Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Transient Killer Whale [Proposed]

2. Recovery

2.1 Recovery Feasibility

Transient killer whale populations are not expected to achieve high abundances due to their ecological position as upper trophic-level predators and their apparent propensity to live in relatively small populations.  It is presumed that population abundance is limited by prey availability, and whether the current population is below or at carrying capacity is unknown.  Regardless, the threat of decline due to the strikingly high contaminant burden that this population carries as a result of bioaccumulation through its prey, along with other potentially significant threats such as disturbance and prey reduction, warrants the protection of Species at Risk Act prohibitions and the implementation of recovery actions that will address threats, so that transient killer whales do not decline to an Endangered status.  (See section 1.5.2 for the classification of threats and associated risk).  As technologies and methodologies currently exist to reduce many of the threats facing killer whales, their prey and their habitat, recovery is considered feasible.   

Contaminants are considered a high priority threat that must be addressed, and sources of these chemicals are widespread and diffuse.  Accordingly, cooperation among federal, provincial and municipal governments, industries that produce or use these chemicals, and action at a citizen level, will be necessary to mitigate the effects of this threat.  Effective implementation of initiatives such as Environment Canada’s Georgia Basin Action Plan (EC-GBAP 2005), Environment Canada’s regulatory review of these chemicals, and non-governmental programs such as the Green Boater Program and Pesticide Free Lawns, will complement the objectives in this recovery strategy to improve the quality of killer whale prey and their habitat, and reduce disturbance to important life processes.  The decline of PCBs, DDT, dioxins and furans in the local marine environment since their source control and regulation demonstrates that actions taken can have tangible results and should serve as a model for the management of persistent, bioaccumulative and toxic (PBTs) chemicals, such as the largely unregulated PBDEs.

As prohibitions on the killing of pinnipeds since the early 1970s have resulted in pinniped populations approaching or at historic levels of abundance, there appears to be no immediate threat of prey limitation.  However, further research on the dietary needs of the transient population is required.  

Finally, measures to address the threat of disturbance have resulted in a reduction in disturbance from some priority activities.  The successful implementation of monitoring programs for boaters viewing and operating vessels around all marine mammals, including transient killer whales, indicate a greater awareness and compliance to appropriate boating practices (e.g., ‘Be Whale Wise’ boating guidelines developed by DFO and the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration).  Ecotourism operators in British Columbia have shown leadership and initiative in developing codes of practices, such as the ‘Best Practices Guidelines’ developed by the industry-based Whale Watch Operators Association- Northwest (WWOANW 2006), which have also evolved to consider new information regarding activities that cause disturbance.  Protocols for the mitigation of acute noise from both military active sonar and seismic have similarly reduced the threat of disturbance or injury from these activities (see Section 1.6.3).

2.2 Recovery Goal

To attain long-term viability of the West Coast transient killer whale population by providing the conditions necessary to preserve the population’s reproductive potential, genetic variation, and cultural continuity

2.3 Population Objectives

This recovery goal reflects the complex social and behavioural dynamics of transient killer whales and the key threats that may lead to their decline.  In the absence of historical data, it does not identify a numerical target for a “viable” population because the current understanding of killer whale population demographics is inadequate for setting a meaningful value at this time.  However, because maintaining the demographic conditions that will preserve the population’s reproductive potential, genetic variation, and cultural continuity is fundamental to the population’s continued existence, population objectives, in the form of demographic indicators, have been expressed herein that will serve as interim measures of recovery success.

There are three population objectives for the five-year time span of this recovery strategy: 

  • P1   The population size, averaged over the next five years, will remain at or above the current level.
  • P2   The number of breeding females in the population, averaged over the next five years, will remain at levels that will provide a neutral or positive growth rate.
  • P3  Studies will be undertaken to determine numerical and demographic population objectives that represent long-term viability for this population. 

