Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Scouler’s Corydalis in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Lush stands of Scouler’s corydalis are found in wet, cool habitats associated with watercourses – ranging from large rivers to small tributary streams. Elevations range from sea level to approximately 200 m in British Columbia (Douglas and Jamison 2000). In British Columbia, this species is found in the CWHvm1 (submontane very wet maritime) variant of the Coastal Western Hemlock Biogeoclimatic Zone (Pojar et al. 1991). In regions where Scouler’s corydalis is locally abundant, such as lower elevations of Washington State’s Mt. Rainier National Park (Brockman, 1947) and the Nitinat River and Klanawa River drainages, the species occurs on gradually sloping alluvial floodplains and river terraces with slopes typically between 0-10%, although sometimes up to 40% (Douglas and Smith 2003). Larger and healthier populations were found on gently sloping or relatively flat sites. When not found on these flat flood plains, the aspect of sites was typically NW to NE, although one site had a SSW aspect. The substrate was typically composed of fine loam or silty-clay to sandy or gravelly sediments, sometimes along with larger gravels and cobbles. In the Nitinat Valley, this species is an understory component of the early seral mixed or deciduous forest habitat. All the red alder (Alnus rubra) stands of approximately 30 years and older surveyed in the Nitinat, were found to contain Scouler’s corydalis. In addition to red alder, other associated overstory tree species include Acer macrophyllum and Picea sitchensis, and with lesser frequency, Tsuga heterophylla and Thuja plicata. Prominent understory species include Polystichum munitum, Oplopanax horridus, Sambucus racemosa, Petasites frigidus var. palmatus, Ribes bracteosum, and Rubus spectabilis.

Scouler’s corydalisalso grows in roadside gravel banks and ditches. These sites, when sufficiently moist during the growing season, mimic the gravelly, natural habitats of the floodplains. Only one population of this type (with at least 500 stems) was sampled.


Habitat Trends

Habitat trends for Scouler’s corydalis are largely unknown; however, the species has been seen to colonize disturbed habitats, which reflects the species’ adaptable nature. The largest stands (over 400 000 stems or almost one-half of the total known stems) of Scouler’s corydalis in Canada have now been protected within Wildlife Habitat Areas under the provincial Forest and Range Protection Act. These areas are to be managed primarily for Scouler’s corydalis to protect it from forestry management activities.

There has likely been a very minor loss of habitat over the last 50 years to road and bridge construction in the Nitinat River drainage, although this is not likely to have significantly affected the amount of habitat available. There is substantial additional potential habitat that has not been surveyed due to inaccessibility (Figure 4). Because Scouler’s corydalis occurs in early seral forests developing on floodplains, suitable sites are likely continually in a process of gradual change, with new sites becoming available and older, established sites declining in suitability.

Direct human disturbance to the alluvial floodplain habitat has been minimal despite logging activity throughout the Nitinat valley. No sites have been affected by recent forestry practices, partly because of protection of riparian areas under the provincial Forest and Range Practices Act and the lack of commercially available species at these sites. However, one population (#23, Nitinat River drainage, see Figure 4) was degraded due to heavy equipment work during creek restoration, with only 6 stems remaining in 2003, from 30 stems in 1997. This small population may recover in the future because ample gravels are still exposed.


Habitat Protection/Ownership

Almost all the large Scouler’s corydalis populations on south-western Vancouver Island have some type of protection. Although not stated in the original status report, populations of the species were known to occur in one Provincial Park (44 850 stems) and an Ecological Reserve (less than 15 stems). Another population of approximately 7 stems was recently discovered in a second Provincial Park (Carmanah-Walbran), although a thorough inventory has not been done of this area (see Table 1; Figures 5 and 6). These are therefore protected by provincial parks legislation from the threat of forest management activities.

 

Table 1: Protected Areas summary table – Area and number of stems
EO #
(population)
WHA or Protected
Area Name
WHA Core
size (ha)
WHA Buffer
size (ha)
WHA
Total size (ha)
Estimated #
of stems
 Sum462479481 972
2 (part)Upper Nitinat River-1-19083117 500
3 (part)Jasper Creek-1-19116521293 500
13 (part)Mid Nitinat River-1-19211294 800
21Lower Nitinat river-1-1934151 500
5Upper Granite Creek-1-19412318 000
5Lower Granite Creek-1-195123200
10Klanawa Creek-1-19645911 600
6Vernon Creek-1-19715102510 000
4 (part)Nitinat River Prov. ParkN/AN/AN/A44 850
15Klanawa Ecological ReserveN/AN/AN/A<15
No #Carmanah-Walbran Prov. ParkN/AN/AN/A7

EO = “Element Occurrence” is an area of land and/or water in which a species or natural community is present. A principal EO may be a single contiguous area or may be composed of discrete patches or subpopulations. (NatureServe, 2006a).

