Skip booklet index and go to page content

River Redhorse (Moxostoma Carinatum)

Distribution

Global Range

The river redhorse is found throughout the central and eastern Mississippi River system and the Gulf Slope from Florida to Louisiana. Its range extends north into the Great Lakes basin and St. Lawrence River (Figure 2). It is known from 24 states and from the provinces of Quebec and Ontario. The river redhorse has markedly declined throughout much of its range within the past century (Becker 1983; Trautman 1981). River redhorse populations appear concentrated in the centre of its distributional range, primarily in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, and Tennessee. Peripheral to this area, occurrences dramatically decrease. Trautman (1981) suggested it is likely more abundant as it is usually missed by seine hauls, and its presence is often unsuspected until revealed by accidental fish kills. Boat-electrofishing surveys have resulted in new site records in Ohio (Yoder and Beaumier 1986) and Illinois rivers (Retzer and Kowalik 2002).


Figure 2: North American Distribution of the River Redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum)

Figure 2: North American distribution of the river redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum).


Canadian Range

Several disjunct populations of river redhorse are found in southcentral Ontario and southern Quebec (Figure 3). Parker (1988) summarized the distribution of the river redhorse in the previous status report. In Ontario, prior to 1988, specimens were collected from the Mississippi, Ausable, and Ottawa rivers. In Quebec, river redhorse were reported from the Châteauguay, Richelieu, Yamaska, and Saint-François basins and in the Ottawa and St. Lawrence rivers. Since the previous status report, river redhorse populations have been reconfirmed at most historical locations. Several new locations have also been identified in Ontario and Quebec. As in the United States, recent boat electrofishing surveys have improved distributional information.


Figure 3: Canadian Distribution of the River Redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum)

Figure 3: Canadian distribution of the river redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum).

Abbreviations for individual waterbodies: Au: Ausable River; BQ: Bay of Quinte; Gr: Grand River; Ma: Madawaska River; Mi: Mississippi River; No: Noire River; Ot: Ottawa River; Ri: Richelieu River; Th: Thames River: Tr: Trent River; and Ya: Yamaska River.

In the Lake St. Clair drainage, two river redhorse (juvenile and adult) were collected from the lower Thames River, upstream of the Big Bend Conservation Area, in September 2003 (J. Barnucz, DFO pers. comm.). This is the first record of river redhorse in the Thames River.

In the Lake Erie watershed, river redhorse was first reported in the Grand River in 1998. Specimens were collected from the Dunnville area [ROM 70398], and from Cayuga [ROM 71654]. In 2002 and 2003, river redhorse were captured at Caledonia, Cayuga, York and Dunnville (S. Reid, unpubl. data). Archaeological excavations in northern Ohio have recovered river redhorse remains from midden and garbage pit sites (AD 750-1650), suggesting that this species has long been part of the Lake Erie basin fish community (Cavender 1989).

In the Lake Ontario watershed, river redhorse have been collected from the Bay of Quinte and the Trent River. In 1997, the first record of river redhorse in Lake Ontario was identified [ROM 71102]. Additional sampling in 1997 recovered one specimen from the Bay of Quinte area of Lake Ontario and nearshore community index netting (NSCIN) in 2001 captured two more river redhorse (Jim Hoyle, OMNR pers.comm). In 1997, river redhorse were collected for the first time in the lower Trent River, Ontario [ROM 71170]. Since 1998, river redhorse have been collected along a 50-km stretch of the Trent River from Trenton upstream to the Hagues Reach hydroelectric generating station. Suitable spawning habitat is present along the lower reaches of the Moira, Salmon, and Napanee rivers (tributaries of the Bay of Quinte); however, no spring sampling has been undertaken to evaluate its use.

