Skip booklet index and go to page content

Small Whorled Pogonia (Isotria medeoloides)

BACKGROUND

2.1   Description 

2.1.1   Description of the species  

Small whorled pogonia (Isotria medeoloides) is a small orchid which stands between 9.5-25.0cm tall (Brownell 1982).  Five to six leaves form a single whorl at the top of the stem (White 1998).  These glaucous leaves are elliptic to elliptic-obovate and pale milky green in colour (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).

The leaves may be overtopped by one or two flowers which are yellowish-green in colour.  The sepals of the flower tend to be slightly longer than the petals (White 1998).  When it is not in flower, the Small whorled pogonia can be mistaken for the more common Indian Cucumber-root (Medeola virginiana) (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992). 

2.1.2   Populations and distribution  

The Small whorled pogonia inhabits portions of eastern North America.  In the United States, the species occurs from New England and Michigan south to Missouri and South Carolina.  The only Canadian occurrence is in Elgin County in southwestern Ontario (White 1998) (Figure 1). 

Figure 1. Canadian Distribution of Small whorled pogonia

Figure 1. Canadian Distribution of Small whorled pogonia

The Small whorled pogonia’s distribution has led to the species being referred to as an Atlantic Coastal Plain disjunct, resulting from past geological and climate events (Brownell 1982).

Currently, Small whorled pogonia is considered globally imperiled (G2).  In the United States, it is listed as nationally imperiled (N2).  The species is identified as critically imperiled (S1) in 13 states, imperiled (S2) in 4, historical (SH) in 4 and is considered extirpated (SX) from District of Columbia.  In Canada, Small whorled pogonia is listed as nationally critically imperiled (N1).  In Ontario, it is considered critically imperiled (S1) (NatureServe 2006) (Table 1).

Once considered Endangered in both Canada and the United States, Small whorled pogonia has been reclassified as Threatened in the United States due to an increase in the number of known populations from 34 in 1985 to 104 in 1993, with at least 25% of the plant’s self sustaining populations protected through public ownership or private landowner management agreements (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 2006).  It remains designated as Endangered within Canada.  In Ontario, the species is designated as Endangered and is regulated under the Ontario Endangered Species Act.

In Canada, the species is found at only one location in southwestern Ontario, in the Calton Swamp of Elgin County (Environment Canada 2004). This property is owned by Catfish Creek Conservation Authority (CCCA). The species has been noted in four distinct areas within a few hundred metres of one another (White 1998). 

The species was first discovered in 1977 by Mr. W.G. Stewart, who located a total of 4 plants (Brownell 1982). No thorough inventory has been undertaken to determine the extent of the occurrence, however, searches have located plants in 4 locations on CCCA property (White 1998).  In 1989, a single vegetative plant was located at the site but was not reported again until 1998 (see Table 2).  The last recorded sighting of the species was in 1998 when a single vegetative individual was noted by Mr. Glen Martin (Oldham, pers. comm. 2006).  Since the orchid could stay in dormancy for up to twenty years (see section 1.2.1), it is unknown whether it has become extirpated or still exists in low numbers within Calton Swamp (White 1998). This represents less than 1% of its global distribution. 

Table 1. Subnational ranks for the Small whorled pogonia(NatureServe 2006)

S-RankState
S1- Critically ImperiledConnecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Ontario, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia.
S2 – ImperiledGeorgia, Maine, New Hampshire, Virginia.
SH – HistoricalMaryland, Missouri, New York, Vermont.
SX – ExtirpatedDistrict of Columbia.

Table 2.  Last reported sightings of Small whorled pogonia (White 1998)

StationLast observed (#)
Station 11981 (3)
Station 21980 (1)   * Destroyed by bike trail
Station 31982 (2)
Station 41989 (1)

Note:  The 1998 report did not specify the station location

2.2   Description of the species’ needs 

2.2.1   Ecological role, biological needs, and limiting factors 

Populations of Small whorled pogonia typically consist of plants that may be in any of four life stages: dormant, vegetative, with abortive bud, or flowering (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).  Flowering plants tend to be taller and have larger whorls than those plants with abortive buds or which are vegetative (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).

