Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Estimates of Burrowing Owl population trends come from a variety of sources including: 1) large-scale breeding bird surveys carried out by volunteers on designated routes in Canada and the United States: 2) dedicated Burrowing Owl counts carried out by the Provinces (AB, SK, MB) in support of provincial conservation programs; 3) surveys of landowners participating in Operation Grassland Community (AB) and Operation Burrowing Owl (SK); and 4) surveys carried out by Burrowing Owl researchers on the Regina Plain, Grasslands National Park, and other research sites in the Prairie Provinces. Given the differences in methodology, scale, and observer effort among these surveys, the four survey types have different strengths and weaknesses. While the BBS and landowner surveys give results on the broadest scales, they are also more prone to observer/sampling error. Dedicated Burrowing Owl surveys carried out by provincial and federal biologists may give more accurate results, but are necessarily restricted to much smaller areas. Taken together, however, the four survey methods likely provide a relatively robust representation of the long-term population size and trends of Burrowing Owls in Canada.


Canada

In Canada, previous COSEWIC status reports on Burrowing Owls reported population sizes of 2000 pairs in 1977 (Wedgwood 1978), 2540 pairs in 1991 (Haug and Didiuk 1991), and 1010-1685 pairs in 1995 (Wellicome and Haug 1995). Data from 2004 suggest a total minimum population size of 795 individuals in Canada: 498 individuals in Saskatchewan, 288 individuals in Alberta and 9 individuals in British Columbia (National Burrowing Owl Recovery Team 2004). This number almost certainly underestimates the total Canadian population as relatively large areas of potentially suitable habitat in Alberta and Saskatchewan remain unsurveyed; the actual population may be as high as 1600 individuals (National Burrowing Owl Recovery Team 2006). However, this number comes from a year (2004) in which some local populations appeared to have increased from the previous year by as much as 73% (D. Todd, pers. comm., December 2004). It should be stressed that each of the COSEWIC status reports used different methods to estimate population sizes, thereby complicating long-term trend analysis.

Burrowing Owls are seen on too few Canadian Breeding Bird Survey routes to generate meaningful population trends. Recent trend data from dedicated Burrowing Owl surveys in Canada, however, show a clear decline in the number of owls since the late 1980s.


Manitoba

Data from Manitoba show a decline from 76 nests in 1982 to 0 nests in 1997 (Figure 3), and only 1 nest in 1999. Since 1999, only one pair has been confirmed breeding in Manitoba (2001), and no nests were documented in Manitoba in 2004 (De Smet 1997; updates from K. De Smet, September 2004). While it may be too early to consider the Burrowing Owl extirpated in Manitoba, it is almost certainly only an irregular breeder now in the province (probably <10).


Figure 3: Trend in the Number of Pairs of Burrowing Owls Found Nesting in Manitoba Since 1982

Figure 3: Trend in the number of pairs of Burrowing Owls found nesting in Manitobasince 1982 (updated from De Smet 1997; K. De Smet, pers. comm., September 2004).

Updated from De Smet 1997; K. De Smet, pers. comm., September 2004.


Alberta

In Alberta, standardized surveys have been carried out near Hanna (104 quarter sections) and Brooks (128 quarter sections), sites that contain large blocks of suitable habitat and have been surveyed since the late 1980s and early 1990s, respectively (Wellicome 1997). In the Hanna blocks area, the number of Burrowing Owl nests has decreased from a high of over 30 in 1991 to 2 nests or less since 2001 (Figure 4). Similar surveys near Brooks (Figure 5) show a less dramatic decline, but only five nests/100 km2 in 2002 and 2004. On a larger scale, data from Operation Grassland Community in Alberta also show a long-term negative trend (Figure 6). Taken together, the standarized survey and OGC data from Alberta suggest significant declines in the density of breeding Burrowing Owls in the province. The OGC data in particular indicate a decline from about 240 nests in 1991 to about 25 in 2001.


