Skip booklet index and go to page content

Small-flowered Lipocarpha (Lipocarpha micrantha)

DISTRIBUTION

Global range

Lipocarpha micrantharanges from Brazil in the south to the Canadian populations in the north, occurring throughout Central America (for references refer to Sabourin et al. 1992).  North of Mexico, the main range extends from Texas, north to Northwestern Ontario, and east to the American East Coast.  Disjunct populations are found in Florida, California, British Columbia, and elsewhere as shown in figure 2 (Tucker in press).

Figure 1. Lipocarpha micrantha, approximately 1.2x lifesize.  Photo by Al Harris.

Figure 1. Lipocarpha micrantha, approximately 1.2x lifesize.  Photo by Al Harris.


Figure 2.  Distribution of Lipocarpha micrantha in North America north ofMexico(Extant Canadian occurrences are found in north-western Ontario (stippled area) and south-central British Columbia (solid circle); the historic Quebec population (solid circle) is extirpated). 

Figure 2.  Distribution of Lipocarpha micrantha in North America north ofMexico(Extant Canadian occurrences are found in north-western Ontario (stippled area) and south-central British Columbia (solid circle); the historic Quebec population (solid circle) is extirpated). 

Canadian range

Lipocarpha micrantha has an extremely fragmented distribution in Canada, as shown in figure 3a and figure 3b.  Of seven documented populations (Ceska and Ceska 1982, Oldham and Crins 1988, Sabourin et al. 1992, Oldham 1996, Oldham 2000 Harris et al. 2000, only 3 persist.

Figure 3a.  Distribution of Lipocarpha micrantha in Ontarioand Quebec.  Solid circle marks population located in 2001.  Squares mark extirpated populations (two in Ontario, one in Quebec).  The triangle marks the Pound Net Bay, Rainy Lake population discovered in 2000.

Figure 3a.  Distribution of Lipocarpha micrantha in Ontarioand Quebec.  Solid circle marks population located in 2001.  Squares mark extirpated populations (two in Ontario, one in Quebec).  The triangle marks the Pound Net Bay, Rainy Lake population discovered in 2000.

Figure 3b.  Distribution of Lipocarpha micrantha in British Columbia.  Solid circle marks population located in 2001.

Figure 3b.  Distribution of Lipocarpha micrantha in British Columbia.  Solid circle marks population located in 2001.

Two extant populations of Lipocarpha micrantha were located in Canada in 2001.  One population is at Lake Osoyoos, in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia.  The other population is on Sable Island, Lake of the Woods, in Northwestern Ontario. A third population was oberved in 2000 at Pound Net Bay, Rainy Lake in Northwestern Ontario.  As will be discussed below, Lipocarpha micrantha may persist in the seed bank at Pound Net Bay.

Four other populations of Lipocarpha micrantha have been reported in the past, but they have been extirpated.  The population at Missisquoi Beach in Southern Quebec was last documented in 1957, and has not been relocated since (Labrecque, pers. commun., 2001).  The population at Holiday Beach in Southwestern Ontario was last reported in 1987and wasn’t located in 2001.  Several historic records of Lipocarpha micrantha from the Detroit River, circa 1900, have not been relocated since, despite search efforts in the 1980’s.  A second Lake Osoyoos population was documented in 1978, but had been extirpated by 1985 (Sabourin et al. 1992).  The habitat at this location was destroyed by the development of a recreation area.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Lipocarphe à petites fleurs (Lipocarpha micrantha)

RÉPARTITION

Répartition mondiale

L’aire de répartition du Lipocarpha micrantha s’étend depuis le Brésil jusqu’au Canada et comprend notamment toute l’Amérique centrale (voir références dans Sabourin et al., 1992). Au nord du Mexique, l’espèce se rencontre principalement depuis le Texas jusque dans Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario et, vers l’est, jusqu’à la côte atlantique des États-Unis. Des populations disjointes sont présentes en Floride, en Californie, en Colombie-Britannique et ailleurs, comme le montre la figure 2 (Tucker, sous presse).

Figure 2. Répartition du Lipocarpha micrantha en Amérique du Nord, au nord du Mexique. Les sites canadiens actuels se trouvent dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario (zone pointillée) et dans le Centre-Sud de la Colombie-Britannique (point noir); la population historique signalée au Québec (point noir) est aujourd’hui disparue.

Figure 2. Répartition du Lipocarpha micrantha en Amérique du Nord, au nord du Mexique. Les sites canadiens actuels se trouvent dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario (zone pointillée) et dans le Centre-Sud de la Colombie-Britannique (point noir); la population historique signalée au Québec (point noir) est aujourd’hui disparue.

Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, le Lipocarpha micrantha a une répartition très fragmentée, comme le montrent les figures 3a et 3b. Parmi les sept populations signalées (Ceska et Ceska, 1982; Oldham et Crins, 1988; Sabourin et al., 1992; Oldham, 1996; Oldham, 2000. Harris et al., 2000), seulement trois existent toujours.

Deux populations canadiennes du Lipocarpha micrantha ont été retrouvées en 2001. Une est située au lac Osoyoos, dans la vallée de l’Okanagan, en Colombie-Britannique. L’autre se trouve à l’île de Sable, au lac des Bois, dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario. Une troisième population a été observée en 2000 à la baie Pound Net, au lac à la Pluie, également dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario. Comme nous le verrons ci-dessous, il se peut que le Lipocarpha micrantha soit encore présent, sous forme de réservoir de graines, à la baie Pound Net.

Quatre autres populations de Lipocarpha micrantha ont déjà été signalées au Canada, mais elles sont aujourd’hui disparues. La population qui se trouvait à la plage Missisquoi, dans le Sud du Québec, a été signalée pour la dernière fois en 1957 et n’a pas été retrouvée depuis (Labrecque, comm. pers., 2001). La population de la plage Holiday, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario a été signalée pour la dernière fois en 1987 et n’a pas été retrouvée en 2001. Le L. micrantha a été observé plusieurs fois à la rivière Détroit, vers 1900, mais l’espèce n’a plus été retrouvée dans ce secteur, malgré les recherches menées durant les années 1980. Une deuxième population a été signalée au lac Osoyoos en 1978, mais cette population avait déjà disparu en 1985 (Sabourin et al., 1992); dans cette localité, l’habitat a été détruit par l’aménagement d’une aire de loisirs.