Skip booklet index and go to page content

River Redhorse (Moxostoma Carinatum)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

River Redhorse
Moxostoma Carinatum

Species Information

The river redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum) is one of seven species of the genus Moxostoma in Canada. It is similar in appearance to the shorthead redhorse (M. macrolepidotum) and greater redhorse (M. valenciennesi). It can be distinguished from other redhorse sucker species by its moderate-sized head, entirely plicate lips, and caudal peduncle scale count.

Distribution

The river redhorse is found throughout the central and eastern Mississippi River system and the Gulf Slope from Florida to Louisiana. Several disjunct populations of river redhorse are found in southcentral Ontario and southern Quebec. Since the previous status report, river redhorse populations have been reconfirmed at some historical locations. New populations have been identified in Ontario and Quebec.

Habitat

In Canada, the river redhorse has been captured in both river and lake environments. However, its persistence is dependent on access to suitable riverine spawning habitat: moderate to swift current, riffle-run habitat and clean coarse substrates. Outside of the spawning period, reduced abundance in these habitats suggests that deeper run/pool habitats are used during other periods of the year. In the Richelieu River, young-of-the-year are found along vegetated shores where average depth is 1.5 m (maximum ≤ 3.0 m), the bank slope is shallow (≤ 20º) and the substrate is fine (silt, clay and sand).

Biology

The river redhorse is a late-maturing, long-lived species that requires large interconnected riverine habitat to fulfill the need of all life-stages. Generally, mature specimens are greater than 500 mm TL, and can exceed 700 mm TL. The maximum age reported for river redhorse in Canada is 28 years. Spawning occurs during late spring in areas with fast-flowing water and gravel or cobble substrate. Except for the few Quebec rivers supporting copper redhorse (M. hubbsi), the river redhorse is the last of the Moxostoma species to spawn. River redhorse feed primarily on benthic invertebrates including molluscs, insect larvae and crayfishes.

Population Sizes and Trends

Given the lack of baseline data, population size trends cannot be addressed directly. Populations in the Mississippi River, Ottawa River, and the Richelieu River identified in the last status update are still present. In some watersheds, the species has likely disappeared (Châteauguay and Yamaska) or suffered substantial declines (St. Lawrence River). Population sizes for the Gatineau River and Mississippi River have been estimated. However, low numbers of recaptured fish and violations of model assumptions (e.g. high immigration rates) indicate that these estimates have a high degree of error. Identification of population trends would benefit from continued standardized sampling.

Limiting Factors and Threats

Tolerance for a narrow range of habitat characteristics and a limited amount of suitable habitat restrict the distribution of river redhorse. It is an inhabitant of medium- to large-sized rivers and intolerant of high turbidity levels, siltation, and pollution. Rivers supporting river redhorse are generally fragmented by hydroelectric, navigational and flood control dams. Dams can adversely affect populations by altering upstream and downstream habitat conditions, restricting the movements of individual fish, and limiting gene flow between populations. Due to restrictive spawning habitat (water depth and substrate) preferences, river redhorse recruitment is vulnerable to changes in the flow regime and siltation of spawning habitats.

Special Significance of the Species

River redhorse was historically a food source for native people and first European settlers and a species of minor commercial importance near Montreal. This fishery no longer exists. It is one of the few freshwater fishes that feed extensively on molluscs, thereby performing a unique ecological function.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

The river redhorse was first designated as Special Concern (Rare) by COSEWIC in 1983 and was reconfirmed as such in 1987 and 2006. In Ontario, it has been ranked as Special Concern by the OMNR. The river redhorse will be designated Vulnerable in Quebec.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Chevalier de rivière
Moxostoma carinatum

Information sur l’espèce

Le chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum) est l’une des sept espèces du genre Moxostoma au Canada. Il ressemble au chevalier rouge (M. macrolepidotum) et au chevalier jaune (M. valenciennesi). Il se distingue des autres espèces de chevaliers par sa tête de taille moyenne, ses lèvres entièrement plissées et le nombre d’écailles sur le pédoncule caudal.