Figure 4: Trend in the Number of Nests/100 km2 on Survey Blocks Near Hanna, Alberta

Figure 4: Trend in the number of nests/100 km square on survey blocks near Hanna, Alberta. The negative trend is statistically significant (Rs = - 0.89, P = 0.01, n = 9).

The negative trend is statistically significant (Rs = - 0.89, P = 0.01, n = 9).


Figure 5: Trend in the Number of Nests/100 km2 on Survey Blocks Near Brooks, Alberta

Figure 5: Trend in the number of nests/100 km2on survey blocks near Brooks, Alberta.

Note that surveys were not performed in 1996 and 2003, and that an incomplete survey was carried out in 1993. Data are from Russell (2002) and the Burrowing Owl Recovery Team meeting (2004).


Figure 6: Trend in the Number of Burrowing Owls Reported by Operation Grassland Community Landholders in Alberta Between 1989 and 2004

Figure 6: Trend in the number of Burrowing Owls reported by Operation Grassland Community landholders in Alberta between 1989 and 2004.

Unpublished data provided by L. Tomyn, Operation Grassland Community.


Saskatchewan

In Saskatchewan, surveys carried out by Operation Burrowing Owl cover a large proportion of the historical range of the species in the province. However, the survey includes only data from participating landowners and should consequently be viewed as a rough approximation of actual population trend in the province.

Figure 7 displays the trend in the number of Burrowing Owls reported by private landowners enrolled in Operation Burrowing Owl in Saskatchewan. The data show a significant decline in the estimated number of breeding pairs from around 1000 in the late 1980s, to less than 100 pairs since 2000.

Studies carried out on the Regina Plain have monitored the population status and breeding success of Burrowing Owls since 1987. Figure 8 shows the long-term population trend on the Regina Plain, with a significant decline in numbers from 1987 to 1999, and low numbers of breeding pairs since that time.


Figure 7: Burrowing Owl population trend at Operation Burrowing Owl sites in Saskatchewan between 1987 and 2004

Figure 7: Burrowing Owl population trend at Operation Burrowing Owl sites in Saskatchewan between 1987 and 2004.

Unpublished data provided by K. Dohms, Operation Burrowing Owl.


Figure 8: Trends in the Number of Burrowing Owls Found During Surveys on the Regina Plain Area in Southcentral Saskatchewan

Figure 8: Trends in the number of Burrowing Owls found during surveys on the Regina Plain area in southcentral Saskatchewan.

The study areas originally surveyed since 1987 (P.C. James) and since 1994 (T.I. Wellicome) are geographic subsets, wholly contained within the larger study area surveyed since 1997 (R.G. Poulin and L.D. Todd).

Finally, at Grasslands National Park and the adjoining Dixon ranch, the number of nesting pairs has increased since 1998 (Figure 9). However, the extent to which this increase may be due to improved surveying techniques and increased survey coverage is not clear (G. Holroyd, pers. comm., October 2004). Breeding success in the Grasslands Park area has varied strongly among years, with between 1 and 4 young produced per nesting attempt (Figure 9). Such annual variation is typical, and the overall reproductive success of Burrowing Owls appears to be comparable or even slightly higher than that recorded in Great Plains states in the U.S (McDonald et al. 2004).


Figure 9: Breeding Success (left panel) and Number of Breeding Pairs at Grasslands National Park and Dixon’s Ranch, Saskatchewan

Figure 9: Breeding success (left panel) and number of breeding pairs at Grasslands National Park and Dixon’s ranch, Saskatchewan.

Unpublished data provided by G. Holroyd, Canadian Wildlife Service.

In summary, the various data sets from Saskatchewan suggest a significant long-term decline in the number of Burrowing Owls at the provincial level, with evidence of a small, stable population at Grasslands National Park in the extreme south of the province. Modest population increases within the last few years are interpreted to be the result of good productivity; however, 2005 data from the Regina Plain show another downward trend following poor productivity in 2004 (Figure 8).


