Skip booklet index and go to page content

River Redhorse (Moxostoma Carinatum)

Biology

General

The river redhorse is a late-maturing, long-lived and large-bodied sucker that requires large interconnected riverine habitat to fulfill the need of all life stages. Generally, specimens are greater than 500 mm TL (Campbell 2001; Reid 2003). The largest river redhorse recorded to date was 812 mm TL (Jenkins et al. 1999). Males are usually shorter and lighter than females; however, both sexes can attain sizes in excess of 700 mm TL (Mongeau et al. 1992; Campbell 2001; Fleury and Desrochers 2004). The maximum weight recorded for river redhorse was a gravid female, 7,938 g (Jenkins et al. 1999; Campbell 2001). Maximum ages recorded for river redhorse are 27 (Trent River) and 28 years (Mississippi River) (Reid unpubl. data and Campbell 2001). Campbell (2001) characterized growth using the following the equation:

TL (mm) = 0.0905 (age)3-5.1452(age)2+95.94(Age) + 0.367.

In the Richelieu River, backcalculated TL at age 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18 are 229, 410, 533, 586, 659 and 680 mm, respectively; and corresponding weights are 223, 950, 1833, 2317, 3107 and 3360 g (Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992). Compared to other North American populations, growth rate in the Richelieu River is relatively high (Mongeau et al. 1986). In September and early October, YOY river redhorse collected from the Richelieu River averaged between 48 and 67 mm TL. These specimens were smaller than earlier spawning shorthead redhorse, silver redhorse and greater redhorse. Fall TL of age 1+ river redhorse ranged from 114 to 131.5 mm. YOY examined by Jenkins (1970) from the southern half of its distribution averaged 50 mm standard length (SL) in September with a maximum of 70 mm SL. As reported for the Richelieu River population, YOY river redhorse were smaller than other earlier spawning redhorse species (M. erythrurum and M. duquesnei).


Reproduction

Canadian river redhorse populations reach sexual maturity at an older age and a larger size than their American counterparts. In southern populations, river redhorse have been speculated to reach sexual maturity between the ages of 3 and 5 years (Tatum and Hackney 1970; Huston 1999). More northerly populations of river redhorse do not achieve sexual maturity until a relatively late age. In the Richelieu River, Mongeau et al. (1986, 1992) observed mature male and female near or on the spawning sites between age 10 and 20 (543-713 mm TL). Along the Trent River, males in spawning condition were 5 to 16 years old while females were 7 to 16 years old. Spawning-ready males captured from both the Trent River and Grand River were smaller than females (Trent River: ♂mean TL=603 mm; ♀mean TL= 641 mm. Grand River: ♂mean TL= 627mm; ♀mean TL= 662 mm) (S. Reid unpubl. data).

Except for Quebec rivers supporting copper redhorse, the river redhorse is the last of the Moxostoma species to spawn each year (Mongeau et al. 1992). American populations of river redhorse begin spawning in mid-April to mid-May at water temperatures between 18°and 24° C (Jenkins and Burkhead 1993). Canadian populations spawn later in the year, usually beginning in late May or early June and ending in late June (Reid 2003). In the Chambly rapids of the Richelieu River, spawning typically occurs between the second and last week of June at temperatures between 17° and 20° C. This period overlaps with the spawning period of the greater redhorse and copper redhorse (Mongeau et al. 1992; La Haye et al. 1992). Both sexes were observed in spawning condition once water temperatures reached 15.5° C (early June) in the Trent River (Reid 2003). Spawning-ready river redhorse were captured in the Grand River in late May 2002 at temperatures of 18.5° C. Similarly, the Gatineau River population began spawning at water temperatures between 17.5°and 19° C (Campbell 2001). Males have been found to be in spawning-ready condition at temperatures of 4.5° C colder than females (Campbell 2001).

