Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Engelmann's Quillwort (Isoetes engelmannii) in Canada (Proposed)


5.0 Recovery

5.1 Recovery Feasibility

The recovery of Engelmann's Quillwort is considered feasible based on four criteria as outlined in Environment Canada's National Policy on Recovery Feasibility:

  1. There are individuals present that are capable of reproduction in order to maintain the current populations. It is felt that recovery efforts will not result in Engelmann's quillwort becoming a common species in central Ontario waterways. It seems most likely to have been a naturally rare disjunct species that has never been in large numbers in this region. Its status may represent a position near to or at the species' historic peak of abundance.

  2. Sufficient suitable habitat is available for the species as long as it is maintained through threat mitigation. In addition, more habitat could be made available through restoration and management efforts. Habitat-related environmental enhancement would likely involve a diversity of community and agency partners and stakeholders to maintain and sustain Engelmann's quillwort in Canada. It is anticipated that such coordinated enhancement programs would include shoreline naturalization, reduction in bank erosion, reduction in the volume and toxicity of polluted stormwater (run-off), and removal/ prevention of on-going and/ or anticipated mechanical impacts.

  3. Significant threats to the species can be mitigated through a variety of techniques outlined within this strategy.

  4. A variety of recovery techniques are available, many of which have proven to be successful with other aquatic plants.

Accordingly, maintaining existing populations and their habitat in sustainable conditions constitutes a relatively small-scale undertaking.

5.2 Recovery Goal, Objectives, and Activities

5.2.1 Recovery Goal

To ensure the sustainability of Engelmann's quillwort populations on the Severn and Gull Rivers and any other populations that may be discovered. Habitat sustainability implies persistence within the species' known Canadian range with ecological integrity levels sufficiently high to support viable Engelmann's quillwort populations.

5.2.2 Recovery Objectives

Objectives intended to deliver the goal of the Engelmann's quillwort Recovery Strategy are listed below (Table 2) and are based on a five year timeline for completion (i.e. 2011). Actions, which address these objectives, are outlined in the following section (Table 3).

Table 2. Engelmann's quillwort recovery objectives

  1. Population size and distribution, population viability, and genetic affinity to other populations are more fully understood.
  2. Ecological requirements sufficiently understood such that the identification of critical habitat could be refined.
  3. All known subpopulations are monitored at varying levels of effort every three years.
  4. Extent of each threat to Engelmann's quillwort is more fully understood and threat-specific mitigation techniques established.
  5. Threats to Engelmann's quillwort and its habitat are minimized through Federal, Provincial, and municipal legislation, policy and regulation with a focus on critical habitat in 2006/2007.
  6. Educational tools and programs for stewardship and conservation developed with landowners, land managers and stakeholders such that threats to Engelmann's quillwort and its habitat are minimized with a focus on critical habitat in 2006/2007.
  7. Restoration techniques and a protocol for implementation are developed and suitable, unoccupied habitats are identified for reintroduction should this measure be required.

5.2.3 Actions to be taken to address threats

Delivery of the Goals and Objectives of the Engelmann's quillwort Recovery Strategy require specific actions to be implemented directly or with partners (Table 3). These are summarized below. Given the uncertainty around some of the threats to this species and other knowledge gaps, many of the actions are based on gaining knowledge rather than specifically addressing threats. Wherever possible and appropriate, specific threats to Engelmann's quillwort have been addressed by these actions.