British Columbia

Burrowing Owls were extirpated in British Columbia sometime in the 1980s (J. Surgenor, pers. comm., 2004). Efforts aimed at re-establishing a viable population in the province started with the release of captive-raised birds in the Thompson-Nicola region in 1983 and the release of families transplanted from Washington to the south Okanagan Valley from 1983 to 1988 (Dyer 1990). Although the program has succeeded in establishing small numbers of captive-raised birds that breed and migrate, as of 2004, only 9 individual owls were found in surveys in southern British Columbia. Of these, 4 were raised in the wild, 2 were returning captive-reared birds, and 3 were of unknown origin (J. Surgenor, pers. comm., October 2004). Apparently, larger numbers (i.e., > 50 birds/year) of releases will be necessary to re-establish a self-sustaining breeding population in British Columbia.


Summary of Breeding Season Surveys

Survey data from the Prairie Provinces discussed above suggest a population decline from about 1315 pairs (AB, 240; SK, 1000; MB, 75) to 125 (25, 100, 0) through the 1990s. This represents a decadal decline of about 91%. This trend has decreased in the last 10 years (1994-2004) to approximately 57% based on the same data sources (ca. 325 pairs to ca. 140 pairs; Figures figure3, figure6 and figure7).


Wintering Range

Burrowing Owls from the Canadian prairies are known to migrate through the southern Great Plains states (James 1992) and are thought to winter largely in Mexico (G. Holroyd, unpubl. data). In the northern portion of their wintering range, Burrowing Owls occur within some Christmas Bird Counts (hereafter, CBCs). CBCs are carried out throughout North America and are one-day, fixed-radius surveys conducted each year in late December or early January. Analysis of the long-term trend in the number of Burrowing Owls seen on CBCs in Texas (where a few Canadian owls may winter) shows a statistically significant decline since 1960 (see Figure 10; Spearman Rank Correlation Rs = - 0.42, n = 43, P < 0.01). However, these data must be interpreted with caution as wintering Burrowing Owls in Texas are largely of unknown origin (i.e., it is unclear to what extent owls from the Canadian prairies winter in Texas). Similar analysis of CBC data from California, where B.C. owls are thought to winter, shows a strong, significant decline from 1960 to 2003 (Figure 10; Rs = - 0.66, n = 43, P < 0.001).

In summary, since 1995, Burrowing Owl populations have continued to decline in all areas of Canada and the species is no longer a confirmed breeder in Manitoba and portions of southeastern Saskatchewan.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Les estimations des tendances des populations de Chevêches des terriers proviennent de diverses sources, notamment : 1) des relevés à grande échelle des oiseaux nicheurs effectués par des bénévoles sur des parcours définis au Canada et aux États-Unis; 2) des dénombrements visant spécifiquement la Chevêche des terriers effectués par les provinces (AB, SK, MB) à l’appui des programmes provinciaux de conservation; 3) des relevés effectués par les propriétaires participants à l’Operation Grassland Community (AB) et à l’Opération Chevêche des terriers (SK); et 4) des relevés effectués par des spécialistes de la Chevêche des terriers dans la plaine de Regina, le parc national des Prairies et d’autres sites de recherche dans les provinces des Prairies. Vu les différences de méthodologies, d’échelles et d’activités d’observation, les quatre types de relevés n’ont pas les mêmes forces et faiblesses. Le relevé des oiseaux nicheurs et les relevés faits par les propriétaires donnent des résultats sur de vastes échelles, mais sont aussi davantage sujets aux erreurs liées à l’observateur ou à l’échantillonnage. Les relevés visant spécifiquement la Chevêche des terriers effectués par les biologistes provinciaux et fédéraux peuvent donner des résultats plus exacts, mais ont nécessairement une portée plus limitée. Ensemble, toutefois, ces quatre méthodes de relevé donnent vraisemblablement une idée relativement juste de la taille et des tendances à long terme des populations au Canada.


