Skip booklet index and go to page content

River Redhorse (Moxostoma Carinatum)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

While the river redhorse has been reported from both lakes and rivers within its Canadian range, the persistence of this species relies upon access to suitable riverine spawning habitat. Past studies have indicated a preference for habitats with moderate to swift current, riffle-run habitat and clean coarse substrates (Hackney et al. 1967; Scott and Crossman 1973; Becker 1983; Yoder and Beaumier 1986; Parker 1988; Campbell 2001; Reid 2002; 2003). Yoder and Beaumier (1986) observed densities eight times greater in locations of preferred habitat than at pooled and impoundment locations in an Ohio River. Summer trap-net sampling on the Mississippi River resulted in the capture of river redhorse in run habitat, suggesting that its habitat requirements may be more extensive than previously thought (Campbell 2001). Summer sampling of river redhorse resulted in capture in areas of abundant aquatic vegetation, fairly slow current and soft substrates (Campbell 2001). Compared to the spawning period (June), lower catch per unit effort numbers in fall sampling of fastwater habitats along the Trent River suggest that deeper run/pool habitats are used during other periods of the year (Reid 2003).

In Quebec, river redhorse occurrence has been related to the presence of the copper redhorse, showing an affinity for lowlands rivers of medium size characterized by abrupt banks and uniformely deep channels (4-7 m) flowing over a solid clay, sand or gravel bottom exposed to rather slow currents and interspersed by sections of rapids suitable for spawning (Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992).

Depth preference for this species has not yet been determined with accuracy. However, there is a definite trend towards shallow water (less than 2 m deep) during spawning (Campbell 2001). In addition, fish captured during spawning were consistently captured in areas within 100 m of rapids (Campbell 2001). Lac des Chats (Ottawa River) sampling in August and September of 1998 (post-spawn) captured river redhorse at depths ranging from 3-12 m and consistently at distances greater than 10 km from the nearest rapids (Campbell 2001).

In the Richelieu River, YOY are found along vegetated shores where average depth is 1.5 m (maximum ≤ 3.0 m), the slope is shallow (≤ 20º) and the substrate consists of fine sediments (silt, clay and sand). In the early spring, age 1+ specimens are also found in greater abundance in vegetated areas. An important nursery habitat has been found in the Richelieu River in the Saint-Marc region (Vachon 1999a, 1999b, 2002). Jenkins (1970) suggested that moderate-sized streams or tributaries and backwater areas provide suitable juvenile habitat. In Quebec, it is clearly associated with medium-sized and large rivers, even at the juvenile stage (Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992).


Trends in Habitat

The distribution of the river redhorse is restricted by the availability of its specific habitats, which are vulnerable to anthropogenic activities. For example, Mississippi River populations may be at risk due to intensive agricultural activities that increase the sediment load of the river and negatively affect the availability of the benthic invertebrate prey of the river redhorse (Campbell 2001). Poor water quality (i.e. excessive nutrients) as a result of agricultural activities and urban development likely contributed to the loss of some Quebec populations, at least in the Yamaska and Châteauguay basins (La Violette and Richard 1996; Moisan 1998; La Violette 1999; Vachon 2003a). Poor water quality (turbidity, excessive nutrients and high summer water temperatures) also affects the lower Grand River where river redhorse are found. Human population growth in the Grand River basin has been projected to be 30% over the next 20 years (www.grandriver.ca). Further impairment of habitat and water quality from upstream land use changes, water utilization and sewage disposal would likely have an adverse effect on resident river redhorse. Threats to river redhorse habitat quality in southwestern Ontario may in the future be mitigated through the recovery plan actions. For example, habitat improvement goals identified for the Thames River of benefit to the river redhorse include reductions in sediment, nutrient and toxic chemical loadings (Thames River Recovery Team 2003).

