Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Burrowing Owls nest in open country, such as grazed pastures, prairie grasslands, sometimes with small amounts of sagebrush, and the edges of agricultural fields (Poulin et al. 2005). In all of these habitats, owls prefer to nest in areas with sparse vegetation and flat, open terrain. In Canada, Burrowing Owl habitat in Alberta and Saskatchewan is typically flat, treeless prairie, while in British Columbia preferred habitat is plateau and valley grassland (Wellicome and Haug 1995). Another important habitat component for Burrowing Owls is proximity to land with medium to tall grass for (largely nocturnal) foraging. While owls typically restrict their diurnal foraging to the area in the immediate nest vicinity, they appear to range more widely at night, feeding over nearby fields in denser vegetation (Haug and Oliphant 1990, Plumpton 1992, Sissons et al. 2001, Sissons 2003.).

In Canada, nests are always in abandoned burrows of various mammals, including ground squirrels, prairie dogs, badgers, foxes, skunks, coyotes, and marmots (Wellicome and Haug 1995, Wellicome 1997, Poulin et al. 2005), or in artificial nest burrows (De Smet 1997, Wellicome et al. 1997, Leupin and Low 2001). Burrowing Owls typically nest in whichever burrow type is most common locally. On the Great Plains, owls appear to show a preference for nesting in active prairie dog towns (e.g., Butts and Lewis 1982), and owl abundance may be linked to the local abundance of prairie dogs (Desmond et al. 2000). In Canada, most populations of Burrowing Owls now nest in abandoned badger and Richardson’s ground squirrel (Spermophilus richardsonii) burrows, but show a preference for burrows with entrances that are ‘badger-sized’ (Poulin et al. 2005).

Burrowing Owls typically spend the day close to their nest burrow and fly further from the burrow area at night to forage (Haug & Oliphant 1990). Reported mean home-range sizes for Burrowing Owls are 2.41 km2 in Saskatchewan (Haug and Oliphant 1990) and 3.73 km2 in Alberta (Sissons 2003). Sissons (2003) showed that Burrowing Owls spend considerable time foraging at night in nearby grassland areas. Home-range size shows a positive correlation to the percentage of surrounding habitat that is under agricultural cultivation,,suggesting that larger home-ranges are required when higher proportions of land are under cultivation (Haug 1985, Wellicome and Haug 1995).


Habitat Trends

Suitable breeding, migration, and wintering habitat (primarily open grassland) continues to decline (see Telfer 1992, Hjertaas 1997, Warnock and Skeel 2004). Telfer (1992) estimated a loss of 39% of the native grasslands in prairie Canada between 1949 and 1986. Hjertaas and Lyon (1987) estimated a 21% loss of native prairie in Saskatchewan over a 7-year period in the late 1970s and early 1980s. In Manitoba, at least 20% of historic nest sites recorded over a five-year period were destroyed during land cultivation or urban development (Haug and Churchward 1988). Warnock and Skeel (2004) reported that grassland loss, specifically from owl sites in southern Saskatchewan, averaged 6% per year from 1987 to 1993. All of these studies suggest that the primary loss of habitat occurs through conversion of native grasslands to agricultural crops.

In Canada, the rate of loss of grassland habitat has been accompanied by a decline in the number of ground squirrels and an even more rapid decline in the abundance of Burrowing Owls. In British Columbia, Howie (1980) identified a reduction in badger (Taxidea taxus jeffersonii) populations as the main factor responsible for the provincial Burrowing Owl decline. On the prairies, there are indications that Richardson’s ground squirrels have decreased in some parts of Alberta (Kirk and Banasch 1996), Saskatchewan (Schmutz et al. 2001), and Manitoba (K. De Smet, pers. comm.), but population data are not available at larger scales (Michener and Schmutz 2002). The population of Burrowing Owls in the four western provinces is now so low that areas of potentially suitable habitat are not currently occupied (Skeel et al. 2001, Burrowing Owl Recovery Team Meeting, 2004).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

The majority of suitable Burrowing Owl habitat in Canada is under private ownership. As a consequence, habitat protection programs have been initiated with voluntary land stewardship programs including Operation Grassland Community (http://www.afga.org/Conservation/ogc.htm) in Alberta and Operation Burrowing Owl (http://www.naturesask.com/OBO/obo.htm) in Saskatchewan. These programs encourage landowners to report the number of Burrowing Owls on their land each year, to protect nesting areas from cultivation and pesticide use, and to consider planting native grasses in place of introduced grass species. Both programs have been successful in raising the profile of native species, have helped efforts to retain native grasslands (e.g., Warnock and Skeel 2004), and have also contributed valuable long-term data to Burrowing Owl monitoring efforts.

There are currently efforts underway in Alberta and Saskatchewan (T. Wellicome, pers. comm., September 2004) to first identify and then to protect (with stewardship and conservation easements) critical habitats for breeding Burrowing Owls. Habitat protection on the migration routes (U.S.A.) and on the wintering grounds (Mexico) is also critical because recovery of the Canadian population may also be dependent on habitat conservation measures in these areas.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

La Chevêche des terriers niche dans les paysages ouverts, comme les pâturages en usage, les zones herbeuses des prairies quelquefois parsemées d’armoises, et les bordures des champs cultivés (Poulin et al., 2005). Dans tous ces habitats, c’est dans les zones où la végétation est éparse et le terrain plat et ouvert qu’elle préfère nicher. Au Canada, son habitat est en général la prairie plate dépourvue d’arbres en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, et les prairies des plateaux et des vallées en Colombie-Britannique (Wellicome et Haug, 1995). Une autre importante composante de son habitat est la proximité de terrains où poussent des herbes de hauteur moyenne à élevée pour la recherche de nourriture (surtout nocturne). Le jour, la Chevêche limite généralement sa quête de nourriture aux environs immédiats du nid, mais la nuit, elle élargit son aire d’alimentation jusqu’aux champs avoisinants où la végétation est plus dense (Haug et Oliphant, 1990; Plumpton, 1992; Sissons et al., 2001; Sissons, 2003).

