Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk - A guide to Canada's species at risk in the Prairie Provinces – March 2014

Insects

Dakota Skipper

Hesperia dacotae

Photo of Dakota Skipper
Photo: © Robert P. Dana
Long description for Dakota Skipper photo

This is a photo of a Dakota Skipper, a butterfly sitting on a pink flower. It is tawny orange with a brownish border on the upper side of the wings.

Wingspan:
21 - 29 mm (0.83 - 1.14 inches)

Threatened

Male Dakota skippers are tawny orange with a brownish border on the upper side of the wings and an elongated dark mark on the front wings. The undersides are yellowish orange with paler spots forming a semicircle. Females are similar but have less distinctive buff colouring and faint markings. They occur only in native tallgrass and mixed grass prairie.

Did you know?

  • Only 4 isolated populations are known to occur in Canada.
  • Conversion of native prairie to cultivated land is one of the biggest threats to Dakota skippers. Since European settlement, 99.9% of the native mixed and tall-grass Prairie in Manitoba and 81% of the mixed-grass prairie in Saskatchewan has been lost.
Dakota Skipper map
Dakota Skipper map
Long description for Dakota Skipper map

This is the distribution map of the Dakota Skipper in southern Saskatchewan and Manitoba. The largest population is east of the southern portion of   Lake Winnipeg, and the other is near Griswold. In Saskatchewan, the Dakota Skipper is found at two sites near Oxbow, and Roche Percee.

Top of Page


Dusky Dune Moth

Copablepharon longipenne

Photo of Dusky Dune Moth
Photo: © Environment Canada, Medea Curteanu
Long description for Dusky Dune Moth photo

This is a photo of a Dusky Dune moth on a spiky grey plant. The moth has light yellow-brown or yellow-grey forewings crossed by a distinctive line of black dots. The hindwings are dark grey-brown.

Wingspan:
11-20 mm (0.4 - 0.8 inches)

Endangered

The dusky dune moth is a mediumsized, light brown moth with a distinctive line of black dots on the forewing. A pale streak is often present along the edge of the forewing. Males and females are similar in appearance but females are generally larger in size.

Did you know?

  • Dusky dune moths inhabit sparsely vegetated active sand dunes; a rare type of habitat that has been declining in Canada for over a century.
  • Very little is known about dusky dune moth adult and larval host plants.
Dusky Dune Moth map
Dusky Dune Moth map
Long description for Dusky Dune Moth map

This is the distribution map of Dusky Dune Moth in the three prairie provinces. In Alberta it is found in the Pakowki Sand Hills near Manyberries, in several sandhills found between Canadian Forces Base Suffield and Swift Current, Saskatchewan, sandhills near Elbow and Saskatoon, in the Brandon sandhills.

Top of Page


Gold-edged Gem

Schinia avemensis

Photo of Gold-edged Gem
Photo: © Jason J. Dombroskie
Long description for Gold-edged Gem photo

This is a photo of a Gold-edged Gem (a moth on the left side facing the dark centre of a bright yellow sunflower. The moth has brownish-maroon upper wings marked with two light yellow bands along the trailing edge.

Wingspan:
16 - 20 mm (7/8 of an inch)

Endangered

The gold-edged gem is a small day-flying moth with specialized habitat requirements. The moth inhabits remnant patches of active sand dunes or blowouts where colonies of Prairie sunflowers (its only known larval host plant) exist. Upper wings of the gold-edged gem are brownish-maroon marked with two yellow bands. Its name comes from the distinctive pale yellow band along the margin of its wings.

Did you know?

  • The gold-edged gem can remain in the pupal stage for more than a year, but once they emerge as adults, they live for only a week.
  • The gradual stabilization of active sand dunes by native or introduced vegetation such as sweet clover and spurge threaten this moth's habitat.
Gold-edged Gem map
Gold-edged Gem map
Long description for Gold-edged Gem map

This is the distribution map of the Gold-edged Gem in the southern three prairie provinces. It is known to occur in nine sand hills, including three occurrences in southeastern Alberta, five occurrences in Saskatchewan, and one occurrence in southwestern Manitoba. In Alberta it is found in the Pakowki Sand Hills near Manyberries, in several sandhills found between Canadian Forces Base Suffield and Swift Current, Saskatchewan, sandhills near Elbow and Saskatoon, in the Brandon sandhills.

