Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Engelmann's Quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) in Canada (Proposed)


4.0 Critical Habitat (Proposed)

Critical habitat for Engelmann's quillwort is proposed at both the Severn and Gull Rivers as the locations of sub-populations and the area in-between these sub-populations. The boundaries of the critical habitat are:

  1. the high water mark along the shoreline;
  2. 150 m from most distal sub-population on the upstream side at both river locations;
  3. the Big Chute Dam and 150 m beyond the most distal sub-population on the downstream side at the Severn River and Gull Rivers, respectively (Figures 3 and 4).

Upland extensions of critical habitat are considered essential for the survival and recovery of Engelmann's quillwort; however, further scientific investigation is required to determine the extent of these extensions. Therefore, the proposed identification of critical habitat is a partial one.

Because the ecological requirements necessary for persistence of the species remain uncertain at present (Heydon and Pidgen 2005), an occupancy-based approach to the identification of critical habitat has been employed. Populations of these species are comprised of geographically separated sub-populations, and the critical habitat proposed here takes in all such sub-populations.

Critical habitat includes populations of Engelmann's quillwort and its hybrid, Eaton's quillwort, as it represents the largest proportion of the genetic heritage of I. Engelmannii in Canada and is currently felt that Engelmann's quillwort is most likely to be present near Eaton's quillwort (Brunton 2003).

Distances between sub-populations range from 16 to 1456 m (average distance 272.6 on the Severn River; 142.3 on the Gull River) indicating that there is the possibility of dispersal and colonization over considerable distances in suitable aquatic habitat. Therefore, critical habitat includes the area between known sub-populations. In addition, given the ranges above, on average it is anticipated that dispersal could take place 300 m beyond the most distal population downstream at the Severn River site and 150 m beyond the most distal population downstream at the Gull River site (assuming no upstream dispersal). Since 300 m downstream at the Severn River runs into the Big Chute Dam, this structure is used as a boundary. Therefore, the downstream boundaries of critical habitat include the Big Chute Dam at the Severn River and 150 m beyond the most distal population at the Gull River.

From 2004-2005, one new subpopulation was discovered 150 m upstream from the old most distal sub-population within the Severn River. It is expected then that upstream dispersal is possible; however, it is unknown as to how it is occurring (e.g. waterfowl). Therefore, in the absence of more specific information, the upstream boundaries of critical habitat have been identified as 150 m beyond the most distal plant at both the Severn and Gull River sites.

In order to mitigate threats that might occur upland (i.e. pesticide and fertilizer use), it was felt that an upland extension to the critical habitat is required. However, currently, there is insufficient evidence to determine the type and extent of the upland area required to mitigate the specific threats. Therefore, the shoreline boundary of critical habitat is defined by the Ordinary High Water Mark (OHWM), which is the usual or average level to which a body of water rises at its highest point and remains for sufficient time so as to change the characteristics of the land. Further scientific research will be undertaken in 2006 and 2007 in order to confidently determine what upland extension to critical habitat is required for the survival and recovery of this species.

Figure 3. The locations of Engelmann's quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) on the Gull River, and the critical habitat. (In this iteration, critical habitat is only identified on provincial crown lands and federal lands; no private lands are involved.)
Figure 3. The locations of Engelmann's quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) on the Gull River, and the critical habitat.

 

Figure 4. The locations of Engelmann's quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) on the Severn River, and the critical habitat.
Figure 4. The locations of Engelmann's quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) on the Severn River, and the critical habitat.

4.1 Examples of activities likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat

The critical habitat of this species is potentially threatened by a number of activities. The construction of docks and boathouses could alter the habitat through disturbance and result in excessive sedimentation, as well as significantly reduce light levels. In addition, there are various forms of mechanical damage, which could negatively impact the critical habitat for this species including dredging, sand placement, raking of aquatic plants and shoreline alteration. Thirdly, aquatic herbicide use could remove individuals or even sub-populations. Lastly, eutrophication of the water and sediment resulting from adjacent land use, such as fertilization and insufficient septic systems, could negatively affect this species and its habitat through increased herbaceous competition.

4.2 Existing Habitat Protection

All of the populations in the Gull River (and thus critical habitat) are on provincial crown lands (Figure 5)1. The populations in the Severn River exist on Federal lands (i.e. the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada) except for one sub-population of the hybrid, which is located on provincial crown land and part of the Severn River Conservation Reserve (Figure 6). The Federal sites are subject to protective legislation and regulation under the Species at Risk Act. The sites on Federal lands are subject to the Historic Canal Regulations of the Department of Transport Act. The Provincial sites are currently offered some protection through provincial legislation such as the Public Lands Act, which regulates land use activities on crown lands, as well as the Provincial Policy Statement, which can provide municipal protection from development activities on private lands. Progress is underway to have this species regulated by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources under the Endangered Species Act. The federal and provincial governments will cooperate in providing adequate protection measures to these sites.

