Skip booklet index and go to page content

River Redhorse (Moxostoma Carinatum)

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Conservation ranks determined by the Association of Biodiversity Information are summarized in Table 1.

Table 1: Global, American and Canadian Federal, and State and Provincial Ranks Assigned by NatureServe (2002)
GlobalG4
USAN4
CanadaN2
State/ProvincialAlabama (S4), Arkansas (S4), Florida (S1S2), Georgia (S2), Illinois (S2), Indiana (S3), Iowa (S?), Kansas (S1S2), Kentucky (S4), Louisiana (S1S3), Michigan (S1), Minnesota (S?), Mississippi (S3), Missouri (S?), New York (S2?), North Carolina (S2), Ohio (S3), Oklahoma (S1S2), Pennsylvania (S3), South Carolina (S1), Tennessee (S4), Virginia (S2S3), West Virginia (S3), Wisconsin (S2S3), Ontario (S2), Quebec (S2)

 

Canada

The river redhorse and its habitat are protected by the federal Fisheries Act, through the prohibition of any activity likely to adversely impact its habitat. The river redhorse was first designated as special concern (rare) by COSEWIC in 1983 (Parker and McKee 1984). This designation was reconfirmed in 1987 (Parker 1988) and in 2006. At the national level the river redhorse is ranked N2. In Ontario, it is considered very rare (S2) and has been ranked as vulnerable by the OMNR. River redhorse is addressed in the recovery strategies for species at risk in the Ausable and Grand rivers in Ontario (Dextrase et al. 2003, Portt et al. 2003).

The river redhorse is classified as a coarse fish by the OMNR and therefore is not afforded protection by catch limits, minimum size restrictions or by spearfishing regulations (McAllister et al. 1985). The species and/or its habitat may also be protected by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, Canadian Environmental Protection Act, Federal Fisheries Act, Canada Water Act, Ontario Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act, Ontario Environmental Protection Act, Ontario Environmental Assessment Act, Ontario Planning Act, Ontario Water Resources Act, Quebec Environment Quality Act, Quebec Act respecting the conservation and development of wildlife, and Quebec Act respecting threatened or vulnerable species. A wildlife refuge had been created in the Chambly Rapids to protect the spawning grounds and period of the copper and river redhorse. A fish sanctuary has also been designated along part of the Mississippi River to protect spawning river redhorse (Ontario Fishing Regulations 1989).

In Quebec, the river redhorse is on the list of species to be designated Vulnerable. Recreational harvesting of river redhorse is allowed in the St. Lawrence River, the Ottawa River and the Gatineau River but prohibited elsewhere in its distribution. Commercial harvest is prohibited in the province (Moisan 1998).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Le tableau 1 présente un résumé des rangs de priorité attribués par l’Association of Biodiversity Information.

Tableau 1 : Rangs de priorité attribués au chevalier de rivière selon NatureServe (2002) à l’échelle du monde, des États-Unis, du Canada, des États américains et des provinces canadiennes.
MondeG4
États-UnisN4
CanadaN2
États/provincesAlabama (S4), Arkansas (S4), Floride (S1S2), Géorgie (S2), Illinois (S2), Indiana (S3), Iowa (S?), Kansas (S1S2), Kentucky (S4), Louisiane (S1S3), Michigan (S1), Minnesota (S?), Mississippi (S3), Missouri (S?), New York (S2?), Caroline du Nord (S2), Ohio (S3), Oklahoma (S1S2), Pennsylvanie (S3), Caroline du Sud (S1), Tennessee (S4), Virginie (S2S3), Virginie occidentale (S3), Wisconsin (S2S3), Ontario (S2), Québec (S2)

 

Canada

Le chevalier de rivière et ses habitats sont protégés par la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral, qui interdit toute activité susceptible de nuire à l’habitat de l’espèce. Le chevalier de rivière a d’abord été désigné espèce préoccupante (rare) par le COSEPAC en 1983 (Parker et McKee, 1984). Cette désignation a été reconfirmée en 1987 (Parker, 1988). À l’échelle nationale, le chevalier de rivière est coté N2. En Ontario, il est considéré comme très rare (S2) et a été classé comme vulnérable par le MRNO. Le chevalier de rivière est visé dans les stratégies de rétablissement des espèces en péril dans les rivières Ausable et Grand en Ontario (Dextrase et al., 2003; Portt et al., 2003).

Le chevalier de rivière est classé comme poisson commun par le MRNO; il n’est donc protégé ni par des quotas de pêche, ni par des restrictions relatives à la taille minimale, ni par la réglementation sur la pêche au harpon (McAllister et al., 1985). L’espèce et/ou ses habitats peuvent être protégés par les lois fédérales et provinciales suivantes : Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale, Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, Loi sur les pêches, Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada, Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières de l’Ontario, Loi sur la protection de l’environnement de l’Ontario, Loi sur les évaluations environnementales de l’Ontario, Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire de l’Ontario, Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario, Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement du Québec,Loi sur la conservation et la mise en valeur de la faune du Québec et Loi sur les espèces menacées et vulnérables du Québec. On a créé un refuge faunique dans les rapides de Chambly afin de protéger les frayères de même que la période de fraye des chevaliers cuivrés et des chevaliers de rivière. Un sanctuaire ichtyologique a également été créé le long d’une partie de la rivière Mississippi afin de protéger les chevaliers de rivière reproducteurs (Ontario Fishing Regulations, 1989).

Au Québec, le chevalier de rivière figure sur la liste des espèces susceptibles d’être désignées menacées ou vulnérables. La pêche sportive de ce poisson est autorisée dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent et les rivières des Outaouais et Gatineau, mais elle est interdite ailleurs dans son aire de répartition. La pêche commerciale du chevalier de rivière est interdite dans la province (Moisan, 1998).