Au Canada, la Chevêche des terriers niche toujours dans des terriers abandonnés de divers mammifères, dont les écureuils terrestres, les chiens de prairie, les blaireaux, les renards, les mouffettes, les coyotes et les marmottes (Wellicome et Haug, 1995; Wellicome, 1997; Poulin et al., 2005), ou dans des terriers artificiels (De Smet, 1997; Wellicome et al., 1997; Leupin et Low, 2001). Elle niche habituellement dans le type de terrier le plus commun qu’on trouve sur place. Dans la région des grandes plaines, elle semble préférer les terriers de chiens de prairie (p. ex. Butts et Lewis, 1982), et son abondance pourrait être liée à l’abondance locale de ces derniers (Desmond et al., 2000). La plupart des populations canadiennes de Chevêches des terriers nichent aujourd’hui dans les terriers abandonnés par les blaireaux et les spermophiles de Richardson (Spermophilus richardsonii), mais privilégient ceux dont l’entrée a la taille du blaireau (Poulin et al., 2005).

La Chevêche des terriers passe en général la journée près de son terrier, mais s’en éloigne la nuit pour chercher sa nourriture (Haug et Oliphant, 1990). La taille moyenne documentée de son domaine vital est de 2,41 km2 en Saskatchewan (Haug et Oliphant, 1990) et de 3,73 km2 en Alberta (Sissons, 2003). Sissons (2003) a montré que ce strigidé passait beaucoup de temps à se nourrir la nuit dans les prés adjacents. La taille du domaine vital est positivement corrélée au pourcentage de l’habitat cultivé environnant, ce qui donne à penser que l’espèce a besoin d’un plus grand domaine lorsque la proportion des terres cultivées est élevée (Haug, 1985; Wellicome et Haug, 1995).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

La superficie de l’habitat de nidification, de migration et d’hivernage convenable (principalement la prairie ouverte) ne cesse de diminuer (voir Telfer, 1992; Hjertaas, 1997; Warnock et Skeel, 2004). Telfer (1992) estime que 39 % des prairies indigènes ont disparu au Canada entre 1949 et 1986. Selon Hjertaas et Lyon (1987), ce sont 21 % de ces prairies qui auraient disparu en Saskatchewan sur une période de 7 ans entre la fin des années 1970 et le début des années 1980. Au Manitoba, au moins 20 % des sites de nidification historiques recensés sur une période de cinq ans ont été détruits par l’agriculture ou l’aménagement urbain (Haug et Churchward, 1988). Selon Warnock et Skeel (2004), la prairie a disparu à un rythme annuel moyen de 6 % entre 1987 et 1993 notamment dans le sud de la Saskatchewan fréquenté par les strigidés. Toutes ces études attribuent la disparition de l’habitat avant tout à la conversion des prairies indigènes en terres cultivées.

Au Canada, la disparition de l’habitat de prairie s’accompagne d’une diminution du nombre d’écureuils terrestres et d’un déclin encore plus rapide de l’abondance de la Chevêche des terriers. En Colombie-Britannique, selon Howie (1980), le principal facteur responsable du déclin de l’espèce est attribuable au déclin des populations de blaireaux (Taxidea taxus jeffersonii). Dans les prairies, il semble que le spermophile de Richardson ait décliné dans certaines parties de l’Alberta (Kirk et Banasch, 1996), de la Saskatchewan (Schmutz et al., 2001) et du Manitoba (K. De Smet, pers. Comm.), mais on ne possède aucune donnée démographique à plus grande échelle (Michener et Schmutz, 2002). La population de Chevêches des terriers dans les quatre provinces de l’Ouest est aujourd’hui si faible que des secteurs abritant des habitats qui pourraient convenir à l’espèce demeurent inoccupés (Skeel et al., 2001, Burrowing Owl Recovery Team Meeting, 2004).


Protection et propriété

Au Canada, la plus grande partie de l’habitat qui convient à la Chevêche des terriers se trouve sur des terrains privés. Pour protéger l’habitat, on a donc mis en place des programmes volontaires d’intendance des terres, dont le Operation Grassland Community en Alberta (http ://www.afga.org/Conservation/ogc.htm; en anglais seulement) et l’Opération Chevêche des terriers (Operation Burrowing Owl [OBO]) en Saskatchewan (http ://www.naturesask.com/OBO/obo.htm; en anglais seulement). Ces programmes invitent les propriétaires à signaler chaque année le nombre de Chevêches des terriers qui se trouvent sur leurs terres, à protéger les aires de nidification contre la culture et l’épandage de pesticides et, éventuellement, à y planter des graminées indigènes au lieu de graminées introduites. En plus de mieux faire connaître les espèces indigènes, ces deux programmes ont aidé à préserver les prairies indigènes (voir par exemple Warnock et Skeel, 2004) et permis de recueillir de précieuses données à long terme pour les activités de surveillance de la Chevêche des terriers.

L’Alberta et la Saskatchewan (T. Wellicome, comm. pers., septembre 2004) s’efforcent actuellement d’identifier et de protéger (au moyen de servitudes d’intendance et de conservation) les habitats essentiels à la Chevêche nicheuse. Il est également capital de protéger l’habitat dans les voies migratoires (États-Unis) et les aires d’hivernage (Mexique), car le rétablissement des populations canadiennes pourrait aussi dépendre des mesures de conservation adoptées dans ces régions.