Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The primary factor responsible for the decline of Atlantic cod was overfishing (Hutchings and Myers 1994; Hutchings 1996; Myers et al. 1997b; Shelton and Lilly 2000; Hutchings and Ferguson 2000a,b; Bundy 2001; Fu et al. 2001; Smedbol et al. 2002).  In some areas, reductions in individual growth (Dutil and Lambert 2000; Drinkwater 2002), attributable to environmental effects or size-selective fishing mortality (Sinclair et al. 2002), may have exacerbated the rate of population decline; in some areas, increases in natural mortality may also have contributed to the decline (Dutil and Lambert 2000).  It is important to note, however, that there is no evidence to suggest that the rates of growth and natural mortality experienced by cod in the 1980s were unprecedented.  Although hypotheses invoking other factors have been posited, there are inadequate data that would allow for definitive tests of these hypotheses.

In theory, removal of the dominant source of anthropogenic mortality (fishing) should have resulted in population recovery.  However, with one exception (St. Pierre Bank cod in the northeastern portion of the range of the Gulf/Maritimes population), recovery has not been forthcoming in the decade since the fisheries were initially closed.  Empirical analyses of these issues suggest that factors other than fishing are of greater importance to recovery than fishing alone.

Recent work indicates that lack of recovery is not at all unusual among marine fish populations that experience 15-year rates of decline greater than 80% (Hutchings 2000, 2001a), even when associated with dramatic reductions in fishing mortality (Hutchings 2001b; Denney et al. submitted).  However, although the factors responsible for the lack of recovery in Atlantic cod are not well understood, recent analyses implicate some combination of the following:  below-average water temperatures (in some areas, in some years), fishing quotas, illegal fishing practices, bycatch, marine mammal predation, genetic changes to life history effected by fishing (see Hutchings 1999; Sinclair et al. 2002), and predation of eggs by pelagic fishes (Hutchings 1999, 2000, 2001b; Swain and Castonguay 2000; Swain and Sinclair 2000; McLaren et al. 2001; Smedbol et al. 2002).

The tremendous influence that even small catches (in the absolute sense) can have on recovery can be illustrated by considering the lack of recovery for northern cod (NAFO Divisions 2J3KL) in the Newfoundland & Labrador population.  Despite having experienced declines in excess of 97%, DFO accepted the advice of the Fisheries Resource Conservation Council (www.frcc.gc.ca) and allowed directed fishing on this stock from 1999 through 2002, a measure that has had a clear and deleterious impact on the recovery of Canada's most depleted cod stock, as illustrated by the exploitation rates presented below.

Although the quotas in recent years have been small relative to those set in the mid-1980s (5,600-9,000 tonnes compared with quotas exceeding 200,000 tonnes), the impact on northern cod has been high because the size of the population is correspondingly low.  This conclusion is based on mark-recapture estimates of exploitation rate analysed by DFO (DFO 2002; Brattey and Healey MS2003).  A summary of these estimates is provided in the table below (these data were obtained from Table 4 in Brattey and Healey MS2003, unpublished data, presented at DFO's Zonal Assessment Meeting, Halifax, 20 February 2003).

Tagging location (northeast coast of Newfoundland)Exploitation rates on northern cod tagged and recaptured in 1999Exploitation rates on northern cod tagged and recaptured in 2002
Notre Dame Bay30-63%12-20%
Bonavista Bay6-18%14-19%
Trinity Bay4-13%10-27%

Based on these estimates of exploitation rate, one can only conclude that the northern cod quotas reintroduced in 1999 have had a negative impact on the growth and recovery of northern cod.  This conclusion is based on two observations.  Firstly, prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%.  Many of the exploitation rates reported above would, thus, permit little or no population growth.  Secondly, maximum rates of population increase for northern cod have been estimated at 10 to 30% per annum (Myers et al. 1997a; Hutchings 1999).  Given that the range in exploitation rate estimates typically falls within this 10-30% range of maximum population growth, population recovery will not occur, irrespective of the number of individuals in the population.