Small whorled pogonia generally flowers from mid-May to mid-June with flowers lasting from a few days to almost two weeks (U.S Fish and Wildlife Service 1992; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 2006).  The plants are thought to be primarily self pollinated, as the flowers lack nectar guides and fragrance (U.S Fish and Wildlife Service 1992; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 2006).  If pollination occurs, a seed capsule containing thousands of tiny seeds may be formed and it is estimated that approximately 83% of flowers form capsules (Brownell 1982).  The species only occasionally reproduces vegetatively but this is not its primary reproductive strategy (U.S Fish and Wildlife Service 1992). Other aspects of the plant’s life history are not fully understood including seed dispersal and seed germination.

Like other orchid species, Small whorled pogonia has an interdependence on mycorrhizal fungi.  Such fungi have been noted in the tissues of mature individuals although no specific mycorrhizal fungi have been identified.( U.S Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).

Questions still remain around dormancy.  Some studies suggest that the plant may undergo periods of dormancy lasting up to 20 years (U.S Fish and Wildlife Service 1985 in Difazio 2003).  However, other studies have found that no plants emerged after 3 consecutive years of dormancy (Mehrhoff 1989).  Research into this aspect of the plant’s biology is necessary.

No specific information is available related to the ecological role of the Small whorled pogonia at the Calton Site.  The fact that the plant has only been identified at one site in Canada would suggest that studies are required to determine if the plant is an ecological indicator of a rare habitat type or ecological pattern on the landscape (Difazio 2003).

Shading is a limiting factor for the species.  One study, conducted in the United States, found that sites where colonies of Small whorled pogonia had become extirpated were more shaded by vegetation than were the extant sites (Mehrhoff 1989).  In New Hampshire, canopy defoliation from Gypsy Moths, preceded the discovery of the orchid at several sites in the 1980s (Difazio 2003).   In addition, the populations at Calton are located within a few metres of an old logging road that had resulted in reduced canopy cover and an associated decrease in shading (Difazio 2003).  Alterations in the microclimate of the site, such as increase in temperature or a decrease in moisture due to natural processes, human disturbance, or climate change, may also limit the species ability to survive (Brownell 1982).  Such changes may cause plants to become dormant or die out completely.

Small whorled pogonia is rare throughout North America.  The possibility that the occurrence represents very few plants implies that the genetic diversity of the population may be very low, and this may limit its long term viability.  The species susceptibility to site disturbance, low reproductive rates, wide population fluctuations, complex life history and extended periods of dormancy all contribute to limiting the plants survival throughout North American (Difazio 2003).

2.2.2   Habitat needs  

Small whorled pogonia inhabits damp mixed woods with an acidic soil (White 1998).  There is usually abundant leaf mould and limited shrub and herbaceous cover (Brownell, 1982).  Various types of decaying vegetation are usually found in Small whorled pogonia habitat, including fallen trunks and limbs, leaf litter, bark, stumps, and roots of dead trees (U.S Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).  The orchid prefers a habitat with flatter terrain and a canopy with small openings to provide light (Brownell 1982).

When openings in the tree canopy allow more light to reach the forest floor, Small whorled pogonia plants typically respond favourably, at least in the short term.  One study reported exceptional vigour in plants adjacent to a recent clear cut, and smaller, less vigorous plants away from the clearing. (NatureServe 2006). 

2.3   Threats 

2.3.1   Trampling 

Due to the plant’s high profile as a very rare orchid, the site has been visited by many naturalists, orchid enthusiasts, and photographers.  This puts the plant at considerable risk from inadvertent trampling (Difazio 2003).

