Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Engelmann's Quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) in Canada (Proposed)


1.0 Background

Engelmann's quillwortis an aquatic member of a large group of fern allies of the family Isoetaceae (with 300 or more species worldwide); they are primitive plants with a long fossil history. Engelmann's quillwort is endemic to eastern North America. This plant israrely common over a large area; however, they are often locally abundant in their scattered occurrences. Globally, Engelmann's quillwort is listed as G4 (globally widespread and apparently secure) (NatureServe, 2004). Nationally, it is listed as Endangered under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). Provincially, in Ontario, it is listed as S-1 (extremely rare). Progress is currently underway to have it provincially listed as endangered and regulated. This species is also listed as endangered in a number of American states; however, is not listed federally (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Engelmann's Quillwort status in North America (Copyright © 2005 NatureServe, 1101 Wilson Boulevard, 15th Floor, Arlington Virginia 22209, U.S.A. All Rights Reserved; NatureServe. 2005. NatureServe Explorer: An online encyclopedia of life [web application]. Version 4.6. NatureServe, Arlington, Virginia)
Figure 1. Engelmann's Quillwort status in North America (Copyright © 2005 NatureServe, 1101 Wilson Boulevard, 15th Floor, Arlington Virginia 22209, U.S.A. All Rights Reserved; NatureServe. 2005. NatureServe Explorer: An online encyclopedia of life [web application]. Version 4.6. NatureServe, Arlington, Virginia)

1.1 Description

Engelmann's quillwort is a shallow water species generally growing in borders of ponds, lakes and reservoirs, as well as creeks and rivers. This species is frequently found growing as an emergent in the dry season in damp ground or in dry bogs and swamps, in mud, sand, and gravel, within the major part of its distributional range. It is an inconspicuous perennial plant with simple, grass-like leaves. The leaves are usually less than 20 cm long, are green to yellow-green in colour, erect and usually soft. Engelmann's quillwort is very similar in appearance to other species of quillwort with which it is often found.

1.2 Distribution

Engelmann's quillwort was first discovered in Ontario at the Gull River of Haliburton County in 1988 and the Severn River of the District Municipality of Muskoka (Britton et. al. 1991). Its range is limited, confined to a 4.5 km section of the Severn River and about a 450 m section of the Gull River at West Guilford (Figure 2). Engelmann's quillwort plants have not been seen on the Simcoe County side of the Severn River; although, the presence of large sub-populations of Eaton's quillwort (Isoetes x eatonii Dodge), its sterile hybrid with the Spiny quillwort, indicates that it almost certainly persists there (Brunton 2003). Eaton's quillwort was first collected at Big Chute in 1980 (Kott and Bobbette 1980). The robust nature (large plant size and leaf number) of the hybrid makes this taxon the most conspicuous Isoetes at such Canadian Engelmann's quillwort sites.

The Canadian populations of Engelmann's quillwort are disjunct from the North American range of the species. It is believed that this distribution is related to dramatically different drainage patterns that existed in the Great Lakes Region of North America following the end of the Wisconsin glaciation (Chapman and Putnam 1984). This distribution is shared by a suite of shoreline and aquatic species, which are disjunct from their primarily Atlantic Coastal Plain range (Keddy and Sharpe 1989; Britton et. al. 1991; Reznicek 1994).

Review of the possibility that Engelmann's quillwort was accidentally introduced by human activity (e.g. recreational boat traffic) was a major consideration of recent field investigations within the Canadian range (Brunton 2003) and is one of the subjects of on-going molecular studies (Wilson 2004). It is concluded from the field studies that the strongest evidence points to a native origin for both Canadian populations. Evidence includes the fact that the Canadian distribution of Engelmann's quillwort is consistent with that of a significant number of other native aquatic species typical of the Atlantic Coast plain that are rare in Ontario and/or Canada. Further, the abundance of Engelmann's quillwort along the Severn River fits well within the 'Mill Pond scenario', which was first described in new England, where large populations developed locally some decades after the creation of additional aquatic habitat from the flooding by mill pond construction over smaller, indigenous quillwort populations (Eaton 1900). Over time, such populations decline in number, remaining in scattered, smaller sub-populations at particularly suitable sites within the locally expanded range. Such Mill Pond scenarios are known to occur with Engelmann's quillwort populations in at least North Carolina, Pennsylvania, New Hampshire, and New York (Brunton, per. obs.). Finally, there is no known evidence or documentation of Engelmann's quillwort(or any aquatic quillwort species) being inadvertently transported in the wild in North America, let alone over such great distances.

