Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Transient Killer Whale [Proposed]

1.6 Actions Already Completed or Underway

1.6.1 Research

Since the early 1970s, there have been intensive field studies of both resident and transient killer whales in British Columbia undertaken by researchers with DFO, the Vancouver Aquarium, and universities.  Annual photo-identification of individual killer whales over this time has provided the foundation upon which studies of killer whale life history, acoustics, genetics and dietary specialization have been built.  This, coupled with transboundary collaboration with researchers in Washington, California and Alaska, has been invaluable in providing insight into the life history and ecology of the wide-ranging West Coast transient population.  A summary of current research is listed below.

Life history data are collected by photo-documenting individuals on an annual basis whenever possible.  The ability to identify and track individuals over time is critical to estimating longevity, birth rates, survivorship, etc., as well as to provide overall abundance estimates for the population.  It also forms the basis for analysis for other data, such as acoustic and contaminant analyses.  Insight into the foraging behaviour and dietary preferences of killer whales is being provided through direct observations and prey fragment sampling, as well as through the use of acoustic data loggers and time-depth recorders. 

Biopsy samples of killer whales are being analyzed for chemical contaminants.  These analyses provide information on the contaminant burdens that upper trophic level predators, including humans, are carrying, and to date have revealed that killer whales are among the most contaminated marine mammals in the world.  Contaminants in the prey species of killer whales, particularly harbour seals, are also being analyzed.  These samples also reflect the contaminant burden of upper trophic level predators, are easier to collect (based on age and sex) than killer whale samples, and provide a means of evaluating the quality of transient killer whale diet (e.g. ‘dietary exposure’ measurement).  Environment Canada’s regulatory review of chemicals and non-government programs such as the Green Boater Program and Pesticide Free Lawns, along with the implementation of the Georgia Basin Action Plan (Environment Canada, 2003) are ongoing initiatives that are effective in reducing contaminant inputs to the environment.

Information on the population structure and mating patterns of transient killer whales is being collected through the genetic analyses of biopsy samples. To date these studies have revealed that transient, resident and offshore killer whales are genetically distinct, suggesting a lack of  interbreeding. (Barrett-Lennard 2000). 

The underwater vocalizations of transient killer whales are being monitored directly during encounters using hydrophones, and also by remotely placed hydrophones.  These remote hydrophones can be useful in monitoring habitat use during times of the year when researchers are not able to work in the field. 

Killer whales are being monitored for infections, diseases and general health condition through necropsy sampling, and more recently, through assays of exhalations and/or fecal samples obtained from animals in the wild.

Bioenergetic models for killer whales combined with information on the historic abundance of Steller sea lions and harbour seals in British Columbia are being used to estimate the maximum transient killer whale population size that could have been supported by pinnipeds.

DFO is currently undertaking a Recovery Potential Assessment (RPA) to investigate life history parameters for transients, including the ability of the population to grow and recover.  This work will inform both the determination of population recovery and assist in the establishment of future population objectives. 

The Killer Whale Ecological Survey Team (KWEST), comprised of researchers from California through Alaska who are examining range-wide issues relevant to killer whales, has proposed a broad scale joint Canada/US multi-year killer whale research program across the North Pacific to investigate the ecological role of transient killer whales and their effects on endangered marine mammal species.

1.6.3 Management and Stewardship

Stewardship-based whale watching monitoring and education programs continue to promote safe boating behaviour around transient killer whales.  At present these programs are based in Johnstone Strait and in the transboundary waters of Georgia Strait, Juan de Fuca Strait, and connecting passes and channels.  The ‘Be Whale Wise’ guidelines, which suggest appropriate behaviours for boaters in the vicinity of whales, have recently been revised by DFO.

Sightings and encounters with killer whales by the public are documented in one of two ways.  If a sighting or an encounter is made of live animals, this information is forwarded to the BC Cetacean Sightings Network (http://www.wildwhales.org/stewardship/sightings.intro.html). DFO collects information on incidents in which an animal is injured or dead, or interacts with humans in an unusual way or a possible violation has occurred.  A 24-hour hotline is available at 1-800-465-4336 for the reporting of all incidents.  Necropsies are performed whenever possible, and can provide information on the diet, cause of death, contaminant loads and other aspects of biological interest relevant to killer whales.