2.3.2   Habitat degradation 

A possible threat to the Canadian population of Small whorled pogonia is lack of suitable habitat in the heavily modified Carolinian Zone of southwestern Ontario.  In the past, a trail used by dirt bikes and ATVs passed through the Calton Swamp site, with at least one subpopulation being destroyed by these activities (Difazio 2003).   However, Catfish Creek Conservation Authority (CCCA) has implemented initiatives to close trails in the area and prohibit the operation of motorized vehicles on the property to eliminate further destruction of habitat and populations. (Difazio 2003).

Events causing dramatic increases in the amount of light reaching the forest floor might cause the herbaceous layer to flourish.  This would result in more competition and increased shading which would in turn reduce the suitability of the habitat (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).

2.3.3   Herbivory 

Herbivory by deer is a known threat to Small whorled pogonia populations in the United States and may be a threat in Canada.  In New England, herbivory by slugs is considered by some to be a serious threat to the orchid (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).  It has been suggested that “touching the plants may leave salts on the leaves that are, in turn, attractive to slugs” (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992), so there may be a compounding effect from visitors touching the orchids, resulting increased susceptibility to slugs.  Slugs have not been identified as a known threat to the species in Canada, however it should be considered a potential threat to the Canadian population. 

2.3.4   Collection 

Although collection has not been recorded within the Canadian population, this activity is a potential threat.  The release of locational information on Small whorled pogonia population increases the potential for collection.  For example, “within days after a newspaper article was published revealing the location of a site in Connecticut, the plants had been dug up and removed” (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).

2.3.5   Loss of genetic diversity 

Reductions in population size can decrease the genetic viability of populations over time and this can, in turn, lead to lower individual fitness and population viability.  The Canadian population of Small whorled pogonia may be vulnerable to genetic loss due to its small size.  As well, pollen transfer and seed immigration from populations in the United States is very unlikely to occur due to the distance separating the populations. 

2.4   Actions already completed or underway

In August of 1994, the Catfish Creek Conservation Authority (CCCA) completed an “Interim Operational Plan” for properties near Calton Swamp.  The property containing the Small whorled pogonia has site specific policies in place to protect the plant and supporting habitat.  Policies state that the property is not to be altered in any way without an Environmental Impact Assessment being conducted to ensure that no harmful impacts to the Pogonia sites will result.

In July of 2001, the CCCA completed the “Small Whorled Pogonia Biological Inventory Project”.  A report was prepared to summarize local biological information on the Small whorled pogonia population at Calton, including all known sightings and occurrence reports.  The report also provided recommendations on future recovery efforts and management strategies.

2.5   Knowledge Gaps 

The biological needs of the Canadian population are not well understood.  Therefore, information on the topography, soil conditions, associated species, seed dispersal, and light conditions must be studied to fill in these information gaps.

It is believed that too much shading may be a limiting factor for the species, however it is unknown if this is a current limiting factor to the population in Ontario.  It is also unknown if the species would benefit from forest management to maintain optimum light levels.  Research into these aspects of the plant’s biology should be undertaken to fill these gaps and guide site management.

As only one occurrence has been noted for this species in all of Canada, studies should be undertaken to determine if the species exists in similar habitat in the other parts of southwestern Ontario.

The issue of dormancy in Small whorled pogonia still remains a matter of debate among researchers.  Early research suggested that dormancy could extend from 10-20 years while other studies suggested dormancy periods of up to 4 years (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1992).  Dormancy for this species should be studied as it has direct impact on the recovery of this species.

Small whorled pogonia, like other orchid species, has a relationship with mycorrhizal fungi.  Mycorrhizal fungi have been seen in the tissue of mature individuals; however no specific mycorrhizal fungus has been identified.  This aspect of the species biology should be investigated.  Such information may aid in the reintroduction of the species if it is deemed necessary in the future.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Isotrie fausse-médéole (Isotria medeoloides)

CONTEXTE

2.1   Description 

2.1.1   Description de l’espèce  

L’isotrie fausse-médéole (Isotria medeoloides) est une petite orchidée mesurant 9,5 à 25,0 cm de hauteur (Brownell, 1982). La plante produit cinq ou six feuilles, réunies en un seul verticille au sommet de la tige (White, 1998). Ces feuilles sont glauques, elliptiques ou elliptiques-obovées, de couleur vert laiteux pâle (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992).

