Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Burrowing Owls have an extensive breeding range in western North America (Figure 1), with a disjunct (resident) subspecies (A. c. floridana) in Florida. There are also a number of subspecies on various Caribbean islands, as well as in South America (Clark 1997). The wintering distribution of western North American populations is poorly understood. In the northern portions of the range (including Canada), the species is migratory, while many individuals in the southern part of the range (e.g., Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, California, Arizona, New Mexico) may remain on their breeding sites through the winter. Adult and juvenile owls banded in Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba appear to migrate south through the central Great Plains to winter from southern Texas to central Mexico (James 1992, Hjertaas et al. 1995, G. Holroyd pers. com., October 2004).


Figure 1: Current and 1970s Breeding Range of Burrowing Owls (hypugaea subspecies) in Western North America

Figure 1: Current and 1970s breeding range of Burrowing Owls (hypugaea subspecies) in western North America (modified from Wellicome and Holroyd 2001). 

Modified from Wellicome and Holroyd 2001.
No information is available for the historical (early-1900s) range of the owl across North America, and no information is available for the distribution of the owls in Mexico in the 1970s.


Canadian Range

In Canada, Burrowing Owls currently breed in Saskatchewan, Alberta, and the southern interior of British Columbia, occupying only about half the area occupied in the 1970s, and less than one-third of the area they occupied from 1880-1950 (Figure 2). In British Columbia, Burrowing Owls were extirpated as a breeding species in the early 1980s and the few breeding pairs that still occur there are likely the result of continued reintroductions (Dyer 1991, Leupin and Low 2001).


Figure 2: Change in the Canadian Breeding Distribution of the Burrowing Owl

Figure 2: Change in the Canadian breeding distribution of the Burrowing Owl.

The 2004 distribution was based on intensive search effort. The owls’ 1970−1977 breeding range is based on Wedgwood (1978), and the 1993 range is from Wellicome and Haug (1995). The owls’ historical range (1880−1950) is based on a comprehensive literature review of written records from early explorers and naturalists (Wapple 2005), with B.C. portions updated by J. Surgenor (pers. com. 2005).

In Alberta, the species was found historically throughout the Prairie regions (Figure 2; Salt and Wilk 1958). In recent decades, the species’ range in Alberta has contracted, especially along the western and northern peripheries (Wellicome and Holroyd 2001).

The breeding range in Saskatchewan has also contracted towards the south and west (Figure 2). Burrowing Owls are still widely (but sparsely) distributed in the southern prairie areas, but they no longer breed in many former nesting areas of central (e.g. Saskatoon area; Smith 1996) and southeastern Saskatchewan (Wellicome and Holroyd 2001, unpublished data from Operation Burrowing Owl). Average colony size has also declined over the past few decades (Skeel et al. 2001).

Only one pair has been confirmed breeding in Manitoba since 1999, and no nests were documented in Manitoba in 2004 (K. De Smet, pers. com., September 2004). Burrowing Owls are officially considered Endangered in Manitoba (http://www.gov.mb.ca/conservation/wildlife/).

Although Aboriginal lands are located within the current range of the Burrowing Owl (see Appendix 1), no breeding owls were found during survey work in 2003 on the Blood, Nekaneet, Piapot, and Siksika reserves (although an old nest site was located on Siksika; T. Wellicome, unpublished data). However, in 2005, one nest was found on the Blood Reserve, and one or two were reported from Siksika.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

La Chevêche des terriers est largement répartie dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord (figure 1); une sous-espèce disjointe (résidente) (A. c. floridana) vit en Floride. On trouve également plusieurs sous-espèces dans diverses îles des Antilles, de même qu’en Amérique du Sud (Clark, 1997). La répartition hivernale des populations de l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord est mal connue. Dans les portions nord de l’aire de répartition (dont le Canada), l’espèce est migratrice, tandis que dans le sud (p. ex. Mexique, Texas, Oklahoma, Californie, Arizona, Nouveau-Mexique), de nombreux individus demeurent parfois dans leurs sites de nidification tout l’hiver. Les adultes et les jeunes bagués en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba semblent migrer vers le sud en passant par le centre des grandes plaines pour hiverner entre le sud du Texas et le centre du Mexique (James, 1992; Hjertaas et al., 1995; G. Holroyd comm. pers., octobre 2004).


