Rowe and Coupland 1984.  Today about 47% of Saskatchewan's total land base is farmland and about 24% is productive cropland (Gauthier and Patino 1993). 

Another cause of habitat loss is the change from ranching (grazing) lands to cultivation. Every 5th year, Agriculture Canada measures the land use categories of "improved" and "unimproved" pasture.  Those data show loss of pasture habitat. Burrowing Owls (Speotyto cunicularia), whose habitat requirements are somewhat similar to swift foxes, have been used as an "indicator species" for this habitat loss (Wellicome and Haug 1995).  In the case of Burrowing Owl habitat (as defined by Wedgwood 1978), the amount of total farm area allocated as pasture area within the owl's range from 1966 to 1991 decreased by about 8% in Alberta and 6% in Saskatchewan while croplands increased by about 15% in Alberta and 19% in Saskatchewan.  The most drastic losses occurred between 1976 and 1986, a decade following peak prices for wheat.  Progressive legislation was introduced in Saskatchewan, under the Wildlife Habitat and Protection Act, which prohibits the breaking of native grasslands on about 2 million hectares of crown lands in the grassland ecoregion.

We know that swift fox range in Canada, prior to the turn of the century, was greater than after that time (Soper 1964).  Therefore, if we roughly equate pasture land in mixed-grass areas with swift fox habitat, then a starting point for likely habitat losses can be calculated, if total swift fox range is to be equated with present pasture land (cf. Telfer et al., 1993).  The pasture remaining today represents approximately 46% of the original habitat within the species' former range in Alberta and 26% in Saskatchewan.  However, it is false to assume that all former rangelands were well suited for swift foxes.  Areas with hilly terrain and heavy shrublands are classified as pasture but are not areas where swift foxes normally occur.  Therefore, the pasture areas remaining today constitute only a small fraction of what once was swift fox habitat as much of the uplands, now in production, were likely better suited for foxes than the hilly terrain that survived cultivation.

 

Habitat degradation

Physical modification of grassland areas is not the only form of habitat destruction. Modification of biological composition can also affect the suitability of the area for species.  Cattle grazing, use of pesticides and herbicides and increase in prey that attract avian and mammalian predators all have impacts of varying magnitudes on the ecosystems.  Swift foxes prefer areas with sparse vegetation, interspersed with sites that are suitable for small mammal survival.  Grazing patterns by ungulates likely play an important role.  Overgrazing by cattle, or undergrazing are activities that will have impacts on swift fox prey.  Grazing by bison in pre-European settlement days likely resulted in different use patterns than with modern stocking rates of cattle.  Distribution of small mammals is of importance to swift fox ecology.  Vegetation cover influences species composition.  For example, in one area T. Wellicome (in prep.) noted that meadow voles (Microtus pennsylvaticus) and prairie voles (Microtus ochrogaster) were present only in areas with undisturbed vegetative cover.  Grazing impacts on vole numbers are not well understood.  Grazing pressures in mixed-grass prairie has increased by one-third in Saskatchewan and one-half in Alberta between 1956 and 1976 (Coupland 1987).

Agricultural activities also led to the extirpation of wolves (Canis lupus) from the prairies which allowed coyotes to spread and increase in numbers (Sargeant et al., 1993).  Populations of other predators fluctuated as well, thus impacting on habitat availability for foxes.  This applies to "meso predators" such as skunks (Mephitus mephitus), red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) and badgers (Taxidea taxus) (Roast 1987, Violet 1987; Voigt and Berg 1987 and others).

Avian predator habitat was also influenced by settlement.  Fire suppression and planting of shelter belts and trees around homesteads all contributed to increasing nesting opportunities for Great Horned Owls (Bubo virginianus) and various species of hawks and eagles (Schmutz et al., 1980; Licht 1997).  Badger numbers were negatively affected by man through direct persecution.  Loss of badgers has mixed impacts.  It reduces predation but also may affect availability of escape terrain.  Swift foxes use badger burrows as dens (Pruss 1994).  The exact nature and importance of this is not clear.  Dens with larger den entrance openings may not provide safe shelter for swift foxes against predators.