Environment Canada is revising their proposed Risk Management Strategy for Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers, under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA).  This strategy supports the ban of several (but not all) of the forms of PBDEs that are known to bioaccumulate in killer whales.

The Department of National Defence (DND) has established protocols to protect marine mammals from disturbance and/or harm from the use of military active sonar.  Maritime Command Order 46-13, for marine mammal mitigation, is to avoid transmission of sonar any time a marine mammal is observed within the defined mitigation avoidance zone, which is established specific to each type of sonar.  Ship’s personnel receive training in marine mammal identification and detection. 

DFO had developed the draft Statement of Canadian Practice on the Mitigation of Seismic Noise in the Marine Environment (DFO, 2005a), to address concerns regarding the potential impact of seismic use on marine mammals and other marine life.  A process for the revision and further consultation of the draft Statement is underway.  In the Pacific Region, each proposed seismic survey is reviewed by DFO marine mammal experts and mitigation measures are developed based on the species of concern in the area of the survey for each project.  Further evaluation is necessary to determine the nature and extent of this threat and the effectiveness of these mitigation measures.

A revised COSEWIC status report for killer whales is currently being prepared. This will provide updated information on the population status of transient killer whales, as well as a review of the threats that the population currently faces.

1.7 Knowledge Gaps

1.7.1 Gaps in Transient Population Data

  • There are numerous difficulties associated with accurately estimating the total population of West Coast transients and this is a pressing concern.  Achieving consensus among researchers to establish criteria to define and enumerate the population is a priority. 
  • The life history parameters specific to the transient population are not yet known, primarily because a significant proportion of the population is not reliably sighted each year.  Mortality rates are particularly difficult to determine with precision because of long gaps between resightings of many animals in the population.  More intensive efforts to encounter transients specifically would help to alleviate this, as well as to acquire acoustic, genetic, distribution and behavioural data that would fill many of the other knowledge gaps for this population.  Statistical methods, such as mark-recapture (or sight-resight) techniques, are currently being employed to estimate abundance.
  • The historical abundance of transient killer whales is not known.  Better estimates of their historical abundance will help to establish meaningful targets for population recovery.  
  • The population-level consequences of a low population size, and its effects on the sustainability and viability of the transient killer whale population are not well understood.  Better insight into the genetic relationships within and between transient populations will help determine the population size needed to maintain the cultural and genetic diversity of West Coast transient killer whales. 
  • The effects of environmental catastrophes on the abundance of transient killer whales and their prey, as well as their habitat, are not well understood.  Similarly, the effects of climate or environmental change on transient killer whales, their prey and their habitat are not well understood.

1.7.2 Knowledge Gaps Regarding Distribution

  • Members of the West Coast transient population range widely, and their spatial and temporal distribution is not well understood. The preferred areas or home ranges of some individuals have been estimated for a small proportion of the population only.
  • Critical and important habitat for transient killer whales has not been identified.

1.7.3 Dietary Knowledge Gaps

  • Although it is well known that transients prey on marine mammals, there are many questions regarding their year-round diet and energetic requirements.  The extent to which killer whales rely on specific prey species is not well known. It is also not known how readily, or why, they shift from one prey species to another.  The foraging strategies that transients use to detect and successfully hunt their prey are also not well understood. 
  • Information on the consequences of changes in prey populations is lacking.  This is of particular concern given the decline of prey populations in western Alaska and the apparent shifting/switching of key prey species by Gulf of Alaska transients. There is very little known about the distribution and abundance of small cetaceans in British Columbia, thus it is difficult to know their role in the year-round diet of transient killer whales.
  • Fatty acid and contaminant profiles that could provide additional information on the full range of prey for West Coast transients have yet to be developed.
  • The health indicators for prey populations in the wild are not well developed.  Information is generally collected only for stranded small cetaceans and pinnipeds.