Recent data suggest that river redhorse are more widely distributed in the Ottawa River watershed than previously reported (Scott and Crossman 1973; Parker 1988). Along the Ottawa River, the river redhorse is present from Sheenboro to Montebello (Chabot and Caron 1996). NSCIN of Lac des Chats (Ottawa River) in 1997 and 1998 collected 29 and 31 river redhorse, respectively (T. Haxton, pers. comm; Haxton 1999). NSCIN in Lac des Allumettes (Ottawa River) in 1997 and 1998 captured 11 and three specimens, respectively (T. Haxton, OMNR pers comm). NSCIN in 1999 captured three specimens in the Lower Allumettes (Ottawa River) (Haxton 2000a), and 13 specimens in Lac Coulonge (Ottawa River (Haxton, 2000b). One river redhorse was collected during NSCIN in the Lac du Rocher Fendu (Ottawa River) (Haxton 1998). Fall Walleye Index Netting (FWIN) performed in Holden Lake (Ottawa River) in 1998 captured 10 river redhorse. The reported captures from Holden Lake are of particular interest as this lake is situated upstream of the Rapides-des-Joachims, on the Ottawa River. It was previously presumed that no river redhorse populations were present above the rapids (Chabot and Caron 1996). Voucher specimens are required to confirm the presence of river redhorse in this stretch of the Ottawa River.

Sampling conducted from 1998 to 2002, along a 36-km stretch of the Mississippi River from downstream of Galetta to Almonte confirmed the persistence of river redhorse populations (Campbell 2001; Reid, unpubl. data). In 1992, one river redhorse specimen was collected from the Madawaska River, near Calabogie [ROM 66165]. Since this initial collection, nine were captured by OMNR in 1998 NSCIN in the locality of Arnprior downstream to the confluence with the Ottawa River. Boat-electrofishing in the fall of 2001 and 2002 resulted in the capture of seven and six river redhorse respectively (Reid, unpubl. data). Over 100 river redhorse were purportedly collected during NSCIN on Calabogie Lake in 1998. Several reports identify river redhorse in the Bonnechere River (Campbell 2001; Dextrase et al. 2003); however, although there are no barriers to migration between the Ottawa River and the First Chute on the Bonnechere River, this has not been confirmed (J. Cote, OMNR pers. comm.). OMNR fish community sampling captured two specimens in 1995, and five in 1998 from the Upper St. Lawrence River (Lake St. Francis).

Recent backpack and boat-electrofishing sampling has been unsuccessful in confirming the persistence of river redhorse in the Ausable River (N.E. Mandrak unpubl. data). Two river redhorse were collected from the Ausable River in 1936 at Ailsa Craig [ROM 1055CS and ROM 28250]. Sampling efforts in the vicinity of Ailsa Craig in August 2002 failed to capture any river redhorse. Parker (1988) suggested that the continued existence of this species in the Ausable River was in doubt due to a lack of suitable habitat. No other river redhorse populations have been reported in the Lake Huron drainage.

Several Ontario records of capture were not included in the previous status report. Voucher specimens are not available for the following river redhorse reports outside its known range. Additional sampling is required to confirm the existence of these populations. A single specimen was reported as collected from Lake Simcoe in 1978 during a Fall Trapnetting program conducted by the Lake Simcoe Fisheries Assessment Unit (OMNR). In 1989, a single river redhorse was reported as collected from Rice Lake, part of the Trent-Severn Waterway, during an Index Netting program (OMNR). Additional OMNR fish community sampling projects purportedly captured 24 river redhorse from Echo Lake in 1998 and over 100 in Christie Lake in 1993 (OMNR). In addition to these records, collections of larval river redhorse have been reported from several locations along the Lake Huron-Lake Erie corridor (Chenal Ecarte, Chematogan Channel, Whitebread Ditch, Dover Canal) (Leslie and Timmins 1991, 1998a) and from the western end of Lake Erie (Leslie and Timmins 1998b). However, substantial overlap in meristic variables among redhorse species and intraspecific variation in pigmentation (Bunt and Cooke 2004) prevent reliable larval identification (Kay et al. 1994). Therefore, larval river redhorse records are considered unconfirmed.