Table 3. Recovery actions to achieve Recovery Objectives
Objective StatementPriorityActionsEffectsThreats addressed
Population size and distribution, population viability, and genetic affinity to other populations are more fully understood.LowSurvey of potential habitatsDetermination of population size to increase knowledge of distribution and abundanceIndirect. Threats better understood.
LowAssessment of existing location records in North AmericaUnderstanding of continental population and relationship of Ontario's population to itAs above.
HighIdentify important populationsProvides priority sites for protection and monitoringAs above.
HighDetermine genetic markers and develop fingerprinting techniqueLeads to development of fingerprinting methods; identifies appropriate origins for potential transplanting material; species identificationAs above.
HighDetermine genetic affinity of Ontario's population to othersProvide evidence for native origin of Ontario's populationAs above.
Ecological requirements sufficiently understood such that the identification of critical habitat could be refined.HighEcological study of habitat of Ontario populationsIdentify habitat requirements; typical habitat can be used to identify other potential sitesIndirect. Threats better understood.
All known subpopulations are monitored at varying levels of effort every three years.MediumDevelop monitoring planEfficiently direct monitoring effortsIndirect. Threats better understood.
HighEstablish permanent monitoring transects for selected populationsProvides data to determine trends.
Feeds into monitoring plan
As above.
MediumConduct photographic surveys of selected populationsMechanism for periodic review of large populations
Feeds into monitoring plan.
As above.
HighPrepare an annual report of all activities for the year and provide monitoring data to NHICSummarizes and tracks actions taken; provides background and direction for future workAs above.
Extent of each threat to Engelmann's quillwort is more fully understood and threat-specific mitigation techniques established.HighIdentify factors negatively impacting populations and implement mitigation measures where necessary.Reduce negative impacts on populationsMechanical damage, nutrient enrichment, herbicide application,
water contaminants,  erosion or sedimentation from land sources, collection.
MediumResearch and investigate effective mitigationDetermine useful mitigation measuresAs above.
Threats to Engelmann's quillwort and its habitat are minimized through Federal, Provincial, and municipal legislation, policy and regulation with a focus on critical habitat in 2006/2007.HighInitiate process for listing under provincial Endangered Species ActProvides protection for species on crown and private landsMechanical damage, nutrient enrichment, excessive water level fluctuations, herbicide application, water contaminants, erosion or sedimentation, plant collection
HighDevelop and apply provincial habitat mapping guidelines for Engelmann's quillwort to facilitate application of the Provincial Policy Statement in municipal land use planning processesProtects populations from impacts of development on adjacent lands.As above.
MediumDevelop management guidelines for species where it exists on Trent Severn Waterway.Provides protection for species on federal landsAs above.
HighUse federal, provincial and municipal policy and legislation to provide protection through normal plan input and review on federal, crown, and private landsProvides protection on federal, crown and private lands As above.
HighRaise awareness of Parks Canada Trent Severn Waterway staff, MNR district and area staff and municipal planning staff involved in land use planning and managementAssure consideration of protection of Engelmann's quillwort during planning and management activitiesMechanical damage, nutrient enrichment, herbicide application, erosion or sedimentation.
Educational tools and programs for stewardship and conservation developed with landowners, land managers and stakeholders such that threats to Engelmann's quillwort and its habitat are minimizedwith a focus on critical habitat in 2006/2007.HighDevelop communication strategyEstablishes communication priorities and products for public, municipalities, resource management agenciesMechanical damage, nutrient enrichment,
herbicide application, water contaminants, introduced invasive species, erosion or sedimentation, plant collection
HighInitiate adjacent landowner contact programPromotes good stewardship practices by adjacent property owners; Prelude to listing under Endangered Species ActAs above.
Restoration techniques and a protocol for implementation are developed and suitable, unoccupied habitats are identified for reintroduction should this measure be required.LowDetermine if artificial propagation is possibleNecessary for future possible restoration efforts if this becomes necessary to sustain species in Canada.Mitigation for loss due to threats.
LowIdentify sites suitable for restorationEstablishes restoration prioritiesErosion or sedimentation.
LowDetermine restoration techniques for Engelmann's quillwort habitatNecessary for possible future restoration effortsMitigation for loss due to threats.

5.2.4 Actions Already Completed or Underway

  1. Distribution and population surveys of both the Severn and Gull River populations were completed in 2000 and 2002 (Figure 4; Brunton 2001; Brunton 2003).

  2. After designation of the Gull River site as a candidate Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI) in the Site District 5E-9 report (Brunton 1991), the highway adjacent to the main Gull River site was re-routed (in 1992) to avoid destruction of that population.