1.7.4 Knowledge Gaps Regarding Contaminants

  • There is a distinct lack of information on the wide range of anthropogenic environmental contaminants to which transient killer whales and their prey are exposed. 
  • There is a lack of baseline information on contaminant levels in killer whale males, females and young, and trends over time.
  • The effects of contaminants on killer whales, both at the individual and the population level, as well as on their prey and their habitat are not well understood.  Similarly, the effects of contaminants passed on to offspring from reproducing females are not well known. 
  • There are very few baseline data on contaminant levels, including hydrocarbons, in the British Columbia coastal environment (West Coast transient killer whale habitat), rendering mitigation of possible sources challenging. 
  • There are insufficient means available to measure the health of killer whales in the wild (e.g., biomarkers using biopsy samples). 
  • The virulence of pathogens in killer whales is not well understood.

1.7.5 Knowledge Gaps Regarding Social Behaviour

  • The association patterns of West Coast transients are not well understood, nor are the factors that influence their dispersal.
  • The extent to which competition exists within or between groups of transients, and whether this is a factor in individuals dispersing (either temporarily or permanently), is not known.
  • The breeding system of transients is not well understood.  The mechanisms that transients use to avoid inbreeding are unknown, particularly because all members of the West Coast population share acoustic calls.
  • The social relationship between residents and transients is not well understood.  The relationships between West Coast transients and other transient populations are unknown.

1.7.6   Gaps in Knowledge Regarding Disturbance

  • The long- and short-term effects of physical disturbance (e.g. shipping, whale-watching) on transient killer whales are not well understood.
  • The long and short-term effects of acoustic disturbance (chronic as well as acute) on transient killer whales and their prey are not well understood.
  • There are very few data on ambient noise levels throughout the range of West Coast transients.  These data would provide an important frame of reference to use to assess the effects of acoustic disturbance.
  • The effects of stress associated with chronic disturbance of transient killer whales are not known.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de Rétablissement de l'Épaulard [projet]

1.6 Activités déjà réalisées ou en cours

1.6.1 Recherche

En Colombie-Britannique, depuis le début des années 1970, des chercheurs du MPO, de l’Aquarium de Vancouver ainsi que d’universités ont entrepris des études intensives sur le terrain portant sur l’épaulard résident et migrateur. Depuis ce temps, l’identification photographique annuelle des différents épaulards sert de fondement à des études sur leur cycle biologique, leur acoustique, leur génétique et leur spécialisation alimentaire. Ces études, conjuguées à une collaboration transfrontalière avec des chercheursdes États de Washington,dela Californieetde l’Alaska, se sont révélées d’une valeur inestimable pour nous permettre de mieux comprendre le cycle biologique et l’écologie de la population migratrice dont l’aire de répartition s’étend sur la côte Ouest. Un résumé des recherches actuelles figure ci-après.

Les données sur le cycle biologique sont recueillies au moyen de la documentation photographique d’individus effectuée chaque année, dans la mesure du possible. L’estimation de la longévité, des taux de natalité et de la survie entre autres, ainsi que l’estimation de l’abondance générale de la population reposent fortement sur la capacité d’identifier et de suivre des individus au fil du temps. Cette capacité sert également de fondement à l’analyse d’autres données, comme les analyses de l’acoustique et des contaminants. On comprend mieux le comportement et les préférences alimentaires de l’épaulard grâce aux observations directes et au prélèvement de fragments de proies qui sont effectués ainsi qu’à l’utilisation d’enregistreurs de données acoustiques et d’enregistreurs de temps et de profondeur.

On analyse actuellement des échantillons obtenus par biopsie afin de détecter la présence de contaminants chimiques chez l’épaulard. Ces analyses fournissent des données sur les charges de contaminants que présentent les prédateurs de niveau trophique supérieur, y compris les humains. Jusqu’ici, les analyses ont révélé que l’épaulard compte parmi les mammifères marins les plus contaminés au monde. On analyse également la présence de contaminants chez les espèces-proies de l’épaulard, en particulier le phoque commun. Les échantillons prélevés chez ces espèces-proies reflètent aussi la charge de contaminants des prédateurs de niveau trophique supérieur, sont plus faciles à prélever (en fonction de l’âge et du sexe) que ceux provenant de l’épaulard et servent à évaluer la qualité du régime alimentaire de l’épaulard migrateur (c’est-à-dire une mesure de l’exposition à des contaminants par l’intermédiaire du régime alimentaire). Grâce à des initiatives en cours telles que l’examen réglementaire des produits chimiques d’Environnement Canada et les programmes non gouvernementaux comme le Guide à l’usage du plaisancier et Pelouses sans pesticides de même que la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action du bassin de Georgia (Environnement Canada, 2003), les apports en contaminants dans l’environnement ont été efficacement réduits.