The first Quebec record of the river redhorse was captured in 1941, at the confluence of the Châteauguay River and Lac Saint-Louis (Quebec) by Vladykov (1941, 1942). In Quebec, it has been found in the St. Lawrence River corridor from the Les Cèdres rapid sector upstream of Lac Saint-Louis to Saint-Nicolas, near Québec City, as well as in the Châteauguay, Richelieu, Saint-François, Des Prairies, Des Mille Iles, and Yamaska rivers (Moisan 1998; Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec unpubl. data). Archaeological excavations suggest that the species was present along the St. Lawrence River at Pointe du Buisson, upstream of Lac Saint-Louis (920-940 AD; Courtemanche 2003), Laprairie (end of the XVIIth Century and beginning of the XVIIIth); and Wirtele Inn (Old Montréal, beginning of the XIXth Century; (M. Courtemanche, Ostéothèque de Montréal, pers. comm.). Bones of river redhorse were also identified in food remains along the Richelieu River at Mandeville site (1450-1550 AD; Chapdelaine 1989), and at Fort Chambly (Richelieu River, 1665-1760; Walker and Cumbaa 1982).

Inventories of the Yamaska River and its tributary the Noire River conducted since the previous status review have not collected river redhorse (Boulet et al. 1995; Moisan 1998; La Violette 1999). Also, it has not been reported in the Châteauguay basin since 1963 (Couture 1972) despite extensive sampling effort (Mongeau et al. 1979; La Violette and Richard 1996). All three rivers were sampled intensively with boat-electrofishing units.

According to Vladykov (1942) and Cuerrier et al. (1946), river redhorse was relatively common in the Lac Saint-Louis, Bassin de Laprairie and Lac Saint-Pierre commercial catch in the 1940s. It was rare in the fluvial corridor between Lac Saint-Pierre and Québec City. Despite extensive fishing effort within the St. Lawrence lowlands fish survey (Mongeau et al. 1986) and the Réseau de suivi ichtyologique du Saint-Laurent (La Violette et al. 2003; Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, unpubl. data) since the 1970s, only two river redhorse have been identified from St. Lawrence River. Individual specimens were collected at Lac Saint-Louis about 10 km downstream of Montréal in 1984 (Moisan 1998) and in April 2004 (R. Dumas, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, pers. comm.). There are no reports of this redhorse in the experimental weir fishery of the Aquarium du Québec (Québec City) since the beginning of its operation in 1960 (Robitaille et al. 1987; Y. de Lafontaine, Environment Canada, pers. comm.). Today, in Quebec, the river redhorse persists in the Richelieu River (from Chambly dam to the confluence with the St. Lawrence River) and in the Ottawa River. Additionally, spawning-ready river redhorse have been recently collected from the Gatineau River, at its confluence with the Ottawa River (Campbell 2001).

