Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Transient Killer Whale [Proposed]

1. Background

1.1 Species Assessment Information from COSEWIC

Date of Assessment: November 2001

Common Name (population): Transient Killer Whale, Orca, West Coast Transient

Scientific Name: Orcinus orca

COSEWIC Status: Threatened

Reason for designation: A small population that eats marine mammals. Individuals have high levels of toxic pollutants.

Canadian Occurrence: Pacific Ocean

COSEWIC Status History: Designated Special Concern in April 1999. Status re-examined and designated Threatened in November 2001. Last assessment based on an existing status report with an addendum. Met criterion for Endangered, D1, but not the definition of Endangered (i.e. not in imminent danger of extinction), therefore designated Threatened.

1.2 Description

Killer whales are the largest members of the dolphin family (Family Delphinidae, Sub-Order Odontoceti, Order Cetacea).   Their size, distinctive black and white colouring and tall dorsal fin make them easy to distinguish from other cetaceans.  Killer whales are sexually dimorphic.  Males are larger and heavier than females, and the dorsal fin of adult males is taller, (averaging 1.8 m in height) than that of females and juveniles of either sex (usually less than 1 m) (Dahlheim and Heyning 1999).  Killer whales are relatively easy to recognize individually due to differences in the shape, size and position of the white eye patch and the saddle patch (behind the dorsal fin), as well as variations in the size, shape, and angle of the dorsal fin, and (in many cases) naturally-acquired nicks and scars.

Only a single species is recognized at present, Orcinus orca, but variation in the diet, size, colouration, vocalizations and genetic characteristics of different populations of killer whales may lead to a revision of the taxonomy in future years (Dahlheim and Heyning 1999, Ford et al. 2000, Barrett-Lennard and Ellis 2001, Hoelzel et al. 2002, Pitman and Ensor 2003, Reeves et al. 2004).   Along the continental shelf and in inshore waters from California to western Alaska, three forms, or ecotypes, are recognized: residents, transients and offshores.  These forms rarely, if ever, associate, and differ in their diet and foraging behaviour, vocal behaviour, social structure, genetics and dorsal fin shape (Ford et al. 1998, 2000, Barrett-Lennard and Ellis 2001).

Resident killer whales feed exclusively on fish and cephalopods and travel in acoustically active groups of 10 to 25 or more whales (Ford et al. 2000).  Unlike transient killer whales, resident killer whales have an usually stable social structure, with no dispersal of either males or females from their natal matriline (Bigg et al. 1990; Ford et al. 2000). 

Transient killer whales feed on marine mammals, particularly harbour seals (Phoca vitulina), porpoises and sea lions (Ford et al. 1998).  They travel in small, acoustically quiet groups, and generally rely on stealth to find their prey (Morton 1990, Barrett-Lennard et al. 1996, Ford and Ellis 1999). Their dive times are also significantly longer than those for residents (Morton 1990).  They are known to attack and kill baleen whales, and although this is observed infrequently in the coastal waters of British Columbia (Ford et al. 2005), groups of transient killer whales may coalesce when attacking and feeding on baleen whales at sea (Barrett-Lennard and Heise 2006). In coastal waters, kills of minke whales by small groups of transients typically involve a strategy of confining the whale in a bay or inlet (Ford et al. 2005).

Offshore killer whales are the least known of the three ecotypes.  They were first identified in the late 1980s, and are most often found on the outer part of the continental shelf (Ford et al. 2000) with occasional sightings in inshore waters.  They are most often seen in large acoustically active groups of 20 or more animals, and are thought to prey on fish and elasmobranches (Heise et al. 2003, Jones 2006), although they may also take marine mammals (Herman et al. 2005).

1.3 Populations and Distribution

1.3.1  Global

Killer whales are found in all of the world’s major ocean basins, and are estimated to number at least 40,000-60,000 animals (Forney and Wade 2006).  The description of resident, transient, and offshore ecotypes can only reliably be applied to killer whale populations in the northeastern Pacific. In other parts of the world, killer whales are not as well studied, and in some areas it is possible that they may prey on both marine mammals and fish.  

1.3.2 Canadian Pacific

The three distinct ecotypes of killer whales in the northeastern Pacific are further subdivided into at least seven socially, genetically, culturally and acoustically distinct populations.  The majority of these populations use both Canadian and US waters, and are recognized by the governments of both countries.

