Skip booklet index and go to page content

River Redhorse (Moxostoma Carinatum)

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
River Redhorse
Moxostoma carinatum
in Canada
2006

Species Information

Name and Classification

Class:
Osteichthyes
Subclass:
Actinopterygii (ray-finned fishes)
Order:
Cypriniformes
Family:
Catostomidae
Scientific name:
Moxostoma carinatum (Cope, 1870)
English common name:
river redhorse
French common name:
chevalier de rivière


The river redhorse is a large catostomid (sucker) of the genus Moxostoma (Figure 1). Due to similarities in appearance among Moxostoma species that result in identification difficulties and previous confusion in nomenclature, this genus has been considered one of the most troublesome groups of freshwater fishes (Scott and Crossman 1973). It was formerly recognized as being in a separate genus, Placopharynx, due to its large molariform pharyngeal teeth and associated trophic adaptations. It has since been synonymized with Moxostoma, partially due to the larger pharyngeal arch and teeth observed in copper redhorse (Moxostoma hubbsi) (Jenkins and Burkhead 1993; Stagliano 2001). Although similar to members of the Catostomus genus, species of Moxostoma are generally larger, more laterally compressed and possess a three-chambered swim bladder (Scott and Crossman 1973; Parker 1988).

Figure 1: The River Redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum)

Figure 1: The river redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum).

The river redhorse is referred to by a variety of common names including redhorse sucker, river mullet, greater redhorse, redfin redhorse, pavement-toothed redhorse, and big-sawed sucker (Scott and Crossman 1973; Becker 1983; Stagliano 2001). Until recently, the official French name for the river redhorse was “suceur ballot”. In February 1998, this name was replaced with “chevalier de rivière” (Branchaud et al. 1998).


Morphological Description

Parker (1988) provided a description of the river redhorse in the previous updated status report. Jenkins (1970), Scott and Crossman (1973) and Jenkins and Burkhead (1993) have also described this species in detail. The dorsum of the river redhorse is brown or olive-green, with sides brassy, yellowish-green or coppery and undersides white. Crescent-shaped dark spots are present on each dorso-lateral scale. Scale counts for the river redhorse are usually 12 around the caudal peduncle and between 42 and 47 scales along the lateral line. The caudal and dorsal fins are crimson in colour, while the lower fins are orange to reddish. The lips of the river redhorse are deeply plicate with transverse ridges and papillae (bumps) absent. The lower lip is broader than the upper lip with a virtually straight posterior margin (sometimes scallop-shaped). The dorsal fin is straight or slightly concave in shape. The caudal fin is forked, with the upper lobe usually longer and more pointed than the lower lobe.

The river redhorse is similar in external appearance to all redhorse species but particularly to the shorthead redhorse (M. macrolepidotum) and greater redhorse (M. valenciennesi). Each of these species exhibits red-tinted fins, large scales, subterminal mouth, complete lateral lines (38-48 scales), a single dorsal fin (11–17 rays), and lack buccal teeth.

The primary feature distinguishing the river redhorse from other Moxostoma is the heavy pharyngeal arch bearing molariform teeth (Jenkins and Burkhead 1993). The only sympatric species with a heavier pharyngeal arch and teeth is the copper redhorse while the other Canadian species (M. anisurum, M. macrolepidotum, M. valenciennesi, M. erythrurum and M. duquesnei) have a pharyngeal arch with comblike teeth (Eastman 1977, Jenkins 1970, Jenkins and Burkhead 1993, Mongeau et al. 1986).

Adult river redhorse are sometimes confused with the greater redhorse but can be easily distinguished by caudal peduncle scale count (greater redhorse: 15-16 scales). However, most of the misidentification occurs between the river redhorse and the shorthead redhorse. Both species have the same caudal peduncle scale counts (12). Shorthead redhorse has a thinner head, transverse ridges across the plicae (folds) of the lower lip and a falcate dorsal fin (Mongeau 1984).

Nuptial males are adorned with tubercles on the snout and anal and caudal fins (Scott and Crossman 1973; Trautman 1981; Becker 1983; Jenkins and Burkhead 1993; Reid 2003). The scales of nuptial males are thick and rough during the spawning period (Reid 2003). As well, breeding males usually exhibit a midlateral, dark stripe extending from the snout to above the anal region (Hackney et al. 1967; Jenkins 1970; Becker 1983). A thickening of the epidermis on the lower area of the caudal peduncle has been observed in breeding females as well as tubercle formation on the anal fin (Scott and Crossman 1973; Becker 1983). Both sexes in breeding condition exhibit intensification of body and fin colouration (Hackney et al. 1967; Jenkins 1970).