Top of Page


Ottoe Skipper

Hesperia ottoe

Photo of Ottoe Skipper
Photo: © Robert Dana
Long description for Ottoe Skipper photo

This is a photo of two Ottoe Skippers (butterflies) perched back to back on two pink flowers. The skippers have hooked antennae, large dark eyes, a short, stout body, and the pale yellowish-orange undersides of the wings  are visible.

Wingspan:
29 - 35 mm (1.1 - 1.4 inches)

Endangered

The ottoe skipper is a rare butterfly found in localized areas of Manitoba's dry mixed-grass and sand-prairie habitats. The male has yellowish-orange wings with a diffused brown border and an elongated mark on the forewing. The female is dull brown with pale buff markings and one or two whitish spots on the forewing. Males and females both have pale yellowish-orange undersides.

Did you know?

  • Ottoe skipper cannot survive in altered or disturbed habitats and much of this species' preferred grassland habitat has been converted to farmland.
  • This species was last seen in Spruce Woods Provincial Park in the late 1980s.
Ottoe Skipper map
Ottoe Skipper map
Long description for Ottoe Skipper map

This is the distribution map of the Ottoe Skipper in south western Manitoba. It is only found in Spruce Woods Provincial Park, Canadian Forces Base Shilo, and adjacent area.

Top of Page


Poweshiek Skipperling

Oarisma poweshiek

Photo of Poweshiek Skipperling
Photo: © Mike Reese
Long description for Poweshiek Skipperling photo

This is a photo of a Poweshiek Skipperling butterfly perched facing right, on the center of a bright yellow sunflower. It has hooked antennae, a slender body, dark brown upper wings, with orange leading edges and veins of the forewings. Its head is also orange.

Wingspan:
24 - 30 mm (0.95 - 1.2 inches)

Threatened

The Poweshiek skipperling, like all skippers, has a hooked antennae and characteristic skipping flight pattern. This butterfly has an orange head and dark brown upper wings with orange lines along the wing margin. The undersides of wings are dark grey with distinctive silvery-outlined veins. In Canada, they only occur in wet to mesic native tall-grass prairies.

Did you know?

  • In Canada, the Powershiek skipperling is found within a 2300-ha area of Southeast Manitoba.
  • This butterfly was first discovered in Iowa and is named after the county it was found in: Poweshiek County.
Poweshiek Skipperling map
Poweshiek Skipperling map
Long description for Poweshiek Skipperling map

The distribution of the Poweshiek Skipperling is limited to and area around Gardenton in south eastern Manitoba.

Top of Page


Verna's Flower Moth

Schinia verna

Photo of Verna's Flower Moth
Photo: © Gary Anweiler
Long description for Verna's Flower Moth photo

This is a photo of an adult Verna’s Flower Moth with its wings outstretched, top view. It has a stout body, dorsal surface of the forewing is olive-brown in colour with dull red-brown bands and cream white patches. The forewing margin has white and grey stripes.

Wingspan:
20 mm (0.78 inches)

Threatened

The forewings of the Verna's flower moth are contrastingly marked with olive-brown and maroon on a white background. The hindwings are black and white, giving the moth an overall checkered appearance. The known global range of Verna's flower moth is restricted to the Canadian Prairie grassland and parkland region. It is a day-flying moth, whose flight period is closely synchronized with the blooming of pussytoes, the larval food plant.

Did you know?

  • Only one population of Verna's flower moth has been observed in Canada since 2000, north of Jenner, Alberta. It is unknown if other populations still exist.
  • The larvae of Verna's flower moth are cannibalistic!
Verna's Flower Moth map
Verna's Flower Moth map
Long description for Verna's Flower Moth map

This is the distribution map of Verna’s Flower Moth in the three prairie provinces. It has only seen in five locations; Spruce Woods Provincial Park, Manitoba, Saskatoon, Medicine Hat, North of Jenner, Alberta and northwest of Alliance, Alberta.

Top of Page


White Flower Moth

Schinia bimatris

Photo of White Flower Moth
Photo: © Vernon Antoine Brou Jr.
Long description for White Flower Moth photo

This is a photo of a White Flower Moth, with wings outstreched,  top view.  It is a plain moth with an orange head and pure white wings.

Wingspan:
31 mm (1.23 inches)

Endangered

The white flower moth is a relatively small moth with an orange head and wings of pure glossy white – it is distinctive from all other species of moths in Canada. Only one population is known to occur in Canada, in the Spruce Woods Provincial Park region of southwest Manitoba.

Did you know?