2.4 Distribution Objectives

Transient killer whales currently range widely throughout British Columbia, and into southeastern Alaska and Washington state waters.  This range likely reflects the whales’ hunting strategies and the wide distribution of their prey.  At the same time, little is understood about how transient killer whales associate and how groups range and utilize the known habitat. The following distribution objectives are directed at understanding these relationships and ensuring that the population, as a whole, has access to adequate quantities of their known prey species throughout their range. 

There are three distribution objectives for the five-year time span of this recovery strategy: 

  • D1  Transient killer whales will continue to utilize their known range.
  • D2  Prey will be available, in quantities adequate to support recovery, throughout the currently known range of transient killer whales.
  • D3   Studies will be undertaken to determine how the range is utilized at a population and sub-population level. 

2.5 Recovery Objectives

To achieve protection (recovery) of this population, studies to understand conservation threats and the development of measures to address the threats are necessary. Given our current knowledge, the primary anthropogenic threats to the long-term survival of transient killer whales appear to be environmental contaminants and disturbance.  However, while some of the key prey species of pinniped are currently at historic high levels, the potential for these populations to decline because of human activities dictates the need for objectives to ensure prey remains available at sufficient quantities and of adequate quality so as not to limit transient killer whale population maintenance and/or increases. 

Recovery objectives for the next five years of this recovery strategy, which directly address these threats and contribute to achieving the overarching long term recovery goal and the population and distribution objectives, are outlined below.  The first four objectives provide direction for the strategies and approaches that can be used to mitigate and/or eliminate each of the threats facing transient killer whales.  The remaining four objectives focus on obtaining information needed to develop a more comprehensive understanding of these threats, which will allow for the refinement of mitigation measures. 

  • R1  Minimize the exposure to transient killer whales to legacy and emergent pollutants.
  • R2  Minimize the risk of prey population reductions from anthropogenic activities, until precise prey needs can be determined.
  • R3  Current measures to protect transient killer whales from vessel disturbance will be maintained or modified, if determined necessary from further studies.  
  • R4  Minimize the exposure of transient killer whales to acute or chronic sound levels in excess of those considered to cause behavioural or physical harm in cetaceans.
  • R5  The quantity, quality and distribution of transient killer whale prey necessary to sustain or increase the current population level will be determined.
  • R6  A greater understanding of the impacts of contaminants and other biological and non-biological pollutants on transient killer whales will be developed.  
  • R7  The effects of vessel disturbance on transient killer whales will be evaluated. 
  • R8  A more comprehensive understanding of the impacts of chronic and acute noise on transient killer whales will be developed.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de Rétablissement de l'Épaulard [projet]

2. Rétablissement

2.1 Faisabilité du rétablissement

On ne s’attend pas à ce que les populations d’épaulards migrateurs atteignent des niveaux d’abondance élevés en raison de leur position écologique en tant que prédateurs de niveau trophique supérieur et de leur propension apparente à vivre en populations relativement petites. On suppose que l’abondance de la population est limitée par la disponibilité des proies, mais on ignore si la population actuelle est en-deçà de sa capacité limite ou si elle l’a atteint. Néanmoins, la menace d’un déclin attribuable à la charge de contaminants remarquablement élevée que présente cette population à cause de la bioaccumulation imputable à ses proies ainsi que d’autres menaces potentiellement importantes, comme la perturbation et la réduction des proies, justifient la protection découlant des interdictions prévues par la Loi sur les espèces en péril et l’application de mesures de rétablissement qui cibleront les menaces de sorte que la population migratrice ne décroisse pas jusqu’à atteindre le statut d’espèce en voie de disparition. (Voir la section 1.5.2 pour la classification des menaces et du risque connexe.)

Comme il existe actuellement des technologies et des méthodes nous permettant de réduire les nombreuses menaces qui pèsent sur les épaulards, leurs proies et leur habitat, le rétablissement est considéré comme étant réalisable.