La plante peut produire une ou deux fleurs, qui sont vert jaunâtre et portées au-dessus des feuilles. Les sépales tendent à être légèrement plus longs que les pétales (White, 1998). Lorsqu’elle n’est pas en fleur, l’isotrie fausse-médéole peut être confondue avec une espèce plus commune, la médéole de Virginie (Medeola virginiana) (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992).

2.1.2   Populations et répartition  

L’isotrie fausse-médéole se rencontre dans certaines parties de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Aux États-Unis, l’espèce est présente depuis la Nouvelle-Angleterre et le Michigan jusqu’au Missouri et à la Caroline du Sud. Au Canada, l’unique occurrence est située dans le comté d’Elgin, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario (White, 1998) (figure 1). 

Figure 1.Répartition de l’isotrie fausse-médéole au Canada.

Figure 1.Répartition de l’isotrie fausse-médéole au Canada.

La répartition de l’isotrie fausse-médéole porte à croire que l’espèce a une répartition disjointe, ses populations isolées ayant été séparées de celles de la plaine côtière de l’Atlantique par des événements géologiques ou climatiques passés (Brownell, 1982).

Actuellement, l’isotrie fausse-médéole est considérée comme en péril (imperiled) à l’échelle mondiale (G2). Aux États-Unis, elle est classée comme espèce en péril (imperiled) à l’échelle nationale (N2); l’espèce est désignée gravement en péril (critically imperiled) (S1) dans treize États, en péril (imperiled) (S2) dans quatre, historique (historical) (SH) dans quatre et disparue (extirpated) (SX) du district fédéral de Columbia. Au Canada, l’isotrie fausse-médéole est désignée gravement en péril (critically imperiled) à l’échelle nationale (N1) ainsi qu’en Ontario (S1) (NatureServe, 2006) (tableau 1).

L’espèce était autrefois considérée en voie de disparition à la fois au Canada et aux États-Unis, mais son statut a été révisé, et elle est aujourd’hui désignée menacée aux États-Unis, en raison de l’augmentation du nombre de populations connues (de 34 en 1985 à 104 en 1993) et du fait qu’au moins 25 % de ses populations autosuffisantes sont protégées en vertu d’ententes de gestion visant des terres de propriété publique ou privée (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 2006). L’espèce est toujours désignée en voie de disparition au Canada. En Ontario, l’espèce est désignée en voie de disparition et est régie par la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de cette province.

Au Canada, l’espèce est présente à un seul endroit, soit dans le marécage Calton, situé dans le comté d’Elgin, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario (Environnement Canada, 2004). Ce terrain appartient à l’Office de protection de la nature du ruisseau Catfish. L’espèce a été observée dans quatre secteurs distincts, éloignés de quelques centaines de mètres les uns des autres (White, 1998).

L’espèce a été découverte au Canada en 1977 par M. W.G. Stewart, qui a repéré quatre individus au total (Brownell, 1982). Aucun inventaire approfondi n’a été entrepris pour déterminer l’étendue de l’occurrence, mais des recherches ont permis de repérer des individus à quatre endroits sur le terrain de l’Office de protection de la nature du ruisseau Catfish (White, 1998). En 1989, un seul individu, à l’état végétatif, a été repéré sur ce terrain, mais il n’a pas été signalé de nouveau avant 1998 (voir le tableau 2). La dernière observation enregistrée de l’espèce a été faite en 1998 alors qu’un seul individu, à l’état végétatif, a été observé par M. Glen Martin (Oldham, comm. pers., 2006). Comme il est possible que l’orchidée puisse demeurer en dormance jusqu’à vingt ans (voir la section 1.2.1), on ne sait pas si elle est disparue ou si elle existe en nombre restreint dans le marécage Calton (White, 1998). Cette occurrence représente moins de 1 % de l’aire de répartition mondiale de l’espèce.