WHA = Wildlife Habitat Area

Under the Forest and Range Practices Act (FRPA), larger fish-bearing streams such as the Nitinat, Klanawa and Carmanah-Walbran where Scouler’s corydalis is found are managed under a default standard that requires a riparian reserve zone associated with a management zone. The reserve zone is legislated and is to remain intact to ensure that characteristics necessary to keep the stream properly functioning and to also manage for wildlife. Therefore, licensees can be encouraged to leave the management zones intact and associate their wildlife tree retention to help protect and buffer potential Scouler’s corydalis habitat within these areas.

In May of 2006, the province established, under the FRPA, eight Wildlife Habitat Areas (WHAs) for significant populations (over 400 000 stems) of Scouler’s corydalis. These areas included the range of the species in the Nitinat and Klanawa Rivers (see Table 1 and Figures 5 and 6). Under this Act, the forestry companies are legally compelled to protect these populations from forest management activities. WHAs provide a similar level of protection for the species as the provincial Parks Act with regard to forestry management activities, which are the main threat to this species. Such activities are not permitted within WHAs or parks.


Figure 5: Protected Areas for Scouler’s Corydalis in the Nitinat River Drainage Area

Figure 5: Protected areas for Scouler’s corydalis in the Nitinat River drainage area. Those sites indicated by an asterisk and numbered 1-190 to 1-195 and 1-197 occur within Wildlife Habitat Areas designated for the protection of the species.

Those sites indicated by an asterisk and numbered 1-190 to 1-195 and 1-197 occur within Wildlife Habitat Areas designated for the protection of the species.


Figure 6: Protected Areas for Scouler’s Corydalis in Klanawa River and Carmanah Creek

Figure 6: Protected areas for Scouler’s corydalis in Klanawa River and Carmanah Creek. Site 1-196 occurs within a Wildlife Habitat Area designated for the protection of the species.

Site 1-196 occurs within a Wildlife Habitat Area designated for the protection of the species.

The majority of the current locations of Scouler’s corydalis occur on Crown Land within Tree Farm Licence (TFL) #44. This licence is presently held by Western Products (formerly Weyerhaeuser Canada). A second Tree Farm Licence (# 46) is now held by Teal-Jones Group (originally held by TimberWest until January 2004); this currently has three sites (#7, #8 & #9, Nitinat River drainage; see Figure 4). All of the Scouler’s corydalis populations that could be impacted by forestry operations have been identified and appear on forest management plans (Bill Beese, pers. comm.; Bo Ferguson, pers. comm.).

A portion of the largest site (#14, Nitinat River drainage; see Figure 4) occurs on the Ditidaht Band’s Chuchummisapo Reserve. There is no known threat to this population. At the time of the field survey by Douglas and Smith in 2003, Douglas recognized that they were near the edge of the Indian Reserve based on topographic maps but did not think that they were within its boundary (S. Smith, pers. comm. 2006). The Ditidaht Band has participated in the recovery team and is aware of the occurrence of the population.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la corydale de Scouler au Canada - Mise à jour

Habitat

Exigences en matière d’habitat

Les peuplements luxuriants de corydale de Scouler se trouvent dans des habitats humides et frais associés à des cours d’eau, depuis les grandes rivières jusqu’à leurs petits affluents. En Colombie-Britannique, l’espèce se rencontre depuis le niveau de la mer jusqu’à environ 200 m d’altitude (Douglas et Jamison, 2000), dans la sous-zone submontagnarde maritime très humide de la zone biogéoclimatique côtière à pruche de l’Ouest (CWHVM1) (Pojar et al., 1991). Dans les régions où elle est localement abondante, par exemple les secteurs de faible altitude du parc national Mt. Rainier, au Washington (Brockman, 1947), et les bassins des rivières Nitinat et Klanawa, l’espèce pousse dans des plaines inondables alluviales à pente faible et sur des terrasses fluviatiles dont la pente ne dépasse généralement pas 10 p. 100, mais peut atteindre 40 p. 100 (Douglas et Smith, 2003). Les populations les plus abondantes et les plus vigoureuses ont été observées sur des terrains plats ou à pente faible. Les sites observés en dehors de plaines inondables plates avaient une orientation nord-ouest à nord-est, sauf un, qui était orienté au sud-sud-ouest. Le substrat était généralement composé de limon fin, d’argile limoneuse ou de sédiments sableux ou graveleux comprenant parfois des graviers ou des galets. Dans la vallée de la Nitinat, la corydale de Scouler est une des espèces caractéristiques du sous-étage des forêts mixtes ou caducifoliées qui sont à un stade peu avancé de succession végétale. Tous les peuplements d’aulne rouge (Alnus rubra) âgés d’environ 30 ans et plus qui ont été explorés dans la vallée de la Nitinat abritaient la corydale de Scouler. Outre l’aulne rouge, les espèces de l’étage supérieur qui sont associées à la corydale de Scouler sont l’Acer macrophyllum, le Picea sitchensis et, moins fréquemment, le Tsuga heterophylla et le Thuja plicata. Les principales espèces du sous-étage qui sont associées à la corydale de Scouler sont le Polystichum munitum, l’Oplopanax horridus, le Sambucus racemosa, le Petasites frigidus var. palmatus, le Ribes bracteosum et le Rubus spectabilis.