On estime que les contaminants constituent une menace très prioritaire qui doit être examinée, mais les sources de ces produits chimiques sont répandues et diffuses. En conséquence, si l’on veut atténuer les effets de cette menace, on doit obtenir la collaboration des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux et des administrations municipales ainsi que celle des industries qui produisent ou emploient ces produits chimiques de même que des actions de la part du public. La mise en œuvre efficace d’initiatives comme le Plan d’action du bassin de Georgia d’Environnement Canada (EC-PABG, 2005), l’examen réglementaire de ces produits chimiques par Environnement Canada et les programmes non gouvernementaux, comme le Guide à l’usage du plaisancier et Pelouses sans pesticides, compléteront les objectifs du présent programme de rétablissement qui consistent à améliorer la qualité des proies de l’épaulard et de leur habitat ainsi qu’à réduire la perturbation des processus vitaux importants. Le déclin des BPC, du DDT, des dioxines et des furannes présents dans l’environnement marin local depuis la limitation et la réglementation de leurs sources démontre que les mesures prises peuvent donner des résultats concrets et doivent servir de modèle à la gestion des produits chimiques persistants, biocumulatifs et toxiques (TBP), comme les PBDE qui sont en grande partie non réglementés.

Comme les interdictions d’abattage des pinnipèdes instaurées au début des années 1970 ont permis aux populations de pinnipèdes de s’approcher des niveaux historiques de l’abondance ou d’atteindre ces niveaux, la limitation des proies ne semblent pas constituer une menace immédiate. Cela dit, une recherche plus approfondie concernant les besoins alimentaires de la population d’épaulard migrateur est nécessaire.

Finalement, les mesures s’attaquant à la menace posée par la perturbation ont entraîné une réduction de la perturbation causée par certaines activités prioritaires. La réussite de la mise en œuvre de programmes de surveillance auprès des propriétaires de bateaux qui effectuent l’observation des mammifères marins, y compris des épaulards migrateurs, et qui circulent à proximité d’eux indique qu’ils sont plus sensibilisés à l’importance d’adopter des pratiques nautiques appropriées et les observent davantage (p. ex. les lignes directrices « Respectez les baleines » élaborées par le MPO et la US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration). En Colombie-Britannique, les entreprises d’écotourisme ont fait preuve de leadership et d’initiative en établissant des codes de pratique, tels que les « pratiques exemplaires à observer » élaborées par la Whale Watch Operators Association-Northwest (WWOANW, 2006). Ces pratiques ont également évolué de sorte qu’elles tiennent compte de nouvelles données relatives aux activités qui causent la perturbation. Les protocoles visant l’atténuation des bruits aigus provenant de sonars militaires actifs et des levés sismiques ont, de manière similaire, réduit la menace que représente la perturbation ou les dommages causés par ces activités(voir la section 1.6.3).

2.2 But du rétablissement

Atteindre la viabilité à long terme de la population d’épaulards migrateurs de la côte Ouest en réunissant les conditions nécessaires à la préservation de son potentiel reproducteur, de sa variation génétique et de sa continuité culturelle.

2.3 Objectifs en matière de population

L’objectif de rétablissement tient compte des dynamiques sociales et comportementales complexes des épaulards migrateurs ainsi que des principales menaces qui seraient responsables de leur déclin. En l’absence de données historiques, nous n’avons fixé aucune cible quantitative pour une population « viable », notre compréhension actuelle de la démographie de la population d’épaulards ne permettant pas, à ce jour, d’établir une valeur significative à cet égard. Cependant, puisqu’il est fondamental pour la continuité de l’existence des populations, de maintenir des conditions démographiques qui préserveront le potentiel reproducteur, la variation génétique et la continuité culturelle des épaulards, des objectifs démographiques sous forme d’indicateurs sont décrits dans le présent document et serviront d’indicateurs provisoires de la réussite du rétablissement.

Dans le cadre du présent programme de rétablissement qui s’étend sur une période de cinq ans, on a fixé les trois objectifs suivants en matière de population.

  • P1   Maintenir la taille de la population, en moyenne sur les cinq prochaines années, au niveau actuel ou au-dessus.
  • P2   Maintenir le nombre de femelles reproductrices dans la population, en moyenne sur les cinq prochaines années, à des niveaux qui permettent d’atteindre un taux de croissance neutre ou positif.
  • P3  Entreprendre des études pour déterminer des objectifs quantitatifs et démographiques qui représentent la viabilité à long terme de cette population.