Riverine habitat in Canada is also threatened by the construction of hydroelectric dams and other barriers. Increased energy demands in Ontario and Quebec may result in the construction of new hydroelectric facilities, or the conversion of run-of-river facilities to peaking facilities. Dam construction has already heavily fragmented the Madawaska, Mississippi, Ottawa, Trent, Yamaska, Richelieu, and Châteauguay rivers and the lower reaches of the Grand River, increasing the risk of local extirpation due to limited immigration or emigration of the river redhorse population. Suitable spawning habitat is primarily limited to the tailwater areas downstream of these locks and dams. Maintenance of sufficient flows through these habitats during spawning is necessary for successful river redhorse reproduction (Reid 2002). In addition, due to the number of barriers, available habitat becomes limiting as movement between habitats and populations is restricted. Recovery of river redhorse populations after disturbances through emigration is expected to be limited by the number of dams along the rivers it inhabits (Reid 2002).

On a more positive note, recent emphasis has been placed on providing migratory fishes with access to previously unavailable habitat through the destruction of barriers, as well as through the construction of multi-species fishways. Recently, the Vianney-Legendre Fish Ladder was constructed on the Richelieu River in an effort to preserve fish biodiversity. The fish ladder enables species such as the river redhorse to reach spawning grounds and locate preferred habitat (Dumont et al. 1997). To determine the best operation procedures for maximizing fish passage, an experimental breaking-in period of 5 years was initiated in 2001. In 2002, 46 river redhorse (23-72 cm) were caught at the outlet between May 16 and July 4. In 2003, 555 individuals (20-70 cm) used the ladder between May 22 to June 24 (Fleury and Desrochers 2003, 2004).


Protection/Ownership of Habitat

The habitat of the river redhorse is protected under the habitat provisions of the federal Fisheries Act, particularly section 35 (1) which states that a development proposal must not cause a “harmful alteration, disruption, or destruction” of fish habitat. Habitat may also receive protection by other federal legislation, including the Environmental Assessment Act, Environmental Protection Act and Water Act. In Ontario, river redhorse may also receive protection under the Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act, Ontario Environmental Protection Act, Ontario Environmental Assessment Act, Ontario Planning Act and Ontario Water Resources Act.

Quebec legislation also provides general protection of fish habitat under the Environment Quality Act. The Act respecting the conservation and development of wildlife, under articles 128.1 to 128.18, controls activities that could modify biological, physical and chemical components peculiar to fish habitat. The Act respecting threatened or vulnerable species makes additional provision for the protection of the habitat of threatened or vulnerable species. Finally, the Pierre-Étienne-Fortin Wildlife Refuge, created in 2002 for the protection of the copper redhorse spawning grounds in the Chambly rapids (Richelieu River), also protects river redhorse habitat from activities that could disturb the river bed and flow characteristics. Access to the refuge sectors where the copper redhorse and river redhorse spawn is forbidden between June 20 and July 20 (Gendron and Branchaud 2001).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Même si le chevalier de rivière a été signalé tant dans les lacs que les rivières de son aire de répartition canadienne, sa survie dépend de l’accès à des habitats fluviaux propices à la fraye. Des études antérieures tendent à démontrer que l’espèce préfère des habitats à courant modéré à rapide, turbulent ou laminaire et aux substrats grossiers et propres (Hackney et al. 1967; Scott et Crossman, 1973; Becker, 1983; Yoder et Beaumier, 1986; Parker, 1988; Campbell, 2001; Reid, 2002; idem, 2003). Yoder et Beaumier (1986) ont observé des densités huit fois plus grandes dans les zones correspondant aux habitats privilégiés que dans les fosses ou les bassins de retenues d’eau de la rivière Ohio. Un échantillonnage d’été par une pêche au filet trappe dans la rivière Mississippi a permis la capture de chevaliers de rivière dans un habitat à courant laminaire rapide ce qui semble indiquer que les besoins en matière d’habitat peuvent être plus variés que ce que l’on croyait au départ (Campbell, 2001). Un échantillonnage de chevaliers de rivière en été a aussi permis la capture de spécimens dans des zones à végétation aquatique abondante, à courant relativement lent et à substrats mous (Campbell, 2001). Comparativement à la période de fraye (juin), un nombre moins élevés de captures par unité d’effort a découlé d’un échantillonnage réalisé en automne dans des habitats à courant rapide le long de la rivière Trent, ce qui laisse supposer que le chevalier de rivière fréquente des habitats de plats et de fosses plus profonds pendant les autres périodes de l’année (Reid, 2003).