Genetic Description

Canadian populations are found within the Great Lakes-Western St.Lawrenceecozone of the freshwater ecozone classification adopted by COSEWIC. Population structure is unknown; however, one of the authors (SR) is currently conducting an examination of the genetic structure of river redhorse in the Grand River and Trent River.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Chevalier de rivière
Moxostoma carinatum
au Canada
2006

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Classe :
Ostéichthyens
Sous-classe :
Actinoptérygiens (poissons à nageoires rayonnées)
Ordre :
Cypriniformes
Famille :
Catostomidés
Nom scientifique :
Moxostoma carinatum (Cope, 1870)
Nom commun français :
chevalier de rivière
Nom commun anglais :
river redhorse


Le chevalier de rivière est un catostomidé de grande taille du genre Moxostoma (figure 1). Les similitudes entre les espèces du genre Moxostoma sont à l’origine des difficultés d’identification et de la confusion passée dans la nomenclature; ce genre est considéré comme l’un des groupes les plus difficiles à classer parmi les poissons d’eau douce (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Par le passé, on l’a reconnu comme étant un genre distinct, le Placopharynx, à cause des grandes dents pharyngiennes molariformes et des adaptations trophiques qui leurs sont associées. On a depuis établi que Placopharynx était synonyme de Moxostoma, en partie à cause de l’arc pharyngien et des dents plus robustes observés chez le chevalier cuivré (Moxostoma hubbsi) (Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993; Stagliano, 2001). Même s’ils sont semblables aux membres du genre Catostomus, les espèces du genre Moxostoma sont généralement de plus grande taille et plus comprimées latéralement, et elles ont une vessie gazeuse à trois chambres (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Parker 1988).

Figure 1 : Le chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Figure 1 : Le chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum).

Le chevalier de rivière est désigné par divers noms communs, y compris suceur ballot, carpe ballot, moxostome ballot et ballot (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Becker, 1983; Stagliano, 2001). Jusqu’à récemment, le nom officiel en français du chevalier de rivière était « suceur ballot ». En février 1998, ce nom a été remplacé par « chevalier de rivière » (Branchaud et al., 1998).


Description morphologique

Parker (1988) a fait une description du chevalier de rivière dans la mise à jour du rapport de situation précédent. Jenkins (1970), Scott et Crossman (1973) ainsi que Jenkins et Burkhead (1993) ont également décrit cette espèce en détail. La face dorsale du chevalier de rivière est brune ou vert olive, alors que les flancs sont de couleur laiton, cuivre ou vert jaunâtre, et la face ventrale est blanche. On trouve des points foncés en forme de croissant sur chaque écaille dorso-latérale. Le nombre d’écailles duchevalier de rivière est habituellement de 12 autour du pédoncule caudal et de 42 à 47 le long de la ligne latérale. Les nageoires caudale et dorsale sont de couleur rouge vif, alors que les nageoires inférieures sont oranges à rougeâtres. Les lèvres du chevalier de rivière sont profondément plissées, et il n’a pas de stries transversales ni de papilles (bosses). La lèvre inférieure est plus large que la lèvre supérieure avec une marge postérieure presque droite (parfois en forme de coquille Saint-Jacques). La nageoire dorsale est droite ou légèrement concave. La nageoire caudale est fourchue, le lobe supérieur est habituellement plus long et plus pointu que le lobe inférieur.

Du point de vue de l’apparence extérieure, le chevalier de rivière ressemble à toutes les espèces de chevaliers, mais plus particulièrement au chevalier rouge (M. macrolepidotum) et au chevalier jaune (M. valenciennesi). Toutes ces espèces sont dotées de nageoires teintées de rouge, de grandes écailles, d’une bouche subterminale, d’une ligne latérale complète (de 38à 48 écailles) et d’une seule nageoire dorsale (de 11 à 17 rayons); elles sont caractérisées par l’absence de dents buccales.

Le principal caractère qui distingue le chevalier de rivière des autres membres du genre Moxostoma est l’arc pharyngien massif qui porte des dents molariformes (Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993). La seule espèce sympatrique dotée d’un arc pharyngien plus robuste est le chevalier cuivré. Les autres espèces canadiennes (M. anisurum, M. macrolepidotum, M. valenciennesi, M. erythrurum et M. duquesnei) ont un arc pharyngien portant des dents en forme de peigne (Eastman, 1977; Jenkins, 1970; Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993; Mongeau et al., 1986).

On peut parfois confondre le chevalier de rivière adulte avec le chevalier jaune; mais il est facile de les distinguer en comptant les écailles du pédoncule caudal (chevalier jaune : 15 ou 16 écailles). Cependant, la plupart des erreurs d’identification mettent en cause le chevalier de rivière et le chevalier rouge. Les deux espèces présentent le même nombre d’écailles sur le pédoncule caudal (12). Par contre, le chevalier rouge a une tête plus mince, des stries transversales à travers les plis de la lèvre inférieure et une nageoire dorsale falciforme (Mongeau, 1984).

Les mâles en parure nuptiale portent des tubercules sur le museau et sur les nageoires anale et caudale (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Trautman, 1981; Becker, 1983; Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993; Reid, 2003). Les écailles des mâles sont épaisses et rugueuses pendant la période de fraye (Reid, 2003). En outre, les mâles reproducteurs arborent habituellement une bande foncée milatérale qui s’étend du museau jusqu’au-dessus de la région anale (Hackney et al., 1967; Jenkins, 1970; Becker, 1983). On a observé chez les femelles reproductrices un épaississement de l’épiderme de la partie inférieure du pédoncule caudal ainsi que la formation de tubercules sur la nageoire anale (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Becker, 1983). Dans les conditions de reproduction, les individus des deux sexes manifestent une intensification de la coloration du corps et des nageoires (Hackney et al., 1967; Jenkins, 1970).


Description génétique

Au Canada, les populations canadiennes occupent l’écozone des Grands Lacs et de l’ouest du Saint-Laurent, selon la classification des écozones d’eau douce adoptée par le COSEPAC. La structure de la population à l’intérieur de cette écozone est inconnue; toutefois, un des rédacteurs (SR) procède actuellement à un examen de la structure génétique des chevaliers de rivière dans les rivières Grand et Trent.