Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Slender Bush-clover (Lespedeza virginica) in Canada – 2016 [Proposed]

Part 3

Slender Bush-clover – Ontario Government Response Statement, prepared by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Photo : Slender Bush-Clover
Photo: Allen Woodliffe

Protecting and Recovering Species at Risk in Ontario

Species at risk recovery is a key part of protecting Ontario’s biodiversity. Biodiversity – the variety of living organisms on Earth – provides us with clean air and water, food, fibre, medicine and other resources that we need to survive.

The Endangered Species Act, 2007 (ESA) is the Government of Ontario’s legislative commitment to protecting and recovering species at risk and their habitats. As soon as a species is listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened under the ESA, it is automatically protected from harm or harassment. Also, immediately upon listing, the habitats of endangered and threatened species are protected from damage or destruction.

Under the ESA, the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (the Ministry) must ensure that a recovery strategy is prepared for each species that is listed as endangered or threatened. A recovery strategy provides science-based advice to government on what is required to achieve recovery of a species.

Government Response Statements

Within nine months after a recovery strategy is prepared, the ESA requires the Ministry to publish a statement summarizing the government’s intended actions and priorities in response to the recovery strategy. The recovery strategy for Slender Bush-clover (Lespedeza virginica) in Ontario was completed on November 22, 2013 [PDF; 2.44 MB]

The response statement is the government’s policy response to the scientific advice provided in the recovery strategy. All recommendations provided in the recovery strategy were considered and this response statement identifies those that are considered to be appropriate and necessary for the protection and recovery of the species. In addition to the strategy, the response statement is based on input from stakeholders, other jurisdictions, Aboriginal communities and members of the public. It reflects the best available traditional, local and scientific knowledge at this time and may be adapted if new information becomes available. In implementing the actions in the response statement, the ESA allows the Ministry to determine what is feasible, taking into account social and economic factors.

Moving Forward to Protect and Recover Slender Bush-Clover

Slender Bush-clover is listed as an endangered species under the ESA, which protects both the plant and its habitat. The ESA prohibits harm or harassment of the species and damage or destruction of their habitat without authorization. Such authorization would require that conditions established by the Ministry be met.

Slender Bush-clover’s distribution ranges from southwestern Ontario to northern Mexico. In Canada, only a single population of Slender Bush-clover is known to exist, and it occurs entirely within the Ojibway Prairie Complex in the City of Windsor, Ontario. In the Ojibway Prairie Complex, the species has been documented to occur at three distinct locations, each within a park managed by the city’s Department of Parks and Recreation. Slender Bush-clover was first observed within the Tallgrass Heritage Park in 1977, however it was last observed at this site in 1997 and may have been lost due to natural succession. The species was also observed in Black Oak Heritage Park in 1993, however it has not been found within this park since then, and may have been lost from this location as a result of all-terrain vehicle (ATV) use. Within Ojibway Park, the third location in the complex, Slender Bush-clover was first observed in 1979. The species has been observed at this location on several occasions since then, most recently in 2011, at which time 165 plants were observed. While recent observations of Slender Bush-clover are limited to Ojibway Park, the species is considered to remain at all three locations within the Ojibway Prairie Complex, as viable seed may still be in the soils within the other two parks.

Slender Bush-clover was also historically documented to exist in the Leamington area in 1892. However this population is considered to be extirpated, as it has not been observed since, despite several targeted searches.

The most significant threat to Slender Bush-clover at all three remaining locations is habitat loss and degradation due to alteration of natural disturbance regimes. Without natural disturbances such as fire, or other disturbances (e.g., soil scraping), natural succession occurs and vegetation begins to cover the open soil the species requires for germination and growth. Invasive species such as Crown Vetch (Securigera varia), Autumn Olive (Elaeagnus umbellata) and Spotted Knapweed (Centaurea stoebe ssp. micranthos) present another threat to Slender Bush-clover as these species have the capacity to rapidly take over its habitat. Historically, threats also included ATV and dirt bike use; however these activities are no longer permitted in the parks where Slender Bush-clover remains.