It has been reported that river redhorse excavate spawning redds (Hackney et al. 1967). Parker (1988) observed shallow swept depressions 10-15 cm deep and 50‑75 cm long at the base of shallow rapids in the Mississippi River. Similarly sized areas of cleaned spawning substrate have been observed during river redhorse spawning along the Trent River (S. Reid unpubl. data). Jenkins (1970) suggests that these apparent redds are merely an artifact of aggressive mating and not a depression dug prior to spawning. Further investigation is required to confirm if river redhorse construct redds as this has implications for spawning habitat requirements. Although redd formation is not definite, the river redhorse does exhibit ritualized spawning displays. Hackney et al. (1967) described this process for river redhorse in the Cahaba River, Alabama: “The female approaches the nest as the male performs a nuptial dance, darting back and forth, then a second male joins in. Once the second male is present the female swims between them. At this point the males press tightly against the female and all three vibrate across the bottom, releasing eggs and milt and burying the eggs in one sweeping pass.” Aggregations of two or three river redhorse were observed at the Trent River spawning locations (Reid 2003) supporting previous observations of Hackney et al. (1967) and Parker and McKee (1984).

The fecundity of female river redhorse collected from the Ottawa River basin was estimated to range between 9 000 and 22 000 eggs (Campbell 2001). In the Richelieu River, the fecundity of three females between 556 and 713 mm total length (TL) ranged between 14 010 and 31 050 (Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992). Beaulieu (1961) estimated fecundity of 28 640 to 42 630 eggs for four females from the St. Lawrence River. In these samples, the relative fecundity and gonadosomatic index are lower than those observed for the four other Quebec Moxostoma species. Females sacrified by Mongeau et al. (1986, 1992) during the 1984 spawning period had only one gonad fully developed. Similar comparatively low values of 6 078 to 23 075 eggs for individuals 450-560 mm in TL were reported by Hackney et al. (1967). Unfertilized eggs examined by Campbell (2001) were yellow, adhesive and ranged in diameter between 2.3 and 3.0 mm (mean diameter: 2.8 mm). However, Fuiman (1982) described eggs that are relatively large (3.7 to 4.4 mm) and non-adhesive. Fertilized river redhorse eggs hatch relatively quickly: 6 days at 24° C (Jenkins 1970) and 5 days at 18.5° C (S. Reid unpubl. data).


Survival

River redhorse in Canada are long-lived compared to more southern populations, with a maximum reported age of 28 years. However, little is known about the population demographics of the river redhorse in Canada. Information regarding population size and level of recruitment is deficient. Life-history theory predicts that large-bodied catostomids with similar reproductive tactics and biology (late age at maturity, longevity and seasonal spawn) may experience low juvenile survivorship most years, with recruitment relying on a relatively few successful spawning bouts by a given individual in its lifetime (Winemiller and Rose 1992; Healey 2002). This reproductive strategy takes advantage of seasonal and predictable changes in habitat characteristics, such as spring flooding due to snowmelt. Since year-to-year spawning success may vary depending on hydrological and climatic conditions, spawning must be unimpeded annually to take advantage of years with exceptional spawning conditions and high juvenile survivorship (Winemiller and Rose 1992; Healey 2002). Based on this type of life-history strategy, repeated unnatural perturbations to critical stream habitat may impact river redhorse recruitment (Healey 2002). A YOY redhorse survey along the Richelieu River revealed high annual variability in the river redhorse year-class strength. Relative abundance of YOY river redhorse, compared to the four other species found in this river, increased from 1998 to 2001. It was 0.35% in 1998, 3.8% in 1999 and attained 11.2% in 2001 where it was the second most abundant species (Vachon 1999b, 2002). Hydrologic conditions (spring flow) may affect reproductive success and the YOY survival of redhorse in the Richelieu River. Years with higher spring flows were associated with larger cohorts (Vachon 2002).