Tableau 1. Cotes subnationales de l’isotrie fausse-médéole(NatureServe, 2006)

Cote État ou province
S1- Gravement en périlCaroline du Nord, Caroline du Sud, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, Ohio, Ontario, Pennsylvanie, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Virginie-Occidentale.
S2 – En périlGéorgie, Maine, New Hampshire, Virginie.
SH – Historique Maryland , Missouri, New York, Vermont.
SX – DisparueDistrict fédéral de Columbia.

Tableau 2. Dernières observations signalées de l’isotrie fausse-médéole (White, 1998)

StationDernière observation (nombre)
Station 11981 (3)
Station 21980 (1) * Détruite par un sentier pour véhicules récréatifs
Station 31982 (2)
Station 41989 (1)

Note : La position des stations n’était pas précisée dans le rapport de 1998.

2.2   Description des besoins de l’espèce

2.2.1   Rôle écologique, besoins biologiques et facteurs limitatifs

Les populations d’isotrie fausse-médéole sont habituellement composées d’individus qui peuvent être à l’un ou l’autre des quatre stades de développement suivants : dormance, croissance végétative, bouton floral avorté, floraison (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992). Les plants en floraison ont tendance à être plus hauts et à avoir un plus grand verticille de feuilles que les plants en l’état de croissance végétative ou que ceux portant des boutons floraux avortés (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992).

L’isotrie fausse-médéole fleurit généralement de la mi-mai à la mi-juin, et les fleurs durent entre quelques jours et presque deux semaines (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 2006). On pense que la fécondation se fait principalement par autopollinisation, car les fleurs ne produisent ni guide de nectar, ni d’odeur pouvant attirer les pollinisateurs (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 2006). Si la pollinisation a lieu, une capsule contenant des milliers de graines minuscules peut se former, et on évalue à environ 83 % la proportion des fleurs qui produisent une capsule (Brownell, 1982). L’espèce se reproduit occasionnellement par voie végétative, mais ce n’est pas sa principale stratégie de reproduction (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992). D’autres aspects du cycle vital de la plante, notamment la dissémination et la germination des graines, ne sont pas entièrement compris.

Comme d’autres espèces d’orchidées, l’isotrie fausse-médéole entretient une relation d’interdépendance avec des champignons mycorhiziens. De tels champignons ont été observés dans les tissus d’individus matures, mais aucun champignon mycorhizien précis n’a été identifié (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992).

La question de la dormance n’a pas encore été résolue. D’après certaines études, la plante peut connaître des périodes de dormance pouvant durer jusqu’à 20 ans (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1985, dans Difazio, 2003). Toutefois, d’après d’autres études, aucune plante n’a jamais émergé après trois années consécutives de dormance (Mehrhoff, 1989). Des recherches sur cet aspect de la biologie de la plante sont nécessaires.

Aucune information précise n’est disponible sur le rôle écologique de l’isotrie fausse-médéole au marécage Calton. Comme la plante n’a été identifiée qu’à un endroit au Canada, des études sont nécessaires pour déterminer si la plante est un indicateur écologique d’un type de milieu rare ou d’une dynamique écologique particulière du paysage (Difazio, 2003).

L’ombrage constitue un facteur limitatif pour l’espèce. Une étude menée aux États-Unis a révélé que les sites d’où avaient disparu des colonies d’isotrie fausse-médéole étaient plus ombragés par les autres végétaux que ceux encore occupés par l’espèce (Mehrhoff, 1989). Au New Hampshire, la défoliation du couvert forestier par la spongieuse a précédé la découverte, durant les années 1980, de plusieurs sites de l’espèce (Difazio, 2003). De plus, les populations du marécage Calton se trouvent à seulement quelques mètres d’un ancien chemin d’exploitation forestière qui a entraîné une réduction du couvert forestier et donc une diminution de l’ombrage (Difazio, 2003). Les changements du microclimat, comme les hausses de température ou baisses d’humidité résultant de processus naturels, les perturbations dues à l’activité humaine ou les changements climatiques, peuvent aussi limiter la capacité de l’espèce à survivre (Brownell, 1982). De tels changements peuvent aussi déclencher la dormance chez la plante ou la faire mourir.