In the Richelieu River, between 1990 and 2004, more than 200 subadult and adult river redhorse were reported during ichthyological surveys and scientific studies on the spawning activities of five Moxostoma species (LaHaye et al. 1993; Boulet et al. 1995; Saint-Jacques 1995; Boulet et al. 1996; Dumont et al. 1997; LaHaye and Clermont 1997; Boulet and Simoneau 1999). Most were collected downstream of the Chambly and Saint-Ours dams. During the preliminary studies of the Vianney-Legendre Fish Ladder (Saint-Ours dam), 46 river redhorse were caught in the trap at the outlet of the ladder in 2002, 555 in 2003 and 104 in 2004 (Fleury and Desrochers 2003, 2004). Fall seine sampling in the Saint-Marc region of the Richelieu captured 14 young-of-year (YOY) in 1997, one in 1998, 14 in 1999 and 112 in 2001 (Vachon 1999a, 1999b, 2002). In 1998, a large reproducing population of river redhorse was identified in the Gatineau River. Fall boat-electrofishing from Alonzo-Wright bridge to the confluence with the Ottawa River (~5 km) resulted in the capture of 99 river redhorse. In the spring of 1999, over 200 river redhorse were captured (Campbell 2001).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le chevalier de rivière vit dans tout le centre et l’est du réseau du Mississippi et dans le versant du golfe, de la Floride à la Louisiane. Son aire de répartition s’étend vers le nord jusqu’au bassin des Grands Lacs et au fleuve Saint-Laurent (figure 2). Il est observé dans 24 États et dans les provinces du Québec et de l’Ontario. Les populations de chevaliers de rivière ont subi un déclin marqué dans toute l’aire de répartition au cours du siècle dernier (Becker, 1983; Trautman, 1981). Les populations de chevaliers de rivière semblent concentrées dans le centre de l’aire de répartition, surtout dans les États de l’Alabama, de l’Arkansas, du Kentucky et du Tennessee. Hors de cette région, il est beaucoup plus rare. Selon Trautman (1981), il est probable que les chevaliers de rivière sont plus abondants dans ces États, car ils échappent habituellement à la pêche à la seine. De plus, on ne soupçonne souvent pas sa présence jusqu’à ce qu’elle se révèle lors d’une mortalité massive de poissons. Des échantillonnages effectués à la pêche électrique en embarcation ont permis de répertorier de nouveaux sites dans les rivières Ohio (Yoder et Beaumier, 1986) et Illinois (Retzer et Kowalik, 2002).


Figure 2 : Aire de répartition nord-américaine du chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Figure 2. Aire de répartition nord-américaine du chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum).


Aire de répartition canadienne

On trouve plusieurs populations isolées de chevaliers de rivière dans le centre-sud de l’Ontario et dans le sud du Québec (figure 3). Parker (1988) a résumé l’aire de répartition du chevalier de rivière dans le rapport de situation précédent. En Ontario, avant 1988, des spécimens étaient capturés dans les rivières Mississippi, Ausable et des Outaouais. Au Québec, le chevalier de rivière a été signalé dans les bassins des rivières Châteauguay, Richelieu, Yamaska, Saint-François et des Outaouais ainsi que dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Depuis le dernier rapport de situation, la plupart des mentions historiques de populations de chevaliers de rivière ont été reconfirmées. On a également trouvé plusieurs nouveaux sites en Ontario et au Québec. Pour ce qui est des États-Unis, de récentes enquêtes effectuées à la pêche électrique en embarcation ont amélioré nos connaissances sur l’aire de répartition.


Figure 3 : Aire de répartition canadienne du chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Figure 3 : Aire de répartition canadienne du chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum).

Abréviations des cours d’eau : Au = rivière Ausable; BQ = baie de Quinte; Gr = rivière Grand; Ma = rivière Madawaska; Mi = rivière Mississippi; No = rivière Noire; Ot = rivière des Outaouais; Ri = rivière Richelieu; Th = rivière Thames: Tr = rivière Trent; Ya = rivière Yamaska.

Dans le bassin hydrographique du lac Sainte-Claire, on a capturé deux chevaliers de rivière (un juvénile et un adulte) dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Thames, en amont de l’aire de conservation Big Bend, en septembre 2003 (J. Barnucz, MPO, comm. pers.). Il s’agit de la première mention du chevalier de rivière dans ce cours d’eau.

Dans le bassin hydrographique du lac Érié, on a signalé pour la première fois le chevalier de rivière dans la rivière Grand en 1998. Des spécimens ont été prélevés dans les régions de Dunnville (ROM 70398) et de Cayuga (ROM 71654). En 2002 et en 2003, on a capturé des chevaliers de rivière à Caledonia, Cayuga, York et Dunnville (S. Reid, données inédites). Dans le nord de l’Ohio, des fouilles archéologiques dans des tertres et des fosses à déchets (de 750 à 1650 de notre ère) ont permis de récupérer des restes de chevaliers de rivière, ce qui laisse croire que cette espèce fait depuis longtemps partie de la communauté de poissons du bassin du lac Érié (Cavender, 1989).