Although not confirmed, it is not expected that Engelmann's quillwort was ever substantially more common in Canada in historic times, as its national distribution is quite similar to that of other coastal disjunct vascular plants, which also maintain small, localized populations in the Great Lakes Region. Less than one percent of the global population of this species is found within Canada.

Outside of Canada, Engelmann's quillwort is most abundant in fresh water lakes and rivers along the Atlantic coastal plain in the eastern United States, and extending westward into the Mississippi River drainage. The previously known distribution of Engelmann's quillwort is described as New England south to southern Georgia and Alabama and west to Missouri (Kott and Bobbette 1980; Kott and Britton 1983). However, population levels in the United States have declined and the species is now extirpated from many historical sites, particularly in New England, Missouri, Georgia, and South Carolina. Presently, the central core of its range is in Virginia, southernPennsylvania and western North Carolina.

1.3 Population size and trends

In Canada, on-site surveys of about 120 potential sites along the Severn River and the Gull River from 2002-2005 identified seven populations of Engelmann's quillwort. On the Severn River, the overall population size for Engelmann's quillwort is currently estimated to be 1094 individuals (Heydon and Pidgen, 2005). In the Gull River the population estimate is 375 individuals (Heydon, 2006). During the same studies, 19 populations of the hybrid between Engelmann's quillwort and Spiny quillwort (Eaton's quillwort) were identified. The occurrence of Eaton's quillwort is taken as confirmation of the presence of Engelmann's quillwort (Figures 3 and 4) since the sterile hybrids have virtually always been found only in the presence of both parents (Brunton and Britton 1999, Brunton 2003). Therefore, the actual number of individuals of Engelmann's quillwort is most likely higher than that estimated above.

Population trends are not known for Canadian Engelmann's quillwort, though at least one formerly large population in the Severn River has been reduced since the early 1990s, apparently as a result of physical site impact such as mechanical damage, wave action, and/or abnormally high rates of sedimentation (Brunton, pers. obs.). Engelmann's quillwort populations have declined throughout the northern portion and western portions of its North American range over the last century (Taylor et. al. 1993).

Figure 2. The known Canadian locations of Engelmann's quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii).
Figure 2. The known Canadian locations of Engelmann's quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii)

1.4 Biology and Ecology

Engelmann's quillwort is a sexual diploid, which produces viable spores, as indicated by the abundance of its hybrid with Spiny quillwort. Vegetative reproduction has not been reported for any of the Isoetes species of North America. Canadian plants of Engelmann's and Eaton's quillwort have mature megaspores by early August. Plants of shallower water likely mature at an earlier date than those in deeper water. Dispersal of spores begins when the sporangium is ruptured, either by physical impact or by decay at the end of the growing season. The frequency of dense stands suggests that spores are often dispersed only a short distance, or may be carried downstream on buoyant detached leaves. Spores probably concentrate downstream in back-eddies and other slow-water areas. Sporophytes develop in such habitats following the contact of microspores with megaspores and can do so even in dynamic habitats (e.g. developing on sand spits in flowing river waters). This development presumably occurs during the late summer and fall period. Spore germination and vernalization requirements in reference to survival and distribution of Isoetes species have been discussed in Ontario, including Engelmann's quillwort (Kott and Bobbette 1980; Kott and Britton, 1982).

There appear to be few natural predators of Engelmann's quillwort perhaps in part, because they typically grow in rather sterile environments (i.e. not nutrient rich). Waterfowl and muskrats feed upon and dislodge fully developed plants; however, it is not clear if such events are common or have a direct effect on species distribution.