Based on the proceedings of a DFO workshop held in St. John’s, Newfoundland, in March 2000 (Swain and Castonguay 2000), the lack of recovery of Atlantic cod in Canadian waters south of Cape Chidley can be attributed to:

1.        Collapsed age structure, loss of spawning components (e.g., the spring-spawning component on the Eastern Scotian Shelf), and/or reduced area occupied by spawners;

2.        Below-average recruitment rate in some parts of the range (Southern Grand Bank, St. Pierre Bank, Eastern and Western Scotian Shelf), but not others (NE Newfoundland Shelf, Northern and Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence);

3.        Higher-than-expected natural mortality of adults in some parts of the range of each population;

4.        Decline in individual growth rate in some areas within each population.

If physical structure is critically important to the survival of juvenile cod, notably in the form of plants, bottom heterogeneity, and corals, then reductions in suitable habitat may also be affecting recovery.  The reduction in physical heterogeneity on the bottom, and the loss of potentially important deep-sea corals, can be attributed to the bottom-trawling gear used to catch groundfish (Collie et al. 1997, 2000; Kaiser and de Groot 2000).  In Canadian waters, it has been reported that bottom-trawling may have relatively little impact on invertebrate macrofauna inhabiting sandy bottoms (Kenchington et al. 2001), although similar studies on the potential effects of trawling on fishes and fish habitat have not been undertaken (but see Mortensen et al. submitted).

Regarding predation by marine mammals, an independent expert panel concluded that the recoveries of northern cod in the Newfoundland & Labrador population and that of northern Gulf cod in the Laurentian North population have been negatively affected by seal predation (McLaren et al. 2001).

The possibility that the intense fishing pressure experienced by cod in the late 1980s and early 1990s resulted in genetic changes to heritable life history traits cannot be discounted.  There is evidence to suggest that age at maturity and growth rate is lower in several cod stocks at present than it was prior to the stock collapses (Smedbol et al. 2002).  The observed changes in age at maturity cannot be explained as phenotypic responses (Hutchings 1999), leaving genetic responses to selection (selecting against late-maturing genotypes) as the most parsimonious explanation for the earlier maturity observed in some areas.  Similarly, smaller weights-at-age among cod in some areas can also be explained as a result of selection against fast-growing genotypes during periods of intensive fishing (see Sinclair et al. 2002).  Of course, in order to test these hypotheses of genetic change, one would have to compare, in a common-garden experiment, the ages at maturity and growth rates of random samples of genotypes before and after the selection event (i.e., fishing in the late 1980s and early 1990s).  The obvious unavailability of the former renders the testing of these hypotheses impossible.

In summary, the primary cause of the reduction of Atlantic cod throughout its range was over-exploitation; in some areas, the rate of decline may have been exacerbated by reductions in individual growth and apparent increases in natural mortality.  Identifiable threats to the recovery of Atlantic cod include directed fishing (a consequence of the setting of quotas), indirected fishing (a consequence of illegal fishing, catch misreporting, discarding), and bycatch from other fisheries for bottom-dwelling species.  Additional threats to recovery include altered biological ecosystems, and concomitant changes to the magnitude and types of species interactions (such as an increase in cod mortality attributable to seal predation).  These ecosystem-level changes appear to have resulted in increased mortality among older cod.  Selection against late maturity and rapid growth rate, induced by previously high rates of exploitation, may also be contributing to the higher mortality (effected by earlier maturity; Beverton et al. 1994) and slower growth observed in some areas today.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Le principal facteur à l'origine du déclin de la morue franche est la surpêche (Hutchings et Myers, 1994; Hutchings, 1996; Myerset al., 1997b; Shelton et Lilly, 2000; Hutchings et Ferguson, 2000a,b; Bundy, 2001; Fu et al., 2001; Smedbol et al., 2002). Dans certaines régions, les réductions dans la croissance individuelle (Dutil et Lambert, 2000; Drinkwater, 2002) attribuables à des facteurs environnementaux ou à la mortalité par pêche en fonction de la taille (Sinclair et al., 2002) pourraient avoir accéléré le taux de déclin des populations; dans d'autres, l’augmentation de la mortalité naturelle pourrait aussi avoir contribué au phénomène (Dutil et Lambert, 2000). Il importe toutefois de souligner que rien ne permet de croire que les taux de croissance et de mortalité naturelle qu'a connus la morue dans les années 1980 sont sans précédent. Plusieurs hypothèses invoquant d’autres facteurs que la pêche ont été avancées, mais les données sont insuffisantes pour permettre de les vérifier.

