Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Grey Whale (Eschrichtius robustus), Atlantic Population, in Canada

Recovery Feasibility

 

The only possible approach to recover this extirpated population would be the reintroduction of a viable population from another area.  The recovery of the grey whale (Atlantic population) is not considered feasible at this time, based on examination of a series of issues in the following sections.

 

Availability of individuals for re-establishment

Recovery would require that individuals be available to support re-establishment of a viable population. There are no more Atlantic grey whales, but the eastern Pacific population of grey whales could potentially serve as a donor population.  The most recent agreed estimate of abundance for the eastern Pacific population was 26,300 individuals in 1997/98 (International Whaling Commission 2006a).  Allowable removals from this population are 620 individuals in the period 2003-2007 with a maximum of 140 in any given year, and there are currently no harvests of this population (International Whaling Commission 2006b).  Accordingly, this number of individuals is potentially available to support a reintroduction program.

 

Habitat availability

For recovery to be feasible, sufficient habitat must be available to support the species or must be made available through habitat management or restoration.  Several different habitats would be needed over a wide geographic range and in both Canada and the United States of America (USA) to ensure the re-establishment of a viable population.  Some of the necessary habitats are currently impacted in ways which would probably make them unsuitable for grey whale life history stages.  The shallow coastal lagoons and bays in southeastern and south-central Florida, the presumed breeding and calving area, are heavily impacted by the urban development of the Florida coastal area and associated industrial and recreational activities.  The Southeast Florida Metropolitan Statistical Area, including Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade counties, is the sixth largest in the USA and had a 2002 population of over 5 million (Broward County Planning Services Division 2004).  As a result, coastal and nearshore marine habitats are heavily degraded and actions to reduce land-based pollution, improve water quality, and minimize impacts of dredging, filling and coastal construction are required (Florida Department of Environmental Protection 2004).  Coastal and nearshore habitats are heavily used by recreational boaters.  In Broward County alone there are 43,000 registered recreational vessels and over 100 marinas and boatyards (Florida Sea Grant n.d.).  Overall there would be considerable doubt as to whether these coastal habitats could be made suitable for grey whale breeding and calving, which require quiet conditions of good environmental quality (Reeves and Mitchell 1987).  In some areas, the coastal habitats required for migration in the eastern USA and Canada are also highly impacted by transport and industrial activities, particularly in the northeastern USA.

 

Potential to mitigate threats to individuals and habitat

The potential to mitigate or avoid significant threats to the species or its habitat must also be considered in assessing recovery feasibility.  For Atlantic grey whales, threats could possibly be mitigated, but it is doubtful that threats could be removed effectively enough to allow the increase of a small re-introduced population.  Key threats to other large cetaceans in the northwest Atlantic include entanglement in fishing gear, vessel strikes, chemical accumulation and acoustic pollution.  Entanglement in fishing gear and vessel strikes are documented causes of mortality for eastern Pacific grey whales (Reeves and Mitchell 1987).  Reduction of mortality from vessel strikes and fishing gear entanglement is a central theme of recovery efforts for the endangered North Atlantic right whale which migrates between the southeastern US and eastern Canada.  Some success in reducing the impact of these threats has been achieved, but this population is showing no signs of recovery from a low population level (ca 300 individuals) in the current threat environment, which is assumed to be generally similar to that which would be faced by re-introduced grey whales.  Such threats do not seem to be having a significant impact on the eastern Pacific grey whale population, but that population is currently abundant.  Even low removals due to these threats could have a significant impact on a small re-established Atlantic grey whale population.

Health risks associated with translocating marine mammals have been recognized as a potential threat to the conservation of species at risk and some best practices have been recommended (Measures 2004). Any reintroduction would require a risk assessment of the threat of translocating grey whale pathogen and parasites from a donor population to the Atlantic and what these ‘novel and exotic’ pathogens may mean for resident species, particularly those already at risk such as the endangered northern right whale. 