A number of environmental and biological factors also contribute to the rarity and vulnerability of Slender Bush-clover in Ontario. First, remaining suitable habitat patches in the province are rare and isolated, thus limiting the species’ ability to expand naturally into new areas. Second, where the species exists, there may be reduced establishment as a result of human influences, such as suppression of the natural fire regime. Third, Slender Bushclover in Ontario occurs near the northern edge of the species’ range where the climate may affect recruitment. Finally, because only a single small population remains in Ontario, Slender Bush-clover is also highly vulnerable to the effects of random weather events such as floods and wind storms.

Ever since plant inventories were first undertaken in the province, Slender-bush Clover has not been found to be common in Ontario. Its distribution and abundance prior to this period are unknown. As suitable habitat in Ontario is rare and isolated, the distribution of the species is unlikely to expand. Thus, recovery efforts for this species will focus on improving habitat, reducing threats, and exploring opportunities to establish or re-establish the species at sites with suitable habitat in the three parks where the species has been observed within the Ojibway Prairie Complex.

The government’s goal for the recovery of the Slender Bush-clover in Ontario is to maintain the population at, or increase it to, a sustainable level at existing sites.

As the response of Slender Bush-clover to management activities is monitored, the government’s goal and approach for the recovery of the species may be re-evaluated to consider alternate recovery actions, such as establishing Slender Bush-clover at other sites within its natural range.

Protecting and recovering species at risk is a shared responsibility. No single agency or organization has the knowledge, authority or financial resources to protect and recover all of Ontario’s species at risk. Successful recovery requires inter-governmental co-operation and the involvement of many individuals, organizations and communities.

In developing the government response statement, the Ministry considered what actions are feasible for the government to lead directly and what actions are feasible for the government to support its conservation partners to undertake.

Government-Led Actions

To help protect and recover Slender Bush-clover, the government will directly undertake the following actions:

  • Continue to implement the Ontario Invasive Species Strategic Plan to address the invasive species (e.g., Crown Vetch) that threaten Slender Bush-clover.
  • Educate other agencies and authorities involved in planning and environmental assessment processes on the protection requirements under the ESA.
  • Encourage the submission of Slender Bush-clover data to the Ministry’s central repository at the Natural Heritage Information Centre.
  • Undertake communications and outreach to increase public awareness of species at risk in Ontario.
  • Protect the Slender Bush-clover and its habitat through the ESA.
  • Support conservation, agency, municipal and industry partners, and Aboriginal communities and organizations to undertake activities to protect and recover the Slender Bush-clover. Support will be provided where appropriate through funding, agreements, permits with appropriate conditions, and/or advisory services.
  • Encourage collaboration, and establish and communicate annual priority actions for government support in order to reduce duplication of efforts.

Government-Supported Actions

The government endorses the following actions as being necessary for the protection and recovery of the Slender Bush-clover. Actions identified as “high” will be given priority consideration for funding under the ESA. Where reasonable, the government will also consider the priority assigned to these actions when reviewing and issuing authorizations under the Endangered Species Act. Other organizations are encouraged to consider these priorities when developing projects or mitigation plans related to species at risk. The government will focus its support on these high-priority actions over the next five years.

Focus Area: Protection and Management

Objective: Maintain or improve habitat suitability and reduce the presence of invasive species in Slender Bush-clover habitat.

Actions:

  1. (High) Develop and implement plans for improving habitat conditions and managing invasive species and native woody vegetation at occupied sites, as appropriate, with consideration for other rare species present on site. Actions may include prescribed burns, vegetation removal, scraping, raking, or other actions. Monitor the effectiveness of actions taken and revise management plans as appropriate.

  2. Explore opportunities to establish or re-establish the species in existing suitable habitat within Ojibway Park, Black Oak Heritage Park and Tallgrass Heritage Park, as appropriate, using genetic material that originated within the Ojibway Prairie Complex or that genetic research has determined to be of appropriate origin.

  3. Conserve Slender Bush-clover by cultivating and maintaining plants at offsite locations, such as botanical gardens, for the purposes of supporting research and efforts to establish or re-establish the species within Ojibway Park, Black Oak Heritage Park and Tallgrass Heritage Park. Plantations must comprise genetic material that originated within the Ojibway Prairie Complex or that genetic research has determined to be of appropriate origin.

Focus Area: Research

Objective: Assess the population of Slender Bush-clover in the Ojibway Prairie Complex and undertake research to inform recovery approaches for the species.