La corydale de Scouler pousse également en bordure de routes, dans le gravier et dans les fossés. S’ils sont suffisamment humides durant la période de croissance de la corydale de Scouler, ces habitats offrent à peu près les mêmes conditions que les habitats graveleux des plaines inondables. Une seule population (comptant au moins 500 tiges) a été échantillonnée dans ce type d’habitat.


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Les tendances en matière d’habitat de la corydale de Scouler sont en grande partie inconnues. On sait cependant que l’espèce colonise des habitats perturbés, donc qu’elle possède une certaine capacité d’adaptation. Les plus grands sites (plus de 400 000 tiges, soit près de la moitié de la population canadienne connue) de la corydale de Scouler au Canada sont aujourd’hui protégés grâce à la création d’aires d’habitat faunique, sous le régime de la Forest and Range Protection Act de la Colombie-Britannique, visant principalement à protéger l’espèce contre les effets de l’aménagement forestier.

Au cours des 50 dernières années, la construction de routes et de ponts a probablement détruit une très faible partie de l’habitat de la corydale de Scouler dans le bassin de la Nitinat, mais ces activités n’ont probablement pas eu un impact important sur la quantité d’habitats disponibles pour l’espèce. De nombreux habitats répondant aux exigences écologiques de la corydale de Scouler demeurent inexplorés en raison de leur inaccessibilité (figure 4). Comme l’espèce se rencontre dans des forêts de début de succession végétale situées dans des plaines inondables, on peut penser que les habitats qui lui conviennent sont en perpétuel changement, certains se formant pendant que d’autres disparaissent.

Les perturbations anthropiques directes de l’habitat de la corydale de Scouler dans les plaines inondables ont été mineures, en dépit des activités d’exploitation forestière menées dans la vallée de la Nitinat. Aucun site de l’espèce n’a été touché récemment par l’exploitation forestière, et ce, en partie grâce à la protection de zones riveraines sous le régime de la Forest and Range Practices Act et à l’absence d’essences exploitables dans l’habitat de l’espèce. Une population (no 23, bassin de la Nitinat; voir la figure 4) a cependant été perturbée par de l’équipement lourd pendant l’exécution de travaux de restauration d’un ruisseau. Cette population est passée de 30 tiges en 1997 à seulement 6 tiges en 2003. Il est possible que cette population se rétablisse naturellement puisqu’il subsiste de grandes étendues de gravier nu à proximité.


Protection et propriété des terrains

Les principales populations de corydale de Scouler du sud-ouest de l’île de Vancouver sont presque toutes protégées d’une façon ou d’une autre. Bien qu’elles n’aient pas été mentionnées dans le rapport de situation original, des populations de l’espèce avaient été répertoriées pour un parc provincial (44 850 tiges) et pour une réserve écologique (moins de 15 tiges). Une autre population a été découverte récemment dans un autre parc provincial (Carmanah-Walbran); cette dernière semblait compter environ 7 tiges, mais aucun relevé exhaustif n’a encore été réalisé dans ce secteur (voir le tableau 1 et les figures 5 et 6). Ces populations sont protégées des activités d’aménagement forestier par une loi visant les parcs provinciaux.