  • Little is known about this nocturnal moth, but it is thought to live in association with the white evening primrose (Oenothera speciosa).
  • This moth appears to be restricted to active sand dunes, and thus vegetation growth on sand dunes may pose a threat to this species.
White Flower Moth map
White Flower Moth map
Long description for White Flower Moth map

This is the distribution map of the White Flower Moth in south western Manitoba. It is only found in Spruce Woods Provincial Park, Canadian Forces Base Shilo, and adjacent area.

Top of Page


Yucca Moth, Non-pollinating Yucca Moth & Five-spotted Bogus Yucca Moth

Tegeticula yuccasella, Tegeticula corruptrix & Prodoxus quinquepunctellus

Photo of Non-pollinating Yucca Moth (photo on the left) and Yucca Moth (photo on the right)
Photo: © Gordon Court, Photo: © Olof Pellmyr
Long description for Yucca Moth, Non-pollinating Yucca Moth & Five-spotted Bogus Yucca Moth photo

Yucca Moth (photo on the right): This is a photo of a Yucca Moth perched facing foreward, on the centre of a soapweed (yucca) plant. It has a whitish head and darker legs and antennae. The moth is a relatively small, slender-winged and brown.

Non-pollinating Yucca Moth (photo on the left): This is a photo of 5 Non-pollinating Yucca Moths on a soapweed (yucca) plant. They appear as bluish seedlike shapes around the greenish centre of the plant. 

 

Wingspan:
18 - 27.5 mm (0.7 - 1.1 inches)

Endangered

The yucca moth is a small whitish moth that, like the non-pollinating yucca moth and the five-spotted bogus yucca moth, can be found within the flowers of the soapweed (yucca) plant. These three highly specialized moths are dependent on the soapweed plant and are only found in the localized parts of southern Alberta where soapweed occurs. All three moth species are in decline due to grazing by deer and antelope, agriculture, off-road traffic and the horticultural and medicinal collection of soapweed.

Did you know?

  • The yucca moth's mouth is specially evolved to pollinate the soapweed plant whereas the other two moths simply cohabit the host.
  • The survival of two other endangered moth species depends on the pollination of the soapweed.
Map of Yucca Moth, Non-pollinating Yucca Moth and Five-spotted Bogus Yucca Moth map
Map of Yucca Moth, Non-pollinating Yucca Moth and Five-spotted Bogus Yucca Moth map
Long description for Map of Yucca Moth, Non-pollinating Yucca Moth and Five-spotted Bogus Yucca Moth map

This is the distribution map of the moth species, in south eastern Alberta. Because of their dependency on soapweed, the distribution is where the naturally occurring populations of soapweed in Alberta. The first is scattered along the slopes of the Lost River and the second is located on the Pinhorn Provincial Grazing Reserve, in the Milk River drainage basin.

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Espèces en péril - Guide des espèces canadiennes en péril dans les provinces des Prairies – Mars 2014

Insectes

Hespérie du Dakota

Hesperia dacotae

Photo de Hespérie du Dakota
Photo : © Robert P. Dana
Description longue pour la hespérie du Dakota photo

Voici une photographie d’une hespérie du Dakota, une espèce de papillon, qui est posée sur une fleur rose. L’hespérie du Dakota est de couleur orange fauve, et la bordure sur la face supérieure des ailes est brunâtre.

Envergure :
21-29 mm (0,83-1,14 po)

Menacée

L’Hespérie du Dakota mâle est orange fauve avec la bordure brunâtre, et le dessus de l’aile antérieure est orné d’une marque sombre de forme allongée. Le dessous des ailes est orange jaunâtre, avec une bande de taches plus pâles disposées en demicercle. La femelle ressemble au mâle, mais le chamois remplace l’orange fauve, et les marques sont plus diffuses. L’Hespérie du Dakota se rencontre uniquement dans des prairies indigènes à grandes graminées et à graminées mixtes.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Seulement quatre populations isolées ont été répertoriées au Canada.
  • La conversion des prairies indigènes en terres cultivées est l’une des plus grandes menaces pour l’Hespérie du Dakota. Depuis l’établissement des Européens, 99,9 % des prairies indigènes à grandes graminées et à graminées mixtes du Manitoba et 81 % des prairies à graminées mixtes de la Saskatchewan ont disparu.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie du Dakota
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie du Dakota
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie du Dakota

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de l’hespérie du Dakota dans le sud de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba. La plus grande population se trouve à l’est de la partie sud du lac Winnipeg, et l’autre se trouve à proximité de Griswold. En Saskatchewan, l’hespérie du Dakota est présente à deux sites près d’Oxbow et à Roche Percée.