Dans le bassin hydrographique du lac Ontario, des chevaliers de rivière ont été capturés dans la baie de Quinte et dans la rivière Trent. La première mention du chevalier de rivière dans le lac Ontario date de 1997 (ROM 71102). D’autres échantillonnages en 1997 ont permis de récupérer un spécimen dans la région de la baie de Quinte du lac Ontario, alors que le suivi des communautés de poisson à l’aide de pêches expérimentales (NSCIN) de 2001 a permis d’en capturer deux autres (Jim Hoyle, MRNO, comm. pers.). En 1997, on a capturé pour la première fois des chevaliers de rivière dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Trent (Ontario) (ROM 71170). Depuis 1998, on a capturé des chevaliers de rivière dans un tronçon de 50 km le long de la rivière Trent, à partir de Trenton jusqu’au barrage hydroélectrique de Hagues Reach. Des frayères de qualité existent le long des tronçons inférieurs des rivières Moira, Salmon et Napanee (affluents de la baie de Quinte); cependant, aucun échantillonnage de printemps n’a été effectué pour évaluer l’utilisation qui en est faite.

Selon des données récentes, les chevaliers de rivière seraient plus largement répartis dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière des Outaouais qu’on ne l’avait signalé auparavant (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Parker, 1988). Le long de la rivière des Outaouais, le chevalier de rivière est présent de Sheenboro à Montebello (Chabot et Caron, 1996). En 1997 et en 1998, le NSCIN menée dans le lac des Chats (rivière des Outaouais) a permis de capturer respectivement 29 et 31 chevaliers de rivière (T. Haxton, comm. pers.; Haxton, 1999). En 1997 et en 1998, le NSCIN dans le lac des Allumettes (rivière des Outaouais) a permis de capturer respectivement 11 et 3 spécimens (T. Haxton, MRNO, comm. pers.). En 1999, la NSCIN a permis de capturer 3 spécimens dans la partie inférieure du lac des Allumettes (rivière des Outaouais) (Haxton, 2000a) et 13 spécimens dans le lac Coulonge (rivière des Outaouais) (Haxton, 2000b). Un chevalier de rivière a été recueilli au cours du NSCIN réalisée dans le lac du Rocher Fendu (rivière des Outaouais) (Haxton, 1998). L’inventaire d’automne du doré au filet expérimental (FWIN), effectué dans le lac Holden (rivière des Outaouais) en 1998, a permis de capturer 10 chevaliers de rivière. Les captures signalées au lac Holden présentent un intérêt particulier parce que ce lac est situé en amont des Rapides-des-Joachims, dans la rivière des Outaouais. On avait supposé précédemment qu’il n’y avait pas de populations de chevaliers de rivière en amont des rapides (Chabot et Caron, 1996). La capture d’autres spécimens est nécessaire pour documenter et confirmer la présence du chevalier de rivière dans cette partie de la rivière des Outaouais.

   Les échantillonnages effectués de 1998 à 2002 le long d’un tronçon de 36 km de la Mississippi, à partir de l’aval de Galetta jusqu’à Almonte, ont confirmé la persistance des populations de chevaliers de rivière (Campbell, 2001; Reid, données inédites). En 1992, on a capturé un individu dans la rivière Madawaska, près de Calabogie (ROM 66165). Après cette première capture, le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO) a recueilli 9 spécimens dans le cadre du NSCIN de 1998 dans la localité d’Arnprior, en aval du confluent avec la rivière des Outaouais. Aux automnes 2001 et 2002, respectivement 7 et 6 chevaliers de rivière ont été capturés à la pêche électrique en embarcation (Reid, données inédites). En 1998, on aurait fait la capture d’une centaine de chevaliers de rivière au cours du NSCIN dans le lac Calabogie. Dans plusieurs rapports, on fait mention du chevalier de rivière dans la rivière Bonnechere (Campbell, 2001; Dextrase et al., 2003); toutefois, même s’il n’y a pas d’obstacles à la migration entre la rivière des Outaouais et la première chute de la rivière Bonnechere, la présence du chevalier de rivière dans cette rivière n’a pas été confirmée (J. Cote, MRNO, comm. pers.). L’échantillonnage des communautés de poissons effectué par le MRNO a permis de prélever 2 spécimens en 1995 et 5 autres en 1998 dans le cours supérieur du fleuve Saint-Laurent (lac Saint-François).