  3. Process to regulate Engelmann's quillwort under Ontario's Endangered Species Act was initiated in 2004.

  4. A trial underwater video monitoring project was completed at Big Chute in 2003 (Stevens 2003) and again in 2004.

  5. The development of genetic markers was completed in 2004 (Coleman and Wilson pers. comm. 2004).

  6. The development of genetic fingerprinting is underway at Trent University with final results expected in 2006.

  7. The determination of genetic affinities with other North American populations was initiated at Trent University in 2004.

  8. Ecological research and baseline integrity monitoring of Engelmann's quillwortsites with the Severn River population were initiated in 2004 (Heydon and Pidgen 2005). Ecological studies are continuing during 2005/2006 and 2006/2007.

  9. Monitoring Plan for Engelmann's Quillwort (Isoetesengelmannii) in the Severn River Big Chute completed in early 2005 (Heydon, 2005).

  10. Habitat review and collection of molecular research material from Engelmann's quillwortsites in the northeastern United States was undertaken in 2004.

5.3 Evaluation

The effectiveness of efforts to ensure the sustainability of Engelmann's quillwort populations and habitats on the Severn and Gull Rivers and any other populations that may be discovered can be measured (Table 4). These measures will differ in scope depending on the objective, as some objectives are more focused on information needs while others are more focused on threat mitigation. Performance measurements for each of the suggested Recovery Strategy objectives are listed below.

Table 4. Performance Measures
Objective StatementPerformance Measures
Population size and distribution, population viability, and genetic affinity to other populations are more fully understood.
  • Accurate estimates of population size made
  • Accurate mapping of distribution made
  • Studies on genetic affinity to other populations conducted
  • Population and distribution trends created
Ecological requirements sufficiently understood such that the identification of critical habitat could be refined.
  • Complete annual reports summarizing results of studies
  • Publish studies
  • Identification of critical habitat refined
All known subpopulations are monitored at varying levels of effort every three years.
  • Monitoring reports produced every three years
  • Population and distribution trends created
Extent of each threat to Engelmann's quillwort is more fully understood and threat-specific mitigation techniques established.
  • Ranked list of threats developed
  • Threat-specific mitigation techniques developed
Threats to Engelmann's quillwort and its habitat are minimized through Federal, Provincial, and municipal legislation, policy and regulation with a focus on critical habitat in 2006/2007.
  • Engelmann's quillwort regulated under the provincial Endangered Species Act
  • Mitigation measures incorporated into Trent/Severn Waterway management plan, the TSW shoreline application and review process and any other guidance material
  • Appropriate policies and zoning provisions identified in Official plans and zoning by-laws; may depend on timing of updates/revisions
  • Threats to critical habitat minimized
  • Number and extent of populations remains stable
Educational tools and programs for stewardship and conservation developed with landowners, land managers and stakeholders such that threats to Engelmann's quillwort and its habitat are minimized with a focus on critical habitat in 2006/2007
  • Communications plan completed
  • Stewardship programs in place with landowners, land managers and stakeholders
  • Number of populations remains stable
  • Threats to critical habitat minimized
Restoration techniques and a protocol for implementation are developed and suitable, unoccupied habitats are identified for reintroduction should this measure be required.
  • Effectiveness of restoration determined
  • Feasibility of propagation determined
  • Restoration undertaken if required
  • Suitable, unoccupied habitats mapped


5.4 Effects on Other Species

The recovery actions outlined in this strategy will likely benefit other plant species found within these two rivers. Reducing mechanical damage in general will serve to reduce impacts on other plant species such as Eaton's quillwort. In addition, managing nutrient enrichment will allow the systems to remain representative of an oligotrophic environment that supports native vegetation. It is not anticipated that these recovery actions will have any negative impacts on other taxa.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'isoète d'engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) au Canada (proposition)


5.0 Rétablissement

5.1 Faisabilité du rétablissement

Le rétablissement de l'isoète d'Engelmann est considéré comme faisable selon quatre critères présentés dans la politique nationale sur la faisabilité du rétablissement d'Environnement Canada :