Actions:

  1. (High) Assess the condition and viability of the population, as well as habitat conditions, within the Ojibway Prairie Complex. This work may include:
  • determination of whether viable Slender Bush-clover seed remains within Tallgrass Heritage Park and Black Oak Heritage Park; and
  • evaluation of the severity of the threat of invasive and native species to Slender Bush-clover.
  1. Undertake research necessary to inform recovery approaches for Slender Bush-clover in Ontario. Research may include investigation of:
  • habitat management techniques (e.g., optimal frequency and intensity of prescribed burns);
  • genetic diversity of the species in Ontario compared to populations in other parts of its range;
  • seed and pollen dispersal rates and distances;
  • approaches to enable germination and recruitment; and,
  • reproductive biology of the species (e.g., modes of pollination).

Implementing Actions

Financial support for the implementation of actions may be available through the Species at Risk Stewardship Fund, Species at Risk Research Fund for Ontario, or the Species at Risk Farm Incentive Program. Conservation partners are encouraged to discuss project proposals related to the actions in this response statement with the Ministry. The Ministry can also advise if any authorizations under the ESA or other legislation may be required to undertake the project.

Implementation of the actions may be subject to changing priorities across the multitude of species at risk, available resources and the capacity of partners to undertake recovery activities. Where appropriate, the implementation of actions for multiple species will be coordinated across government response statements.

Reviewing Progress

The ESA requires the Ministry to conduct a review of progress towards protecting and recovering a species not later than five years from the publication of this response statement. The review will help identify if adjustments are needed to achieve the protection and recovery of Slender Bush-clover.

Acknowledgement

We would like to thank all those who participated in the development of the Recovery Strategy for the Slender Bush-clover (Lespedeza virginica) in Ontario for their dedication to protecting and recovering species at risk.

For additional information:
Visit the species at risk website at ontario.ca/speciesatrisk
Contact your MNRF district office
Contact the Natural Resources Information Centre
1-800-667-1940
TTY 1-866-686-6072
Email: mnr.nric.mnr@ontario.ca
Web site: ontario.ca/mnr

Page 3

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la lespédèze de Virginie (Lespedeza virginica) au Canada – 2016 [Proposition]

Partie 3

Lespédèze de Virginie – Déclaration du gouvernement en réponse au Programme de rétablissement, préparée par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario

Photo : Lespédèze de Virginie
Photo : Allen Woodliffe

La protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril en Ontario

Le rétablissement des espèces en péril est un volet clé de la protection de la biodiversité en Ontario. La biodiversité – la diversité des organismes vivants sur la Terre – nous fournit de l’air et de l’eau propres, de la nourriture, des fibres, des médicaments et d’autres ressources dont nous avons besoin pour survivre.

La Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition (LEVD) représente l’engagement juridique du gouvernement de l’Ontario envers la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril et de leurs habitats. Dès qu’une espèce est désignée comme disparue de l’Ontario, en voie de disparition ou menacée aux termes de la LEVD, elle est automatiquement protégée contre toute forme de harcèlement. En outre, dès qu’une espèce est désignée comme en voie de disparition ou menacée, son habitat est protégé contre les dommages et la destruction.

Aux termes de la LEVD, le ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts (le ministère) doit veiller à ce qu’un programme de rétablissement soit élaboré pour chaque espèce inscrite à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées. Un programme de rétablissement offre des conseils scientifiques au gouvernement à l’égard de ce qui est nécessaire pour réaliser le rétablissement d’une espèce.

Déclarations du gouvernement en réponse aux programmes de rétablissement

Dans les neuf mois qui suivent l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement, la LEVD exige que le ministère publie une déclaration qui résume les mesures que le gouvernement de l’Ontario prévoit prendre en réponse au programme de rétablissement et ses priorités à cet égard. Le programme de rétablissement pour la lespédèze de Virginie (Lespedeza virginica) a été achevé le 22 novembre, 2013 (http://files.ontario.ca/environment-and-energy/species-at-risk/mnr_sar_rs_sldr_bhcr_en.pdf).

Cette déclaration est la réponse du gouvernement de l’Ontario aux conseils scientifiques fournis dans le programme de rétablissement. En plus de se fonder sur les renseignements fournis dans le programme de rétablissement, elle tient compte des commentaires reçus de la part de parties intéressées, d’autres territoires de compétence, des collectivités autochtones et du public. Cette déclaration reflète les meilleures connaissances traditionnelles, locales et scientifiques auxquelles on peut accéder en ce moment; elle pourrait être modifiée si de nouveaux renseignements deviennent accessibles. En mettant en œuvre les mesures prévues à la présente déclaration, la LEVD permet au ministère de déterminer ce qu’il est possible de réaliser, compte tenu des facteurs sociaux et économiques.