Un échantillonnage récent à la pêche électrique, effectué à pied et en bateau, n’a pas confirmé la persistance du chevalier de rivière dans la rivière Ausable (N.E. Mandrak, données inédites). Deux chevaliers de rivière ont été pêchés dans la rivière Ausable en 1936, à Ailsa Craig (ROM 1055CS et ROM 28250). Les efforts d’échantillonnage à proximité d’Ailsa Craig réalisés en août 2002 n’ont pas conduit à la capture de chevalier de rivière. Selon Parker (1988), la survie de cette espèce dans la rivière Ausable était compromise à cause de l’absence d’habitats adéquats. On n’a signalé aucune autre population de chevaliers de rivière dans le bassin hydrographique du lac Huron. 

Plusieurs captures effectuées en Ontario n’ont pas été mentionnées dans le rapport de situation précédent. On ne dispose pas de spécimens en collection confirmant les mentions du chevalier de rivière à l’extérieur de l’aire de répartition connue. D’autres efforts d’échantillonnage sont nécessaires pour confirmer l’existence de ces populations. Un seul spécimen, recueilli dans le lac Simcoe en 1978 par l’unité d’évaluation des pêches au lac Simcoe (MRNO) dans le cadre d’un programme de pêche d’automne au filet trappe, a été signalé. En 1989, on a signalé un seul chevalier de rivière; ce dernier avait été capturé dans le cadre d’un suivi des communautés de poisson à l’aide de pêches expérimentales (MRNO) dans le lac Rice, qui fait partie de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. D’autres projets d’échantillonnage des communautés de poissons du MRNO auraient permis de capturer 24 chevaliers de rivière dans le lac Echo en 1998 et plus de 100 dans le lac Christie en 1993 (MRNO). Outre ces mentions, on a signalé la capture de larves de chevaliers de rivière à plusieurs endroits situés le long du corridor lac Huron-lac Érié (chenal Ecarte, chenal Chematogan, fossé Whitebread et canal Dover) (Leslie et Timmins, 1991; idem, 1998a) et à l’extrémité occidentale du lac Érié (Leslie et Timmins, 1998b). Cependant, un chevauchement important des variables méristiques parmi les espèces de chevaliers et les variations intraspécifiques de pigmentation (Bunt et Cooke, 2004) empêchent d’identifier les larves de façon fiable (Kay et al., 1994). Par conséquent, les mentions de larves de chevaliers de rivière sont considérées comme non confirmées.

En 1941, on signale le premier chevalier de rivière au Québec, capturé par Vladykov (1941, 1942) au confluent de la rivière Châteauguay et du lac Saint-Louis (Québec). Au Québec, on a trouvé des chevaliers de rivière dans le corridor du fleuve Saint-Laurent, à partir du secteur des rapides des Cèdres, en amont du lac Saint-Louis, jusqu’à Saint-Nicolas, près de Québec, ainsi que dans les rivières Châteauguay, Richelieu, Saint-Francois, des Prairies, des Mille-Îles et Yamaska (Moisan, 1998; Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, données inédites). Des fouilles archéologiques laissent croire que l’espèce était présente le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent, à la Pointe du Buisson, en amont du lac Saint-Louis (de 920 à 940 après J.-C.; Courtemanche, 2003), à Laprairie (fin du XVIIe siècle et début du XVIIIe) et à Wirtele Inn (Vieux Montréal, début du XIXe siècle; M. Courtemanche, Ostéothèque de Montréal, comm. pers.). On a également identifié des os de chevaliers de rivière dans les restes d’aliments le long de la rivière Richelieu, au site Mandeville (de 1450 à 1550 après J.-C.; Chapdelaine, 1989) et au fort Chambly (rivière Richelieu, de 1665 à 1760; Walker et Cumbaa, 1982).

