Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

Historically, the ultimate threat to viable populations of Burrowing Owls is thought to have been the conversion and degradation of habitat (Haug et al. 1993, Wellicome and Haug 1995, Clayton and Schmutz 1999). Telfer (1992) reported a 39% decline in unimproved pastureland between 1946 and 1986 in areas of the Prairie Provinces, while dramatic losses of native grasslands have been reported in Alberta (61% of mixed grass prairie), Saskatchewan (81% of mixed grass prairie), Manitoba (99% of both tall and mixed grass prairie), and the western and central U.S. Great Plains (Samson and Knopf 1994).

Mortality of young and adults also affects Burrowing Owl population viability (De Smet 1997, Clayton and Schmutz 1999, King and Belthoff 2001). In Saskatchewan, following years with relatively poor juvenile survival, the local breeding population decreased by 11-48%, while years of high juvenile survival were followed by a population increase as well as relatively strong juvenile recruitment into the breeding population (Todd et al. 2003). The close correlation between nesting productivity in a given year and the size of the population in the following year suggests an important relationship (Franken and Wellicome 2003, R. Poulin, D. Todd, T. Wellicome, unpublished data). De Smet (1997) showed that successful nests in Manitoba were more than three times as likely to be reoccupied the following year than failed nests, and percentages that returned to the same territory were four times greater for successful than for unsuccessful sites.


Figure 10: Pattern of Abundance (number seen per survey hour) of Burrowing Owls Seen on Christmas Bird Counts in Texas (lower figure) and California (upper figure)

Figure 10: Pattern of Abundance (number seen per survey hour) of Burrowing Owls Seen on Christmas Bird Counts in Texas (lower figure) and California (upper figure)

Pesticides may also have direct and indirect effects on Burrowing Owls (Fox et al. 1989, Gervais and Anthony 2003, Gervais et al. 2003). Applications of rodenticides (e.g., strychnine) may cause direct mortality of adult and juvenile owls, as well as significantly decreasing breeding success (Butts 1973, James et al. 1990, Sheffield 1997). Insecticides (e.g., carbaryl and carbofuran) have been shown to significantly reduce owl fledging success in Saskatchewan (James and Fox 1987). Heavy use of insecticides and herbicides near Burrowing Owl foraging and roosting areas has been observed (but not quantified) on the wintering grounds in Mexico (G. Holroyd and H. Trefry, pers. comm., October 2004). In California, samples of Burrowing Owl eggs show varying levels of DDE contamination among years, with significant negative effects on reproductive success apparent during years of poor food availability (Gervais and Anthony 2003).

Although the evidence is thus far only correlative, it appears that pesticides may affect reproductive success and survival by significantly decreasing prey abundance. For example, offspring production decreased by up to 83 percent following the application of carbaryl and carbofuran around Burrowing Owl nest burrows (James and Fox 1987). Strychnine-treated grains (used for rodent control) and carbofuran-based insecticides remain widely used in the United States and Mexico and may pose a threat to the Canadian population of Burrowing Owls during migration and on the wintering grounds (McDonald et al. 2004, G. Holroyd, pers. comm., October 2004).

Although poorly quantified, collisions with vehicles are thought to be a significant source of mortality for adult and juvenile Burrowing Owls. Owls often forage near roads where grass conditions are optimal for small rodents and insects, and are thus susceptible to collision with vehicles. Clayton and Schmutz (1999) found that approximately 31% of all known Burrowing Owl fatalities on the Regina Plain, Saskatchewan, were due to collisions with vehicles. In Saskatchewan, 15% of known juvenile mortalities, during the post-fledging/pre-migration period, were attributed to collisions with vehicles (Todd et al. 2003). The author of this report found two dead adult Burrowing Owls on a single morning on small, secondary roads in the Oklahoma panhandle in May 2005, suggesting that vehicle collisions may be a significant mortality factor on the Great Plains.

Predation on Burrowing Owls, especially on recently fledged young, can represent a significant source of mortality in some populations. Todd (2001) found that in one year of a two-year study, 15 of 33 radio-tagged fledglings in Saskatchewan died prior to migration, with the primary cause being predation by avian predators. The high losses to predators were attributed to a combination of habitat fragmentation and reduced availability of mammalian prey (principally Microtus voles; Todd 2001).

Juvenile survival (from fledging to migration), which is largely mediated by local prey availability during the fledging stage, has been shown to have strong effects on subsequent population densities in Saskatchewan (Todd et al. 2003).

In summary, although habitat loss appears to have been the primary historical factor triggering population declines, suitable habitat is currently unoccupied, and lowered demographic factors (adult and juvenile mortality rates, productivity, immigration/emigration) now appear to be the key variables hampering the recovery of Burrowing Owls in the prairie provinces.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada – Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Historiquement, la principale menace pour les populations viables de Chevêches des terriers semble avoir été la conversion et la dégradation de l’habitat (Haug et al., 1993; Wellicome et Haug, 1995; Clayton et Schmutz, 1999). Telfer (1992) fait état d’un déclin de 39 % des pâturages non amendés entre 1946 et 1986 dans certains secteurs des provinces des Prairies, et on signale des pertes considérables de prairies indigènes en Alberta (61 % des prairies mixtes), en Saskatchewan (81 % des prairies mixtes), au Manitoba (99 % des prairies mixtes et à herbes hautes), et dans l’ouest et le centre des grandes plaines aux États-Unis (Samson et Knopf, 1994).