En théorie, l’élimination de la principale cause de mortalité d’origine anthropique (la pêche) aurait dû entraîner le rétablissement des populations. Malheureusement, à une exception près (le stock du banc Saint-Pierre), cela n’a pas été le cas dans la décennie qui a suivi les premières fermetures des pêches. D’après les analyses empiriques, il semble que d’autres facteurs soient plus importants pour le rétablissement que la seule pêche.

Des travaux récents ont révélé que l’absence de rétablissement n’est pas du tout inhabituelle dans les populations de poissons marins qui connaissent des taux de déclin supérieurs à 80 p. 100 sur 15 ans (Hutchings, 2000, 2001a), même en cas de réduction considérable de la mortalité par pêche (Hutchings, 2001b; Denney et al., article proposé). Cependant, bien qu’on connaisse mal les causes de cette absence de rétablissement chez la morue franche, des analyses récentes indiquent qu’il pourrait s’agir d’une combinaison des facteurs suivants : températures de l’eau inférieures à la moyenne (dans certaines régions, certaines années), quotas de pêches, pratiques de pêche illégales, prises accessoires, prédation par les mammifères marins, modification génétique du cycle de vie causée par la pêche (voir Hutchings, 1999; Sinclair et al., 2002) et prédation des œufs par les poissons pélagiques (Hutchings, 1999, 2000, 2001b; Swain et Castonguay, 2000; Swain et Sinclair, 2000; McLaren et al., 2001; Smedbolet al., 2002).

Pour avoir une idée de l’incidence énorme que peuvent avoir les prises, même infimes (dans le sens absolu), sur le rétablissement, il suffit de rappeler l’échec du rétablissement de la morue du Nord (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO), qui fait partie de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Malgré un déclin supérieur à 97 p. 100, le MPO, sur l’avis du Conseil pour la conservation des ressources halieutiques (www.frcc.gc.ca), a permis la pêche dirigée de ce stock entre 1999 et 2002, ce qui a manifestement eu un impact désastreux sur le rétablissement du stock le plus mal en point du Canada, comme en témoignent les taux d’exploitation présentés ci-dessous.

Malgré la faiblesse des quotas attribués ces dernières années par rapport à ceux du milieu des années 1980 (de 5 600 à 9 000 tonnes comparativement à plus de 200 000 tonnes), l’impact sur la morue du Nord a été énorme parce que l’effectif de la population est proportionnellement faible. Cette conclusion se fonde sur l’analyse, par le MPO (DFO, 2002; Brattey et Healey, MS2003), des estimations du taux d’exploitation obtenues par marquage-recapture. On trouvera dans le tableau ci-dessous un sommaire de ces estimations (ces données sont tirées du tableau 4 de l’étude présentée par Brattey et Healey [MS2003, données inédites] lors de la réunion d’évaluation zonale du MPO, tenue à Halifax le 20 février 2003).

Lieu d’étiquetage (côte Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve)Taux d’exploitation des morues du Nord étiquetées et recapturées en 1999Taux d’exploitation des morues du Nord étiquetées et recapturées en 2002
Baie Notre-Dame30-63 %12-20 %
Baie Bonavista6-18 %14-19 %
Baie Trinité4-13 %10-27 %

D’après ces estimations, on ne peut que conclure que la réattribution de quotas de morue du Nord en 1999 a eu un impact négatif sur la croissance et le rétablissement de ce stock. Cette conclusion se fonde sur deux observations. Premièrement, avant l’effondrement des stocks de morue au début des années 1990, on estimait qu’à des taux d’exploitation inférieurs à 18 p. 100, l’abondance de la population pouvait encore augmenter. Une bonne partie des taux mentionnés ci-dessus ne permettent donc guère à la population de croître, sinon pas du tout. Deuxièmement, les taux maximums d’accroissement de la population de morue du Nord ont été estimés à 10 à 30 p. 100 par année (Myerset al., 1997a; Hutchings, 1999). Comme la fourchette des taux d’exploitation estimés se situe en général à l’intérieur de cette plage de croissance maximum, la population ne peut donc se rétablir, quel que soit le nombre d’individus qui la composent.