Physiology

Little information is available on the physiological tolerances of catostomids found in eastern North America other than the white sucker (Catostomus commersoni). Walsh et al. (1998) reported physiological tolerances for juvenile robust redhorse (M. robustum), a sister taxon of the river redhorse. Critical thermal maxima were identified to be between 35 and 37oC. At dissolved oxygen concentrations between 0.7 and 0.8 mgO2L-1, juvenile robust redhorse switched to aquatic surface respiration and lost equilibrium at 0.54 to 0.57 mgO2L-1. Hatching success of robust redhorse eggs has been observed to decline above 23oC along with an increase in the incidence of larval and juvenile deformities at temperatures above 25° C.


Movements/Dispersal

Access to spawning habitat is essential for the continued existence of the river redhorse. During the spring, redhorse species migrate to spawning habitats (Jenkins 1970; Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992). Hackney et al. (1967) documented tagged river redhorse to travel more than 15 km upstream along the Cahaba River, Alabama to spawn. Along the Trent and Gatineau rivers, large increases in river redhorse abundance have been measured at spawning habitats during May and June (Campbell 2001; Reid 2003). In 2002, the river redhorse was present in the Vianney-Legendre fish ladder during almost the entire observation period, from May 16 to June 18 (Fleury and Desrochers 2003). In 2003, between May 22 and June 24, 555 river redhorse were observed at the outlet of the ladder, and 444 were counted during four peaks of migration, on May 26 (n=54) and 30 (n=128) and on June 5 (n=155) and 7 (n=107) (Fleury and Desrochers 2004). 

Larval drift is important for the dispersion of Moxostoma species to suitable rearing habitats (D'Amours et al. 2001). For example, the nursery habitat for YOY river redhorse in the Richelieu River is 21 km downstream from the spawning site in the bassin of Chambly (Vachon 1999a).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

The enlarged, molariform pharyngeal teeth of this species are adapted for crushing the shells of mussels, snails and crayfishes (Eastman 1977; Jenkins and Burkhead 1993). Stomach analysis performed by Hackney et al. (1967) of Cahaba River, Alabama specimens, found that river redhorse fed largely on bivalve molluscs. Smaller quantities of insect larvae were also taken. The adult diet of sympatric Moxostoma species from the Richelieu River was compared by Mongeau et al. (1986, 1992). Stomach contents of the river redhorse were dominated by Ephemeroptera (54%) and Trichoptera (15%) larvae. Diet ovelap was very low and gut contents varied according to the development of pharyngeal teeth. Copper redhorse had the highest preference for molluscs (99% of prey observed) while molluscs represented about 25% of the river redhorse diet and less than 15% of the diet of the greater redhorse, shorthead redhorse and silver redhorse.

Pharyngeal arch and teeth are present in YOY river redhorse (Vachon 1999a, 2003b). However, during the first growing season, young river redhorse feed mostly on microcrustaceans. The diet of 31 YOY river redhorse (32 ≤ TL ≤63 mm) caught from the Richelieu River was composed of chydorid cladocerans (22% in number), algae (diatoms) (21%), nematodes (15%), harpacticoid copepods (12.5%), protozoans (6%) and chironomid larvae (4%) (Vachon 1999a). In contrast to adults, there was a high degree of overlap among the diets of YOY Moxostoma (Vachon 1999a). McAllister et al. (1985) examined the gut contents of 10 Ontario specimens. River redhorse ranging between 100-150 mm TL fed primarily on chironomid larvae and pupae. Larger individuals (200-250 mm TL) consumed chironomids, crustaceans, trichopterans and coleopterans. The diet from an age 2+ specimen (TL= 140.5 mm) caught in the Richelieu River on June 10 was principally composed of chironomid larvae (57% in number) and chydorid cladocerans (26%) (Vachon 1999a). Larger river redhorse consumed molluscs, insect larvae and crayfishes.

The anatomical specialization of the river redhorse for feeding on molluscs may increase this species’ susceptibility to extirpation. Over much of the North American range of this species the molluscan fauna has declined (Williams et al. 1993). The invasion of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River by zebra mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) has reduced the availability of the native species of molluscs and changed the bioaccumulation process of contaminants. It is not known to what extent river redhorse are consuming the large biomass of the newly established zebra mussel or its effect on growth rate. Likely the result of poor caloric value, French and Bur (1996) reported that zebra mussel-dominated diets reduced growth rate of adult freshwater drum (Aplodinotus grunniens) in Lake Erie.