With respect to habitat threats, it is not certain that threats to key habitats, particularly subtropical coastal and lagoon habitats needed for calving, could be mitigated to allow grey whales to use them successfully.  As noted above, these environments are currently subject to very intense recreational use and are impacted by explosive urban development, such that conditions would be practically impossible for calving and rearing of young cetaceans.  The environmental problems of these areas have been recognized for many years, and efforts are under way to restore degraded coastal and nearshore environments in this area.  Substantial efforts will, however, still be required over many years (Florida Department of Environmental Protection 2004).  Further, restoration of these essential habitats is under the jurisdiction of authorities in the USA and could not be mandated under SARA.

Existence of effective recovery techniques

Recovery techniques which have been proven effective must exist if this population is to be re-established.  The reintroduction of a population of large whales to an area from which they have been extirpated, and the associated re-establishment of their migratory routes (with related ‘ecological learning’ issues) has never been attempted or completed successfully, and appears unlikely to be feasible.

The introduction of well over 100 mature individuals would probably be necessary to lay the basis for the re-establishment of a viable population of grey whales in the Atlantic.  Populations of less than 250 mature individuals are considered “endangered” under the risk assessment criteria used by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) (COSEWIC 2004a).  The western Pacific population of grey whales is apparently not recovering from a reduced population size of around 100 individuals, while the North Atlantic right whale is showing no signs of recovery from a population of some 300 individuals. 

The transport of small whales in limited numbers (e.g. killer whales) is possible, and there is a documented report of live capture, holding and subsequent release to the wild of a newborn grey whale (Reeves and Mitchell 1987), but the transport of large whales, of breeding size, has not been successfully attempted.  This transportation would probably be feasible on an individual basis, but enormous (essentially infeasible) efforts would be required to transport the number of individuals necessary to establish a breeding population.  

Even if the transportation of many whales were possible, it is extremely doubtful that re-introduced individuals could re-establish the complex and lengthy seasonal migration pattern which appears to be essential for the species in the eastern Pacific.  Migration from subtropical to northern areas is typical of many large whales (e.g. right whales, humpback whales), but the eastern Pacific grey whale has the longest migration route of any mammal and the migratory pathway would have to link much more specific habitats for successful completion of their life cycle than for other large whale species.

Recovery feasibility conclusion

In summary, recovery of the grey whale (Atlantic population) appears neither biologically nor technically feasible at the present time.  Biologically, the ability of individuals from a different area to learn the complex migratory pathway which appears essential to successful completion of the life cycle of this species seems highly questionable.  Recent experience has shown that the recovery of populations of large whales from very depleted states (several hundred individuals) is biologically difficult.  The technical feasibility of transporting the large numbers of whales needed to support the re-establishment of a viable population has not been demonstrated.  The technical feasibility of restoration of the coastal habitats necessary for calving, breeding, and the north-south migration has also not been demonstrated, and in any case, jurisdiction for restoration of the essential calving and rearing habitats is outside Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la baleine grise (Eschrichtius robustus), population de l’Atlantique, au Canada

Faisabilité du rétablissement

 

La seule approche possible pour reconstituer cette population disparue du pays serait de réintroduire dans le nord-ouest de l’Atlantique canadien une population viable provenant d’un autre endroit. Le rétablissement de la baleine grise dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique n’est pas considéré réalisable pour le moment d’après les résultats de l’examen de divers enjeux dans les sections suivantes.

 

Disponibilité d’individus aux fins de réintroduction

Le rétablissement de la baleine grise dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique exigerait la disponibilité d’individus pour y reconstituer une population viable. Il n’y a plus de baleines grises dans l’Atlantique, mais des individus pourraient être prélevés dans la population de l’est du Pacifique. Selon l’estimation reconnue la plus récente des effectifs de cette population, ils se chiffraient à 26 300 individus en 1997‑-1998 (Commission baleinière internationale, 2006b). Les ponctions autorisées dans cette population ont été fixées à 620 individus pour la période 2003‑2007, un maximum de 140 pouvant être capturés chaque année. Cette population n’étant pas chassée à l’heure actuelle (Commission baleinière internationale, 2006b), ces 140 individus sont potentiellement disponibles pour alimenter un programme de réintroduction.