  1. Les plantes présentes sont capables de se reproduire pour maintenir les populations actuelles. On considère que les efforts de rétablissement n'auront pas pour effet de faire de l'isoète d'Engelmann une espèce commune sur les cours d'eau du centre de l'Ontario. Il semble en effet que l'espèce ait toujours été naturellement rare et que ses populations peu nombreuses aient toujours été isolées dans la région. Il se peut que son état actuel soit comparable ou même égal à son maximum d'abondance par le passé.
  2. Un habitat propice existe en superficie suffisante pour l'espèce tant et aussi longtemps qu'il sera conservé grâce à la réduction des menaces. De plus, on pourrait rétablir davantage d'habitats par des efforts de rétablissement et de gestion. L'amélioration environnementale de l'habitat susciterait certainement la participation de divers partenaires et des intervenants des collectivités et des organismes intéressés à préserver la durabilité de l'isoète d'Engelmann au Canada. Ces programmes coordonnés d'amélioration comprendraient la restitution du caractère naturel des rives, la réduction de l'érosion des berges, la réduction du volume et de la toxicité des eaux de ruissellement (écoulement de surface) et le retrait ou l'élimination des impacts mécaniques actuels ou anticipés.
  3. Les menaces importantes contre l'espèce peuvent être atténuées grâce à diverses techniques présentées dans ce programme.
  4. Diverses techniques de rétablissement sont applicables dont bon nombre ont déjà fait leurs preuves pour d'autres plantes aquatiques.

Par conséquent, la préservation des populations existantes et de leur habitat dans des conditions durables est un projet d'une envergure relativement modeste.

5.2 But, objectifs et activités du rétablissement

5.2.1 But du rétablissement

Le but du rétablissement de l'isoète d'Engelmann est d'assurer la survie des populations sur les rivières Severn et Gull et de toute autre population découverte par la suite. La durabilité de l'habitat suppose une longévité de l'espèce à l'intérieur de son territoire canadien connu, avec des niveaux d'intégrité écologique suffisamment élevés pour soutenir des populations viables de cette plante.

5.2.2 Objectifs du rétablissement

Les objectifs à atteindre pour réaliser le but de la stratégie de rétablissement de l'isoète d'Engelmann s'étalent sur une période de cinq ans (c.-à-d. jusqu'en 2011) et sont présentés dans le tableau ci-dessous (tableau 2). Les mesures prises pour atteindre ces objectifs sont décrites dans la section suivante (tableau 3).

Tableau 2 : Objectifs de rétablissement de l'isoète d'Engelmann

  1. Mieux comprendre la taille de la population, sa distribution, sa viabilité et son affinité génétique avec d'autres populations.
  2. Mieux cerner les besoins écologiques de manière à mieux définir l'habitat essentiel.
  3. Surveiller en fournissant divers niveaux d'effort toutes les sous-populations connues, tous les trois ans.
  4. Mieux comprendre l'étendue de chaque menace contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et établir des techniques d'atténuation en conséquence.
  5. Réduire au maximum les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et son habitat grâce à des lois, à des politiques et à des règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux, centrés sur l'habitat essentiel en 2006-2007.
  6. Élaborer des outils et des programmes éducatifs sur la gérance et la conservation en collaboration avec des propriétaires fonciers, des gestionnaires des terres et des intervenants afin de limiter les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et son habitat, avec un intérêt particulier porté à l'habitat essentiel en 2006-2007.
  7. Élaborer des techniques de restauration et un protocole de mise en œuvre, identifier des habitats convenables, non occupés pour une éventuelle réintroduction de la plante au cas où cette mesure s'imposerait.

5.2.3 Mesures à prendre pour limiter les menaces

L'atteinte des buts et objectifs de la stratégie de rétablissement de l'isoète d'Engelmann exige la mise en œuvre de mesures particulières directement ou par l'intermédiaire de partenaires (tableau 3). Ces mesures sont résumées ci-dessous. Étant donné l'incertitude qui entoure certaines des menaces contre cette espèce et d'autres lacunes dans les connaissances, beaucoup de ces mesures visent l'acquisition de connaissances plutôt que l'atténuation des menaces elles-mêmes. Dans les cas qui le permettent ou le justifient, des mesures ont été proposées pour contrer certaines menaces spécifiques.

