Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada

Biology

Reproduction

Burrowing Owls are summer residents in the northern half of their breeding range, including the Canadian Prairie Provinces. Some individuals released in British Columbia in captive-breeding reintroduction programs do not migrate, but this is likely an artifact of captive-breeding. Burrowing Owls arrive on their prairie breeding grounds in April and May, lay an average of 9 eggs, typically fledge 3-5 young, and then begin fall migration sometime in late August or September (Wellicome 1997, Wellicome 2000, Todd et al. 2003). Most pairs are monogamous (Wellicome 2005), although polygyny is occasionally reported (Haug 1985).

Male owls typically defend a nest site and display for prospecting females (Haug et al. 1993). Both sexes may renovate and maintain the nest burrow, but only females incubate eggs and brood young. Males provision the female with food during the 28-30 day incubation period and while nestlings are brooded (Haug et al. 1993, Poulin 2003). The nestling period lasts approximately 44 days (Landry 1979), after which time juveniles disperse to nearby satellite burrows (Green 1983; Todd 2001b). Normally only a single brood is raised but a pair will re-nest if the first clutch is lost early in the season (Haug et al. 1993).


Survival

Estimates of adult survival have ranged from 37% to 51% over six years in Saskatchewan (James et al. 1997), 47% to 58% in Alberta (unpublished data cited in Haug et al. 1993), and 24% to 40% during a population decline in Manitoba (De Smet 1997). Dyer (cited in Haug et al. 1993) reported a 37% return rate for adults in British Columbia. Juvenile survival rates are lower, but are more difficult to estimate due to the lower site-fidelity of juvenile owls (De Smet 1997, Wellicome et al. 1997). Dyer (loc. cit.) found a 14% return rate for juvenile owls in B.C., while Hoyt et al. (2001) found a 6% return rate in Saskatchewan, and De Smet (1997) measured 3.5% return rate in Manitoba. Johnson (1997) found a minimum juvenile survival rate of 23% in California, but lower juvenile survival rates were noted in Colorado, where only 5% of fledglings were seen the following year (Lutz and Plumpton 1999). Clearly, these return rates underestimate survival rates, given that many adults and juveniles typically disperse from breeding and natal areas (see Movements/dispersal below). The lack of an accurate measure of adult and juvenile survival rates hampers attempts to accurately predict local population viability (McDonald et al. 2004).

Juvenile mortality after fledging apparently varies with predation pressure and local food availability. In Saskatchewan, a study involving radio-tagged juveniles found that mortality during the period between fledging and migration averaged 42% during normal years, but that no tagged juveniles died in a year of high food availability (Todd et al. 2003). In Alberta, post-fledging juvenile survival ranged from 45% during 1995–1996 (n = 21; Clayton and Schmutz 1999) to 61% during 1999–2000 (n = 52; Shyry 2005). In addition, juvenile mortality tended to be higher in relatively fragmented habitat patches (Todd 2001a), suggesting that habitat fragmentation may be negatively affecting juvenile survival in Great Plains habitats (see also Clayton and Schmutz 1999).


Movements/Dispersal

The degree to which adult and juvenile Burrowing Owls show fidelity to breeding (and natal) sites is difficult to assess as resightings of banded birds within finite study areas may underestimate dispersal. However, information from stable isotope studies suggests significant dispersal and genetic exchange among neighbouring populations (Duxbury 2004).

In Alberta, observations of individually-marked returning juveniles showed that nests were established 300 m to 30 km from their natal sites, with females moving farther than males (J. Schmutz, cited in Haug et al. 1993). Natal dispersal on the Regina Plain ranged from 0 to 295 km (Wellicome et al. 1997). De Smet (1997) reported that returning juveniles nested 1 to 77 km from their natal sites in Manitoba.

Between-year movements of adults were significantly lower. On the Regina Plain, movements ranged between 0−45 km for females, with no dispersal (i.e., 100% site-fidelity) shown by males (Wellicome et al. 1997). Adult males in Manitoba moved an average of 3.0 km among years and females moved an average 10.9 km.

Recovery of Burrowing Owls banded in Canada suggests that most of the prairie population migrates directly south through the Great Plains and winters in central Mexico (James 1992, Hertaas 1995, Duxbury 2004).


Interspecific Interactions

Aside from anecdotal observations of Burrowing Owls being harassed by songbirds (e.g., Martell 1990), there are few observations of interspecific interactions aside from predation events.

Adult and juvenile Burrowing Owls are taken by a wide range of predators, with raptors and badgers (Taxidea taxus) being the most common (Wellicome et al. 1997, Todd et al. 2003, McDonald et al. 2004). Predation has been cited as a significant source of mortality in local populations. For example, an entire wintering population on Santa Barbara Island, California was eliminated due to predation by Barn Owls (Tyto alba; Drost and McCluskey 1992). Reintroduction efforts in British Columbia have been hampered by heavy predation from Northern Harriers (Circus cyaneus), Great Horned Owls (Bubo virginianus), Red-tailed Hawks (Buteo jamaicensis), and coyotes (Canis latrans; Leupin and Low 2001). In Alberta and Saskatchewan, avian predation accounted for almost half of all mortality of juvenile owls between the fledging and migration periods (Clayton 1997, Todd 2001). Badgers have been noted as serious predators of Burrowing Owls in Saskatchewan (Wellicome et al. 1997), in Oregon (Green 1983), and in Nebraska (Desmond 1991). Finally, near human habitations, domestic cats and dogs are known to prey heavily on eggs and young (Haug 1985, Millsap and Bear 1988, Sleno 2000).