La lespédèze de Virginie est une plante herbacée vivace de la famille des papilionacées qui peut atteindre 100 cm de hauteur. L’espèce présente des fleurs d’une couleur allant du mauve au rose, et de nombreuses feuilles étroites qui poussent sur une tige droite et velue. En Ontario, on la trouve uniquement dans le complexe d’Ojibway Prairie de la ville de Windsor.

Démarches futures pour protéger et rétablir le lespédèze de Virginie

La lespédèze de Virginie est désignée comme espèce en voie de disparition aux termes de la LEVD. Aux termes de la LEVD, il est interdit d’endommager ou de perturber cette espèce, et d’endommager ou de détruire son habitat, à moins d’y avoir été autorisé. Une telle autorisation exigerait que des conditions établies par le ministère soient respectées.

L’aire de répartition de la lespédèze de Virginie s’étend du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario au Nord du Mexique. Au Canada, on n’en connaît qu’une seule population, soit celle qui existe dans le complexe d’Ojibway Prairie de la ville de Windsor, en Ontario. Dans ce complexe, l’espèce a été observée en trois endroits différents, chacun situé dans un parc géré par le service des Parcs et Loisirs de la ville. La lespédèze de Virginie a été repérée pour la première fois dans le parc patrimonial Tallgrass Prairie en 1977, mais on ne l’y a pas revu depuis 1997 et il pourrait avoir disparu en raison de la succession écologique. L’espèce a également été observée dans le parc patrimonial Black Oak en 1993, mais on ne l’a pas revue dans ce parc depuis, de sorte qu’elle pourrait avoir disparu à cause du passage des véhicules tout terrain (VTT). Dans le parc Ojibway, troisième site du complexe, la lespédèze de Virginie a d’abord été observée en 1979. Sa présence a été signalée à cet endroit en maintes occasions par la suite et tout récemment en 2011, lorsque 165 plantes ont été répertoriées. Bien que l’observation récente de la lespédèze de Virginie se limite au parc Ojibway, on considère que l’espèce reste présente sur les trois sites du complexe d’Ojibway Prairie, car il se pourrait que des semences viables se trouvent encore dans le sol des deux autres parcs.

L’existence de la lespédèze de Virginie a également été signalée autrefois dans la région de Leamington, en 1892. Cette population est cependant considérée comme disparue, car on ne l’a pas revue depuis cette époque, en dépit de plusieurs recherches ciblées.

Sur les trois sites restants, la principale menace pour la lespédèze de Virginie est la perte et la dégradation de l’habitat en raison de l’altération des régimes de perturbations naturelles. L’absence de perturbations naturelles telles que les incendies ou autres (p. ex., grattage du sol) donne lieu à la succession écologique, et la végétation commence alors à recouvrir le sol dégagé dont l’espèce a besoin pour germer et pousser. Les espèces envahissantes telles que la coronille bigarrée (Securigera varia), le chalef en ombelles (Elaeagnus umbellata) et la centaurée maculée (Centaurea stoebe ssp. micranthos) constituent elles aussi des menaces pour la lespédèze de Virginie, car ces espèces sont capables de coloniser rapidement l’habitat. Dans le passé, la conduite des VTT et des motos hors route posait elle aussi une menace, mais cette activité n’est plus permise dans les parcs où la lespédèze de Virginie subsiste encore.

Un certain nombre de facteurs environnementaux et biologiques contribuent également à la rareté et à la vulnérabilité de la lespédèze de Virginie en Ontario. Premièrement, l’habitat adapté qui reste dans la province est morcelé en petites parcelles rares et dispersées, ce qui limite l’aptitude de l’espèce à se répandre naturellement dans d’autres secteurs. Deuxièmement, là où l’espèce est présente, elle peut l’être faiblement à cause d’influences humaines telles que la suppression du régime naturel des feux. Troisièmement, la lespédèze de Virginie se trouve en Ontario près de la limite septentrionale de son aire, et le climat peut y affecter le recrutement. Enfin, étant donné qu’il ne subsiste qu’une seule petite population de lespédèze de Virginie en Ontario, l’espèce est aussi très vulnérable à divers événements météorologiques comme les inondations et les tempêtes de vent.