 

Tableau 1 : Sommaire des aires protégées – Superficie et nombre de tiges
No de l’élément
d’occurrence
(population)
Nom de
l’AHF ou
de l’aire
protégée
Superficie du
cœur de
l’AHF (ha)
Superficie de la
zone tampon
de l’AHF (ha)
Superficie
totale de
l’AHF (ha)
Nombre
estimé
de tiges
2 (partie)Cours supérieur de la rivière Nitinat-1-19083117 500
3 (partie)Ruisseau Jasper-1-19116521293 500
13 (partie)Cours médian de la rivière Nitinat-1-19211294 800
21Cours inférieur de la rivière Nitinat-1-1934151 500
5Cours supérieur du ruisseau Granite-1-19412318 000
5Cours inférieur du ruisseau Granite-1-195123200
10Ruisseau Klanawa-1-19645911 600
6Ruisseau Vernon-1-19715102510 000
4 (partie)Parc provincial Nitinat Rivers. o.s. o.s. o.44 850
15Réserve écologique Klanawas. o.s. o.s. o.< 15
Aucun noParc provincial Carmanah-Walbrans. o.s. o.s. o.7
 Somme462479481 972

EO = « élément d’occurrence », c’est-à-dire une aire terrestre ou aquatique dans laquelle une espèce ou une communauté naturelle est présente. Un élément d’occurrence principal peut être composé d’une seule aire ou de plusieurs parcelles ou sous-populations discrètes (NatureServe, 2006a).

AHF = aire d’habitat faunique

Aux termes de la Forest and Range Practices Act (FRPA), les grands cours d’eau à poissons, comme les rivières Nitinat et Klanawa et les ruisseaux Carmanah et Walbran où la corydale de Scouler a été observée, font l’objet d’une règle par défaut exigeant que dans chaque zone d’aménagement, une zone riveraine soit réservée. La zone réservée doit obligatoirement être protégée de manière qu’elle conserve ses caractères essentiels au bon fonctionnement du cours d’eau et à la vie de la faune. Ce mécanisme permet aux exploitants de concessions forestières de gérer leur obligation à l’égard de la rétention d’arbres utiles pour la faune de manière à laisser une zone intacte autour des habitats susceptibles d’abriter la corydale de Scouler.

En mai 2006, la province a désigné, en vertu de la FRPA, 8 aires d’habitat faunique (AHF) pour assurer la protection des principales populations (plus de 400 000 tiges) de corydale de Scouler. Ces AHF englobent les aires occupées par l’espèce dans les bassins des rivières Nitinat et Klanawa (voir le tableau 1 et les figures 5 et 6). La FRPA oblige les sociétés forestières à protéger les populations de corydale de Scouler pendant leurs activités d’exploitation. Les AHF procurent à l’espèce le même niveau de protection que la Parks Act de la province face à l’exploitation forestière, principale menace à sa survie, puisque l’exploitation forestière est interdite dans les AHF comme dans les parcs.


Figure 5 : Aires protégées créées pour la corydale de Scouler dans le bassin de la Nitinat

Figure 5 : Aires protégées créées pour la corydale de Scouler dans le bassin de la Nitinat. Les sites marqués d’un astérisque et portant les numéros de 1-190 à 1-195 et 1-197 se trouvent dans les aires d’habitat faunique désignées pour la protection de l’espèce.

Les sites marqués d’un astérisque et portant les numéros de 1-190 à 1-195 et 1-197 se trouvent dans les aires d’habitat faunique désignées pour la protection de l’espèce.


Figure 6 : Aires protégées créées pour la corydale de Scouler dans la région de la rivière Klanawa et du ruisseau Carmanah

Figure 6 : Aires protégées créées pour la corydale de Scouler dans la région de la rivière Klanawa et du ruisseau Carmanah.Le site 1-196 se trouve dans une aire d’habitat faunique désignée pour la protection de l’espèce.

Le site 1-196 se trouve dans une aire d’habitat faunique désignée pour la protection de l’espèce.

La majorité des sites actuels de corydale de Scouler se trouvent sur des terres domaniales, dans la concession de ferme forestière (CFF) no 44. Cette concession est actuellement détenue par la société Western Products (anciennement Weyerhaeuser Canada). Une deuxième concession de ferme forestière (no 46) abritant 3 sites connus de l’espèce (nos 7, 8 et 9, bassin de la Nitinat; voir la figure 4) est aujourd’hui détenue par le Teal-Jones Group (concession détenue par TimberWest jusqu’en janvier 2004). Toutes les populations de corydale de Scouler susceptibles d’être touchées par des activités forestières ont été identifiées et figurent dans des plans de gestion (Bill Beese, comm. pers.; Bo Ferguson, comm. pers.).

Une partie du plus grand site (no 14, bassin de la Nitinat; voir la figure 4) se trouve dans la réserve Chuchummisapo de la bande de Ditidaht. Il n’y a aucune menace connue pour cette population. Pendant des relevés sur le terrain réalisés par Douglas et Smith en 2003, Douglas a évalué, à partir de cartes topographiques, que les plantes se trouvaient à proximité de la limite de la réserve indienne et non à l’intérieur de la réserve (S. Smith, comm. pers., 2006).La bande de Ditidaht est consciente de la présence de cette population sur son territoire et a participé aux travaux de l’équipe de rétablissement de l’espèce.