Figure 1 : Aire de nidification (années 1970 et actuelle) de la Chevêche des terriers (sous-espèce hypugaea) dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord

Figure 1 : Aire de nidification (années 1970 et actuelle) de la Chevêche des terriers (sous-espèce hypugaea) dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord (d’après Wellicome et Holroyd, 2001).

D’après Wellicome et Holroyd, 2001.
On ne possède aucune information sur l’aire historique (début des années 1900) en Amérique du Nord, ni sur la répartition de l’espèce au Mexique pour les années 1970.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, la Chevêche des terriers niche aujourd’hui en Saskatchewan, en Alberta et dans la région intérieure méridionale de la Colombie-Britannique, ce qui ne représente qu’environ la moitié de l’aire qu’elle occupait dans les années 1970 et moins du tiers de celle qu’elle occupait entre 1880 et 1950 (figure 2). L’espèce ne niche plus en Colombie-Britannique depuis le début des années 1980; les quelques couples nicheurs qu’on y trouve encore sont vraisemblablement issus des tentatives de réintroductions (Dyer, 1991; Leupin et Low, 2001).


Figure 2 : Changement dans l’aire de nidification canadienne de la Chevêche des terriers

Figure 2 : Changement dans l’aire de nidification canadienne de la Chevêche des terriers.

L’aire de répartition de 2004 se fonde sur un relevé intensif. L’aire de nidification de 1970 à1977 est basée sur Wedgwood (1978), et celle de 1993, sur Wellicome et Haug (1995). L’aire historique de la Chevêche des terriers (de 1880 à 1950) est basée sur une revue complète de la documentation écrite des premiers explorateurs et naturalistes (Wapple, 2005), les portions de la Colombie-Britannique ayant été mises à jour par J. Surgenor (comm. pers., 2005).

En Alberta, l’espèce fréquentait autrefois toute la région des prairies (figure 2; Salt et Wilk, 1958). Au cours des dernières décennies, son aire de répartition a rétréci, notamment sa périphérie ouest et nord (Wellicome et Holroyd, 2001).

En Saskatchewan, l’aire de nidification de l’espèce a aussi rétréci au sud et à l’ouest (figure 2). La Chevêche des terriers y est toujours largement répartie (mais de façon dispersée) dans la zone des prairies du sud, mais elle ne niche plus dans un grand nombre de ses anciennes aires de nidification antérieures du centre (p. ex. la région de Saskatoon; Smith, 1996) et du sud-est (Wellicome et Holroyd, 2001, données inédites de l’Opération Chevêche des terriers [Operation Burrowing Owl]). La taille moyenne des colonies a diminué au cours des dernières décennies (Skeel et al., 2001).

On n’a confirmé la présence que de un seul couple nicheur au Manitoba depuis 1999, et on n’y a trouvé aucun nid en 2004 (K. De Smet, comm. pers., septembre 2004). La Chevêche des terriers est officiellement considérée comme une espèce en voie de disparition dans la province (http://www.gov.mb.ca/conservation/wildlife/).

On n’a trouvé aucune Chevêche des terriers dans les terres autochtones situées dans l’aire de répartition actuelle de l’espèce (voir l’annexe 1), dans le cadre des relevés effectués en 2003 dans les réserves des Nations Gens-du-Sang, Nekaneet, Piapot et Siksika (bien qu’on ait repéré un vieux site de nidification dans la réserve des Siksika; T. Wellicome, données inédites). Toutefois, en 2005, on a trouvé un nid dans la réserve des Gens-du-Sang, et un ou deux dans celle des Siksika.