In addition to sucker and redhorse species, competition for food may occur with other native (Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992) and non-native fish species. Freshwater drum has pharyngeal teeth adapted for crushing mussels and snails (Jenkins and Burkhead 1993). Common carp (Cyprinus carpio), which was introduced into North America in 1831, also feeds on molluscs (Scott and Crossman 1973). Common carp has been associated with copper redhorse and river redhorse in the experimental catch of the 1960s and 1970s in the Yamaska-Noire system and in the Richelieu River (Mongeau et al. 1992). The recent introduction of tench (Tinca tinca) in the Upper Richelieu and its capacity to rapidly spread into the St. Lawrence River system also adds a potential competitor to the copper redhorse and river redhorse (Dumont et al. 2002).

The large adult size of this species and rapid growth rate of young-of-the-year reduces its vulnerability to predators (Parker 1988).


Behaviour/Adaptability

River redhorse has the potential to re-establish populations in waters where they have been extirpated when other populations exist nearby (Jenkins and Burkhead 1993). However, in many of the rivers in which they reside, low population sizes and the presence of barriers to immigration (i.e. dams) reduce their ability to recover from disturbances.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum)

Biologie

Généralités

Le chevalier de rivière est un poisson à maturité tardive et longévif qui atteint une grande taille. Un vaste réseau d’habitats de rivière interconnectés est nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins de tous les stades biologiques de l’espèce. En général, les spécimens ont une longueur totale (LT) supérieure à 500 mm (Campbell, 2001; Reid, 2003). Le plus grand chevalier de rivière signalé à ce jour mesurait 812 mm (LT) (Jenkins et al., 1999). Les mâles sont habituellement plus courts et plus légers que les femelles; cependant, les membres des deux sexes peuvent atteindre des tailles dépassant les 700 mm (LT) (Mongeau et al., 1992; Campbell, 2001; Fleury et Desrochers, 2004). Le spécimen de chevalier de rivière le plus lourd observé était une femelle gravide qui pesait 7 938 g (Jenkins et al., 1999; Campbell, 2001). Les âges maximaux rapportés pour des chevaliers de rivière sont de 27 (rivière Trent) et 28 ans (rivière Mississippi) (Reid, données inédites; Campbell, 2001). Campbell (2001) a caractérisé la croissance avec l’équation suivante :

LT (mm) = 0,0905 (âge)3-5,1452(âge)2+95,94(âge) + 0,367.

Dans la rivière Richelieu, la longueur totale rétrocalculée à 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 et 18 ans est respectivement de 229, 410, 533, 586, 659 et 680 mm, et le poids correspondant est de 223, 950, 1 833, 2 317, 3 107 et 3 360 g (Mongeau et al., 1986; idem, 1992). Comparativement à celui d’autres populations de l’Amérique du Nord, le taux de croissance dans la rivière Richelieu est relativement élevé (Mongeau et al., 1986). En septembre et au début d’octobre, les jeunes chevaliers de rivière de l’année capturés dans la rivière Richelieu mesuraient en moyenne de 48 à 67 mm LT. Ces spécimens étaient plus petits que ceux du chevalier rouge, du chevalier blanc et du chevalier jaune, qui frayent plus tôt. La longueur totale des chevaliers de rivière d’âge 1 + variait de 114 à 131,5 mm. Les jeunes de l’année examinés par Jenkins (1970) dans la moitié sud de l’aire de répartition mesuraient en moyenne 50 mm de longueur standard (LS) en septembre, avec un maximum de 70 mm (LS). Comme on l’a signalé pour la population de la rivière Richelieu, les jeunes chevaliers de rivière de l’année étaient plus petits que ceux des autres espèces de chevaliers dont la fraye a lieu plus tôt (M. erythrurum et M. duquesnei).