Tableau 3. Mesures pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement
ObjectifPrioritéMesuresEffetsMenaces atténuées
Mieux comprendre la taille de la population, sa distribution, sa viabilité et son affinité génétique avec d'autres populations.BasseÉtude des habitats potentielsDétermination de la taille de la population pour mieux connaître sa distribution et son abondanceIndirectes. Les menaces sont mieux comprises.
BasseÉvaluation des dossiers des populations existantes en Amérique du NordCompréhension de la population continentale et de sa relation avec celle de l'OntarioComme ci-dessus.
ÉlevéeDistinguer les populations importantesDétermination des sites à protéger et à surveiller en prioritéComme ci-dessus.
ÉlevéeDéterminer les marqueurs génétiques et développer la technique d'identification génétiqueDéveloppement de méthodes d'identification génétique; détermination des origines appropriées pour une transplantation possible; identification de l'espèceComme ci-dessus.
ÉlevéeDéterminer les affinités génétiques entre la population de l'Ontario et les autresFourniture de preuves de l'origine indigène des populations ontariennesComme ci-dessus.
Mieux cerner les besoins écologiques de manière à mieux définir l'habitat essentiel.ÉlevéeÉtude écologique de l'habitat des populations de l'Ontario

Définition des besoins de l'habitat; la détermination d'un habitat typique servira à identifier d'autres sites potentiels

Technique plus précise d'identification de l'habitat essentiel

Indirectes. Les menaces sont mieux comprises.
Surveiller, en fournissant divers efforts, toutes les sous-populations connues, tous les trois ans.MoyenneDévelopper un plan de surveillanceDiriger efficacement les efforts de surveillanceIndirectes. Les menaces sont mieux comprises.
ÉlevéeÉtablir des transects de surveillance permanents pour les populations sélectionnéesFourniture de données pour déterminer les tendances
Introduction dans le plan de surveillance
Comme ci-dessus.
MoyenneRéaliser des études photographiques des populations sélectionnéesMécanisme d'examen périodique des grandes populations
Introduction dans le plan de surveillance
Comme ci-dessus.
ÉlevéePréparer un rapport annuel de toutes les activités entreprises durant l'année et fournir les données de surveillance au Centre d'information sur le patrimoine naturelRésumé et suivi des mesures prises; fourniture du contexte et de l'orientation pour les travaux futursComme ci-dessus.

Mieux comprendre l'étendue de chaque menace contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et établir des techniques d'atténuation en conséquence.

 

ÉlevéeDéterminer les facteurs nocifs pour les populations et mettre en œuvre des mesures d'atténuation là où cela est nécessaireRéduction des effets nocifs sur les populationsDommages mécaniques, enrichissement nutritionnel, épandage d'herbicides, contaminants de l'eau, érosion ou sédimentation à partir de sources terrestres, cueillette
MoyenneEffectuer des recherches et mener des enquêtes sur les méthodes d'atténuation efficacesDétermination des mesures d'atténuation utilesComme ci-dessus.
Réduire au maximum les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et son habitat grâce à des lois, à des politiques et à des règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux, centrés sur l'habitat essentiel en 2006-2007.ÉlevéeLancer un processus d'inscription aux termes de la Loi ontarienne sur les espèces en voie de disparitionProtection de l'espèce sur les terres publiques et privéesDommages mécaniques, enrichissement nutritionnel, variations excessives du niveau des eaux, épandage d'herbicides, contaminants de l'eau, érosion ou sédimentation, cueillette
ÉlevéeDévelopper et appliquer les lignes directrices pour la cartographie de l'habitat de l'isoète d'Engelmann afin de faciliter l'application de l'énoncé de politique provinciale dans les processus municipaux de planification de l'utilisation des terresProtection des populations contre les conséquences du développement sur les terres avoisinantesComme ci-dessus.
MoyenneDévelopper des directives de gestion de l'habitat de l'espèce sur la Voie-Navigable- Trent–SevernProtection de l'espèce sur les terres publiques fédéralesComme ci-dessus.
ÉlevéeAppliquer les lois et politiques fédérales, provinciales et municipales pour assurer la protection en intervenant normalement dans l'élaboration et l'examen des plans touchant les terres et domaines publics et les terres privéesProtection dans les terres publiques et privéesComme ci-dessus.
ÉlevéeSensibiliser le personnel de Parcs Canada affecté à la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn du district et de la région du MRN et le personnel de planification municipale engagé dans la planification et la gestion de l'exploitation des terresProtection de l'isoète d'Engelmann dans les activités de planification et de gestionDommages mécaniques, enrichissement nutritionnel, épandage d'herbicides, érosion ou sédimentation