Criss-crossing of highways and roads through the prairie landscape creates a fragmentation that did not exist when swift foxes were more common under pristine conditions.  Swift foxes are killed due to collision with vehicles.  It may be possible that foxes spend more time along roads, if the prey base is greater along ditches than in upland areas.  Possibly, swift foxes may spend more time along roads if they are trying to avoid predation from coyotes.  Ranchers are known to shoot coyotes on sight, whenever possible.  Such actions appear to have a positive impact on swift fox survival, although ecological links may be more complex than it might first appear.  It is presumed that, as the number of roads and vehicles increases, there will be an increased likelihood that foxes would be killed by vehicles.  Increase over time, of fox fatalities from vehicles, may also be a function of increasing fox populations.

 

Habitat fragmentation

Approximately 24% of the mixed-grass prairie zone in Canada remains uncultivated  (Prairie Conservation Action Plan 1994).  Even though a substantial proportion of the southern prairies still remain as grasslands, those areas are also affected by man.  Conversion of native prairies to agricultural lands, building of highways, roads, oil and gas well sites and pipelines, service trails, and the presence of towns and urban areas have all contributed to habitat fragmentation.

Despite fragmentation, several large expanses of native grasslands exist in both southern Alberta, and south-western Saskatchewan.  Some of those areas are crown lands, others private rangelands.  Additional conversion of rangelands to cropland (cultivation) would destroy remnant native grasslands.  Conversion of privately-owned rangelands to croplands is largely driven by a market economy.  Should government financial incentives for cultivating croplands increase, or prices of grain or other agricultural products increase, conversion of native grasslands would occur, as in the past, and will inevitably result in further habitat destruction for swift foxes.

Oil and natural gas exploration fragment natural prairies to a lesser extent.  Some studies have shown that swift foxes can tolerate considerable disturbance.  Presence of roads may have both positive and negative effects.  On the positive side, prey abundance for swift foxes may increase in the ditches along roads.  However, increased mortality due to road kills, accidental shooting and trapping may also be a negative factor on swift fox survival.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada - Mise à jour (2000)

Habitat

Description générale

Les renards véloces préfèrent les prairies d'herbes courtes et les prairies mixtes, et les terrains plats ou vallonnés où la végétation est clairsemée. C'est là l'habitat qui semble leur donner le plus de possibilités sur le plan de la mobilité et de la visibilité face à leurs prédateurs. Ils évitent donc vraisemblablement les endroits présentant des caractéristiques de végétation ou de topographie du genre canyon ou pente abrupte, couverture arbustive dense, forêt et coulées (Whitaker-Hoagland, 1997). Leurs lieux de prédilection ont généralement une végétation courte et clairsemée (25 cm de hauteur ou moins). Aux États-Unis on a déjà observé des renards véloces dans des endroits jugés quelque peu atypiques, comme dans les régions de type badlands du Wyoming (Lindberg, 1986; Wooley et al., 1995), les dunes du Nebraska (Blus et al., 1967), l'habitat du pin d'Arizona et du genévrier au Colorado (Covell, 1992), des zones agricoles adjacentes à des prairies d'herbes courtes (Floyd et Stromberg, 1981) ou même dans des champs cultivés (Kilgore, 1969; Cutler, 1958; Jackson, 1997).

Au Canada et dans le nord des États-Unis, le renard véloce préfère les prairies indigènes aux terres agricoles cultivées. On ignore au juste pourquoi. L'accès à la nourriture pourrait être un facteur important. Dans les pâturages du nord dominent la sauge (Artemisia frigida) et les graminées, comme le boutelou gracieux (Bouteloua gracilis), la stipe comateuse (Stipa comata) et la fétuque (Festuca, spp.).

En plus des prairies indigènes, plusieurs autres caractéristiques de l'habitat peuvent avoir de l'importance pour les populations de renards véloces. Contrairement aux autres canidés, ce renard utilise de nombreux terriers pour s'abriter et élever ses petits et pour échapper à ses prédateurs tout au long de l'année. La présence d'animaux fouisseurs, comme le blaireau d'Amérique (Taxidea taxus) et le spermophile (Spermophilus, sp.), est donc souhaitable, car le renard véloce utilisera leurs terriers après les avoir modifiés. Il creuse aussi lui-même des terriers lorsque le type de sol s'y prête, habituellement dans des sites bien drainés. L'habitat lui convient encore plus s'il compte des plans d'eau permanents et si les prédateurs y sont peu nombreux (Mamo, 1994b).