Reproduction

Au Canada, les chevaliers de rivière atteignent de plus grandes tailles et la maturité sexuelle à un âge plus avancé que leurs homologues américains. D’après les hypothèses, les chevaliers de rivière des populations du sud atteindraient la maturité sexuelle entre 3 et 5 ans (Tatum et Hackney, 1970; Huston, 1999). Les populations plus septentrionales de chevaliers de rivière n’atteignent la maturité sexuelle qu’à un âge relativement tardif. Dans la rivière Richelieu, Mongeau et al. (1986, 1992) ont observé des mâles et des femelles matures âgés entre 10 à 20 ans (de 543 à 713 mm de LT) à proximité des frayères ou dans les frayères mêmes. Le long de la rivière Trent, les mâles en état de frayer étaient âgés de 5 à 16 ans, tandis que les femelles étaient âgées de 7 à 16 ans. Les mâles prêts à frayer capturés dans les rivières Trent et Grand étaient plus petits que les femelles (rivière Trent : LT moyenne ♂ = 603 mm; LT moyenne ♀ = 641 mm; rivière Grand : LT moyenne ♂ = 627 mm; LT moyenne ♀ = 662 mm) (S. Reid, données inédites).

Le chevalier de rivière est l’espèce du genre Moxostoma qui fraye en dernier, sauf dans les rivières du Québec, où le chevalier cuivré fraye après lui (Mongeau et al., 1992). Les populations américaines de chevaliers de rivière frayent de la mi-avril à la mi-mai, lorsque la température varie de 18 à 24 °C (Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993). Les populations canadiennes frayent plus tard dans l’année, soit à partir de la fin mai ou du début juin jusqu’à la fin juin (Reid, 2003). Aux rapides de Chambly, dans la rivière Richelieu, la fraye a lieu habituellement entre la deuxième et la dernière semaine de juin, quand la température de l’eau varie entre 17 et 20 °C. Cette période chevauche les périodes de fraye du chevalier jaune et du chevalier cuivré (Mongeau et al., 1992; La Haye et al., 1992). On a observé des spécimens des deux sexes en état de frayer alors que la température de l’eau a atteint 15,5 °C (début juin) dans la rivière Trent (Reid, 2003). On a capturé des chevaliers de rivière prêts à frayer dans la rivière Grand à la fin de mai 2002 alors que la température de l’eau atteignait 18,5 °C. De manière semblable, la population de la rivière Gatineau a commencé à frayer à des températures variant de 17,5 à 19 °C (Campbell, 2001). On a constaté que les mâles étaient prêts à frayer à des températures de l’eau qui étaient 4,5 °C moins élevées que les températures auxquelles frayaient les femelles (Campbell, 2001).

On a signalé que le chevalier de rivière creuse des nids de fraye (Hackney et al., 1967). Dans la rivière Mississippi, Parker (1988) a observé des dépressions peu profondes (de 10 à 15 cm de profondeur et de 50 à 75 cm de longueur) qui étaient balayées à la base de rapides peu profonds. Des zones de superficie analogue présentant des substrats propres ont été observées pendant la fraye des chevaliers de rivière le long de la rivière Trent (S. Reid, données inédites). Jenkins (1970) est d’avis que ces nids de fraye apparents sont simplement le résultat d’un accouplement agressif et non une dépression creusée avant la fraye. Une étude plus approfondie est nécessaire pour confirmer si le chevalier de rivière construit des nids de fraye, car, si tel est le cas, cela a des incidences sur les besoins en matière d’habitat de fraye. Même si la formation des nids de fraye n’est pas certaine, il est sûr que les chevaliers de rivière manifestent un comportement rituel lors de la fraye. Hackney et al. (1967) ont décrit ce processus chez les chevaliers de rivière de la rivière Cahaba (Alabama) : la femelle s’approche du nid pendant que le mâle effectue une danse nuptiale, avançant et reculant, puis un deuxième mâle se joint à la partie. Lorsque le deuxième mâle est présent, la femelle nage entre les deux. À ce moment, les mâles se pressent contre la femelle et les trois poissons vibrent au fond de l’eau tout en libérant œufs et laitance, et ils enterrent les œufs en un seul passage. Des regroupements de deux ou trois chevaliers de rivière ont été observés dans les frayères de la rivière Trent (Reid, 2003), ce qui appuie les observations précédentes de Hackney et al. (1967) et de Parker et McKee (1984).