Depuis les tout premiers inventaires des plantes réalisés dans la province, la lespédèze de Virginie n’a jamais été commune en Ontario. Sa répartition et son abondance avant cette période sont inconnues. Comme les habitats lui convenant en Ontario sont rares et isolés, la répartition de l’espèce est peu susceptible de s’étendre. Par conséquent, les activités de rétablissement viseront l’amélioration de l’habitat, la réduction des menaces, et l’étude des possibilités d’établir ou de rétablir l’espèce dans les sites qui offrent un habitat adapté dans les trois parcs du complexe d’Ojibway Prairie où elle a été observée.

L’objectif du gouvernement en ce qui concerne le rétablissement de la lespédèze de Virginie en Ontario consiste à maintenir ou à faire augmenter la population à un niveau viable dans les sites existants.

La réaction de la lespédèze de Virginie aux activités de gestion se trouvant vérifiée, le but et l’approche du gouvernement pour le rétablissement de l’espèce pourront être réévalués afin d’envisager d’autres mesures de rétablissement telles que l’établissement de la lespédèze de Virginie à d’autres endroits de son aire naturelle.

La protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril sont une responsabilité partagée. Aucune agence ni aucun organisme n’a toutes les connaissances, l’autorité ni les ressources financières pour protéger et rétablir toutes les espèces en péril de l’Ontario. Le succès sur le plan du rétablissement exige une coopération intergouvernementale et la participation de nombreuses personnes, organismes et collectivités.

En élaborant la présente déclaration, le ministère a tenu compte des démarches qu’il pourrait entreprendre directement et de celles qu’il pourrait confier à ses partenaires en conservation, tout en leur offrant son appui.

Mesures menées par le gouvernement

Afin de protéger et de rétablir la lespédèze de Virginie, le gouvernement entreprendra directement les mesures suivantes :

  • Poursuivre la mise en œuvre du Plan stratégique de l’Ontario contre les espèces envahissantes pour traiter le problème des espèces envahissantes (p. ex., la coronille bigarrée) qui menacent la lespédèze de Virginie.
  • Renseigner les autres organismes et autorités qui prennent part aux processus de planification et d’évaluation environnementales quant aux exigences de protection prévues à la LEVD.
  • Encourager la soumission de données sur la lespédèze de Virginie à l’entrepôt de données du ministère des Richesses naturelles au Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel.
  • Entreprendre des activités de communication et de diffusion afin d’augmenter la sensibilisation de la population quant aux espèces en péril en Ontario.
  • Protéger la lespédèze de Virginie et son habitat par l’entremise de la LEVD.
  • Appuyer les partenaires en conservation, et les organismes, municipalités et industries partenaires et les collectivités autochtones, pour qu’ils entreprennent des activités visant à protéger et rétablir la lespédèze de Virginie. Ce soutien prendra la forme de financement, d’ententes, de permis avec des conditions appropriées, et de services consultatifs.
  • Encourager la collaboration, et établir et communiquer des mesures prioritaires annuelles pour l’appui gouvernemental afin de réduire le chevauchement des travaux.

Mesures appuyées par le gouvernement

Le gouvernement appuie les mesures suivantes qu’il juge comme étant nécessaires à la protection et au rétablissement de la lespédèze de Virginie. On accordera la priorité aux mesures portant la mention « hautement prioritaire » en ce qui concerne le financement aux termes de la LEVD. Lorsque cela est raisonnable, le gouvernement tiendra également compte de la priorité accordée à ces mesures lors de l’examen et de la délivrance d’autorisation en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition. On encourage les autres organismes à tenir compte de ces priorités lorsqu’ils élaborent des projets ou des plans d’atténuation relatifs à des espèces en péril. Le gouvernement ciblera son appui sur ces mesures hautement prioritaires au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Secteurs d’intervention : Protection et gestion
Objectif : Maintenir ou améliorer la qualité de l’habitat, et réduire la présence des espèces envahissantes dans l’habitat de la lespédèze de Virginie.