La mortalité des jeunes et des adultes a également une incidence sur la viabilité des populations de Chevêches des terriers (De Smet, 1997; Clayton et Schmutz, 1999; King et Belthoff, 2001). En Saskatchewan, les années où la survie des jeunes était relativement faible ont été suivies de diminutions de 11 à 48 % des populations nicheuses locales, tandis que les années où la survie était élevée ont été suivies d’un accroissement des populations ainsi que d’un recrutement des jeunes relativement élevé dans les populations nicheuses (Todd et al., 2003). L’étroite corrélation observée entre la productivité de la nidification au cours d’une année donnée et la taille de la population l’année suivante témoigne d’une relation importante (Franken et Wellicome, 2003; R. Poulin, D. Todd, T. Wellicome, données inédites). De Smet (1997) a montré que les nids productifs au Manitoba avaient trois fois plus de chances que les nids improductifs d’être occupés de nouveau l’année suivante, et que la proportion d’oiseaux qui revenaient dans le même territoire était quatre fois supérieure pour les sites productifs que pour les autres.


Figure 10 : Profil d’abondance (nombre d’oiseaux observés par heure de relevé) de la Chevêche des terriers selon les Recensements des oiseaux de Noël effectués au Texas (en bas) et en Californie (en haut)

Figure 10 : Profil d’abondance (nombre d’oiseaux observés par heure de relevé) de la Chevêche des terriers selon les Recensements des oiseaux de Noël effectués au Texas (en bas) et en Californie (en haut).

Les pesticides peuvent également avoir une incidence directe et indirecte sur la Chevêche des terriers (Fox et al., 1989; Gervais et Anthony, 2003; Gervais et al., 2003). L’épandage de rodenticides (p. ex. la strychnine) peut causer une mortalité directe des adultes et des jeunes, et nuire gravement au succès de la nidification (Butts, 1973; James et al., 1990; Sheffield, 1997). Il a été démontré que les insecticides (p. ex. le carbaryl et le carbofurane) nuisent gravement au succès de l’envol en Saskatchewan (James et Fox, 1987). On a observé (mais sans les quantifier) des utilisations intensives d’insecticides et d’herbicides près des aires d’alimentation et de repos de la Chevêche des terriers dans les aires d’hivernage au Mexique (G. Holroyd et H. Trefry, comm. pers., octobre 2004). En Californie, des échantillons prélevés sur des œufs de Chevêche des terriers affichaient divers degrés de contamination par le DDE selon les années; on a relevé d’importants effets indésirables sur le succès de la reproduction les années où la nourriture se faisait moins abondante (Gervais et Anthony, 2003).

Bien qu’on ne dispose encore que de preuves corrélatives, il semble que les pesticides puissent avoir une incidence sur le succès de la reproduction et la survie en réduisant sensiblement l’abondance des proies. Par exemple, la production de petits a diminué de près de 83 % après l’épandage de carbaryl et de carbofurane autour de terriers de Chevêches des terriers (James et Fox, 1987). On utilise par ailleurs encore beaucoup de graines traitées à la strychnine (pour la lutte contre les rongeurs) et d’insecticides à base de carbofurane aux États-Unis et au Mexique, ce qui peut présenter un danger pour les populations canadiennes de Chevêches des terriers durant la migration et dans les aires d’hivernage (McDonald et al., 2004; G. Holroyd, comm. pers., octobre 2004).

Quoique mal quantifiées, les collisions avec des véhicules seraient une importante cause de mortalité des adultes et des jeunes Chevêches des terriers. L’oiseau se nourrit en effet souvent près des routes, où la composition des graminées est idéale pour les petits rongeurs et les insectes dont il se nourrit, ce qui l’expose à ce genre d’accident. Clayton et Schmutz (1999) ont observé qu’environ 31 % de tous les cas connus de mortalité de Chevêches des terriers dans la plaine de Regina, en Saskatchewan, étaient attribuables à des collisions avec des véhicules. Dans cette même province, 15 % des cas de mortalité connus de jeunes chevêches après l’envol et avant la migration ont été attribués à ce facteur (Todd et al., 2003). L’auteur du présent rapport a trouvé deux chevêches adultes mortes sur de petites routes secondaires dans l’enclave de l’Oklahoma (Oklahoma panhandle) au cours d’une même matinée en mai 2005, ce qui donne à penser que les collisions avec des véhicules pourraient être une importante cause de mortalité dans les grandes plaines.

Dans certaines populations de Chevêches des terriers, la prédation peut être une importante cause de mortalité, notamment pour les jeunes qui viennent de quitter le nid. Au cours d’une année d’une étude de 2 ans, Todd (2001) a constaté que 15 jeunes à l’envol munis de transpondeurs sur 33 étaient morts avant de migrer, en Saskatchewan, principalement à cause de la prédation aviaire. Les fortes pertes dues aux prédateurs ont été attribuées à la fois à la fragmentation de l’habitat et à la disponibilité réduite de mammifères proies (surtout les campagnols, Microtus spp.; Todd, 2001).

Todd et al. (2003) ont montré que la survie des jeunes (entre l’envol et la migration), en grande partie médiée par la disponibilité locale des proies au stade de l’envol, avait une lourde incidence sur la densité subséquente des populations en Saskatchewan.

Bref, bien que la disparition de l’habitat semble avoir été historiquement le facteur le plus important dans le déclin des populations, des habitats convenables n’en sont pas moins actuellement inoccupés par l’espèce; certains facteurs démographiques défavorables (taux de mortalité des adultes et des jeunes, productivité, immigration/émigration) seraient donc aujourd’hui les variables qui nuisent le plus au rétablissement de l’espèce dans les provinces des Prairies.