Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Scouler’s Corydalis in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Scouler’s corydalis is restricted to the Pacific Northwest in North America. It occurs west of the Cascades Mountains (mostly coastal) from north-western Oregon northward through Washington’s Olympic Peninsula to south-western Vancouver Island (Figure 3; Ownbey 1947; Hitchcock et al. 1969; Douglas et al. 1999a, 2000).


Figure 3: North American Range of Scouler’s Corydalis

Figure 3: North American range of Scouler’s corydalis.


Canadian Range

In Canada, Scouler’s corydalis is found only in south-western British Columbia. Known sites are limited to the Carmanah Creek, Cowichan Lake, Klanawa River and Nitinat River drainages (Figure 4; Douglas et al. 1999a). The extent of Scouler’s corydalis occurrence in Canada encompasses approximately 275 km2. However, due to limited road access to potential habitat for this species, a significant area of potential habitat remains unsearched at this time. The estimated further potential extent of Scouler’s corydalis occurrence is an additional 825 km2 if potential habitat in the Walbran and Cowichan Lake drainages is considered.


Figure 4: Scouler’s Corydalis Sites in British Columbia

Figure 4: Scouler’s corydalis sites in British Columbia.

Refer to Table 2 for population sizes within each of the drainage areas).

The south-western British Columbia occurrence of Scouler’s corydalis is about 80 km north of the Washington locations on the Olympic Peninsula. The Canadian range currently makes up approximately nine percent of the species’ total North American range.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la corydale de Scouler au Canada - Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

La corydale de Scouler ne se rencontre que dans le nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, où elle pousse à l’ouest des Cascades (surtout sur la côte), depuis le nord-ouest de l’Orégon jusqu’à la péninsule Olympic, au Washington, ainsi que dans le sud-ouest de l’île de Vancouver (figure 3; Ownbey, 1947; Hitchcock et al., 1969; Douglas et al., 1999a, 2000).


Figure 3 : Aire de répartition nord-américaine de la corydale de Scouler

Figure 3 : Aire de répartition nord-américaine de la corydale de Scouler.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, la corydale de Scouler a été observée uniquement dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, dans les bassins du ruisseau Carmanah, du lac Cowichan, de la rivière Klanawa et de la rivière Nitinat (figure 4; Douglas et al., 1999a). La zone d’occurrence connue de l’espèce est d’environ 275 km2. Toutefois, une part importante des habitats convenant à la corydale de Scouler demeure inexplorée en raison de son inaccessibilité par le réseau routier. Compte tenu des habitats susceptibles d’abriter l’espèce dans les bassins du ruisseau Walbran et du lac Cowichan, on pense que la zone d’occurrence réelle de celle-ci serait de 825 km2 supérieure à sa zone d’occurrence connue.


Figure 4 : Sites de la corydale de Scouler en Colombie-Britannique

Figure 4 : Sites de la corydale de Scouler en Colombie-Britannique

Voir le tableau 2 pour connaître la taille des populations dans chacun des bassins hydrographiques.

Les populations du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique se trouvent à environ 80 km au nord des populations de la péninsule Olympic, au Washington. L’aire de répartition canadienne de l’espèce compte pour environ 9 p. 100 de l’aire de répartition nord-américaine.