L’isotrie fausse-médéole est rare partout en Amérique du Nord. Si la population canadienne ne comprend effectivement que quelques individus, sa diversité génétique doit être très faible, ce qui pourrait limiter sa viabilité à long terme. Les perturbations du terrain, le faible taux de reproduction, les fluctuations importantes des populations, le cycle vital complexe de l’isotrie fausse-médéole et ses longues périodes de dormance rendent l’espèce vulnérable et constituent des facteurs limitatifs qui mettent en péril la survie de l’espèce dans toutes les parties de son aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord (Difazio, 2003).

2.2.2   Besoins en matière d’habitat  

L’isotrie fausse-médéole pousse dans des forêts mixtes humides à sol acide (White, 1998). Une abondante litière de feuilles décomposées est généralement présente, mais la couverture arbustive et herbacée est limitée (Brownell, 1982). L’habitat de l’isotrie fausse‑médéole comporte habituellement différents types de végétaux en décomposition, dont des troncs ou branches d’arbre tombés au sol, une litière de feuilles mortes, de l’écorce, des souches et des racines d’arbres morts (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992). L’espèce préfère un milieu à relief plat, où le couvert forestier présente de petites ouvertures qui laissent passer la lumière (Brownell, 1982).

Lorsque les ouvertures du couvert forestier permettent à la lumière d’atteindre le sol, l’isotrie fausse‑médéole réagit généralement de façon positive, du moins à court terme. Une étude a révélé que les individus situés à proximité d’un endroit où une coupe à blanc avait été faite récemment présentaient une vigueur exceptionnelle et que les individus qui en étaient éloignés étaient de petite taille et moins vigoureux (NatureServe, 2006).  

2.3   Menaces 

2.3.1   Piétinement 

L’isotrie fausse-médéole est une orchidée rare et, de ce fait, une plante très prisée; le site a donc été visité par un grand nombre de naturalistes, d’amateurs d’orchidées et de photographes. Cela expose l’espèce à un risque considérable de piétinement accidentel (Difazio, 2003).

2.3.2   Détérioration de l'habitat 

Une menace possible pour la population canadienne d’isotrie fausse-médéole est le manque d’habitat convenable dans la zone carolinienne, fortement aménagée, du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Dans le passé, une piste de moto et de VTT traversait le site du marécage Calton, et au moins une sous-population a été détruite par ces activités (Difazio, 2003). Cependant, afin d’éliminer toute nouvelle destruction de l’habitat et des populations, l’Office de protection de la nature du ruisseau Catfish a mis en œuvre des initiatives visant à fermer ces pistes dans le secteur, et à interdire la circulation de véhicules motorisés sur la propriété (Difazio, 2003).

Les événements causant une augmentation importante de l’ensoleillement du sol forestier peuvent favoriser la croissance du couvert d’herbacées. Ce phénomène risque par la suite d’accentuer la compétition et l’ombrage, et donc de diminuer le caractère convenable de l’habitat pour l’espèce (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992).

2.3.3   Herbivorie 

La prédation par les chevreuils est une menace connue pour les populations d’isotrie fausse-médéole des États-Unis et pourrait représenter une menace également au Canada. En Nouvelle-Angleterre, la prédation par les limaces est considérée par certains auteurs comme une menace grave pour l’orchidée (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992). On a avancé que « toucher les plantes peut laisser du sel sur les feuilles, ce qui attire les limaces » (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992). Les visiteurs qui touchent à la plante peuvent donc constituer un facteur aggravant qui accroît la vulnérabilité de l’orchidée aux limaces. Les limaces ne représentent pas une menace connue au Canada, mais elles devraient être considérées comme une menace potentielle pour la population canadienne.