On a estimé que les femelles capturées dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière des Outaouais contenaient de 9 000 à 22 000 œufs (Campbell, 2001). Dans la rivière Richelieu, 3 femelles mesurant de 556 à 713 mm (LT) portaient de 14 010 à 31 050 œufs (Mongeau et al., 1986; idem, 1992). Beaulieu (1961) a estimé que 4 femelles prises dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent contenaient de 28 640 à 42 630 œufs. Dans ces échantillons, la fécondité relative et l’indice gonadosomatique sont plus faibles que ceux observés chez les 4 autres espèces québécoises du genre Moxostoma. Les femelles sacrifiées par Mongeau et al. (1986, 1992) pendant la période de fraye de 1984 n’avaient qu’une gonade entièrement développée. De faibles valeurs, soit de 6 078 à 23 075 œufs chez des femelles de 450 à 560 mm (LT), ont également été signalées par Hackney et al. (1967). Les œufs non fécondés examinés par Campbell (2001) étaient jaunes, adhésifs et d’un diamètre variant de 2,3 à 3,0 mm (diamètre moyen : 2,8 mm). Cependant, Fuiman (1982) a décrit des œufs comme relativement gros (de 3,7 à 4,4 mm) et non adhésifs. Les œufs fécondés de chevaliers de rivière éclosent relativement rapidement, soit en 6 jours à une température de 24 °C (Jenkins, 1970) et en 5 jours à une température de 18,5 oC (S. Reid, données inédites).


Survie

Au Canada, les chevaliers de rivière vivent plus longtemps que les membres des populations du sud. L’âge maximal rapporté est de 28 ans. Toutefois, on connaît peu les caractéristiques démographiques des chevaliers de rivière au Canada. On manque d’information sur la taille des populations et sur le niveau de recrutement. Théoriquement, le cycle vital des catostomidés, soit des poissons de grande taille ayant des tactiques de reproduction et une biologie semblables (maturité à un âge avancé, longévité et fraye saisonnière), commanderait un taux de survie des juvéniles qui peut être faible la plupart des années, le recrutement reposant sur un nombre limité de frayes efficaces par un individu donné au cours de sa vie (Winemiller et Rose, 1992; Healey, 2002). Cette stratégie reproductive tire avantage des changements saisonniers et prévisibles qui touchent les caractéristiques des habitats, comme les crues printanières causées par la fonte des neiges. Comme le succès de reproduction peut varier d’une année à l’autre selon les conditions hydrologiques et climatiques, la fraye doit se dérouler sans entrave chaque année pour tirer parti des années aux conditions de fraye exceptionnelles et aux taux de survie élevé des juvéniles (Winemiller et Rose, 1992; Healey, 2002). En fonction de ce type de stratégie de survie, des perturbations artificielles répétées de l’habitat essentiel dans le cours d’eau peuvent avoir des conséquences sur le recrutement des chevaliers de rivière (Healey, 2002). Un suivi des jeunes chevaliers de l’année dans la rivière Richelieu a révélé une forte variabilité annuelle dans la force des classes d’âge chez le chevalier de rivière. L’abondance relative des jeunes chevaliers de rivière de l’année, comparativement aux 4 autres espèces trouvées dans cette rivière, a augmenté de 1998 à 2001. Ils représentaient 0,35 p. 100 en 1998 et 3,8 p. 100 en 1999; ils ont atteint 11,2 p. 100 en 2001, année où ils étaient la deuxième espèce la plus abondante (Vachon, 1999b; idem, 2002). Les conditions hydrologiques (crues printanières) peuvent influer sur le succès de reproduction et sur la survie des jeunes chevaliers de rivière de l’année dans la rivière Richelieu. Les années de fortes crues printanières étaient associées à de plus fortes cohortes de jeunes de l’année (Vachon, 2002).