2.4 Objectifs en matière de répartition

L’épaulard migrateur se déplace actuellement sur un vaste territoire de la Colombie-Britannique et dans les eaux du sud-estde l’Alaska et de l’État de Washington. Cette aire de répartition reflète probablement les stratégies de chasse des baleines de même que la vaste répartition de leurs proies. On dispose de peu d’information sur la façon dont les épaulards migrateurs s’associent et sur la façon dont les groupes se déplacent et utilisent l’habitat connu. Les objectifs suivants en matière de répartition visent la compréhension de ces rapports de même que l’assurance que la population, dans son ensemble, a accès en quantité adéquate aux espèces-proies connues dont elle a besoin, et ce, dans toute son aire de répartition.

Voici les objectifs en matière de répartition du présent programme quinquennal de rétablissement.

  • Rep1    Veiller à ce que l’épaulard migrateur continue d’utiliser son aire de répartition connue.
  • Rep2    Veiller à ce qu’il y ait des proies, et ce, en quantités adéquates pour appuyer le rétablissement dans toute l’aire de répartition de l’épaulard migrateur qui est actuellement connue.
  • Rep3    Entreprendre des études visant à déterminer dans quelle mesure l’aire de répartition est utilisée à l’échelle de la population et des sous-populations.

2.5  Objectifs en matière de rétablissement

Pour protéger (rétablir) la population migratrice, il faut réaliser des études en vue de comprendre les menaces en matière de conservation et d’élaborer des mesures permettant de les contrer. Selon nos connaissances actuelles, les contaminants environnementaux et la perturbation semblent être les principales menaces d’origine anthropique qui pèsent sur la survie à long terme de l’épaulard migrateur. Cependant, bien que certaines des principales espèces-proies (pinnipèdes) affichent actuellement des niveaux historiques élevés, le potentiel de déclin de ces populations en raison de l’activité humaine fait en sorte qu’il faut établir des objectifs pour que ces populations demeurent suffisamment abondantes et de qualité adéquate pour ne pas empêcher le maintien ou l’accroissement de la population d’épaulards migrateurs.

Dans le cadre du présent programme quinquennal, on a fixé les objectifs suivants qui ciblent directement ces menaces et contribuent à l’atteinte du but général à long terme en matière de rétablissement et les objectifs relatifs à la population et à la répartition. Les quatre premiers objectifs donnent une orientation sur les stratégies et les approches qui peuvent servir à atténuer ou à éliminer chacune des menaces auxquelles fait face l’épaulard migrateur. Les quatre derniers ciblent l’information nécessaire pour acquérir une connaissance plus approfondie de ces menaces, ce qui permettra d’améliorer les mesures d’atténuation.

  • Ret1     Limiter l’exposition des épaulards migrateurs aux polluants hérités et nouveaux.
  • Ret2     Limiter le risque que représente des réductions des populations de proies attribuables à des activités humaines, jusqu’à ce que l’on puisse déterminer leurs besoins précis.
  • Ret3     Maintenir les mesures actuelles visant à protéger l’épaulard migrateur contre la perturbation causée par des bateaux, ou les modifier si d’autres d’études en démontrent la nécessité.
  • Ret4     Réduire l’exposition de l’épaulard migrateur à des niveaux sonores aigus ou chroniques dépassant ceux que l’on considère responsables de troubles comportementaux ou physiques chez les cétacés.
  • Ret5     Déterminer la quantité, la qualité et la répartition des proies dont a besoin l’épaulard migrateur pour maintenir le niveau actuel de la population ou l’augmenter.
  • Ret6     Améliorer notre compréhension des effets qu’ont les contaminants et les autres polluants biologiques et non biologiques sur l’épaulard migrateur.
  • Ret7     Évaluer les effets de la perturbation causée par les bateaux sur l’épaulard migrateur.
  • Ret8     Améliorer notre compréhension des effets du bruit chronique et aigu sur l’épaulard migrateur.