Haut de la page


Noctuelle sombre des dunes

Copablepharon longipenne

Photo de Noctuelle sombre des dunes
Photo : © Environnementment Canada, Medea Curteanu
Description longue pour la noctuelle sombre des dunes photo

Voici une photographie d’une noctuelle sombre des dunes sur une plante épineuse de couleur grise. L’espèce se caractérise par la présence d’une aile antérieure de couleur brun jaune pâle ou gris jaune pâle et par une ligne de points noirs distinctive. Les ailes postérieures sont brun gris foncé.

Envergure :
11-20 mm (0,4-0,8 po)

En voie de disparition

La Noctuelle sombre des dunes est un papillon de nuit brun clair de taille moyenne. Elle se caractérise par une ligne de points noirs distinctive sur l’aile antérieure. On observe souvent une marque pâle sur les bordures des ailes antérieures. Les mâles et les femelles sont d’apparence semblable, mais les femelles sont généralement plus grandes.

Le saviez-vous?

  • La Noctuelle sombre des dunes vit dans des dunes vives à la végétation éparse; un type d’habitat rare et en déclin au Canada depuis plus d’un siècle.
  • On en sait très peu sur les plantes hôtes de la Noctuelle sombre des dunes aux stades adulte et de larve.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de la noctuelle sombre des dunes
Carte de l'aire de répartition de la noctuelle sombre des dunes
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de la noctuelle sombre des dunes

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de la noctuelle sombre des dunes dans les trois provinces des Prairies. En Alberta, l’espèce est présente dans les dunes Pakowki, près de Manyberries, dans plusieurs dunes qui se trouvent entre la Base des Forces canadiennes Suffield et Swift Current, en Saskatchewan, dans les dunes situées près d’Elbow et de Saskatoon, et dans les dunes Brandon.

Haut de la page


Héliotin d’Aweme

Schinia avemensis

Photo de Héliotin d'Aweme
Photo : © Jason J. Dombroskie
Description longue pour la héliotin d’Aweme photo

Voici une photographie d’un héliotin d’Aweme (un papillon de nuit du côté gauche de la photographie qui fait face au cœur foncé d’une fleur de tournesol de couleur jaune vif. Le dessus des ailes de l’héliotin d’Aweme est de couleur marron brunâtre, et le bord extérieur des ailes est marqué de deux bandes jaunes.

Envergure :
16-20 mm (7/8 po)

En voie de disparition

L’Héliotin d’Aweme est un petit papillon de nuit qui a des habitudes de vol de jour et qui a des besoins précis en matière d’habitat. Le papillon de nuit élit domicile dans des parcelles restantes de dunes vives ou des creux de déflation, là où existent les colonies d’hélianthes des prairies, son unique plante hôte de chenilles. La surface supérieure de l’aile de l’Héliotin d’Aweme est brun rougeâtre et marquée de deux bandes jaunes. Son nom anglais (« gold-edged gem ») provient de la bande jaune pâle distinctive sur les bordures de ses ailes.

Le saviez-vous?

  • L’Héliotin d’Aweme peut rester dans sa chrysalide pendant plus d’un an, mais une fois qu’il en émerge en tant adulte, il ne vit qu’une semaine.
  • La stabilisation progressive des dunes vives par la végétation indigène ou introduite, comme le mélilot officinal et l’euphorbe, menacent l’habitat de ce papillon de nuit.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin d'Aweme
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin d'Aweme
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin d'Aweme

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de l’héliotin d’Aweme dans le sud des trois provinces des Prairies. L’espèce est présente dans neuf formations de dunes, notamment dans trois formations de dunes du sud-est de l’Alberta, cinq formations de dunes en Saskatchewan, et une formation de dunes du sud-ouest du Manitoba. En Alberta, l’héliotin d’Aweme est présent dans les dunes Pakowki près de Manyberries, dans plusieurs dunes qui se trouvent entre la Base des Forces canadiennes Suffield et Swift Current, en Saskatchewan, dans des formations de dunes près d’Elbow et de Saskatoon, dans les dunes Brandon.

Haut de la page


Hespérie ottoé

Hesperia ottoe

Photo de Hespérie ottoé
Photo : © Robert Dana
Description longue pour la hespérie ottoé photo

Voici une photographie de deux individus de l’hespérie ottoé (papillons) posés dos à dos sur deux fleurs roses. Les hespéries ont un crochet à l’extrémité de leurs antennes, de grands yeux noirs, un corps court et trapu, et on peut voir sur la photographie que le dessous des ailes est de couleur orange jaunâtre.