Physiologie

On dispose de peu de renseignements sur les tolérances physiologiques des catostomidés qui se trouvent dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord autres que ceux sur le meunier noir (Catostomus commersoni). Walsh et al. (1998) ont rapporté les tolérances physiologiques du Moxostoma robustum, un taxon apparenté au chevalier de rivière. On a évalué que les températures maximales critiques se situaient entre 35 et 37 oC. Lorsque les concentrations d’oxygène dissoutes se trouvent entre 0,7 et 0,8 mg/L O2, les Moxostoma robustum juvéniles respirent à la surface de l’eau et perdaient l’équilibre à des concentrations de 0,54 à 0,57 mg/L O2. On a observé que le succès d’éclosion des œufs des Moxostoma robustum diminuait lorsque la température dépassait 23 oC et qu’il y avait une augmentation de l’incidence des malformations chez les larves et les juvéniles à des températures supérieures à 25 oC.  


Déplacements et dispersion

L’accès aux habitats de fraye est essentiel à la survie du chevalier de rivière. Au printemps, les différentes espèces de chevaliers migrent vers les frayères (Jenkins, 1970, Mongeau et al., 1986; idem, 1992). Hackney et al. (1967) ont documenté des cas de chevaliers de rivière marqués qui se sont déplacés sur plus de 15 km en amont le long de la rivière Cahaba (Alabama) pour frayer. Le long des rivières Trent et Gatineau, on a noté de fortes hausses du nombre de chevaliers de rivière dans les frayères en mai et en juin (Campbell, 2001; Reid, 2003). En 2002, des chevaliers de rivière ont pu être observés dans la passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre pendant presque toute la période d’observation, soit du 16 mai au 18 juin (Fleury et Desrochers, 2003). En 2003, entre le 22 mai et le 24 juin, on a compté 555 chevaliers de rivière à la sortie de la passe migratoire, et 444 individus ont été dénombrés pendant 4 pics de migration, soit le 26 mai (n = 54), le 30 mai (n = 128), le 5 juin (n = 155) et le 7 juin (n = 107) (Fleury et Desrochers, 2004).

La dérive des larves est importante pour la dispersion des espèces du genre Moxostoma vers des habitats de croissance adéquats (D’Amours et al., 2001). Par exemple, l’aire d’alevinage des jeunes chevaliers de rivière de l’année dans la rivière Richelieu est située à 21 km en aval de la frayère du bassin de Chambly (Vachon, 1999a).


Alimentation et relations interspécifiques

Les grosses dents pharyngiennes molariformes de cette espèce sont adaptées au broyage des coquilles de moules et d’escargots et des carapaces d’écrevisses (Eastman, 1977; Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993). L’analyse du contenu stomacal de spécimens de la rivière Cahaba (Alabama), effectuée par Hackney et al. (1967), a permis de constater que le chevalier de rivière se nourrit principalement de mollusques bivalves. On a également recensé de petites quantités de larves d’insectes. Mongeau et al. (1986, 1992) ont comparé le régime alimentaire des adultes des espèces sympatriques du genre Moxostoma dans la rivière Richelieu. Le contenu stomacal des chevaliers de rivière était surtout constitué de larves d’éphéméroptères (54 p. 100) et de trichoptères (15 p. 100). Le recouvrement des régimes alimentaires était très faible, et le contenu des intestins variait selon le degré de développement des dents pharyngiennes. Le chevalier cuivré affichait la plus forte préférence pour les mollusques (99 p. 100 des proies observées); ce pourcentage s’élève à 25 p. 100 chez le chevalier de rivière et à moins de 15 p. 100 chez les chevaliers jaune, rouge et blanc.