On recueille actuellement des données sur la structure démographique et les modes d’accouplement de l’épaulard migrateur au moyen de l’analyse génétique d’échantillons obtenus par biopsie. Jusqu’à présent, ces études ont montré que les épaulards migrateurs, résidents et océaniques sont génétiquement distincts, ce qui donne à penser qu’ils ne se croisent pas entre eux (Barrett-Lennard, 2000).

Les vocalisations sous-marines de l’épaulard migrateur sont suivies directement à l’aide d’hydrophones pendant les observations et aussi au moyen d’hydrophones placés à distance. En outre, ces derniers peuvent se révéler utiles pour suivre l’utilisation de l’habitat au cours des périodes de l’année pendant lesquelles les chercheurs ne peuvent pas travailler en mer.

L’épaulard fait l’objet d’un suivi visant à détecter la présence de maladies infectieuses chez lui et à connaître son état de santé général au moyen de l’échantillonnage effectué dans le cadre d’une nécropsie, et plus récemment, au moyen de l’analyse des échantillons d’exhalations ou de matières fécales provenant d’épaulards à l’état sauvage.

On utilise pour l’épaulard des modèles bioénergétiques combinés à des données sur l’abondance historique de l’otarie de Steller et du phoque commun en Colombie-Britanniquepour estimer la taille maximale de la population d’épaulards migrateurs qui aurait pu être maintenue par les pinnipèdes.

Le MPO entreprend actuellement une évaluation du potentiel de rétablissement (EPR) dans le but d’étudier les paramètres du cycle biologique de l’épaulard migrateur, y compris la capacité de la population de croître et de se rétablir. Ce travail éclairera la détermination du rétablissement de la population et facilitera l’établissement des objectifs démographiques futurs.

L’équipe responsable de l’étude écologique de l’épaulard, composée de chercheursprovenant de la Californieàl’Alaskaqui examinent des questions à l’échelle de l’aire de répartition des épaulards, a proposé un programme de recherche bilatéral Canada/États-Unis. Ce programme à vaste échelle et pluriannuel à la grandeur du Pacifique Nord vise à étudier le rôle écologique de l’épaulard migrateur et ses effets sur des espèces de mammifères marins en voie de disparition.

1.6.2 Gérance et gestion

Les programmes de surveillance et d’éducation à l’égard de l’observation des baleines fondés sur la gérance continuent de promouvoir l’adoption de comportements sécuritaires par les propriétaires de bateau en présence d’épaulards migrateurs. À l’heure actuelle, ces programmes touchent le détroitde Johnstoneet les eaux transfrontalièresdu détroitde Georgia, du détroit de Juan de Fuca ainsi que les passages et les chenaux de communication connexes. Le MPO a récemment mis à jour les lignes directrices du code de conduite « Respectez les baleines » qui propose aux propriétaires de bateau d’adopter des comportements appropriés à proximité des baleines.

Les observations et les rencontres d’épaulards faites par des membres du public sont documentées de l’une des deux manières suivantes. Si un membre du public observe ou rencontre un épaulard vivant, il transmet l’information au réseau BC Cetacean Sightings Network (http://www.wildwhales.org/stewardship/sightings.intro.html). Qu’il s’agisse d’un individu blessé ou mort, d’un individu interagissant avec les humains d’une manière inhabituelle ou bien d’une possible violation, le MPO recueille l’information. Tout incident peut être signalé grâce à une ligne directe accessible 24 heures par jour au 1-800-465-4336. Dans la mesure du possible, des nécropsies sont pratiquées et peuvent fournir de l’information sur le régime alimentaire, la cause de décès, les charges de contaminants et d’autres aspects d’intérêt biologique concernant l’épaulard.

Environnement Canada revoit actuellement son projet de Stratégie de gestion du risque pour les polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE), en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (LCPE). Cette stratégie appuie l’interdiction de plusieurs formes de PBDE (mais pas de toutes) que l’on sait se bioaccumuler chez l’épaulard.