Envergure :
29-35 mm (1,1-1,4 po)

En voie de disparition

L’Hespérie ottoé est un papillon rare que l’on rencontre dans quelques habitats arides constitués de prairies mixtes ou de prairies sableuses au Manitoba. Le mâle possède des ailes orange jaunâtre ornées d’une bordure brune diffuse et les ailes antérieures ont une marque allongée. La femelle est brun terne avec des marques chamois pâle et une ou deux taches blanchâtres sur les ailes antérieures. Le dessous des mâles et des femelles est orange jaunâtre.

Le saviez-vous?

  • L’Hespérie ottoé ne peut pas survivre dans des habitats dégradés ou perturbés et la majorité de l’habitat des prairies de cette espèce a été convertie en terres agricoles.
  • Les derniers spécimens ont été observés dans le parc provincial Spruce Woods à la fin des années 1980.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie ottoé
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie ottoé
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie ottoé

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de l’hespérie ottoé dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba. L’espèce est présente seulement dans le parc provincial de Spruce Woods, à la Base des Forces canadiennes Shilo, ainsi que dans la région adjacente.

Haut de la page


Hespérie de Poweshiek

Oarisma poweshiek

Photo de Hespérie de Poweshiek
Photo : © Mike Reese
Description longue pour la hespérie de Poweshiek photo

Voici une photographie d’une hespérie de Poweshiek tournée vers la droite et posée sur le cœur d’une fleur de tournesol de couleur jaune vif. L’hespérie de Poweshiek a un crochet à l’extrémité de ses antennes, un corps mince, le dessus des ailes brun foncé, et les ailes antérieures sont bordées de nervures orange. La tête est aussi de couleur orange.

Envergure :
24-30 mm (0,95-1,2 po)

Menacée

L’Hespérie de Poweshiek possède des antennes apiculées et présente le vol rapide et sautillant caractéristique des hespéries. Ce papillon possède une tête orange et la surface supérieure de ses ailes est brun foncé, bordée de nervures oranges. Le dessous des ailes est gris foncé avec les nervures distinctement surlignées d’argent. Au Canada, l’espèce est confinée aux prairies à herbes hautes humides à mésoïques.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Au Canada, l’Hespérie de Poweshiek se rencontre uniquement dans une petite région de 2 300 hectares dans le sud-est du Manitoba.
  • Ce papillon a été répertorié pour la première fois dans l’Iowa et il doit son nom au comté de Poweshiek, où il a été découvert.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie de Poweshiek
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie de Poweshiek
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de l'hespérie de Poweshiek

La répartition de l’hespérie de Poweshiek est limitée à Gardenton et à ses environs, dans le sud-est du Manitoba.

Haut de la page


Héliotin de Verna

Schinia verna

Photo de Héliotin de Verna
Photo : © Gary Anweiler
Description longue pour la héliotin de Verna photo

Voici une photographie d’un héliotin de Verna adulte dont les ailes sont déployées, vu en plongée. Le corps est trapu, la face dorsale de l’aile antérieure est de couleur brun olive et est caractérisée par des bandes brun rougeâtre terne et des taches blanc crème. La bordure de l’aile antérieure est rayée de blanc et de gris.

Envergure :
20 mm (0,78 po)

Menacée

Les ailes antérieures de l’Héliotin de Verna sont blanches avec des taches contrastantes brun olive et rougeâtre. Les ailes postérieures sont noires et blanches, ce qui donne une allure de damier à ce papillon de nuit. L’aire de répartition mondiale connue de l’Héliotin de Verna est confinée aux terres herbeuses des prairies canadiennes et à la région de la forêt-parc. Cet héliotin vole le jour et sa période de vol est étroitement liée à la floraison de l’agératum, la plante hôte des chenilles.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Une seule population d’Héliotins de Verna a été observée au Canada depuis 2000, au nord de Jenner, en Alberta. On ne sait pas si d’autres populations existent.
  • Les larves de l’héliotin de Verna sont cannibales!
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin de Verna
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin de Verna
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin de Verna

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de l’héliotin de Verna dans les trois provinces des Prairies. L’espèce a été observée à cinq endroits seulement : dans le parc provincial de Spruce Woods, au Manitoba, à Saskatoon, à Medicine Hat, au nord de Jenner, en Alberta, et au nord-ouest d’Alliance, en Alberta.