1.5 Habitat

All Canadian populations of Engelmann's quillwort are found in similar aquatic habitats characterized by fresh, flowing, circumneutral to calcareous water and substrate (pH 6.0 - 8.1). Sites are typically protected from heavy river currents and wave action by an intervening headland, island, etc. While typically submerged, Engelmann's quillwort can also be found as a late summer emergent of wet, silty beaches amongst boulders, occasionally in association with other Isoetes species. Backshore vegetation consists of mixed and deciduous forest cover. The Haliburton County population is partially shaded whereas the Severn River population in the District Municipality of Muskoka and the Simcoe County populations of I. ×eatonii grow in full sunlight.

Plants are found in a sand or silty-sand layer over clay or clayey-sand substrate. These are often within a dense granitic cobble bed but occur on open, relatively rock-free river sediment as well. Common associated species include Eel-grass (Vallisneria americana), Spiny quillwort (Isoetes echinospora), Najad (Najas flexilis), waterweed (Elodea canadensis), pondweeds (Potamogeton illinoensis, P. pectinatus, P. natans), grassleaf arrowhead (Sagittaria graminea), and crested arrowhead (Sagittaria cristata). The latter, a Provincially Rare Great Lakes endemic, appears to be as common as grassleaf arrowhead in the habitats of the Severn River Engelmann's quillwort sites.

The ecological flexibility of the Engelmann's quillwort might be limited. While Engelmann's quillwort can be maintained in cultivation for years in a standing pot of water, it is almost never found in nature in still, warm water. The fact that this species is found upstream of the Big Chute dam does indicate, however, that it can adapt to water level fluctuations. Water levels increased approximately 3.0 m with the construction of the dam in 1917, and it is interesting to note that Engelmann's quillwortis found in a number of sites upstream (but not downstream) of the dam.

The Haliburton County population is situated along an essentially natural section of the Gull River, where the water level is regulated, although not significantly. The habitat of this population looks very similar to that of a number of small-stream Engelmann's quillwort populations in Virginia and New Hampshire (Brunton pers. obs.). Water flows are controlled by a dam at the outlet of Eagle Lake, upstream of the Gull River population. Water levels fluctuate approximately 1 m annually at the outlet of Maple Lake, which is downstream of the population. This section of the river is also not suitable for navigation by large pleasure boats, which could have cruised continuously from areas of Engelmann's quillwort occurrences, thus reducing the opportunity for the transport of live plant material.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'isoète d'engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) au Canada (proposition)


1.0 Contexte

L'isoète d'Engelmann est une plante aquatique du grand groupe des fougères, de la famille des Isoetacées (plus de 300 espèces dans le monde). Ce sont des plantes primitives ayant un long passé fossile. L'isoète d'Engelmann est endémique dans l'Est de l'Amérique du Nord; il s'étend rarement sur une grande région, mais est habituellement très abondant dans les lieux épars où il s'est implanté. À l'échelle mondiale, l'isoète d'Engelmann est classé G4 (étendu à l'échelle mondiale et apparemment en sécurité) (NatureServe, 2004). À l'échelle nationale, il est désigné en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). À l'échelle provinciale, il est classé S-1 (extrêmement rare) en Ontario. Des démarches sont en cours pour qu'il soit désigné en voie de disparition et fasse l'objet d'une réglementation dans la province. Cette plante est aussi classée en voie de disparition dans certains états américains, mais n'est pas listée au niveau fédéral (figure 1).

Figure 1. Statut de l'isoète d'Engelmann en Amérique du Nord (Modifiée d'après © 2005 NatureServe, 1101, boul. Wilson, 15e étage, Arlington, Virginie 22209, É.-U. Tous droits réservés; NatureServe, NatureServe Explorer : An online encyclopedia of life [web application], version 4.6. NatureServe, Arlington, Virginie, 2005)
Figure 1. Statut de l'isoète d'Engelmann en Amérique du Nord (Modifiée d'après © 2005 NatureServe, 1101, boul. Wilson, 15e étage, Arlington, Virginie 22209, É.-U. Tous droits réservés; NatureServe, NatureServe Explorer : An online encyclopedia of life [web application], version 4.6. NatureServe, Arlington, Virginie, 2005)