Mesures :

  1. (Hautement Prioritaire) Élaborer et mettre en œuvre des plans visant à améliorer les conditions de l’habitat et à gérer au besoin les espèces envahissantes et la végétation ligneuse indigène dans les sites occupés, en tenant compte d’autres espèces rares présentes sur le site. Les mesures peuvent comprendre le brûlage dirigé, l’enlèvement de la végétation, le grattage, le râtelage et autres. Surveiller l’efficacité des mesures entreprises et modifier les plans de gestion au besoin.

  2. Étudier la possibilité d’établir ou de rétablir l’espèce dans l’habitat adapté existant au parc Ojibway, au parc patrimonial Black Oak et au parc patrimonial Tallgrass Prairie s’il y a lieu, à l’aide de matériel génétique provenant du complexe d’Ojibway Prairie, ou de matériel dont la recherche génétique a déterminé qu’il était d’origine appropriée.

  3. Assurer la conservation de la lespédèze de Virginie en cultivant et en entretenant des plants en d’autres endroits tels que des jardins botaniques, dans le but de soutenir la recherche et les activités d’établissement ou de rétablissement de l’espèce à l’intérieur du parc Ojibway, du parc patrimonial Black Oak et du parc patrimonial Tallgrass. Les plantations devront être réalisées avec du matériel génétique provenant du complexe d’Ojibway Prairie, ou du matériel dont la recherche génétique a déterminé qu’il était d’origine appropriée.

Secteurs d’intervention : Recherche
Objectif : Évaluer la population de lespédèzes de Virginie au sein du complexe d’Ojibway Prairie et effectuer des recherches pour informer les approches en matière de rétablissement de l’espèce.

Mesures :

  1. (Hautement prioritaire) Évaluer l’état et la viabilité de la population et de l’habitat au sein du complexe d’Ojibway Prairie. Ce travail peut inclure :
  • la détermination de la présence de graines viables de lespédèze de Virginie dans les parcs patrimoniaux Tallgrass et Black Oak;
  • la l’évaluation de la gravité de la menace que font peser des espèces envahissantes et indigènes sur la lespédèze de Virginie.
  1. Entreprendre les recherches nécessaires pour définir les méthodes de rétablissement de la lespédèze de Virginie en Ontario. Ces recherches pourront porter sur :
  • Les techniques de gestion de l’habitat (p. ex., la fréquence et l’intensité optimales des brûlages dirigés);
  • la diversité génétique de l’espèce en Ontario par rapport à des populations d’autres parties de son aire;
  • les taux et les distances de dissémination des graines et du pollen;
  • les méthodes pouvant favoriser la germination et le recrutement;
  • la biologie reproductrice de l’espèce (p. ex., modes de pollinisation).

Mise en œuvre des mesures

Le soutien financier pour la mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement approuvées pourrait être fourni par l’entremise du Fonds d’intendance des espèces en péril, ou du Programme d’encouragement des exploitants agricoles à la protection des espèces en péril. On encourage les partenaires en conservation à discuter de leurs propositions de projets liés à la présente déclaration avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles. Le ministère peut aussi conseiller ses partenaires à l’égard des autorisations exigées aux termes de la LEVD afin d’entreprendre le projet.

La mise en œuvre des mesures pourra être modifiée si les priorités touchant l’ensemble des espèces en péril changent selon les ressources disponibles et la capacité des partenaires à entreprendre des activités de rétablissement. La mise en œuvre des mesures visant plusieurs espèces sera coordonnée partout là où les déclarations du gouvernement en réponse au programme de rétablissement l’exigent.

Évaluation des progrès

Aux termes de la LEVD, le gouvernement doit évaluer l’efficacité des mesures de protection et de rétablissement visant une espèce au plus tard cinq ans après la publication de la présente déclaration en réponse au programme de rétablissement. Cette évaluation permettra de déterminer si des rectifications sont nécessaires pour en arriver à protéger et à rétablir l’espèce.

Remerciements

Nous tenons à remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont pris part à l’élaboration du Programme de rétablissement pour la lespédèze de Virginie (Lespedeza virginica) en Ontario pour leur dévouement en ce qui a trait à la protection et au rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Renseignements supplémentaires :
Consultez le site Web des espèces en péril
Communiquez avec votre bureau de district du MRNF
Communiquez avec le Centre d’information sur les ressources naturelles
1-800-667-1940
ATS 1-866-686-6072
Courriel : mnr.nric.mnr@ontario.ca
Site Web : ontario.ca/mrn

Top of Page