Three putative populations of transient killer whales have been described to date in the northeastern Pacific. These include the so-called West Coast transients, distributed from Washington State to southeastern Alaska, the AT1transients, centred in Prince William Sound and Kenai Fjords, Alaska, and the Gulf of Alaska transients, usually sighted in waters of the central and western portion of the Gulf of Alaska (Angliss and Outlaw 2005).   The AT1 population has declined precipitously in recent years and is believed to comprise only eight individuals, none of which are reproductive females (Saulitis et al. 2005).  The Gulf of Alaska transient population numbers at least 314 individuals, and are most reliably seen between southeastern and western Alaska (Angliss and Outlaw 2005).  Although the ranges of the AT1 and the Gulf of Alaska populations overlap, they have never been observed interacting.

The West Coast transient population is the only one known to frequent Canadian waters, and is the focus of this recovery strategy.  Approximately 250 individuals are known to travel throughout the waters of British Columbia, although they range from Washington to southeastern Alaska (Cetacean Research Program (CRP)-DFO unpublished data).  Defining members of the West Coast transient population is not as straightforward as it is for members of resident killer whale populations, largely because transients are not seen as reliably as residents.  As well, unlike resident killer whales, transients disperse from their natal group.  As a result, a number of criteria are combined in a weight-of-evidence approach to define the West Coast transient population.  These criteria include: 1) association (members frequently associate with other members, and rarely if ever associate with the members of other populations), 2) shared acoustic repertoire of distinct vocalizations, 3) genetic relatedness, 4) shared range, and 5) shared diet and suite of foraging behaviours.  In future, similar fatty acid and/or contaminant profiles may also help to define membership within this population (see Herman et al. 2005, Krahn et al. 2007).

An assemblage of approximately 100 transient-type killer whales has been documented off the California coast (Ford and Ellis 1999). This group is poorly-studied and has in the past been considered an extension of the West Coast transient population.  A group of killer whale experts at a technical workshop convened in Vancouver 16-17 January 2007, for the purpose of advising Fisheries and Oceans Canada on technical issues relevant to this recovery strategy, determined that the available evidence suggests that the California assemblage belongs to one or more distinct, currently undefined populations.  Acoustically, the repertoire of calls from these whales is similar, but not identical to that of transients found in British Columbia (Deecke 2003).  Approximately 10 of these individuals have been seen in British Columbia and Alaska, and at times they have been observed interacting with members of the West Coast transient population.  These interactions, although rare, suggest that there may be limited gene flow between the two groups.  Very little is known about the status of the California assemblage, as these animals are encountered relatively infrequently, even in Californian waters.  

Most sightings of transient killer whales in British Columbia tend to take place during the summer and fall, when more people are on the water, but transients are observed in all months of the year.  However, they are not evenly distributed throughout the area, and are most frequently found where their prey is particularly abundant.  Some transient groups travel throughout the range of the population, including one group that traveled 2,660 km from Glacier Bay Alaska to Monterey California, (Goley and Straley 1994).  Other whales have only been seen in particular regions, such as the Queen Charlotte Islands.  It is possible that they may have ‘home ranges’ or preferred areas where local knowledge gives them a hunting advantage (Ford and Ellis 1999).  Unlike resident killer whales that may remain in an area for several weeks or more, particularly during peak salmon runs, transient killer whales usually pass through an area relatively quickly, likely because their mammalian prey leave the water or become highly evasive once alerted to their presence.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de Rétablissement de l'Épaulard [projet]

1. Contexte

1.1 Évaluation de l’espèce par le COSEPAC

Date de l'évaluation : Novembre 2001

Nom commun (population) : Épaulard migrateur de la côte Ouest

Nom scientifique : Orcinus orca

Désignation du COSEPAC : Menacée

Justification de la désignation : Petite population qui se nourrit de mammifères marins. Les concentrations de polluants toxiques sont élevées chez les individus.

Présence au Canada : Océan Pacifique

Historique du statut : Espèce désignée « préoccupante » en avril 1999. Réexamen du statut; l'espèce a été désignée « menacée » en novembre 2001. Dernière évaluation fondée sur un rapport de situation existant accompagné d'un addenda. Correspond au critère de la catégorie « en voie de disparition », D1, mais pas à la définition de la catégorie « en voie de disparition » (c. à d. non en danger imminent de disparition); l'espèce est donc désignée « menacée ».

1.2 Description

L’épaulard est le plus imposant membre de la famille des dauphins (famille des delphinidés, sous‑ordre des odontocètes, ordre des cétacés). En raison de sa taille, de sa coloration distinctive noire et blanche et de sa grande nageoire dorsale, il est facile de le distinguer des autres cétacés. L’épaulard est sexuellement dimorphe. Le mâle est plus imposant que la femelle et la nageoire dorsale du mâle adulte est plus grande (hauteur moyenne de 1,8 m) que celle de la femelle et des jeunes des deux sexes (habituellement moins de 1 m) (Dahlheim et Heyning, 1999). Chaque épaulard est relativement facile à reconnaître en raison des différences idiosyncrasiques quant à la forme, à la taille et à la position de la tache blanche derrière chaque œil et de la tache en forme de selle (derrière la nageoire dorsale), à la taille, à la forme et à l’angle variables de la nageoire dorsale ainsi qu’aux entailles et aux blessures acquises de façon naturelle (dans de nombreux cas).