 

Disponibilité de l’habitat

Pour que le rétablissement de la baleine grise dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique soit réalisable, suffisamment d’habitats doivent être disponibles pour suffire aux besoins de l’espèce ou être rendus disponibles par des mesures de gestion ou de restauration. Plusieurs habitats différents seraient requis à l’échelle d’un vaste territoire au Canada et aux États‑Unis pour assurer la réintroduction d’une population viable. Quelques-uns de ces habitats sont déjà tellement perturbés à l’heure actuelle qu’ils seraient probablement inadaptés au cycle biologique de la baleine grise. Les lagunes et les baies côtières peu profondes du sud‑est et du centre‑sud de la Floride, qui constituent supposément les aires d’accouplement et de mise bas de la baleine grise de l’ouest de l’Atlantique, ont été et sont encore fortement perturbées par le développement urbain des côtes de la Floride et les activités industrielles et récréatives connexes. La zone statistique métropolitaine du sud-est de la Floride, qui comprend les comtés de Palm Beach, de Broward et de Miami-Dade, est la sixième plus grande des États-Unis; sa population se chiffrait à plus de 5 millions d’habitants en 2002 (Broward County Planning Services Division, 2004). Par conséquent, les habitats marins côtiers et littoraux sont dégradés; des mesures visant à réduire la pollution d’origine terrestre, à améliorer la qualité de l’eau et à minimiser les impacts du dragage, du remblayage et de la construction côtière sont requises (Florida Department of Environmental Protection, 2004). Les habitats côtiers et littoraux sont très fréquentés par les plaisanciers; dans le seul comté de Broward, il y a 43 000 bateaux de plaisance enregistrés et plus de 100 marinas et parcs à bateaux (Florida Sea Grant, sans date.). En général, on doute grandement que ces habitats côtiers pourraient être restaurés au point d’être propices à l’accouplement et à la mise bas de la baleine grise, des activités qui requièrent des conditions de calme et de bonne qualité de l’environnement (Reeves et Mitchell, 1987). À certains endroits, les habitats côtiers requis pour la migration le long des côtes de l’est des États‑Unis et du Canada sont également fortement perturbés par le transport maritime et les activités industrielles, en particulier dans le nord‑est des États‑Unis.

 

Potentiel d’atténuation des menaces pour les individus et l’habitat

L’évaluation de la faisabilité du rétablissement doit également tenir compte du potentiel d’atténuation ou d’évitement des graves menaces à l’espèce ou à son habitat. Pour les baleines grises de l’Atlantique, les menaces pourraient peut-être être atténuées, mais il est douteux qu’elles puissent être éliminées assez efficacement pour permettre l’accroissement d’une petite population réintroduite. L’emmêlement dans les engins de pêche, les collisions avec les navires, l’accumulation de produits chimiques et la pollution acoustique sont les principales menaces auxquels sont exposés les autres grands cétacés dans le nord‑-ouest de l’Atlantique, alors que l’emmêlement dans les engins de pêche et les collisions avec les navires sont des causes documentées de mortalité de baleines grises dans l’est du Pacifique (Reeves et Mitchell, 1987). La réduction de la mortalité résultant de collisions avec les navires et l’emmêlement dans les engins de pêche constitue l’élément central des efforts de rétablissement de la baleine noire du nord de l’Atlantique, qui migre entre le sud‑est des États‑Unis et l’est du Canada. Bien que l’on ait réussi à réduire les impacts de ces menaces dans une certaine mesure, cette population, qui compte environ 300 individus, ne montre aucun signe de rétablissement dans ce milieu encore menaçant, considéré comme étant généralement semblable aux conditions que les baleines grises réintroduites connaîtraient. Ces menaces ne semblent pas avoir un impact important sur la population de baleine grise de l’est du Pacifique, mais celle-ci est abondante à l’heure actuelle; même de faibles ponctions résultant de ces menaces pourraient avoir un impact important sur une petite population de baleine grise réintroduite dans l’Atlantique.

Les risques sanitaires associés à la transplantation de mammifères marins représentent manifestement une menace possible à la conservation des espèces en péril et on a recommandé à cet égard quelques meilleures pratiques (Measures 2004). Toute réintroduction nécessiterait une évaluation de la menace posée par la transplantation dans l’Atlantique de pathogènes et parasites de la baleine grise provenant d’une population donneuse et de l’incidence de ces pathogènes « nouveaux et exotiques » sur les espèces indigènes, en particulier sur celles qui sont déjà en péril, comme la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord.   