Au Québec, la présence du chevalier de rivière est liée à celle du chevalier cuivré, qui montre une affinité pour les rivières de basses terres de taille moyenne caractérisées par des berges abruptes et des chenaux de profondeur uniforme (de 4 à 7 m) ainsi que par un fond solide d’argile, de sable ou de gravier exposé à des courants relativement lents avec des secteurs de rapides propices à la fraye (Mongeau et al., 1986; idem, 1992).

La profondeur privilégiée par cette espèce n’a pas encore été déterminée avec précision. Cependant, on constate une préférence évidente pour des eaux peu profondes (moins de 2 m de profondeur) pendant la fraye (Campbell, 2001). En outre, les poissons capturés pendant la fraye étaient régulièrement pris à moins de 100 m de rapides (Campbell, 2001). L’échantillonnage mené en août et en septembre 1998 (après la fraye) dans le lac des Chats (rivière des Outaouais) a permis de capturer des chevaliers de rivière à des profondeurs variant de 3 à 12 m et presque toujours à des distances supérieures à 10 km des rapides les plus proches (Campbell, 2001).

Dans la rivière Richelieu, on a trouvé des jeunes de l’année le long des rives couvertes de végétation, dans des zones où la profondeur moyenne était de 1,5 m (maximum ≤ 3,0 m), la pente du lit était faible (≤ 20º) et le substrat consistait en sédiments fins (limon, argile et sable). Au début du printemps, on trouve également davantage de spécimens d’âge 1+ dans les secteurs couverts de végétation. On a trouvé une importante aire d’alevinage dans la rivière Richelieu, dans la région de Saint‑Marc (Vachon, 1999a; idem, 1999b; idem, 2002). Selon Jenkins (1970), les cours d’eau ou les affluents de taille moyenne et les bras morts offrent un habitat adéquat pour les juvéniles. Au Québec, le chevalier de rivière est clairement associé aux rivières de taille moyenne et grande, et ce, même au stade juvénile (Mongeau et al., 1986; idem, 1992).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

La répartition du chevalier de rivière est restreinte par la disponibilité des habitats préférentiels qui sont vulnérables aux activités anthropiques. Par exemple, les populations de la Mississippi peuvent être à risque à cause des activités agricoles intensives qui accroissent la charge sédimentaire de la rivière et qui nuisent à la disponibilité des invertébrés benthiques dont se nourrit le chevalier de rivière (Campbell, 2001). La mauvaise qualité de l’eau (à cause des excès de nutriments) causée par les activités agricoles et l’aménagement urbain a vraisemblablement entraîné la perte de certaines populations du Québec; c’est le cas du moins des populations des bassins hydrographiques de la Yamaska et de la Châteauguay (La Violette et Richard, 1996; Moisan, 1998; La Violette, 1999; Vachon, 2003a). La mauvaise qualité de l’eau (turbidité, excès de nutriments et températures élevées au cours de l’été) affecte également le cours inférieur de la rivière Grand, où vivent des chevaliers de rivière. Au cours des 20 prochaines années, on prévoit que la population humaine dans le bassin hydrographique de la Grand croîtra de 30 p. 100 (www.grandriver.ca). Il est probable que la dégradation continue des habitats et de la qualité de l’eau, causée par des changements dans l’utilisation des terres en amont, l’utilisation de l’eau et l’évacuation des eaux usées, nuira à la population résidente de chevaliers de rivière. Les menaces pour la qualité des habitats du chevalier de rivière dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario pourraient dans l’avenir être atténuées par les mesures du plan de rétablissement. Par exemple, dans la rivière Thames, on vise notamment à améliorer les habitat du chevalier de rivière par la réduction des charges de sédiments, de nutriments et de substances chimiques toxiques (Thames River Recovery Team, 2003).