Répartition

Le chevalier de rivière est répandu dans tout le centre et l’est du réseau du Mississippi et dans le versant du golfe, de la Floride à la Louisiane. On trouve plusieurs populations isolées de chevaliers de rivière dans le centre-sud de l’Ontario et le sud du Québec. Depuis la parution du rapport de situation précédent, des mentions historiques de populations de chevaliers de rivière ont été reconfirmées. De nouvelles populations ont été recensées en Ontario et au Québec.

Habitat

Au Canada, des chevaliers de rivièreont été capturés dans des cours d’eau et des lacs. Cependant, leur survie dépend de l’accès à des habitats fluviaux propices à la fraye : courant modéré ou rapide, radiers et plats, et substrats grossiers et propres. L’abondance réduite des chevaliers de rivièredans ces habitats en dehors de la période de fraye laisse croire qu’ils fréquentent des fosses et des radiers plus profonds pendant le reste de l’année. Dans la rivière Richelieu, on trouve des jeunes de l’année le long des rives couvertes de végétation, là où la profondeur moyenne est de 1,5 m (maximum ≤ 3,0 m), la pente des berges est faible (≤ 20º) et le substrat est fin (limon, argile et sable).

Biologie

Le chevalier de rivièreest une espèce à maturation tardive qui vit longtemps et qui requiert un vaste réseau d’habitats de rivière interconnectés, nécessaire pour subvenir aux besoins de tous les stades biologiques. En général, les spécimens matures ont une longueur totale (LT) supérieure à 500 mm et peuvent même dépasser les 700 mm. Au Canada, l’âge maximal enregistré pour un chevalier de rivièreest de 28 ans. La fraye a lieu à la fin du printemps, dans des zones à courant rapide où le substrat est constitué de gravier ou de galets. Le chevalier de rivière est l’espèce du genre Moxostoma qui fraye le plus tard dans la saison, sauf dans quelques rivières du Québec, où le chevalier cuivré (M. hubbsi) fraye après lui. Le chevalier de rivièrese nourrit surtout d’invertébrés benthiques, notamment de mollusques, de larves d’insectes et d’écrevisses.

Taille et tendances des populations

Faute de données de référence, on ne peut établir directement les tendances de la taille des populations. Dans les rivières Mississippi, des Outaouais et Richelieu, les populations recensées dans la dernière mise à jour du rapport sont toujours présentes. L’espèce a probablement disparu de certains bassins hydrographiques (rivières Châteauguay et Yamaska) ou connu d’importants déclins (fleuve Saint-Laurent). On a estimé la taille des populations dans les rivières Gatineau et Mississippi. Toutefois, le nombre peu élevé de poissons recapturés et le non respect de certaines conditions d’application des modèles (p. ex. forts taux d’immigration) laissent croire que ces estimations présentent un risque d’erreur élevé. Un échantillonnage standardisé continu pourrait permettre de mieux cerner les tendances à long terme des populations.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

L’aire de répartition du chevalier de rivièreest restreinte par sa tolérance à une gamme limitée d’habitats et par la rareté des habitats de qualité. L’espèce habite les cours d’eau de taille moyenne et grande et ne tolère pas les niveaux élevés de turbidité, d’envasement et de pollution. Les cours d’eau abritant des chevaliers de rivièresont généralement fragmentés par des barrages hydroélectriques, des écluses et des ouvrages de contrôle des crues. Les barrages peuvent nuire aux populations de poissons en altérant les habitats en amont et en aval, en restreignant les déplacements des poissons et en limitant le flux génétique entre populations. À cause de ses exigences en matière d’habitat de fraye (profondeur de l’eau et substrat), le recrutement des chevaliers de rivièreest vulnérable aux changements de débit et à l’envasement des frayères.

Importance de l’espèce

Le chevalier de rivièreétait autrefois une source d’alimentation pour les peuples autochtones et les premiers colons européens, et une espèce d’importance commerciale mineure près de Montréal. La pêche du chevalier de rivière n’existe plus. L’espèce est l’un des rares poissons d’eau douce qui consomme d’importantes quantités de mollusques, remplissant ainsi une fonction écologique unique. 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Le chevalier de rivière a d’abord été désigné espèce préoccupante (rare) par le COSEPAC en 1983; il a été reconfirmé à ce titre en 1987. En Ontario, il a été classé dans la catégorie des espèces préoccupantes par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Le chevalier de rivièrefigure sur la liste des espèces susceptibles d’être désignées menacées ou vulnérables au Québec.