2.3.4   Cueillette 

Bien qu’aucune cueillette n’ait été signalée dans la population canadienne, cette activité est une menace potentielle. La divulgation d’information sur la localisation de l’isotrie fausse-médéole augmente les risques de cueillette. Par exemple, « quelques jours après la publication d’un article de journal révélant l’emplacement d’un site au Connecticut, les plantes avaient été déterrées et enlevées » (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992).

2.3.5   Perte de diversité génétique 

La diminution du nombre d’individus peut, avec le temps, réduire la viabilité génétique des populations; ce phénomène risque, à son tour, de réduire la capacité de survie des individus et la viabilité des populations. La population canadienne d’isotrie fausse-médéole pourrait être sujette à une telle érosion génétique en raison de sa petite taille. En outre, le transport de pollen et de graines provenant de populations des États-Unis est très improbable, à cause de la distance qui sépare ces populations de la population canadienne. 

2.4   Mesures déjà terminées ou en cours

En août 1994, l’Office de protection de la nature du ruisseau Catfish a terminé la rédaction d’un plan opérationnel provisoire pour les propriétés situées à proximité du marécage Calton. Le terrain abritant l’isotrie fausse-médéole est assujetti à des politiques particulières visant à protéger la plante et son habitat. Ces politiques stipulent qu’il est interdit de modifier ce terrain de quelque manière que ce soit sans une évaluation préalable des impacts sur l’environnement. On veut ainsi éviter tout effet nuisible sur les sites de l’isotrie fausse-médéole.

En juillet 2001, l’Office de protection de la nature du ruisseau Catfish a terminé un inventaire biologique de l’isotrie fausse-médéole, qui a donné lieu à un rapport synthétisant l’information existant sur la biologie de la population d’isotrie fausse-médéole de la région de Calton, y compris toutes les observations connues et les enregistrements d’occurrences. Le rapport fournit également des recommandations sur les initiatives de rétablissement à venir et les stratégies de gestion.

2.5   Lacunes dans les connaissances 

Les besoins biologiques de la population canadienne demeurent mal compris. Pour combler cette lacune, il faudra étudier la topographie de l’habitat, les conditions du sol, les espèces associées, la dispersion des graines et les conditions d’ensoleillement.

On estime qu’un ombrage excessif pourrait constituer un facteur limitatif pour l’espèce, mais on ignore si cela est le cas actuellement chez la population de l’Ontario. On ignore tout autant si l’espèce bénéficierait de mesures de gestion des forêts visant à entretenir des niveaux optimaux d’ensoleillement. Des recherches sur ces aspects de la biologie de l’espèce doivent être entreprises pour combler ces lacunes et orienter la gestion des sites.

Étant donné qu’une seule occurrence de l’espèce a été enregistrée au Canada, des relevés doivent être entrepris pour déterminer si l’espèce existe dans des habitats semblables ailleurs dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario.

La question de la dormance chez l’isotrie fausse-médéole demeure un objet de discussion parmi les scientifiques. Selon certaines études préliminaires, la dormance pourrait durer 10 à 20 ans; selon d’autres, la période de dormance serait de quatre ans tout au plus (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992). Cet aspect de la biologie de l’espèce doit être étudié, car il a un impact direct sur le rétablissement.

L’isotrie fausse-médéole, comme d’autres espèces d’orchidées, entretient une interaction avec des champignons mycorhiziens. Ces champignons ont été observés dans les tissus d’individus matures, mais aucune espèce précise de champignon mycorhizien n’a été identifiée. Cet aspect de la biologie de l’espèce doit être étudié, car une meilleure connaissance des mycorhizes pourrait faciliter la réintroduction de l’espèce, si cela est jugé nécessaire à une date ultérieure.