Élaborer des outils et des programmes éducatifs sur l'administration et la conservation en collaboration avec des propriétaires fonciers, des gestionnaires des terres et des intervenants afin de limiter les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et son habitat, avec un intérêt particulier porté à l'habitat essentiel en 2006‑2007.

 

ÉlevéeDévelopper une stratégie de communicationConstitution des priorités et des produits de communication pour le public, les municipalités et les organismes de gestion des ressourcesDommages mécaniques, enrichissement nutritionnel, épandage d'herbicides, contaminants de l'eau, espèces envahissantes introduites, érosion ou sédimentation, cueillette
ÉlevéeLancer un programme de communication avec les propriétaires de terres adjacentesEncouragement des bonnes pratiques d'intendance par les propriétaires de terres contiguës; prélude de l'inscription aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en périlComme ci-dessus.

Concevoir des techniques de restauration et un protocole de mise en œuvre, identifier des habitats convenables, non occupés pour une éventuelle réintroduction de la plante au cas où cette mesure s'imposerait.

 

 

BasseDéterminer la possibilité d'une propagation artificielleNécessaire aux efforts futurs de restauration si cela devient essentiel à la survie de l'espèce au CanadaAtténuation des pertes dues aux menaces
BasseIdentifier les sites qui se prêtent à la restaurationDélimitation des priorités de restaurationÉrosion ou sédimentation
BasseDéterminer les techniques de restauration de l'habitat de l'isoète d'EngelmannEn vue d'efforts futurs de restauration le cas échéantAtténuation des pertes dues aux menaces


5.2.4 Mesures déjà appliquées ou en cours d'application

  1. Des études sur la distribution et les populations des rivières Severn et Gull ont été menées en 2000 et en 2002 (figure 4; Brunton, 2001; Brunton, 2003).

  2. Après la désignation du site de la rivière Gull comme zone éventuelle d'intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS) dans le rapport du district du site 5E-9 (Brunton, 1991), la route nationale adjacente au site principal de la rivière Gull a été déviée (en 1992) pour éviter la destruction de cette population.

  3. Le processus de réglementation de l'isoète d'Engelmann aux termes de la Loi ontarienne sur les espèces en voie de disparition a été entamé en 2004.

  4. Un projet pilote de surveillance par vidéo sous-marine a été achevé à Big Chute en 2003 (Stevens, 2003) et répété en 2004.

  5. L'élaboration des marqueurs génétiques s'est terminée en 2004 (Coleman et Wilson, communication personnelle, 2004).

  6. Le développement de techniques d'identification génétique est en cours à l'université Trent. Les résultats finaux sont attendus en 2006.

  7. Les travaux de détermination des affinités génétiques avec les autres populations d'Amérique du Nord ont débuté à l'université Trent en 2004.

  8. La recherche écologique et la surveillance de l'intégrité de base des sites de l'isoète d'Engelmann sur la rivière Severn ont débuté en 2004 (Heydon et Pidgen, 2005). Les études écologiques se poursuivront en 2005-2006 et 2006-2007.

  9. Le plan de surveillance de l'isoète d'Engelmann (Isoetes engelmannii) à Big Chute sur la rivière Severn a été achevé au début 2005.