Figure 5. Current land tenure and existing habitat protection at the Gull River site.
Figure 5. Current land tenure and existing habitat protection at the Gull River site.

 

Figure 6. Current land tenure and existing habitat protection at the Severn River site.
Figure 6. Current land  tenure and existing habitat protection at the Severn River  site.

4.3. Schedule of Studies to Provide Complete Identification of Critical Habitat

  1. Confirm the type and extent of threats to Engelmann's quillwort on upland and aquatic areas at both the Severn and Gull River sites. Suggested completion date: 2008.

  2. Determine land and water use patterns at both the Severn and Gull River sites (e.g. fertilizer, pesticide and herbicide use, septic use, cottage or business uses). Suggested completion date: 2008

  3. Determine the type (e.g. vegetative or general) and extent (i.e. width) of the critical habitat extension that is required to effectively mitigate threats to Engelmann's quillwort at both the Severn and Gull River sites. Suggested completion date: 2008.

1 In this iteration, critical habitat is only identified on provincial crown lands and federal lands; no private lands are involved.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'isoète d'engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) au Canada (proposition)


4.0 Habitat essentiel (proposition)

On propose de désigner les sites des rivières Severn et Gull habitats essentiels de l'isoète d'Engelmann dans les zones où sont établies des sous-populations entre ces zones. Les limites de l'habitat essentiel sont les suivantes :

  1. la ligne des hautes eaux le long des berges;
  2. une distance de 150 mètres en amont de la sous-population la plus distale sur les deux rivières;
  3. en aval, jusqu'au barrage de Big Chute et à une distance de 150 mètres de la sous-population la plus distale sur les rivières Severn et Gull (figures 3 et 4).

Les extensions de l'habitat essentiel en zone sèche sont très importantes pour la survie et le rétablissement de l'isoète d'Engelmann, mais il faudra faire davantage d'études pour déterminer l'étendue de ces extensions. Par conséquent, l'étendue proposée pour les habitats essentiels n'est que partielle.

Comme, à l'heure actuelle, les besoins écologiques pour la survie de l'espèce sont encore incertains (Heydon et Pidgen, 2005), on a adopté une approche fondée sur l'occupation actuelle pour identifier l'habitat essentiel. Les populations de cette espèce regroupent des sous-populations éloignées géographiquement qui sont toutes comprises dans l'habitat essentiel proposé.

L'habitat essentiel comprend les populations d'isoètes d'Engelmann et de son hybride, l'isoète d'Eaton, car il représente la plus grande proportion du patrimoine génétique de l'Isoetes engelmannii au Canada et on suppose pour l'instant que l'isoète d'Engelmann doit pousser à proximité de l'isoète d'Eaton (Brunton, 2003).

Les distances entre les sous-populations vont de 16 à 1 456 mètres (la distance moyenne est de 272,6 mètres sur la rivière Severn et de 142,3 mètres sur la rivière Gull), ce qui indique qu'il est possible pour l'espèce de se disperser et de coloniser d'autres sites sur d'importantes distances dans un milieu aquatique favorable. Ainsi, l'habitat essentiel comprend les zones situées entre les sous-populations connues. En se fondant sur les distances indiquées ci-dessus, on estime qu'en moyenne la dispersion peut se produire jusqu'à une distance de 300 mètres en aval de la population la plus distale sur la rivière Severn et de 150 mètres sur la rivière Gull (si on tient pour acquis qu'il n'y a pas de dispersion en amont). Parce qu'à 300 mètres en aval de la dernière population sur la rivière Severn on rencontre le barrage de Big Chute, cette structure est utilisée comme limite. Par conséquent, les limites en aval de l'habitat essentiel comprennent le barrage de Big Chute sur la rivière Severn, alors que sur la rivière Gull, elles s'étendent à 150 mètres en aval de la population la plus distale.

En 2004-2005, on a découvert une autre sous-population à 150 mètres en amont à partir de la sous-population la plus distale de la rivière Severn. On conclut donc que la dispersion en amont est possible, mais on ignore comment elle se produit (par exemple, la sauvagine). Ainsi, en l'absence d'information plus spécifique, les limites en amont de l'habitat essentiel ont été fixées à 150 mètres des sous-populations les plus distales des rivières Severn et Gull.