1.1 Description

L'isoète d'Engelmann est une plante des eaux peu profondes qui pousse généralement sur les berges des étangs, des lacs, des réservoirs, des ruisseaux et des rivières. On trouve souvent cette espèce émergée durant la saison sèche dans les sols humides, ou dans les tourbières, ou les marécages asséchés, dans la boue, le sable ou le gravier, dans la plus grande partie de son aire de distribution. C'est une vivace discrète aux feuilles simples, semblables à celles des graminées, habituellement de moins de 20 cm, les feuilles sont de couleur verte à jaune-verte, dressées et souples. L'isoète d'Engelmann est très semblable en apparence aux autres espèces d'isoètes avec lesquelles on le trouve.

1.2 Distribution

L'isoète d'Engelmann a été découvert en Ontario dans la rivière Gull, comté de Haliburton, en 1988, ainsi que dans la rivière Severn, dans la municipalité de district de Muskoka (Britton et al., 1991). Son aire est restreinte, soit 4,5 kilomètres dans la rivière Severn et environ 450 mètres dans la rivière Gull, près de West Guilford (figure 2). L'isoète d'Engelmann n'est pas présent du côté de la rivière Severn situé dans le comté de Simcoe, même si la présence de grandes sous-populations d'isoètes d'Eaton (Isoetes x eatonii Dodge), son hybride stérile avec l'isoète à spores spinuleuses, permet de croire que l'isoète d'Engelmann survit sûrement à cet endroit (Brunton, 2003). L'isoète d'Eaton a été cueilli pour la première fois à Big Chute en 1980 (Kott et Bobbette, 1980). La nature robuste (grande taille et nombre de feuilles important) de l'hybride en fait le taxon le plus remarquable des isoètes dans les sites canadiens de l'isoète d'Engelmann.

Les populations canadiennes de l'isoète d'Engelmann sont isolées des regroupements de l'espèce en Amérique du Nord. On suppose que cette distribution est due aux grandes différences dans les réseaux de drainage de la région des Grands Lacs en Amérique du Nord après la période de glaciation du Wisconsin (Chapman et Putnam, 1984). Cette distribution est commune à bon nombre d'espèces du littoral et d'espèces aquatiques, isolées des regroupements principaux dans la plaine côtière de l'Atlantique (Keddy et Sharpe, 1989; Britton et al., 1991; Reznicek, 1994).

Des études récentes dans les sites canadiens (Brunton, 2003) et des études moléculaires continues (Wilson, 2004) examinent la possibilité que l'isoète d'Engelmann ait été introduit accidentellement par l'activité humaine (comme la circulation des embarcations de plaisance). Les études sur le terrain font pencher fortement la balance en faveur d'une origine indigène pour les deux populations canadiennes. Entre autres preuves, la distribution canadienne de l'isoète d'Engelmann est conforme à celle d'un bon nombre d'autres espèces aquatiques indigènes typiques de la plaine côtière de l'Atlantique rares en Ontario et au Canada. De plus, l'abondance de l'isoète d'Engelmann sur les berges de la rivière Severn correspond bien au scénario du « Mill Pond », que l'on a décrit pour la première fois en Nouvelle-Angleterre, et selon lequel de grandes populations se sont développées localement quelques dizaines d'années après la création de nouveaux habitats aquatiques correspondant à la construction de réservoirs et à l'inondation de terrains occupés par de plus petites populations d'isoètes indigènes (Eaton, 1900). Avec le temps, ces populations ont décliné et ont survécu un peu partout en sous-populations éparpillées et plus restreintes dans les endroits les plus propices du territoire. On sait à tout le moins que cela s'est produit pour l'isoète d'Engelmann en Caroline du Nord, en Pennsylvanie, au New Hampshire et à New York (Brunton, observation personnelle). Enfin, il n'existe aucune preuve documentée ou autre du transport accidentel de l'isoète d'Engelmann (ou n'importe quelle espèce d'isoète aquatique) à l'état sauvage en Amérique du Nord, encore moins sur de telles distances.