Destruction de l'habitat

La perte d'habitat du renard véloce peut résulter de sa destruction pure et simple (p. ex. à cause des labours) ou de son changement de vocation (p. ex. passage à un régime de pacage), et de la modification des composantes (espèces clés) du système. La destruction équivaut à l'élimination de l'habitat (prairies indigènes), et la modification change les composantes biologiques et le transfert d'énergie au sein du système. Après un siècle et demi de colonisation par les Européens, le paysage des Prairies canadiennes s'est profondément modifié. L'agriculture a transformé plus de 80 % des prairies indigènes du Canada (Gauthier et Patino, 1993). Aux États-Unis aussi, les prairies indigènes ont été modifiées en profondeur (Licht, 1997). Cela s'est traduit par une dégradation puis par la perte de l'habitat du renard véloce dans la partie septentrionale de son aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord.

Dans le sud de la Saskatchewan (aires principales de sa répartition antérieure), par exemple, 60 % des prairies étaient déjà cultivées en 1931, au moment où débutait une période d'intenses sécheresses naturelles (Rowe et Coupland, 1984). Aujourd'hui, près de 47 % de la base foncière de la Saskatchewan sont des terres agricoles et environ 24 % des terres cultivées (Gauthier et Patino, 1993).

Une autre cause de la perte d'habitat réside dans la transformation des terres de pâturage en terres agricoles. Tous les cinq ans, Agriculture Canada procède à l'évaluation des catégories d'utilisation des terres de pâturage « amélioré » et « non amélioré ». D'après ces données, il y a perte de l'habitat de pâturage. Pour évaluer cette perte d'habitat, c'est la Chevêche des terriers (Speotyto cunicularia), dont les besoins en matière d'habitat ressemblent un peu à ceux du renard véloce, qui a servi d'« espèce indicatrice » (Wellicome et Haug, 1995). Entre 1966 et 1991, la superficie totale de zones agricoles utilisées en pâturage dans l'aire de répartition de la Chevêche des terriers (telle que définie par Wedgwodd, 1978) a diminué d'environ 8 % en Alberta et 6 % en Saskatchewan. Les pertes les plus considérables sont survenues entre 1976 et 1986, soit la décennie qui a suivi le moment où le prix du blé a atteint un sommet. Une législation progressive a été adoptée en Saskatchewan, aux termes de la Wildlife Habitat Protection Act, qui interdit de biloquer les prairies indigènes sur environ 2 millions d'hectares de terres de la Couronne dans l'écorégion des prairies.

Nous savons que l'aire de répartition du renard véloce au Canada était plus étendue avant le tournant du siècle qu'aujourd'hui (Soper, 1964). En posant grossièrement comme hypothèse que la superficie des terres en pâturage dans les prairies mixtes correspond à l'habitat du renard véloce, on peut calculer à peu près les pertes d'habitat probables (cf. Telfer et al., 1993). Aujourd'hui, les pâturages représentent environ 46 % de l'habitat original dans l'aire de répartition antérieure de l'espèce en Alberta, et 26 %, en Saskatchewan. Il est cependant faux de présumer que toutes les aires en pâturage antérieures convenaient bien au renard véloce. Les zones situées en terrain montagneux et en zone arbustive dense sont ainsi classées comme pâturages, mais on n'y trouve pas normalement de renards véloces. Les aires de pâturage restantes aujourd'hui ne constituent donc qu'une petite fraction de ce qui était autrefois l'habitat du renard véloce étant donné que la majorité des terres aujourd'hui cultivées lui convenaient probablement mieux que le terrain montagneux qui a échappé à la culture.

Dégradation de l'habitat

L'altération physique des zones de prairie n'est pas la seule forme de destruction de l'habitat du renard véloce. La modification de la composition biologique peut également avoir une incidence. Le pâturage du bétail, l'épandage de pesticides et d'herbicides et l'augmentation du nombre de proies attirant oiseaux et mammifères prédateurs ont tous des répercussions plus ou moins importantes sur les écosystèmes. Le renard véloce préfère les endroits où la végétation est clairsemée, mais convenant aux petits mammifères. Les habitudes de pâturage des ongulés jouent probablement un rôle important à ce chapitre. Le surpâturage ou le sous-pâturage ont en effet une incidence sur les proies du renard véloce. Les habitudes de pâturage du bison, avant la colonisation européenne, différaient vraisemblablement de celles du bétail d'aujourd'hui. La répartition des petits mammifères est importante pour l'écologie du renard véloce. La couverture végétale influe sur la composition des espèces. Par exemple, dans une région, T. Wellicome (en cours de rédaction) a noté que le campagnol des champs (Micortus pennsylvaticus) et le campagnol des Prairies (Microtus ochrogaster) ne fréquentaient que les zones dont la couverture végétale était intacte. L'impact du pâturage sur la population de campagnols n'est pas bien compris. La pression exercée par le pâturage dans la prairie mixte a augmenté du tiers en Saskatchewan et de moitié en Alberta entre 1956 et 1976 (Coupland, 1987).