Haut de la page


Héliotin blanc satiné

Schinia bimatris

Photo de Héliotin blanc satiné
Photo : © Vernon Antoine Brou Jr.
Description longue pour la héliotin blanc satiné photo

Voici une photographie d’un héliotin blanc satiné, dont les ailes sont déployées, vu en plongée. L’héliotin blanc satiné est de couleur uniforme, la tête est orange et les ailes sont d’un blanc pur.

Envergure :
31 mm (1,23 po)

En voie de disparition

L’Héliotin blanc satiné est un papillon de nuit relativement petit doté d’une tête orange et d’ailes d’un blanc pur et brillant. Il se distingue ainsi de toutes les autres espèces de papillons de nuit au Canada. On ne lui connaît qu’une seule population au Canada, dans la région du parc provincial Spruce Woods, dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba.

Le saviez-vous?

  • On ne sait pas grand-chose de ce papillon de nuit, mais on pense qu’il vit en association avec l’Onagre blanche (Oenothera speciosa).
  • Ce papillon de nuit semble ne fréquenter que les dunes actives et la croissance de la végétation sur les dunes pourrait donc menacer cette espèce.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin blanc satiné
Carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin blanc satiné
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de l'héliotin blanc satiné

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition de l’héliotin blanc satiné dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba. L’espèce est présente seulement dans le parc provincial de Spruce Woods, à la Base des Forces canadiennes Shilo, ainsi que dans la région adjacente.

Haut de la page


Teigne du yucca, Teigne tricheuse du yucca et Fausse-teigne à cinq points du yucca

Tegeticula yuccasella, Tegeticula corruptrix & Prodoxus quinquepunctellus

Photo de Teigne du yucca (photo de droite); Teigne tricheuse du yucca (photo de gauche)
Photo : © Gordon Court; Photo : © Olof Pellmyr
Description longue pour la teigne du yucca, teigne tricheuse du yucca et fausse-teigne à cinq points du yucca photo

Voici une photographie d’une teigne du yucca, posée sur le cœur d’une fleur de yucca glauque, et vue du devant. La tête est blanchâtre, et les pattes et les antennes sont foncées. Le papillon de nuit est relativement petit, et ses ailes sont étroites et brunes.

Voici une photographie de 5 teignes tricheuses du yucca sur une fleur de yucca. Les teignes tricheuses du yucca ressemblent à des graines de couleur bleuâtre sur le cœur verdâtre de la fleur de yucca.

Envergure :
18-27,5 mm (0,7-1,1 po)

En voie de disparition

La Teigne du yucca est un petit papillon blanchâtre qui, comme la teigne tricheuse du yucca et la fausse-teigne à cinq points du yucca, fréquente les fleurs des yuccas glauques. Ces trois papillons de nuit très spécialisés dépendent du yucca glauque et ne se trouvent que dans les zones précises du sud de l’Alberta où pousse le yucca glauque. Ces trois espèces de papillons sont en déclin en raison du broutage des cerfs et des chevreuils, de l’agriculture, de la circulation hors route et de la collecte du Yucca glauque à des fins horticole et médicinale.

Le saviez-vous?

  • L’orifice buccal de la Teigne du yucca est spécialement conçu pour polliniser le Yucca glauque, tandis que les deux autres papillons cohabitent simplement avec leur hôte.
  • La survie de deux autres espèces de papillons de nuit en voie de disparition dépend de la pollinisation du Yucca glauque.
Carte de l'aire de répartition de la teigne du yucca, de la teigne tricheuse du yucca et de la fausse-teigne à cinq points du yucca
Carte de l'aire de répartition de la teigne du yucca, de la teigne tricheuse du yucca et de la fausse-teigne à cinq points du yucca
Description longue pour la carte de l'aire de répartition de la teigne du yucca, de la teigne tricheuse du yucca et de la fausse-teigne à cinq points du yucca

Voici la carte de l’aire de répartition des trois espèces de papillons de nuit, dans le sud-est de l’Alberta. Étant donné leur dépendance envers le yucca, leur répartition correspond aux zones occupées par les populations naturelles de yuccas en Alberta. La première zone se trouve sur les pentes de la rivière Lost, et la seconde zone est située dans la réserve de pâturage provinciale de Pinhorn, dans le bassin de drainage de la rivière Milk.

Haut de la page