Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk - A guide to Canada's species at risk in the Prairie Provinces – March 2014

Mammals

Ord's Kangaroo Rat

Dipodomys ordii

Photo of Ord's Kangaroo Rat
Photo: © David Gummer, Courtesy of the Royal Alberta Museum, Edmonton, Alberta
Long description for Ord's Kangaroo Rat photo

This is a photo of Ord’s Kangaroo Rat. It is a small, light coloured rodent with a white belly, long tail and large hind feet, sitting with its front feet up. It is sitting on sand and is surrounded by few plants.

Length including tail:
260 mm (10.2 inches)
Body weight:
69 g (2.4 ounces)

Endangered

Ord’s kangaroo rats are small nocturnal rodents with large hind legs and feet and long tufted tails. They are well adapted to desert environments, spending most of the day in underground burrows and foraging for seeds at night. These rodents depend on open and sparsely vegetated habitats such as active sand dunes and sandy hills that occur in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan.

Did you know?

  • Its common name comes from its kangaroo-like hind legs and hopping style of locomotion; they are able to jump as far as 2 m in a single leap.
  • Kangaroo rats use shallow hibernation to conserve energy during the harsh Canadian winter, but most don’t survive until the spring.
Ord's Kangaroo Rat map
Ord's Kangaroo Rat map
Long description for Ord's Kangaroo Rat map

This image is a map of the distribution of Ord’s Kangaroo Rat in south eastern Alberta and south western Saskatchewan. The map indicates they are found in the eastern portion of Canadian Forces Base Suffield, extending north to the South Saskatchewan River, in Alberta. In Saskatchewan they are in the Great Sandhills, located west of Swift Current,  in the south west SK.

Top of Page


Swift Fox

Vulpes velox

Photo of Swift Fox
Photo: © Lu Carbyn
Long description for Swift Fox photo

This is a photo of a Swift Fox in a grassy field. The slender swift fox is standing alert with its large pointed ears and bushy tail. The fur of the fox has many colours; along the top of the head and back the fur is darkest with grey flecked with white, on the sides of the face, belly and legs the fur is a lighter orange colour. The lightest fur is white and runs along the chin, chest and inner portions of the legs. The face has a very distinctive dark black teardrop that goes from the inner corner of each eye down the side of the nose. The tail also has a distinctive dark black tip.

Height at shoulder:
30-32 cm (12-13 inches).
Length (including tail):
77-80 cm (30-32 inches)

Threatened

Swift foxes are about the same size as jack rabbits or large house cats. Their small size and black-tipped tail distinguish them from red foxes. Their dens are usually on hills near water bodies, and they roam in the open prairie in search of grasshoppers, small mammals and dead animals.

Did you know?

  • Named for their remarkable speed, this slender member of the canine family can run faster than 60 km/hr.
  • Once completely extirpated from Canada, the swift fox is making a come-back thanks to a successful re-introduction program and on-going support from landowners.
Swift Fox map
Swift Fox map
Long description for Swift Fox map

This image is a map of the distribution of Swift Fox in south eastern Alberta and south western Saskatchewan. It shows the distribution is continuous in the grasslands between Milk River, Alberta and approximately Gravelbourg, Saskatchewan, extending from the US border north nearly to Maple Creek.

Top of Page


Western Harvest Mouse

Riethrodontomys megalotis dychei

Photo of Western Harvest Mouse
Photo: © Robin Bloom
Long description for Western Harvest Mouse photo

This is a photo of a Western Harvest Mouse, showing mostly its face. It is perched amongst the green leaves of a bush, sitting in the stippled shade. The mouse has large ears and big dark eyes. It is light brown in colour with a white underbelly.

Length:
136 mm (half of which is tail)
Weight:
11 g

Endangered

The Western harvest mouse is one of the smallest mammals inhabiting the Prairies. It is a long-tailed brownish mouse with a light underbelly and white feet. It is similar in appearance to juvenile deer mice, but deer mice are greyer in colour. Western harvest mice are omnivorous, nocturnal, and can be found in shrub-steppe habitats that contain extensive cover. They make nests at the base of shrubs by weaving together grasses to create shelter for themselves.

Did you know?

  • Its common name comes from its habit of “harvesting” grasses and leaving them in piles along vole runs.
  • Prior to 1994, this subspecies had only been documented three times in Canada.
Western Harvest Mouse map
Western Harvest Mouse map
Long description for Western Harvest Mouse map

This is a map of the distribution of the Western Harvest Mouse. It is only found in the eastern portion of the Canadian Forces Base Suffield, Alberta.

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Espèces en péril - Guide des espèces canadiennes en péril dans les provinces des Prairies – Mars 2014

Mammifères

Rat kangourou d’Ord

Dipodomys ordii

Photo de Rat kangourou d'Ord
Photo : © David Gummer, photo fournie par le Royal Alberta Museum, Edmonton, Alberta
Description longue pour la rat kangourou d’Ord photo

Voici une photographie du rat kangourou d’Ord, qui est un petit rongeur de couleur pâle et dont le ventre est blanc. La queue est longue, et les pattes postérieures sont grandes. Le rat kangourou d’Ord est assis, et ses pattes antérieures ne touchent pas au sol. Il est assis sur du sable et entouré de quelques plantes.