Les habitats en rivière au Canada sont également menacés par l’aménagement de barrages hydroélectriques et d’autres obstacles. La demande accrue d’énergie en Ontario et au Québec pourrait entraîner la construction de nouvelles installations hydroélectriques ou la conversion de centrales au fil de l’eau en des centrales de pointe. L’aménagement de barrages a déjà fortement fragmenté les rivières Madawaska, Mississippi, des Outaouais, Trent, Yamaska, Richelieu et Châteauguay ainsi que le cours inférieur de la rivière Grand, ce qui accroisse le risque de disparition locale vu l’immigration ou l’émigration limitée des populations de chevaliers de rivière. Les habitats propices à la fraye sont limités essentiellement au bief aval de ces écluses et barrages. Il faut maintenir un débit suffisant dans ces habitats pendant la période de fraye pour assurer la réussite de la reproduction du chevalier de rivière (Reid, 2002). En outre, à cause du nombre d’obstacles, les habitats disponibles deviennent un facteur limitatif puisque les déplacements entre les habitats et les échanges entre populations sont restreints. On s’attend à ce que le rétablissement des populations de chevaliers de rivière après les perturbations, par l’émigration, soit limité par le nombre de barrages le long des rivières que ce poisson habite (Reid, 2002).

Sur une note plus positive, signalons l’accent mis récemment sur l’accès des poissons migrateurs à des habitats auparavant non disponibles par la destruction d’obstacles ainsi que par l’aménagement de passes migratoire multi-espèces. Récemment, on a installé la passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre sur la rivière Richelieu afin de préserver la biodiversité des poissons. La passe migratoire permet à des espèces comme le chevalier de rivière d’atteindre les frayères et de trouver les habitats qu’elles préfèrent (Dumont et al., 1997). Afin de déterminer les meilleures méthodes d’exploitation en vue de maximiser le passage des poissons, on a lancé en 2001 un programme expérimental de 5 ans. Entre le 16 mai et le 4 juillet 2002, on a capturé 46 chevaliers de rivière (de 23 à 72 cm) à la sortie de la passe migratoire. Entre le 22 mai et le 24 juin 2003, 555 spécimens (de 20 à 70 cm) ont utilisé la passe migratoire (Fleury et Desrochers, 2003; idem, 2004).


Protection et propriété

Les habitats du chevalier de rivière sont protégés par les dispositions relatives à l’habitat de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral, notamment par le paragraphe 35 (1), qui stipule qu’un projet d’exploitation ne doit pas entraîner « la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation » de l’habitat du poisson. Les habitats peuvent également bénéficier de la protection offerte par d’autres lois fédérales, notamment la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement et la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada. En Ontario, le chevalier de rivière peut bénéficier d’une protection supplémentaire aux termes des lois suivantes : Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières, Loi sur la protection de l’environnement, Loi sur les évaluations environnementales, Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire et Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario.

La Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement du Québec offre également une protection générale de l’habitat du poisson. Les articles 128.1 à 128.18 de la Loi sur la conservation et la mise en valeur de la faune régissent les activités susceptibles de modifier un élément biologique, physique ou chimique propre à l’habitat du poisson. La Loi sur les espèces menacées et vulnérables énonce également des dispositions visant la protection des habitats des espèces menacées ou vulnérables. Enfin, le refuge faunique Pierre-Étienne-Fortin, créé en 2002 pour assurer la préservation des frayères du chevalier cuivré dans les rapides de Chambly (rivière Richelieu), protège également les habitats du chevalier de rivière contre les activités qui pourraient perturber le lit et le débit de la rivière. Du 20 juin au 20 juillet, on interdit l’accès aux secteurs du refuge où frayent les chevaliers cuivrés et les chevaliers de rivière (Gendron et Branchaud, 2001).