L’arc et les dents pharyngiens sont présents chez les jeunes chevaliers de rivière de l’année (Vachon, 1999a; idem, 2003b). Cependant, pendant la première saison de croissance, les jeunes se nourrissent surtout de crustacés microscopiques. Le régime alimentaire de 31 jeunes de l’année (32 ≤ LT ≤ 63 mm) capturés dans la rivière Richelieu était composé de cladocères chydoridés (22 p. 100), d’algues (diatomées) (21 p. 100), de nématodes (15 p. 100), de copépodes harpacticoïdes (12,5 p. 100), de protozoaires (6 p. 100) et de larves de chironomides (4 p. 100) (Vachon, 1999a). Contrairement aux adultes, chez les jeunes de l’année du genre Moxostoma, les régimes alimentaires se chevauchent beaucoup (Vachon, 1999a). McAllister et al. (1985) ont examiné le contenu stomacal de 10 spécimens de l’Ontario. Les chevaliers de rivière dont la longueur totale variait de 100 à 150 mm s’alimentaient surtout de larves et de pupes de chironomides. Les individus de plus grande taille (LT = 200 à 250 mm) consommaient des chironomides, des crustacés, des trichoptères et des coléoptères. Le régime alimentaire d’un spécimen d’âge de 2 + (LT = 140,5 mm) capturé dans la rivière Richelieu le 10 juin était composé principalement de larves de chironomides (57 p. 100) et de cladocères chydoridés (26 p. 100) (Vachon, 1999a). Les chevaliers de rivière de grande taille consomment des mollusques, des larves d’insectes et des écrevisses.

La spécialisation anatomique du chevalier de rivière pour se nourrir de mollusques peut accroître la susceptibilité de cette espèce à la disparition. Sur une grande partie de l’aire de répartition nord-américaine de l’espèce, les mollusques ont connu un déclin (Williams et al., 1993). L’invasion des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent par la moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha) a diminué la disponibilité des espèces indigènes de mollusques et a changé le processus de bioaccumulation des contaminants. On ignore dans quelle mesure le chevalier de rivière consomme l’importante biomasse des moules zébrées nouvellement établies et l’effet de celles-ci sur son taux de croissance. French et Bur (1996) ont signalé qu’un régime alimentaire constitué de moules zébrées avaient diminué le taux de croissance des malachigans adultes (Aplodinotus grunniens) capturés dans le lac Érié, probablement à cause d’une faible valeur en calories. 

Outre avec les espèces de meuniers et de chevaliers, la compétition alimentaire peut avoir lieu avec d’autres espèces de poissons indigènes (Mongeau et al., 1986; idem, 1992) et exotiques. Le malachigan dispose de dents pharyngiennes adaptées pour écraser les moules et les escargots (Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993). La carpe (Cyprinus carpio), introduite en Amérique du Nord en 1831, se nourrit également de mollusques (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Elle a été associée au chevalier cuivré et au chevalier de rivière lors des captures expérimentales effectuées dans les années 1960 et 1970 dans le réseau des rivières Yamaska et Noire et dans la rivière Richelieu (Mongeau et al., 1992). L’introduction récente de la tanche (Tinca tinca) dans le Haut-Richelieu, qui se répand rapidement dans le réseau du fleuve Saint-Laurent, fait de cette espèce un compétiteur potentiel pour le chevalier cuivré et le chevalier de rivière (Dumont et al., 2002).

La grande taille des adultes et la croissance rapide des jeunes de l’année réduisent la vulnérabilité de cette espèce aux prédateurs (Parker, 1988). 


Comportement et adaptabilité

Le chevalier de rivière a le potentiel de se rétablir dans des eaux où il avait disparu quand d’autres populations de l’espèce existent tout près (Jenkins et Burkhead, 1993). Cependant, dans de nombreuses rivières, la faible taille des populations de chevaliers de rivière et la présence d’obstacles à l’immigration (p. ex. les barrages) diminuent la capacité de l’espèce à se rétablir après une perturbation de l’habitat.