Behaviour/Adaptability

Burrowing Owls are generally tolerant of minor human disturbance around nest sites. In many areas of their range, Burrowing Owls are often victims of shooting programs aimed at prairie dogs (James and Espie 1997). Even when such shooting is not directed at owls, it typically results in reduced owl reproductive success (Woodard 2002).

Most studies of Burrowing Owl foraging behaviour have noted the flexibility in the species’ diet, depending on time of day, season, and local fluctuations in different prey species (McDonald et al. 2004). On the Canadian prairies, voles (Microtus spp.), mice, (Peromyscus spp.), grasshoppers (Acrididae), and beetles are common prey items (Haug et al. 1993). During the summer, Burrowing Owls typically forage during the day around their nest sites for insects, but feed on small mammals in nearby grasslands at night (Schmutz et al. 1991, Haug et al. 1993, Sissons et al. 2001). During the breeding season in Saskatchewan, over 90% of the prey biomass is composed of small mammals and such prey is typically captured at night (Poulin 2003). A similar ratio of insects to mammals is consumed during the winter in Mexico (Valdez Gomez et al. 2002).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Reproduction

En été, la Chevêche des terriers réside dans la moitié nord de son aire de nidification, dont les provinces des Prairies canadiennes. Certains individus lâchés en Colombie-Britannique dans le cadre de programmes de réintroduction d’oiseaux élevés en captivité ne migrent pas, mais cela est vraisemblablement un effet de l’élevage en captivité. La Chevêche des terriers arrive dans son aire de nidification des prairies en avril et en mai, pond en moyenne une couvée de 9 œufs, dont 3 à 5 petits se rendent jusqu’à l’envol, puis amorce sa migration automnale vers la fin août ou septembre (Wellicome, 1997; Wellicome, 2000; Todd et al., 2003). La plupart des couples sont monogames (Wellicome, 2005), bien qu’on signale à l’occasion des cas de polygamie (Haug, 1985).

En règle générale, le mâle défend un site de nidification et envoie des signaux visuels aux femelles à la recherche de partenaires (Haug et al., 1993). Il peut arriver que les oiseaux des deux sexes aménagent et entretiennent le terrier de nidification, mais seule la femelle couve les œufs et élève les petits. Le mâle approvisionne la femelle en nourriture pendant la période d’incubation de 28 à 30 jours et pendant que les petits sont au nid (Haug et al., 1993; Poulin, 2003). Les petits restent au nid environ 44 jours (Landry, 1979), après quoi ils se dispersent vers des terriers satellites situés à proximité (Green, 1983; Todd, 2001b). Normalement, une seule couvée est élevée, mais le couple peut nicher de nouveau lorsqu’il y a échec de la première couvée au début de la saison (Haug et al., 1993).


Survie

Les estimations de la survie des adultes varient entre 37 et 51 % sur six ans en Saskatchewan (James et al., 1997), 47 et 58 % en Alberta (données inédites citées dans Haug et al., 1993), et 24 et 40 % durant un déclin démographique au Manitoba (De Smet, 1997). Dyer (cité dans Haug et al., 1993) fait état d’un taux de retour de 37 % des adultes en Colombie-Britannique. Les taux de survie des jeunes sont plus faibles, mais sont difficiles à estimer vu la moins grande fidélité des jeunes au site (De Smet, 1997; Wellicome et al., 1997). Dyer (loc. cit.) a relevé un taux de retour de 14 % chez les jeunes chevêches en Colombie-Britannique, tandis que Hoyt et al. (2001) l’ont établi à 6 % en Saskatchewan, et De Smet (1997) à 3,5 % au Manitoba. Johnson (1997) a calculé un taux minimum de survie des jeunes de 23 % en Californie, mais ces taux étaient plus faibles au Colorado, où seulement 5 % des jeunes à l’envol ont été revus l’année suivante (Lutz et Plumpton, 1999). De toute évidence, ces taux de retour sous-estiment les taux de survie, vu que de nombreux adultes et jeunes se dispersent normalement des aires de nidification et de naissance (voir la section Déplacements et dispersion, plus bas). En l’absence de mesures précises des taux de survie des adultes et des jeunes, il est difficile de prévoir avec exactitude la viabilité de la population locale (McDonald et al., 2004).

La mortalité des jeunes après l’envol varie apparemment avec la pression de prédation et la disponibilité locale de nourriture. En Saskatchewan, une étude a permis d’établir que 42 % des jeunes oiseaux munis de transpondeurs mouraient en moyenne durant la période séparant l’envol de la migration les années normales, mais qu’aucun n’était mort lors d’une année où la nourriture était abondante (Todd et al., 2003). En Alberta, la survie des jeunes après l’envol variait entre 45 % en 1995-1996 (n = 21; Clayton et Schmutz, 1999) et 61 % en 1999-2000 (= 52; Shyry, 2005). En outre, la mortalité des jeunes était généralement plus élevée dans les parcelles d’habitat fragmentées (Todd, 2001a), ce qui semble indiquer que la fragmentation de l’habitat pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur la survie dans les habitats des grandes plaines (voir également Clayton et Schmutz, 1999).