Longueur (incluant la queue):
260 mm (10,2 po)
Poids corporel :
69 g (2,4 onces)

En voie de disparition

Le rat kangourou d’Ord est un petit rongeur nocturne qui possède de grands pieds et de grandes pattes postérieures, ainsi qu’une longue queue touffue. Il est bien adapté aux milieux désertiques; il passe une grande partie de la journée dans des terriers souterrains et recherche des graines la nuit. Ce rongeur a besoin d’un habitat ouvert à la végétation clairsemée, comme les dunes et les collines de sable vives que l’on trouve dans le sudest de l’Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Cette espèce tire son nom de ses pattes postérieures semblables à celles d’un kangourou et de son style de locomotion bondissant; le rat kangourou d’Ord est capable de parcourir jusqu’à 2 m à chaque saut.
  • Les rats kangourous tombent dans un état de léthargie afin de conserver leur énergie au cours du rigoureux hiver canadien, mais la plupart d’entre eux ne survivent pas jusqu’au printemps.
Carte de l'aire de répartition du rat kangourou d'Ord
Carte de l'aire de répartition du rat kangourou d'Ord
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition du rat kangourou d'Ord

Voici une carte indiquant l’aire de répartition du rat kangourou d’Ord dans le sud-est de l’Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. On voit sur la carte que l’aire de répartition du rat kangourou d’Ord se trouve dans la partie est de la Base des Forces canadiennes Suffield, et qu’elle s’étend vers le nord jusqu’à la rivière Saskatchewan Sud, en Alberta. En Saskatchewan, l’aire de répartition se trouve dans les dunes Great Sandhills, situées à l’ouest de Swift Current, dans le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan.

Haut de la page


Renard véloce

Vulpes velox

Photo de Renard véloce
Photo : © Lu Carbyn
Description longue pour la renard véloce photo

Voici une photographie d’un renard véloce dans un champ d’herbes. Le renard véloce, qui est mince, est debout en position d’alerte; les oreilles sont grandes et pointues et la queue est touffue. La fourrure du renard véloce est de plusieurs couleurs; sur le dessus de la tête et sur le dos, la fourrure est foncée avec des mouchetures grises et blanches; sur les côtés de la face, le ventre et les pattes, la fourrure est de couleur orange pâle. La fourrure pâle est blanche et se trouve sur le menton, la poitrine et l’intérieur des pattes. La face du renard véloce porte des bandes noires semblables à des larmes, et ces bandes s’étendent depuis le coin intérieur de chaque œil vers le bas du museau. La pointe noire de la queue est aussi une caractéristique du renard véloce.

Hauteur au garrot :
30-32 cm (12-13 po)
Longueur (incluant la queue) :
77-80 cm (30-32 po)

Menacée

Le renard véloce est environ de la taille d’un lièvre ou d’un gros chat domestique. Il se distingue du renard roux par sa petite taille et par la pointe noire de sa queue. Ce renard creuse habituellement son terrier sur des pentes, près de plans d’eau et parcourt la prairie ouverte à la recherche de sauterelles, de petits mammifères et de charognes.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Le renard véloce doit son nom à sa rapidité; ce canin peut en effet courir à plus de 60 km/h.
  • Autrefois disparue du Canada, l’espèce y réapparaît aujourd’hui grâce à un dynamique programme de réintroduction et au soutien indéfectible des propriétaires fonciers.
Carte de l'aire de répartition du renard véloce
Carte de l'aire de répartition du renard véloce
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition du renard véloce

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition du renard véloce dans le sud-est de l’Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. La carte montre que la répartition de l’espèce est continue dans les prairies, entre la rivière Milk (Alberta) et environ Gravelbourg (Saskatchewan), et qu’elle s’étend vers le nord depuis la frontière canado-américaine presque jusqu’à Maple Creek.

Haut de la page


Souris des moissons

Riethrodontomys megalotis dychei

Photo de Souris des moissons
Photo : © Robin Bloom
Description longue pour la souris des moissons photo

Voici une photographie d’une souris des moissons, sur laquelle on voit presque uniquement sa face. La souris des moissons est perchée parmi les feuilles vertes d’un arbuste, et elle est assise à l’ombre. Les oreilles sont grandes et les yeux sont grands et noirs. Le pelage est brun pâle et le ventre est blanc.

Longueur :
136 mm (la queue compte pour la moitié)
Poids :
11 g

En voie de disparition

La souris des moissons est l’un des plus petits mammifères des Prairies. Cette souris possède une longue queue brunâtre, tandis que son ventre et ses pattes sont blancs. Elle ressemble à une jeune souris sylvestre, qui est cependant plus grise. La souris des moissons est omnivore, nocturne et vit dans un habitat de steppes arbustives bien couvert. Elle fabrique des nids à la base des arbustes en tissant des herbes de façon à se créer un abri.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Cette espèce doit son nom à son habitude de « récolter » des herbes et de les empiler le long des passages des campagnols.
  • Avant 1994, cette sous-espèce n’avait été répertoriée que trois fois au Canada.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de la souris des moissons
Carte de l'aire de répartition de la souris des moissons
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de la souris des moissons

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de la souris des moissons. La présence de l’espèce a été observée seulement dans la partie est de la Base des Forces canadiennes Suffield, en Alberta.

Haut de la page