Le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) a établi des protocoles pour protéger les mammifères marins contre la perturbation ou les dommages causés par l’utilisation de sonars actifs militaires. L’Ordre du Commandement maritime46-13 pour la prise de mesures d’atténuation à l’intention des mammifères marins exige que l’on évite d’utiliser un sonar chaque fois qu’un mammifère marin est observé dans la zone d’évitement définie dans le cadre de ces mesures d’atténuation, qui est établie spécifiquement pour chaque type de sonar. À cette fin, le personnel du bateau reçoit une formation relative à l’identification et à la détection des mammifères marins.

Le MPO a élaboré une version provisoire d’unénoncé des pratiques canadiennesintitulé Atténuation des incidences des levés sismiques dans le milieu marin (MPO, 2005a) afin de se pencher sur les préoccupations concernantl’effet potentiel des activités  sismiques sur les mammifères marins et d’autres formes de vie marines. Un processus derévision et deconsultation plus approfondie en lien avec l’énoncé provisoireest en cours. Dans larégion du Pacifique, chaque relevé sismique proposé est passé en revue par des experts des mammifères marins du MPO, et des mesures d’atténuation sont élaborées en fonction de l’espèce préoccupante présente dansla zone visée par les levés,pour chaque projet. Il faut procéder à une évaluation plus approfondie afin de déterminer la nature et l’ampleur de cette menace et l’efficacité de ces mesures d’atténuation.

Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’épaulard fait actuellement l’objet d’une révision. Ce nouveau rapport fournira de l’information à jour sur la situation de la population d’épaulards migrateurs et comprendra un examen des menaces qui pèsent maintenant sur la population.

1.7 Lacunes dans les connaissances

1.7.1 Lacunes dans les données relatives à la population migratrice

  • L’estimation exacte de toute la population migratrice de la côte Ouest présente de nombreuses difficultés et constitue une préoccupation urgente. Or, il est prioritaire de réaliser un consensus parmi les chercheurs afin que l’on puisse établir des critères pour définir et recenser la population.
  • On ne connaît pas encore les paramètres du cycle biologique propres à la population migratrice, la principale raison étant qu’une partie importante de la population n’est pas observée de façon fiable chaque année. Il est particulièrement difficile d’établir avec précision les taux de mortalité en raison des longs intervalles qui séparent les ré-observations de bon nombre d’individus de la population. Le fait de déployer des efforts plus soutenus pour rencontrer l’épaulard migrateur en particulier aiderait à atténuer ce problème et permettrait d’acquérir des données sur l’acoustique, la génétique, la répartition et les comportements de l’animal, ce qui comblerait de nombreuses autres lacunes quant aux connaissances sur cette population. On utilise actuellement des méthodes statistiques, comme des techniques de marquage-recapture (ou observation-ré-observation) pour estimer l’abondance de la population.
  • L’abondance historique de l’épaulard migrateur demeure inconnue. Or, si l’on dispose de meilleures estimations de l’abondance historique de la population, il sera plus facile d’établir des cibles valables pour son rétablissement.
  • On ne comprend pas bien les conséquences démographiques d’une population de petite taille ni ses effets sur la durabilité et la viabilité de la population d’épaulards migrateurs. Une meilleure compréhension des rapports génétiques tant à l’intérieur des populations migratrices qu’entre elles permettra de déterminer l’effectif requis pour
  • Les effets des catastrophes environnementales sur l’abondance de l’épaulard migrateur et de ses proies ainsi que sur son habitat ne sont pas bien compris; il en est de même des effets qu’ont les changements climatiques ou environnementaux sur l’épaulard migrateur, ses proies et son habitat.

1.7.2 Lacunes dans les connaissances relatives à la répartition

  • Les membres de la population migratrice de la côte Ouest se déplacent sur un vaste territoire, et leur répartition spatiale et temporelle n’est pas bien comprise. Pour une petite partie de la population seulement, on a estimé les zones ou les domaines vitaux préférés de certains individus.
  • On n’a pas déterminé l’habitat essentiel et important pour l’épaulard migrateur.