L'agriculture a aussi chassé les loups (Canis lupus) des Prairies, ce qui a permis aux coyotes d'étendre leur territoire et de se multiplier (Sargeant et al., 1993). Les populations d'autres prédateurs ont également fluctué, ce qui a eu un impact sur la disponibilité de l'habitat pour le renard. Cela vaut pour les « mésoprédateurs » comme la mouffette rayée (Mephitis mephitis), le renard roux (Vulpes vulpes) et le blaireau d'Amérique (Taxidea taxus). (Roast, 1987; Violet, 1987; Voigt et Berg, 1987; et autres).

L'habitat des oiseaux prédateurs a également été modifié par la colonisation. La suppression des incendies et la plantation de brise-vent et d'arbres autour des propriétés rurales ont favorisé la nidification du Grand-Duc d'Amérique (Bubo virginianus) et de diverses espèces d'aigles et de faucons (Schmutz et al., 1980; Licht, 1997). Le nombre de blaireaux a aussi diminué par suite de campagnes d'extermination menées par l'homme, ce qui a eu un effet ambigu : si cela a réduit la prédation, cela pourrait aussi avoir eu une incidence sur la disponibilité de terrains d'évasion pour le renard. Celui-ci utilise en effet les terriers des blaireaux comme tanière (Pruss, 1994). On ignore au juste la nature exacte et l'importance de ce phénomène. Les terriers dont l'entrée est large pourraient ne pas procurer au renard véloce un abri très sûr contre ses prédateurs.

Le quadrillage des Prairies par les routes et autoroutes entraîne une fragmentation du paysage qui n'existait pas à l'époque où le renard véloce abondait dans la région. Bien des renards véloces sont victimes de la route. Il se pourrait qu'ils fréquentent davantage le bord des routes parce que leurs proies sont plus nombreuses près des fossés que dans les terrains plus secs. Il se pourrait aussi que ce soit pour éviter la prédation par les coyotes. On sait par ailleurs que les grands éleveurs abattent les coyotes à vue dès que l'occasion se présente. Cela pourrait avoir un impact positif sur la survie du renard véloce, bien que les liens écologiques puissent être plus complexes qu'il n'y paraît à première vue. On présume que plus le nombre de routes et de véhicules augmentera, plus les renards se feront tuer par des véhicules. L'augmentation du nombre de renards victimes de la route pourrait aussi être fonction de l'augmentation des populations de renards.

 

Fragmentation de l'habitat

Environ 24 % de la zone de prairie mixte ne sont pas cultivés au Canada (Plan d’action pour la conservation de la prairie, 1994). Même si une importante proportion des prairies du sud se trouvent toujours à l'état de zones herbagères, elles n'en sont pas moins affectées par l'homme. La conversion des prairies indigènes en terres agricoles, la construction de routes, l'aménagement de pipelines et de sites d'exploitation pétrolière et gazière et de sentiers de service, tout comme la présence de villes et de zones urbaines, ont tous contribué à la fragmentation de l'habitat.

Malgré cette fragmentation, on trouve toujours plusieurs grandes étendues de prairie indigène dans le sud de l'Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. Certaines sont des terres de la Couronne, d'autres des parcours privés. La conversion accrue de ces parcours privés en terres cultivées détruirait le reste des prairies indigènes. Mais cette conversion est largement soumise à l'économie de marché : si les incitatifs financiers offerts par les gouvernements pour cultiver les terres arables ou le prix des céréales et des autres produits agricoles devaient augmenter, la transformation se fera, comme par le passé, et la destruction de l'habitat du renard véloce se poursuivra.

L'exploration pétrolière et gazière entraîne une fragmentation moins importante des prairies naturelles. Certaines études ont montré que le renard véloce pouvait tolérer bien des perturbations. La présence de routes peut ainsi avoir des effets aussi bien positifs que négatifs. Sur le plan positif, les proies sont parfois plus abondantes le longs des fossés qui bordent les routes; par contre, l'augmentation de la mortalité due aux accidents de la route ainsi que les prises et les tirs accidentels peuvent avoir un effet négatif sur la survie du renard.