Les inventaires de la rivière Yamaska et de son affluent, la rivière Noire, effectués depuis l’examen de la situation précédent, n’ont pas permis de capturer de chevaliers de rivière (Boulet et al., 1995; Moisan, 1998; La Violette, 1999). En outre, le chevalier de rivière n’a pas été signalé dans le bassin de la Châteauguay depuis 1963 (Couture, 1972) malgré d’importants efforts d’échantillonnage (Mongeau et al., 1979; La Violette et Richard, 1996). Les trois rivières ont fait l’objet d’échantillonnages intensifs à la pêche électrique.

Selon Vladykov (1942) et Cuerrier et al. (1946), le chevalier de rivière était relativement commun dans les captures à la pêche commerciale des années 1940 dans le lac Saint-Louis, le bassin de Laprairie et le lac Saint-Pierre. Il était rare dans le corridor fluvial entre le lac Saint-Pierre et Québec. Malgré d’importants efforts de pêche dans le cadre de l’inventaire des poissons des basses-terres du Saint-Laurent (Mongeau et al., 1986) et par le Réseau de suivi ichtyologique du fleuve Saint-Laurent (La Violette et al., 2003; Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, données inédites) depuis les années 1970, seulement deux chevaliers de rivière ont été capturés dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Des individus ont été recueillis dans le lac Saint-Louis, à environ 10 km en aval de Montréal en 1984 (Moisan, 1998) et en avril 2004 (R. Dumas, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, comm. pers.). Il n’y a aucune mention de l’espèce dans le cadre du projet de pêcherie expérimentale fixe de l’Aquarium du Québec (dans la ville de Québec) depuis le lancement de cette activité en 1960 (Robitaille et al., 1987; Y. de Lafontaine, Environnement Canada, comm. pers.). Aujourd’hui, au Québec, le chevalier de rivière subsiste dans la rivière Richelieu (du barrage de Chambly jusqu’au confluent avec le fleuve Saint-Laurent) et dans la rivière des Outaouais. De plus, des chevaliers de rivière prêts pour la fraye ont récemment été capturés dans la rivière Gatineau, à son point de confluence avec la rivière des Outaouais (Campbell, 2001).   

Dans la rivière Richelieu, entre 1990 et 2004, plus de 200 chevaliers de rivière subadultes et adultes ont été rapportés au cours de suivis ichtyologiques et d’études scientifiques portant sur les activités de fraye de 5 espèces de Moxostoma (LaHaye et al., 1993; Boulet et al., 1995; Saint-Jacques, 1995; Boulet et al., 1996; Dumont et al., 1997; LaHaye et Clermont, 1997; Boulet et Simoneau, 1999). La plupart des poissons ont été capturés en aval des barrages de Chambly et de Saint-Ours. Au cours des études préliminaires de la passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre (barrage de Saint-Ours), 46 chevaliers de rivière ont été pris dans la trappe à la sortie de la passe en 2002; 555, en 2003; 104, en 2004 (Fleury et Desrochers, 2003; idem, 2004). L’échantillonnage d’automne par pêche à la seine dans la région de Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu, a permis de prendre 14 jeunes de l’année en 1997, 1 en 1998, 14 en 1999 et 112 en 2001 (Vachon, 1999a; idem, 1999b; idem, 2002). En 1998, on a identifié dans la rivière Gatineau une grande population de chevaliers de rivière reproducteurs. La pêche électrique embarquée d’automne réalisée entre le pont Alonzo-Wright et le point de confluence avec la rivière des Outaouais (~ 5 km) a capturé 99 chevaliers de rivière. Au printemps 1999, plus de 200 chevaliers de rivière ont été recensés (Campbell, 2001).