Canada

Au Canada, les rapports antérieurs du COSEPAC sur la situation de la Chevêche des terriers faisaient état d’effectifs comptant 2 000 couples en 1977 (Wedgwood, 1978), 2 540 couples en 1991 (Haug et Didiuk, 1991) et de 1 010 à 1 685 couples en 1995 (Wellicome et Haug, 1995). D’après les données de 2004, la taille minimale totale de la population serait de 795 individus au Canada : 498 en Saskatchewan, 288 en Alberta et 9 en Colombie-Britannique (National Burrowing Owl Recovery Team, 2004). Ce chiffre sous-estime presque certainement la population canadienne totale étant donné que des superficies relativement importantes d’habitat potentiellement convenable n’ont encore fait l’objet d’aucune prospection en Alberta et en Saskatchewan; la population réelle pourrait ainsi atteindre les 1 600 individus (National Burrowing Owl Recovery Team, 2006). Toutefois, ce chiffre provient d’une année (2004) où certaines populations locales se sont accrues de près de 73 % par rapport à l’année précédente (D. Todd, comm. pers., décembre 2004). Il faut par ailleurs souligner que chaque rapport de situation du COSEPAC utilisait une méthode différente pour estimer la taille des populations, ce qui complique l’analyse des tendances à long terme.

On observe des Chevêches des terriers sur un nombre trop peu élevé de parcours du Relevé canadien des oiseaux nicheurs pour dégager des tendances démographi­ques significatives. Les données récentes des relevés visant spécifiquement l’espèce au Canada mettent toutefois en évidence une nette diminution du nombre d’oiseaux depuis la fin des années 1980.


Manitoba

Au Manitoba, on est passé de 76 nids en 1982 à 0 nid en 1997 (figure 3); un seul nid a été trouvé en 1999. Depuis, on n’a confirmé la présence que de un seul couple nicheur dans la province (2001), et on n’y a trouvé aucun nid en 2004 (De Smet, 1997; mises à jour de K. De Smet, septembre 2004). Il est sans doute trop tôt pour affirmer que l’espèce a disparu de la province, mais il est presque certain qu’elle n’y niche plus que de façon irrégulière aujourd’hui (probablement < 10 couples).


Figure 3 : Tendance du nombre de couples de Chevêches des terriers nichant au Manitoba depuis 1982

Figure 3 : Tendance du nombre de couples de Chevêches des terriers nichant au Manitoba depuis 1982 (mise à jour de De Smet, 1997; K. De Smet, comm. pers., septembre 2004).

Mise à jour de De Smet, 1997; K. De Smet, comm. pers., septembre 2004).


Alberta

En Alberta, des relevés normalisés ont été effectués près de Hanna (104 quarts de section) et de Brooks (128 quarts de section), lieux qui abritent de vastes blocs d’habitat convenable et qui avaient respectivement fait l’objet de relevés à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990 (Wellicome, 1997). Dans la région de Hanna, le nombre de nids de Chevêches des terriers a chuté d’un sommet de plus de 30 en 1991 à 2 ou moins depuis 2001 (figure 4). Dans la région de Brooks (figure 5), le déclin est moins prononcé, mais on n’a quand même trouvé que 5 nids/100 km2 en 2002 et en 2004. À plus grande échelle, les données de l’Operation Grassland Community (OGC) en Alberta mettent également en évidence une tendance négative à long terme (figure 6). Ensemble, les données des relevés normalisés et celles de l’OGC en Alberta évoquent d’importantes diminutions de la densité des Chevêches des terriers nicheuses dans la province. Les données de l’OGC font notamment ressortir un déclin d’environ 240 nids en 1991, à environ 25 en 2001.


Figure 4 : Tendance du nombre de nids/100 km2 dans les blocs de relevé près de Hanna, en Alberta

Figure 4 : Tendance du nombre de nids/100 km carré dans les blocs de relevé près de Hanna, en Alberta.

La tendance négative est statistiquement significative (Rs = - 0,89, P = 0,01, n = 9).