  10. Un examen de l'habitat et la collecte d'échantillons pour la recherche moléculaire sur les sites de l'isoète d'Engelmann, dans le Nord-Est des États-Unis, ont été entrepris en 2004.

  11. Une partie de l'habitat essentiel de l'isoète d'Engelmann a été identifiée.

5.3 Évaluation

On peut mesurer l'efficacité des efforts déployés pour assurer la survie des populations de l'isoète d'Engelmann et de leurs habitats dans les rivières Severn et Gull et celle de toute autre population découverte par la suite (tableau 4). Ces mesures auront des portées différentes selon l'objectif, car certains de ces objectifs sont plus centrés sur les besoins d'information, et d'autres sur l'atténuation des menaces. Le tableau suivant présente les mesures de rendement de chaque objectif proposé de la stratégie de rétablissement.

Tableau 4. Mesures de rendement
ObjectifMesures de rendement
Mieux comprendre la taille de la population, sa distribution, sa viabilité et son affinité génétique avec d'autres populations.
  • Estimations exactes de la taille de la population
  • Cartographie exacte de la distribution
  • Études sur l'affinité génétique avec les autres populations
  • Analyse des tendances de la population et de la distribution
Mieux cerner les besoins écologiques de manière à mieux définir l'habitat essentiel.
  • Production de rapports annuels résumant les résultats des études
  • Publication des études
  • Définition plus précise de l'habitat essentiel
Surveiller en fournissant des niveaux d'efforts différents toutes les sous-populations connues, tous les trois ans.
  • Production de rapports de surveillance tous les trois ans
  • Analyse des tendances de la population et de la distribution
Mieux comprendre l'étendue de chaque menace contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et établir des techniques d'atténuation en conséquence.
  • Classement des menaces
  • Développement de techniques d'atténuation des menaces spécifiques
Réduire au maximum les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et son habitat grâce à des lois, à des politiques et à des règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux, centrés sur l'habitat essentiel en 2006-2007.
  • Protection de l'isoète d'Engelmann aux termes de la Loi ontarienne sur les espèces en voie de disparition
  • Intégration des mesures d'atténuation dans le plan de gestion de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn, le processus d'application et d'examen du littoral de la VNTS et tout autre matériel d'orientation.
  • Identification de politiques et de dispositions adéquates sur le zonage dans les plans officiels et les règlements sur le zonage; peut dépendre du moment des mises à jour ou des révisions
  • Réduction des menaces contre les habitats essentiels
  • Stabilité du nombre et de l'étendue des populations
Élaborer des outils et des programmes éducatifs sur la gérance et la conservation en collaboration avec des propriétaires fonciers, des gestionnaires des terres et des intervenants afin de limiter les menaces contre l'isoète d'Engelmann et son habitat, avec un intérêt particulier porté à l'habitat essentiel en 2006-2007.
  • Achèvement du plan de communication
  • Mise en place de programmes d'administration avec les propriétaires fonciers, les gestionnaires des terres et les intervenants
  • Stabilité du nombre de populations
  • Réduction des menaces contre les habitats essentiels
Concevoir des techniques de restauration et un protocole de mise en œuvre, identifier des habitats convenables, non occupés pour une éventuelle réintroduction de la plante au cas où cette mesure s'imposerait.
  • Détermination de l'efficacité de la restauration
  • Détermination de la faisabilité de la propagation
  • Restauration entreprise en cas de besoin
  • Cartographie des habitats favorables, non occupés


5.4 Effets sur les autres espèces

Les mesures de rétablissement mentionnées dans ce programme avantageront sans doute d'autres espèces de plantes de ces deux rivières. La réduction des dommages mécaniques en général servira à réduire les effets sur d'autres espèces de plantes telles que l'isoète d'Eaton. En outre, la gestion de l'enrichissement en matières nutritives permettra aux systèmes de demeurer représentatifs du milieu oligotrophe qui abrite la végétation indigène. On ne prévoit aucun effet néfaste de ces mesures sur les autres taxons.