Une seule espèce est reconnue à l’heure actuelle, Orcinus orca, mais une variation du régime alimentaire, de la taille, de la coloration, des vocalisations et des caractéristiques génétiques des différentes populations d’épaulards peut entraîner une révision de la taxonomie dans les années à venir (Dahlheim et Heyning, 1999; Ford et al., 2000; Barrett‑Lennard et Ellis, 2001; Hoelzel et al., 2002; Pitman et Ensor, 2003; Reeves et al., 2004). Le long du plateau continental et dans les eaux côtières allant de la Californie à l’ouest de l’Alaska, on reconnaît trois formes, ou écotypes, à savoir l’épaulard résident, migrateur et océanique. Ces formes s’associent rarement, voire jamais, et présentent des différences sur le plan du régime et du comportement alimentaire, du comportement vocal, de la structure sociale, de la génétique et de la forme de la nageoire dorsale (Ford et al., 2000; Barrett‑Lennard et Ellis, 2001).

Les épaulards résidents se nourrissent exclusivement de poissons et de céphalopodes et se déplacent en groupes acoustiquement actifs de 10 à 25 individus ou davantage (Ford et al., 2000). Contrairement à l’épaulard migrateur, l’épaulard résident a habituellement une structure sociale stable; le mâle et la femelle ne se séparent pas de sa lignée maternelle natale (Bigg et al., 1990; Ford et al., 2000).

Les épaulards migrateurs se nourrissent de mammifères marins, surtout de phoques communs (Phoca vitulina), de marsouins et d’otaries (Ford et al., 1998). Ils se déplacent en petits groupes acoustiquement inactifs et sont des prédateurs furtifs (Morton, 1990; Barrett‑Lennard et al., 1996; Ford et Ellis, 1999). Leur temps de plongée est également bien plus long que celui des épaulards résidents (Morton, 1990). Ils sont reconnus pour attaquer et tuer des baleines à fanons, et bien qu’on les observe rarement dans les eaux côtières de la Colombie‑Britannique (Ford et al., 2005), des groupes d’épaulards migrateurs peuvent s’unir quand ils attaquent des baleines à fanons en mer et s’en nourrissent (Barrett‑Lennard et Heise, 2006). Dans les eaux côtières, la mise à mort de petits rorquals par de petits groupes d’épaulards migrateurs comporte habituellement une stratégie de confinement dans une baie ou un bras de mer (Ford et al., 2005).

Les épaulards océaniques sont les moins connus des trois écotypes. Leur présence a d’abord été constatée à la fin des années 1980; on les observe le plus souvent au large du plateau continental (Ford et al., 2000) et, à l’occasion, dans les eaux côtières.On les aperçoit le plus souvent en grands groupes acoustiquement actifs d’au moins 20 individus et on pense qu’ils se nourrissent de poissons et d’élasmobranches (Heise et al.,2003; Jones, 2006), bien qu’ils puissent également s’en prendre à des mammifères marins (Herman et al., 2005).

1.3 Populations et répartition

1.3.1 Vue d’ensemble

On trouve des épaulards dans tous les grands océans du globe et leur nombre, selon les estimations, se situe au moins entre 40 000 et 60 000 (Forney et Wade, 2006). La description des écotypes d’épaulards (résidents, migrateurs et océaniques) ne peut être appliquée, de manière fiable, qu’aux populations du Pacifique Nord‑Est. Dans d’autres régions du globe, l’épaulard n’est pas aussi bien étudié et dans certaines régions, il est possible qu’il se nourrisse de mammifères marins et de poissons.

1.3.2 Eaux canadiennes du Pacifique

Les trois écotypes distincts d’épaulards présents dans le Pacifique Nord‑Est sont subdivisés en au moins sept populations différentes sur le plan social, génétique, culturel et acoustique. La majorité d’entre elles vivent dans les eaux du Canada et des États‑Unis et sont reconnues par les gouvernements des deux pays.