Quoique cela ne soit pas confirmé, on croit que l'isoète d'Engelmann n'a jamais été véritablement plus commun au Canada, car sa distribution nationale est assez semblable à celle d'autres plantes vasculaires isolées de la côte qui se retrouvent aussi en petites populations localisées dans la région des Grands Lacs. On trouve moins d'un pourcent de la population mondiale de cette espèce au Canada.

À l'extérieur du Canada, l'isoète d'Engelmann est particulièrement abondant dans les lacs et les rivières d'eau douce le long de la plaine côtière de l'Atlantique dans l'Est des États-Unis et s'étend vers l'ouest dans le réseau fluvial du Mississippi. L'ancienne distribution connue de l'isoète d'Engelmann allait du sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre jusqu'au sud de la Géorgie et de l'Alabama et à l'ouest du Missouri (Kott et Bobbette, 1980; Kott et Britton, 1983). Cependant, les niveaux de la population aux États-Unis ont décliné et l'espèce a désormais disparu de bon nombre des aires qu'elle occupait par le passé, surtout en Nouvelle-Angleterre, au Missouri, en Géorgie et en Caroline du Sud. À l'heure actuelle, le cœur de son aire se trouve en Virginie, dans le sud de la Pennsylvanie et l'ouest de la Caroline du Nord.

1.3 Taille de la population et tendances

Au Canada, les études sur le terrain d'environ 120 sites potentiels le long de la rivière Severn et de la rivière Gull entre 2002 et 2005 ont permis d'identifier sept populations d'isoètes d'Engelmann. Sur la rivière Severn, la population totale d'isoètes d'Engelmann est évaluée à 1 094 plantes (Heydon et Pidgen, 2005). La population de la rivière Gull est évaluée à 375 plantes (Heydon, 2006). Au cours de ces études, on a identifié 19 populations de l'espèce hybride (isoète d'Eaton) issue du croisement entre l'isoète d'Engelmann et l'isoète à spores spinuleuses. La présence de l'isoète d'Eaton est considérée comme une confirmation de la présence de l'isoète d'Engelmann (figures 3 et 4), car les plantes hybrides stériles ont toujours été trouvées en présence des deux parents (Brunton et Britton, 1999; Brunton, 2003). Par conséquent, le nombre réel d'isoètes d'Engelmann est sûrement plus élevé que les estimations ci-dessus.

Les tendances de la population d'isoètes d'Engelmann au Canada ne sont pas connues, mais on sait qu'au moins une ancienne grande population de la rivière Severn est en déclin depuis le début des années 1990, apparemment en raison des impacts physiques sur le site, comme les dommages mécaniques, l'action des vagues et le taux anormalement élevé de sédimentation (Brunton, observation personnelle). Les populations d'isoètes d'Engelmann ont décliné dans le nord et l'ouest de leur aire en Amérique du Nord au cours des cent dernières années (Taylor et al., 1993).

Figure 2. Sites de croissance connus de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) au Canada
Figure 2. Sites de croissance connus de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) au Canada


1.4 Biologie et écologie

L'isoète d'Engelmann est une plante diploïde qui se reproduit par voie sexuelle et produit des spores viables, comme le prouve l'abondance de son hybride avec l'isoète à spores spinuleuses. La multiplication végétative n'a jamais été constatée chez aucune des espèces d'isoètes de l'Amérique du Nord. Au Canada, les mégaspores de l'isoète d'Engelmann et de l'isoète d'Eaton atteignent la maturité au début du mois d'août. Les plantes en eau peu profonde arrivent sans doute à maturité plus tôt que celles établies en eau plus profonde. La dispersion des spores survient au moment où le sporange se rompt, soit sous l'effet d'un impact physique ou de sa détérioration à la fin de la saison de croissance. La fréquence des peuplements denses laisse supposer que les spores sont souvent dispersées sur une courte distance seulement, ou sont transportées en aval sur des feuilles détachées flottant sur l'eau. Les spores se concentrent probablement en aval dans des zones de contre-courants et d'autres zones d'eaux plus calmes. Les sporophytes se développent dans ces habitats après le contact des microspores et des mégaspores et peuvent même le faire dans des habitats changeants (par exemple, sur les langues de sable des rivières aux eaux vives). Ce développement se produit probablement à la fin de l'été et à l'automne. Les conditions de la germination et de la vernalisation de l'isoète, y compris de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Kott et Bobbette 1980; Kott et Britton, 1982), dans le contexte de sa survie et de sa distribution, ont fait l'objet de discussions en Ontario.