Figure 5 : Tendance du nombre de nids/100 km2 dans les blocs de relevé près de Brooks, en Alberta

Figure 5 : Tendance du nombre de nids/100 km carré dans les blocs de relevé près de Brooks, en Alberta.

Noter qu’aucun relevé n’a été effectué en 1996 et en 2003, et qu’un relevé incomplet a été réalisé en 1993. Les données proviennent de Russell (2002) et de la réunion de l’équipe de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers (2004).


Figure 6 : Tendance du nombre de Chevêches des terriers signalées par les propriétaires participant à l’Operation Grassland Community en Alberta entre 1989 et 2004

Figure 6 : Tendance du nombre de Chevêches des terriers signalées par les propriétaires participant à l’Operation Grassland Community en Alberta entre 1989 et 2004.

Données inédites fournies par L. Tomyn, Operation Grassland Community.


Saskatchewan

En Saskatchewan, les relevés effectués par l’Opération Chevêche des terriers (OCT) couvrent une bonne proportion de l’aire historique de l’espèce dans la province. Par contre, ils n’incluent que les données des propriétaires participants et doivent donc être considérés comme une approximation grossière de la tendance actuelle des populations dans la province.

La figure 7 illustre la tendance du nombre de Chevêches des terriers signalées par les propriétaires participant à l’OCT en Saskatchewan. Les données font ressortir une nette diminution du nombre estimatif des couples nicheurs, qui est passé de 1 000 couples à la fin des années 1980 à moins de 100 depuis 2000.


Figure 7 : Tendance des populations de Chevêches des terriers dans les sites couverts par l’Opération Chevêche des terriers (OCT) en Saskatchewan entre 1987 et 2004

Figure 7 : Tendance des populations de Chevêches des terriers dans les sites couverts par l’Opération Chevêche des terriers (OCT) en Saskatchewan entre 1987 et 2004.

Données inédites fournies par K. Dohms, Opération Chevêche des terriers.

Depuis 1987, on exerce un suivi de l’état des populations de Chevêches des terriers et de leur succès reproductif dans le cadre d’études réalisées dans la plaine de Regina. La figure 8 illustre la tendance démographique à long terme de l’espèce dans la plaine de Regina; on peut y noter le déclin sensible des effectifs entre 1987 et 1999 ainsi que le petit nombre de couples nicheurs depuis ce temps.


Figure 8 : Tendances du nombre de Chevêches des terriers recensées durant les relevés effectués dans la région de la plaine de Regina, dans le centre-sud de la Saskatchewan

Figure 8 : Tendances du nombre de Chevêches des terriers recensées durant les relevés effectués dans la région de la plaine de Regina, dans le centre-sud de la Saskatchewan.

Les zones d’étude ayant fait l’objet de relevés au début depuis 1987 (P. C. James) et depuis 1994 (T. I. Wellicome) sont des sous-ensembles géographiques entièrement renfermés dans la zone d’étude plus vaste prospectée depuis 1997 (R. G. Poulin et L. D. Todd).

Enfin, le nombre de couples nicheurs a augmenté dans le parc national des Prairies et le ranch Dixon qui lui est adjacent depuis 1998 (figure 9), mais on ignore dans quelle mesure cette augmentation est attribuable à l’amélioration des méthodes de dénombrement et à la couverture accrue des relevés (G. Holroyd, comm. pers., octobre 2004). Le succès de la nidification dans la région du parc national des Prairies a beaucoup varié selon les années (entre 1 et 4 jeunes par tentative; figure 9), mais ce genre de variation annuelle est normal et le succès global de la reproduction de l’espèce dans le parc semble se comparer ou même être légèrement supérieur à celui qu’on observe dans les États des grandes plaines aux États-Unis (McDonald et al., 2004).


Figure 9 : Succès de la reproduction (graphique de gauche) et nombre de couples reproducteurs dans le parc national des Prairies (PNP) et au ranch Dixon en Saskatchewan

Figure 9 : Succès de la reproduction (graphique de gauche) et nombre de couples reproducteurs dans le parc national des Prairies (PNP) et au ranch Dixon en Saskatchewan.

