Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Burrowing Owls are currently classified as G4 (apparently secure globally, although they may be quite rare in parts of their range) by the Nature Conservancy, with provincial Natural Heritage designations of S1B in British Columbia and Manitoba, and S2B in Saskatchewan and Alberta. S2B refers to a species that is either very rare or local throughout its range, or found locally in a restricted range. S1B is defined as species that are critically imperiled because of rarity, or because of some factor of its biology making it especially vulnerable to extinction. Summaries of the existing protection and legal status of Burrowing Owls in the United States and Canada can be found in Klute et al. (2003), McDonald et al. (2004), and on the NatureServe website (www.natureserve.org/explorer).

In Canada, the Burrowing Owl is nationally assessed as Endangered (COSEWIC 2001, 2006). Provincially, the species is listed as Endangered in Manitoba (www.gov.mb.ca/natres/wildlife/index.html), Endangered in Alberta (Alberta Fish and Wildlife 2006). In Saskatchewan, it is Endangered (http://www.se.gov.sk.ca/ecosystem/speciesatrisk/). It is also listed as Endangered in nearby Minnesota (http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/ets/birds.html), as a Species of Concern in Montana (http://nhp.nris.state.mt.us/animal/index.html), and as a Candidate Species (for listing as Endangered, Threatened, or Sensitive) in Washington (http://www.wdfw.wa.gov/wlm/diversty/soc/candidat.htm).

The primary, on-the-ground protection efforts in Alberta and Saskatchewan are to engage private landowners in taking an interest in preserving remaining Burrowing Owls and their habitat (e.g., Operation Burrowing Owl, Operation Grassland Community), enhancing foraging habitat, and monitoring reproductive success in areas where owls remain relatively common. Such efforts are typically oriented towards private stewardship, whereby landowners are encouraged to protect areas that are identified as important nesting and foraging sites. In Saskatchewan, Operation Burrowing Owl has succeeded in slowing the rate at which grasslands are converted to cropland (Warnock and Skeel 2004).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada – Mise à jour

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

La Chevêche des terriers est actuellement cotée G4 (apparemment non en péril à l’échelle mondiale, quoique parfois très rare dans certains secteurs de son aire de répartition) par Nature Conservancy; dans les provinces, elle est cotée S1B par Natural Heritage en Colombie-Britannique et au Manitoba, et S2B en Saskatchewan et en Alberta. La cote S2B désigne les espèces qui sont soit très rares ou localisées dans l’ensemble de leur aire de répartition, soit trouvées localement dans une aire restreinte. La cote S1B désigne les espèces gravement en péril du fait de leur rareté ou à cause de certains facteurs qui en font des espèces particulièrement susceptibles de disparition ou d’extinction. On trouvera dans Klute et al. (2003), McDonald et al. (2004) ainsi que sur le site Web de NatureServe (www.natureserve.org/explorer; en anglais seulement) des synthèses des mesures de protection et du statut juridique de la Chevêche des terriers aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Au Canada, la Chevêche des terriers est désignée, à l’échelle nationale, comme une espèce en voie de disparition (COSEPAC, 2001). À l’échelle provinciale, elle a la même cote au Manitoba (www.gov.mb.ca/natres/wildlife/index.html), en Alberta (Alberta Fish and Wildlife, 2006) et en Saskatchewan (http ://www.se.gov.sk.ca/ecosystem/ speciesatrisk/). Aux États-Unis, elle est également cotée comme une espèce en voie de disparition (Endangered) au Minnesota voisin (http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/ ets/birds.html), comme une espèce préoccupante (Species of Concern) au Montana (http://nhp.nris.state.mt.us/animal/index.html) et comme une espèce candidate (Candidate Species) à l’inscription parmi les espèces en voie de disparition menacée ou vulnérable (Endangered, Threatened ou Sensitive) au Washington (http://www.wdfw.wa.gov/wlm/diversty/soc/candidat.htm).

Les principales mesures de protection adoptées sur le terrain en Alberta et en Saskatchewan consistent à convaincre les propriétaires privés à s’intéresser à la préservation des Chevêches des terriers qui restent et de leur habitat (p. ex. l’Opération Chevêche des terriers, la Operation Grassland Community), à améliorer l’habitat d’alimentation et à exercer un suivi du succès de la nidification dans les endroits où l’espèce est encore relativement commune. Ce genre de mesures est généralement axé sur l’intendance privée, qui incite les propriétaires à protéger les endroits identifiés comme sites de nidification ou d’alimentation importants. En Saskatchewan, l’Opération Chevêche des terriers a réussi à ralentir la conversion des prairies en terres cultivées (Warnock et Skeel, 2004).