Il semble bien que l'isoète d'Engelmann ait peu de prédateurs naturels, surtout en raison des milieux relativement stériles (c'est-à-dire peu riches en nutriments) dans lesquels il pousse habituellement. La sauvagine et le rat musqué s'en nourrissent et délogent les plantes matures, mais on ne peut dire si cela se produit souvent et a un effet direct sur la distribution de l'espèce.

1.5 Habitat

Toutes les populations canadiennes d'isoètes d'Engelmann poussent dans des habitats aquatiques semblables caractérisés par des eaux fraîches et vives et des substrats variant de neutres à calcaires (pH 6,0 - 8,1). Les sites sont typiquement protégés des forts courants et de l'action des vagues par un cap, une île, etc. Habituellement submergé, l'isoète d'Engelmann peut aussi se trouver émergé à la fin de l'été sur les plages silteuses parmi les pierres, parfois en présence d'autres espèces d'isoètes. La végétation de l'arrière-plage consiste en une couverture forestière mixte et décidue. La population du comté de Haliburton pousse dans une zone partiellement ombragée, alors que la population de la rivière Severn, dans la municipalité de district de Muskoka, et les populations d'isoètes d'Eaton du comté de Simcoe poussent en plein soleil.

Les plantes poussent dans une couche de sable ou de sable silteux sur un substrat d'argile ou de sable argileux. On retrouve souvent ces matières dans des couches de galets granitiques, mais aussi sur des surfaces ouvertes de sédiments des rivières présentant peu de pierres. Les espèces qui lui sont communément associées comprennent la zostère marine (Vallisneria americana), l'isoète à spores spinuleuses (Isoetes echinospora), la naïde (Najas flexilis), l'élodée du Canada (Elodea canadensis), le potamot (Potamogeton illinoensis, P. pectinatus, P. natans), la sagittaire graminoïde (Sagittaria graminea) et la sagittaire graminoïde à crêtes (Sagittaria cristata). Cette dernière, une espèce endémique rare de la région ontarienne des Grands Lacs, est aussi commune que la sagittaire graminoïde dans les sites où pousse l'isoète d'Engelmann sur la rivière Severn.

La flexibilité écologique de l'isoète d'Engelmann est peut-être limitée. Même si l'isoète d'Engelmann peut être conservé pendant dix ans ou plus dans un aquarium (D. Brunton, observation personnelle), à l'état naturel, on le trouve habituellement dans des plans d'eau fraîche et mouvante. Le fait qu'on trouve cette espèce en amont du barrage de Big Chute indique néanmoins qu'elle peut s'adapter aux fluctuations des niveaux d'eau. Le niveau d'eau s'est accru d'environ trois mètres après la construction du barrage en 1917, et, fait intéressant, on peut trouver l'isoète d'Engelmann dans bon nombre de sites en amont, mais pas en aval du barrage.

La population du comté de Haliburton est située dans une section essentiellement naturelle de la rivière Gull où le niveau d'eau est contrôlé, mais pas de façon significative. L'habitat de cette population est très semblable à celui de bon nombre de populations d'isoètes d'Engelmann établies le long de petits ruisseaux de la Virginie et du New Hampshire (Brunton, observation personnelle). Le débit d'eau est contrôlé par un barrage à la décharge du lac Eagle, en amont de la population de la rivière Gull. Chaque année, les niveaux d'eau fluctuent d'environ un mètre à la décharge du lac Maple en aval. Cette section de la rivière ne peut accueillir de gros bateaux de plaisance en provenance des zones où croît l'isoète d'Engelmann, réduisant du coup les possibilités de transport de plantes vivantes.