Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Engelmann's Quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) in Canada (Proposed)


3.0 Knowledge Gaps

The recovery objectives emphasize the need to undertake some basic ecological investigations of this species. The ecology of the genus Isoetes has long been neglected in North America due to our inability, until the last decade, to confidently identify individual plants. The subtlety and variability of aquatic habitats complicates this further. Why, for example, are Engelmann's and Eaton's quillwort found at some sites along the Severn and Gull Rivers but not at other seemingly identical sites along those waterways? Further determination of the basic ecological requirements of Canadian Engelmann's quillwort is required for this species in order to decipher specific habitat characteristics.

Similarly, the geographic and biological affinities of widely disjunct populations are not known. It will be necessary to genetically determine such connections to assess appropriate recruitment and restocking options, if necessary, as well as to provide insight into the origin of this species and perhaps other rare disjuncts in Canada.

A mechanism for distinguishing the depauperate Canadian Engelmann's quillwort plants from associated aquatic quillworts without resorting to the removal of leaves and the examination of megaspores is currently being assessed. Only generalized and inaccurate population detection and population census, which are estimated only from sampled populations, can occur. A practical, non-destructive, and more accurate technique for identification would dramatically improve our monitoring and investigative productivity. Further work on this is required.

More research is required to fully understand the actual threats to Engelmann's quillwort in Canada and their relative priority. Further and refined knowledge on actual threats is essential to ensure that effective mitigation measures are put into place and that threats to habitat are minimized/alleviated.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'isoète d'engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) au Canada (proposition)


3.0 Lacunes du savoir

Les objectifs de rétablissement mettent l'accent sur le besoin d'entreprendre des enquêtes écologiques de base sur cette espèce. L'écologie du genre Isoetes a longtemps été négligée en Amérique du Nord en raison de notre incapacité, jusqu'à il y a dix ans, d'identifier les plantes individuelles de manière fiable. La fragilité et la diversité des habitats aquatiques compliquent encore cette tâche. Pourquoi, par exemple, les isoètes d'Engelmann et d'Eaton sont-ils trouvés à certains endroits le long des rivières Severn et Gull, mais pas à d'autres en apparence identiques le long de ces cours d'eau? Il faut cerner davantage les besoins écologiques de base de l'isoète d'Engelmann canadien afin de comprendre les caractéristiques particulières de son habitat.

De même, les affinités géographiques et biologiques des populations très éloignées ne sont pas connues. Il sera important de définir génétiquement ces liens pour évaluer, si nécessaire, les possibilités de recrutement et de repeuplement, ainsi que pour mieux comprendre l'origine de l'espèce et peut-être d'autres populations rares isolées au Canada.

On évalue actuellement une façon de distinguer les isoètes d'Engelmann canadiens souffreteux des isoètes aquatiques connexes sans en retirer des feuilles ou en examiner les mégaspores. Pour l'instant, on doit se contenter d'identifier et de faire le recensement des populations de manière généralisée et imprécise, à partir des populations échantillonnées. Une technique pratique, non-destructrice et plus précise d'identification des plantes améliorerait grandement le rendement de la surveillance et des études. Des études approfondies sur la question seront nécessaires.

Il faudra multiplier les recherches pour bien comprendre les menaces actuelles contre l'isoète d'Engelmann au Canada et établir la priorité relative de chacune. Une connaissance approfondie et détaillée de ces menaces est essentielle si on veut appliquer des mesures efficaces de réduction et d'atténuation de leurs effets contre l'habitat.