1.7.3 Lacunes dans les connaissances relatives au régime alimentaire

  • Même s’il est bien connu que l’épaulard migrateur s’attaque à des mammifères marins, de nombreuses questions demeurent quant à son alimentation et à ses besoins énergétiques pendant l’année. On ne connaît pas bien dans quelle mesure il dépend de certaines espèces-proies. On ne connaît également pas bien la facilité avec laquelle il passe d’une espèce-proie à l’autre ni la raison qui le pousse à le faire. Enfin, on ne comprend également pas bien les stratégies d’alimentation qu’il utilise pour détecter et réussir à attraper sa proie.
  • On ne dispose pas de renseignements sur les conséquences des changements qui sont survenus chez les populations de proies. Ce fait est particulièrement préoccupant, car on a observé un déclin chez les populations de proies dans l’ouest de l’Alaska et l’épaulard migrateurdu golfe de l’Alaska semble privilégier d’autres espèces-proies importantes.Comme on sait peu de choses sur la répartition et l’abondance des petits cétacés en Colombie-Britannique, il est donc difficile de connaître leur rôle dans le régime alimentaire de l’épaulard migrateur pendant l’année.
  • On n’a pas encore établi les profils des acides gras et des contaminants qui pourraient nous fournir des renseignements supplémentaires sur l’éventail complet des proies de l’épaulard migrateur de la côte Ouest.
  • Les indicateurs de la santé des populations de proies à l’état sauvage ne sont pas bien établis. Généralement, on ne recueille des données que sur les petits cétacés et les pinnipèdes échoués.

1.7.4 Lacunes dans les connaissances relatives aux contaminants

  • On manque nettement de données sur le large éventail de contaminants environnementaux d’origine anthropique auxquels sont exposés l’épaulard migrateur et ses proies.
  • On ne dispose pas de données de référence sur les concentrations de contaminants chez les mâles, les femelles et les jeunes épaulards ni sur les tendances au fil du temps.
  • On comprend mal les effets des contaminants sur l’épaulard, tant à l’échelle individuelle et qu’à l’échelle de la population, ainsi que les effets qu’ils ont sur ses proies et son habitat. En outre, on ne connaît pas bien les effets des contaminants que les femelles reproductrices transmettent à leur progéniture.
  • On ne dispose que de très peu de données de référence sur les concentrations de contaminants, y compris d’hydrocarbures, dans l’environnementcôtier de la Colombie-Britannique (habitat de l’épaulard migrateur de la côte Ouest), ce qui rend difficile l’atténuation des sources possibles.
  • Les moyens dont on dispose pour évaluer la santé de l’épaulard à l’état sauvage (p. ex. biomarqueurs avec échantillons obtenus par biopsie) sont insuffisants.
  • La virulence des agents pathogènes chez l’épaulard n’est pas bien comprise.

1.7.5 Lacunes dans les connaissances relatives au comportement social

  • Les profils d’association de l’épaulard migrateur de la côte Ouest et les facteurs qui influent sur sa dispersion ne sont pas bien compris.
  • On ignore le degré de concurrence qui existe à l’intérieur des groupes d’épaulards migrateurs ou entre eux, et s’il s’agit d’un facteur dans la dispersion des individus (de manière temporaire ou permanente).
  • La reproduction de l’épaulard migrateur n’est pas bien comprise. Les mécanismes qu’ils utilisent pour éviter la consanguinité demeurent inconnus, en particulier du fait que tous les membres de la population de la côte Ouest partagent des appels sonores.
  • On comprend mal les rapports sociaux entre l’épaulard résident et l’épaulard migrateur. On ne connaît pas les rapports entre l’épaulard migrateur de la côte Ouest et d’autres populations d’épaulards migrateurs.

1.7.6 Lacunes dans les connaissances relatives aux perturbations

  • Les effets à long et à court terme de la perturbation physique (p. ex. transport de marchandises, observation des baleines) sur l’épaulard migrateur ne sont pas bien compris.
  • Les effets à long et à court terme de la perturbation acoustique (aussi bien chronique qu’aiguë) sur l’épaulard migrateur et sur sa proie ne sont pas bien compris.
  • Il existe très peu de données sur les niveaux de bruit ambiant dans toute l’aire de répartition du migrateur de la côte Ouest. Ces données permettraient d’obtenir un important cadre de référence pour l’évaluation des effets de la perturbation acoustique.
  • On doit étudier davantage les effets du stress associé à la perturbation chronique chez le migrateur.