Données inédites fournies par G. Holroyd, Service canadien de la faune.

En somme, d’après les divers ensembles de données provenant de la Saskatchewan, il y aurait une baisse sensible à long terme du nombre de Chevêches des terriers dans la province, une petite population stable vivant dans le parc national des Prairies, dans l’extrême sud. On explique les légères augmentations des populations de ces dernières années par la bonne productivité de l’espèce; les données de 2005 pour la plaine de Regina mettent toutefois en évidence une nouvelle tendance à la baisse à la suite de la faible productivité observée en 2004 (figure 8).


Colombie-Britannique

La Chevêche des terriers a disparu de la Colombie-Britannique dans les années 1980 (J. Surgenor, comm. pers., 2004). On a tenté de rétablir l’espèce dans la province en lâchant des oiseaux élevés en captivité dans la région de Thompson-Nicola en 1983 et en introduisant des familles transplantées de Washington au sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan entre 1983 et 1988 (Dyer, 1990). Bien qu’on ait ainsi réussi à établir un petit nombre d’oiseaux élevés en captivité qui sont arrivés à se reproduire et à migrer dans la nature, on n’a recensé que 9 individus au cours des relevés réalisés en 2004 dans le sud de la province, dont 4 étaient des oiseaux nés à l’état sauvage, 2 des oiseaux élevés en captivité de retour sur les lieux, et 3 des oiseaux d’origine inconnue (J. Surgenor, comm. pers., octobre 2004). Apparemment, il faudra lâcher un plus grand nombre d’oiseaux (p. ex. > 50 oiseaux/an) pour rétablir une population nicheuse autosuffisante en Colombie-Britannique.


Sommaire des relevés en saison de reproduction

Les données des relevés effectués dans les provinces des Prairies qui sont analysées plus haut mettent en évidence une diminution de la population, qui est passée d’environ 1 315 couples (AB, 240; SK, 1 000; MB, 75) à 125 (25; 100; 0) au cours des années 1990. Cette chute représente un déclin décennal d’environ 91 %. D’après les mêmes sources de données, cette tendance aurait ralenti à environ 57 % au cours des 10 dernières années (de 1994 à 2004) (d’env. 325 couples à env. 140 couples; figures figure3, figure6 et figure7).


Aire d’hivernage

On sait que les Chevêches des terriers des Prairies canadiennes migrent par les États des grandes plaines (James, 1992) et hivernent vraisemblablement surtout au Mexique (G. Holroyd, données inédites). Dans la portion nord de son aire d’hivernage, la Chevêche des terriers apparaît dans certains recensements des oiseaux de Noël (RON). Ces recensements effectués dans toute l’Amérique du Nord sont des relevés d’une journée à rayon fixe, réalisés chaque année à la fin décembre ou au début janvier. L’analyse de la tendance à long terme du nombre de Chevêches des terriers recensés lors des RON effectués au Texas (où quelques chevêches canadiennes peuvent passer l’hiver) indique un déclin statistiquement significatif depuis 1960 (voir la figure 10; coefficient de corrélation de Spearman Rs = - 0,42, n = 43, P < 0,01). Ces données doivent toutefois être interprétées avec prudence, car les Chevêches des terriers qui hivernent au Texas sont pour la plupart d’origine inconnue (c.-à-d. qu’on ignore au juste dans quelle mesure les chevêches des prairies canadiennes hivernent au Texas). Une analyse semblable des données des RON effectués en Californie, où hiverneraient des chevêches de la Colombie-Britannique, fait état d’un déclin marqué statistiquement significatif entre 1960 et 2003 (figure 10; Rs = - 0,66, n = 43, P < 0,001).

Bref, depuis 1995, les populations de Chevêches des terriers ont continué de décliner dans toutes les régions du Canada, et l’espèce ne figure plus parmi les nicheurs confirmés au Manitoba et dans certaines parties du sud-est de la Saskatchewan.