Trois populations putatives d’épaulards migrateurs ont été décrites jusqu’à ce jour dans le Pacifique Nord‑Est. Il y a celle, communément appelée, des épaulards migrateurs de la côte Ouest, dont l’aire de répartition s’étend de l’État de Washington au sud‑est de l’Alaska, celle des épaulards migrateurs AT1, concentrée dans le détroit du Prince William et les fjords de Kenai (Alaska) et celle des épaulards migrateurs du golfe de l’Alaska, habituellement observée dans les eaux des parties centrale et ouest du golfe de l’Alaska (Angliss et Outlaw, 2005). La population migratrice AT1 a connu un déclin précipité ces dernières années et ne compterait que huit individus, aucun n’étant des femelles reproductrices (Saulitis et al., 2005). La population migratrice du golfe de l’Alaska compte au moins 314 individus observés le plus assurément entre le sud‑est et l’ouest de l’Alaska (Angliss et Outlaw, 2005). Même si les aires de répartition de ces deux dernières se chevauchent, on ne les a jamais observé en interaction.

La population migratrice de la côte Ouest est la seule reconnue pour fréquenter les eaux canadiennes et est le point central du présent programme de rétablissement. On sait qu’environ 250 individus se déplacent dans toutes les eaux de la Colombie‑Britannique, bien que leur aire de répartition s’étende de l’État de Washington au sud‑est de l’Alaska (programme de recherche sur les cétacés [PRC]‑MPO, données non publiées). Les membres de cette population ne sont pas aussi faciles à définir que ceux des populations résidentes, en grande partie parce qu’on n’observe pas les premiers aussi assurément que les seconds. En outre, contrairement aux épaulards résidents, ils s’éloignent de leur groupe natal. C’est pourquoi on combine un certain nombre de critères dans une approche fondée sur le poids de la preuve pour définir la population migratrice de la côte Ouest. Parmi ces critères, mentionnons les suivants : 1) association (les membres s’associent fréquemment à d’autres membres et rarement, voire jamais, à des membres d’autres populations); 2) partage du répertoire acoustique de vocalisations distinctes; 3) rapprochement génétique; 4) partage de l’aire de répartition; 5) partage du régime alimentaire et d’une série de comportements alimentaires. Dans l’avenir, des profils similaires d’acides gras ou de contaminants pourraient également aider à définir les membres de cette population (voir Herman et al., 2005; Krahn et al., 2007).

Un assemblage d’environ 100 épaulards migrateurs a été documenté au large de la côte californienne (Ford et Ellis, 1999).On a peu étudié cet assemblage et, dans le passé, on l’a considéré comme un prolongement de la population migratrice de la côte Ouest. Selon un groupe de spécialistes des épaulards réunis lors d’un atelier technique qui s’est tenu les 16 et 17 janvier 2007 à Vancouver pour conseiller Pêches et Océans Canada sur des questions d’ordre technique relatives au présent programme de rétablissement, les preuves disponibles laissent entendre que l’assemblage de la Californie appartient à une ou à plusieurs populations distinctes et non définies à l’heure actuelle. Sur le plan acoustique, le répertoire de cris de ces épaulards est similaire, mais pas identique à celui des épaulards migrateurs que l’on trouve en Colombie‑Britannique (Deecke, 2003).On a aperçu environ dix de ces individus en Colombie‑Britannique et en Alaska ainsi qu’observé parfois leur interaction avec d’autres membres de la population migratrice de la côte Ouest.Ces interactions, même si elles sont rares, nous laissent penser qu’il peut y avoir un flux génétique limité entre les deux groupes.On en connaît très peu sur le statut de l’assemblage de la Californie, car on observe assez rarement ces individus, même dans les eaux californiennes.

La majorité des observations d’épaulards migrateurs en Colombie-Britannique tendent à avoir lieu pendant l’été et l’automne, lorsqu’il y a plus de personnes sur l’eau, mais elles on lieu à tous les mois de l’année. Ces épaulards ne sont toutefois pas répartis uniformément à l’échelle de la région et sont trouvés le plus souvent dans les endroits où leurs proies sont particulièrement abondantes. Certains groupes d’épaulards migrateurs se déplacent sur toute l’aire de répartition de la population, l’un d’eux ayant parcouru 2 660 km de Glacier Bay, en Alaska, à Monterey, en Californie (Goley et Straley, 1994). D’autres épaulards n’ont été aperçus que dans certaines régions, comme les îles de la Reine‑Charlotte. Il est possible qu’ils puissent avoir des « domaines vitaux » ou des zones préférées, leur connaissance de l’endroit leur donnant un avantage au point de vue de la chasse (Ford et Ellis 1999). Contrairement à l’épaulard résident qui peut demeurer à un endroit pendant plusieurs semaines, voire davantage, en particulier pendant la pointe des montaisons de saumons, l’épaulard migrateur traverse habituellement un endroit assez rapidement, probablement du fait que les proies de la famille des mammifères sortent de l’eau ou l’évitent très rapidement dès qu’elles se rendent compte de sa présence.