Pour atténuer les menaces qui peuvent provenir des zones sèches (comme les pesticides et les engrais), on est d'avis que les limites de l'habitat essentiel devraient se prolonger en zone sèche. Cependant, les preuves sont insuffisantes pour déterminer le type et l'étendue de cette prolongation dans la zone sèche nécessaire pour réduire les menaces. Par conséquent, les limites de l'habitat essentiel sont définies comme la ligne des hautes eaux ordinaires, qui est le niveau moyen ou habituel de l'eau à son point le plus élevé et l'endroit où elle reste suffisamment longtemps pour changer les caractéristiques des terres. Des études scientifiques approfondies seront réalisées en 2006 et 2007 pour déterminer quelles extensions de l'habitat essentiel en zone sèche sont nécessaires pour la survie et le rétablissement de l'espèce.

Figure 3. Habitat essentiel de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) sur la rivière Gull. (L'habitat essentiel n'est identifié que sur les terres fédérales et provinciales dans la présente version; aucun habitat essentiel n'est identifié sur les terres privées).
Figure 3. Habitat essentiel de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) sur la rivière Gull. (L'habitat essentiel n'est identifié que sur les terres fédérales et provinciales dans la présente version; aucun habitat essentiel n'est identifié sur les terres privées).

 

Figure 4. Habitat essentiel de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) sur la rivière Severn et son habitat essentiel. (L'habitat essentiel n'est identifié que sur les terres fédérales et provinciales dans la présente version; aucun habitat essentiel n'est identifié sur les terres privées).
Figure 4. Habitat essentiel de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) sur la rivière Severn et son habitat essentiel.</strong> (L'habitat essentiel n'est identifié que sur les terres fédérales et provinciales dans la présente version; aucun habitat essentiel n'est identifié sur les terres privées).

4.1 Exemples d'activités susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel

L'habitat essentiel de l'espèce peut être menacé par certaines activités. La construction de quais et de remises à bateaux peut altérer l'habitat en le perturbant et en causant une sédimentation excessive, de même qu'en réduisant les niveaux de luminosité de manière importante. De plus, divers types de dommages mécaniques peuvent survenir qui auraient un impact négatif sur l'habitat essentiel de cette espèce, comme les travaux de dragage, d'épandage de sable, de raclage des plantes aquatiques et de transformation des berges. Aussi, l'utilisation d'herbicides aquatiques pourrait faire disparaître des plantes et même des sous-populations entières. Enfin, l'eutrophisation de l'eau et la sédimentation découlant des activités sur les terres avoisinantes, comme la fertilisation et les fosses septiques dont la capacité est insuffisante, pourraient nuire à l'espèce et à son habitat par une augmentation de la compétition des herbacées.

4.2 Protection de l'habitat existant

Toutes les populations de la rivière Gull (incluant l'habitat essentiel) sont sur des terres publiques gérées par la province (figure 5)1. Les populations de la rivière Severn se trouvent sur des terres fédérales (c'est-à-dire le lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn), à l'exception d'une sous-population de l'espèce hybride située sur des terres administrées par la province et sur une partie de la réserve de conservation de la rivière Severn (figure 6). Les sites situés sur les terres fédérales sont assujettis à la Loi sur les espèces en péril et au Règlement sur les canaux historiques de la Loi sur le ministère des Transports. À l'heure actuelle, les sites des terres provinciales sont protégés par des lois provinciales comme la Loi sur les terres publiques, qui légifère les activités sur les terres provinciales, et le Provincial Policy Statement qui protège dans une certaine mesure les municipalités contre les activités d'aménagement des terrains privés. Des démarches sont en cours pour que l'espèce soit protégée par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition. Les gouvernements fédéral et provincial travailleront en coopération afin d'assurer des mesures de protection appropriées pour ces sites.

Figure 5. État actuel du régime foncier et de la protection de l'habitat de la rivière Gull
Figure 5. État actuel du régime foncier et de la protection de l'habitat de la rivière Gull

 

Figure 6. État actuel du régime foncier et de la protection de l'habitat de la rivière Severn


4.3 Calendrier des études pour délimiter complètement l'habitat essentiel

  1. Confirmer le type et la portée des menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann dans les zones sèches et aquatiques des rivières Severn et Gull. Date d'achèvement prévue : 2008.

  2. Déterminer les habitudes d'utilisation des terres et de l'eau sur les sites des rivières Severn et Gull (comme l'utilisation d'engrais, de pesticides et d'herbicides, l'utilisation de fosses septiques et les utilisations à des fins de plaisance ou d'affaires). Date d'achèvement prévue : 2008.

  3. Déterminer le type (p. ex.végétal ou général) et l'étendue (c'est-à-dire la largeur) de l'habitat essentiel nécessaire pour atténuer efficacement les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann efficacement, tant sur la rivière Severn que sur la rivière Gull. Date d'achèvement prévue : 2008.

1 L'habitat essentiel n'est identifié que sur les terres fédérales et provinciales dans la présente version; aucun habitat essentiel n'est identifié sur les terres privées.