Pour ce qui est des menaces à l’habitat, on ne sait pas si les menaces aux habitats clés, en particulier les baies et les lagunes subtropicales de mise bas, pourraient être atténuées pour permettre à la baleine grise de les utiliser sans danger. Comme il l’a été indiqué ci‑dessus, ces milieux sont connaissent une utilisation récréative très intensive et un développement urbain explosif à l’heure actuelle, de sorte qu’il serait à peu de chose près impossible pour les baleines grises de mettre bas et d’élever leur baleineau. Les problèmes d’environnement que connaissent ces secteurs sont reconnus depuis de nombreuses années et des efforts sont en cours pour restaurer les milieux côtiers et littoraux dégradés qui s’y trouvent. Il faudra toutefois encore déployer de grands efforts pendant de nombreuses années pour y parvenir (Florida Department of Environmental Protection, 2004). Qui plus est, la restauration de ces habitats essentiels relève de la compétence des autorités américaines; elle ne pourrait donc pas être prescrite aux termes de la LEP.

Existence de méthodes de rétablissement efficaces

En dernier lieu, il faudra disposer de méthodes de rétablissement éprouvées pour assurer le succès de la réintroduction de cette population. La réintroduction d’une population de grandes baleines dans des eaux d’où elles ont disparu et la restauration connexe de leurs couloirs de migration (et les questions connexes « d’apprentissage écologique ») n’ont jamais été tentées ou couronnées de succès, et ne semblent pas réalisables.

Il faudrait probablement introduire plus de 100 individus matures pour assurer la reconstitution d’une population viable de baleines grises dans l’Atlantique. Des populations de moins de 250 individus matures sont considérées comme étant en voie de disparition d’après les critères d’évaluation du risque utilisés par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et l’‘Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN) (COSEPAC, 2004a). D’après les apparences, la population de baleine grise de l’ouest du Pacifique, réduite à une centaine d’individus, ne se rétablit pas, alors que la baleine noire du nord de l’Atlantique, qui ne compte que quelque 300 individus, ne montre aucun signe de rétablissement.

Il est possible de transporter un nombre limité de petites baleines (p. ex. des épaulards), et il existe un rapport documenté de la capture d’un baleineau de baleine grise à l’état vivant, de sa mise en captivité et de sa remise en liberté dans la milieu sauvage (Reeves et Mitchell, 1987), mais le transport de grandes baleines de taille adulte n’a jamais réussi. Le transport d’un individu est probablement faisable, mais il faudrait des efforts énormes (essentiellement irréalisables) pour transporter le nombre d’individus nécessaire pour établir une population reproductrice.

Même s’il était possible de transporter de nombreuses baleines, il est extrêmement douteux que les individus réintroduits puissent reconstituer le régime de migration saisonnière, long et complexe, qui semble essentiel à l’espèce dans l’est du Pacifique. La migration entre des aires subtropicales et des aires septentrionales est typique de nombreuses grandes baleines (p. ex. la baleine noire et le rorqual à bosse), mais la migration effectuée par la baleine grise de l’est du Pacifique est la plus longue opérée par un mammifère et pour que cette baleine puisse arriver au terme de son cycle biologique, il faudrait que le corridor de migration soit relié à des habitats beaucoup plus spécifiques que ceux qui servent aux   grandes baleines.

Conclusions sur la faisabilité du rétablissement

En résumé, le rétablissement de la baleine grise dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique ne semble pas réalisable, que ce soit sur le plan biologique ou sur le plan technique, à l’heure actuelle. Sur le plan biologique, la capacité des individus provenant d’une autre région d’apprendre le régime de migration complexe qui semble essentiel au succès du cycle de vie de cette espèce semble hautement douteuse. L’expérience récente montre que le rétablissement de populations décimées de grandes baleines (ne comptant plus que quelques centaines d’individus) est difficile sur le plan biologique. La faisabilité technique du transport du grand nombre de baleines requis pour la réintroduction d’une population viable n’a pas été démontrée. La faisabilité technique de la restauration des habitats côtiers requis pour la mise bas, l’accouplement et la migration nord‑sud de ce cétacé n’a pas non plus été démontrée. Quoi qu’il en soit, la restauration des habitats essentiels de mise bas et d’élevage est hors de la compétence du Canada.