Déplacements et dispersion

Il est difficile de déterminer dans quelle mesure les Chevêches des terriers adultes et jeunes sont fidèles aux sites de nidification (et de naissance) étant donné que les réobservations d’oiseaux bagués dans des zones d’étude précises pourraient sous-estimer la dispersion. Cependant, l’analyse des isotopes stables évoque une dispersion et des échanges génétiques importants entre populations voisines (Duxbury, 2004).

En Alberta, l’observation de jeunes chevêches marquées de retour au lieu de naissance a montré que celles-ci aménageaient leurs nids à une distance de 300 m à 30 km de ce lieu, les femelles s’établissant plus loin que les mâles (J. Schmutz, cité dans Haug et al., 1993). Dans la plaine de Regina, la dispersion depuis le lieu de naissance variait de 0 à 295 km (Wellicome et al., 1997). Au Manitoba, De Smet (1997) note que les jeunes de retour nichent à une distance de 1 à 77 km de leur lieu de naissance.

Les déplacements des adultes d’une année à l’autre étaient beaucoup moins marqués. Dans la plaine de Regina, ces déplacements variaient de 0 à 45 km pour les femelles, et étaient nuls (soit une fidélité totale au site) pour les mâles (Wellicome et al., 1997). Au Manitoba, les mâles adultes se déplaçaient en moyenne de 3,0 km selon les années, et les femelles de 10,9 km.

D’après les données sur la récupération des Chevêches des terriers baguées au Canada, il semble que la plus grande partie de la population des prairies migre directement au sud par les grandes plaines et hiverne dans le centre du Mexique (James, 1992; Hjertaas, 1995; Duxbury, 2004).


Relations interspécifiques

À part les observations anecdotiques de Chevêches des terriers attaquées par des oiseaux chanteurs (voir par exemple Martell, 1990), on n’observe guère de relations interspécifiques sauf dans le cadre d’événements de prédation.

Les chevêches jeunes et adultes sont la proie d’un large éventail de prédateurs, dont les plus fréquents sont les rapaces et les blaireaux (Taxidea taxus) (Wellicome et al., 1997; Todd et al., 2003; McDonald et al., 2004). La prédation est mentionnée comme une importante cause de mortalité dans des populations locales. Par exemple, la totalité d’une population hivernant dans l’île Santa Barbara, en Californie, a été éliminée par des Effraies des clochers (Tyto alba; Drost et McCluskey, 1992). En Colombie-Britannique, les activités de réintroduction ont été gênées par la forte prédation par le Busard Saint-Martin (Circus cyaneus), le Grand-Duc d’Amérique (Bubo virginianus), la Buse à queue rousse (Buteo jamaicensis) et les coyotes (Canis latrans; Leupin et Low, 2001). En Alberta et en Saskatchewan, la prédation aviaire est à l’origine de près de la moitié des cas de mortalité des jeunes chevêches entre la période de l’envol et celle de la migration (Clayton, 1997; Todd, 2001). Les blaireaux figurent parmi les principaux prédateurs de la Chevêche des terriers en Saskatchewan (Wellicome et al., 1997), en Oregon (Green, 1983) et au Nebraska (Desmond, 1991). Enfin, près des habitations humaines, les chats et les chiens domestiques sont reconnus pour s’en prendre aux œufs et aux jeunes oiseaux (Haug, 1985; Millsap et Bear, 1988; Sleno, 2000).


Adaptabilité

La Chevêche des terriers tolère en général un faible niveau de perturbation humaine autour du site de nidification. Dans de nombreux secteurs de son aire de répartition, l’espèce est souvent victime de programmes d’abattage visant les chiens de prairie (James et Espie, 1997). Même lorsque ces programmes ne visent pas la Chevêche, ils nuisent en général au succès de sa reproduction (Woodard, 2002).

La plupart des études sur le comportement de quête de nourriture de la Chevêche des terriers font état de la souplesse de son régime alimentaire selon l’heure du jour, la saison et les fluctuations locales des différentes espèces proies (McDonald et al., 2004). Dans les prairies canadiennes, les campagnols (Microtus spp.), les souris (Peromyscus spp.), les criquets (Acrididae) et les coléoptères sont des proies courantes (Haug et al., 1993). En été, la Chevêche se nourrit en général d’insectes autour de son nid le jour, et de petits mammifères dans les prairies avoisinantes la nuit (Schmutz et al., 1991; Haug et al., 1993; Sissons et al., 2001). En Saskatchewan, durant la saison de nidification, plus de 90 % de la biomasse de proies sont composés de petits mammifères, généralement capturés la nuit (Poulin, 2003). Le ratio insectes-mammifères est semblable en hiver au Mexique (Valdez Gomez et al., 2002).