D’après le compte rendu d’un atelier organisé par le MPO à Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve en mars 2000 (Swain et Castonguay, 2000), l’absence de rétablissement de la morue franche dans les eaux canadiennes au sud du cap Chidley peut être attribuée aux facteurs suivants :

1.    Effondrement de la structure d'âge, perte de composantes reproductrices (p. ex. composante des géniteurs printaniers dans l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise), et/ou réduction de la superficie occupée par les géniteurs.

2.    Taux de recrutement inférieur à la moyenne dans certaines parties de l’aire de répartition (Sud du Grand Banc, banc Saint-Pierre, est et ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise), mais non dans d'autres (plate-forme du N.-E. de Terre-Neuve, nord et sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent).

3.    Mortalité supérieure aux prévisions chez les adultes dans certaines parties de l'aire de répartition de chaque population.

4.    Déclin du taux de croissance individuel dans certaines régions pour chaque population.

Si la structure physique (notamment les végétaux, l’hétérogénéité du fond et les coraux) a une importance cruciale pour la survie des jeunes morues, alors la disparition d’habitats convenables peut également avoir une incidence sur le rétablissement. La réduction de l’hétérogénéité physique du fond et la disparition de coraux de grands fonds potentiellement importants peuvent être attribuées à la pratique du chalutage pour pêcher le poisson de fond (Collieet al., 1997, 2000; Kaiser et de Groot, 2000). Dans les eaux canadiennes, le chalutage aurait relativement peu d’impact sur la macrofaune d’invertébrés des fonds sableux (Kenchingtonet al., 2001); par contre, aucune étude semblable n’a été faite sur les éventuelles répercussions de cette méthode sur les poissons et leur habitat (mais voir Mortensen et al., article proposé).

En ce qui concerne la prédation par les mammifères marins, un comité de spécialistes indépendants a conclu que le stock de morue du Nord (population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) et le stock de morue du nord du golfe (population du Nord laurentien) avaient effectivement souffert de la prédation par les phoques (McLarenet al., 2001).

On ne peut écarter la possibilité que l’intense pression de pêche dont a fait l’objet la morue à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990 ait provoqué des modifications génétiques des traits héréditaires. Des données indiquent en effet que l’âge à la maturité et le taux de croissance de plusieurs stocks de morue sont plus faibles aujourd’hui qu’ils ne l’étaient avant leur effondrement (Smedbol et al., 2002). Comme les changements observés dans l’âge à la maturité ne peuvent s’expliquer par des réponses phénotypiques (Hutchings, 1999), l’explication la plus simple de la maturité précoce observée dans certaines régions résiderait dans la réponse génétique à la sélection (sélection défavorable aux génotypes à maturation tardive). De même, le poids plus faible selon l’âge observé chez les morues de certaines régions peut aussi s’expliquer comme une conséquence de la sélection défavorable aux génotypes à croissance rapide durant les périodes de pêche intensive (voir Sinclair et al., 2002). Certes, pour vérifier ces hypothèses concernant les changements génétiques, il faudrait comparer les âges à la maturité et les taux de croissance d’échantillons aléatoires de génotypes avant et après l’événement de sélection (c.‑à‑d. la pêche à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990) dans le cadre d’expériences réalisées dans des conditions environnementales semblables. Comme il est manifestement impossible d’obtenir des échantillons datant d’avant l’événement de sélection, cette vérification s’avère impossible.

Bref, la principale cause du déclin de la morue franche dans toute son aire de répartition est la surexploitation. Dans certaines régions, ce taux de déclin a pu être accéléré par la réduction de la croissance individuelle et par une augmentation apparente de la mortalité naturelle. Au nombre des facteurs identifiables qui risquent de nuire au rétablissement de la morue franche figurent la pêche dirigée (conséquence de l'établissement de quotas de gestion) et la pêche non dirigée (conséquence de la pêche illégale, des fausses déclarations de prises, du rejet en mer et des prises accessoires des autres pêches d’espèces benthiques). Parmi les autres menaces, mentionnons l’altération des écosystèmes biologiques et les changements simultanés dans l’ampleur et les types des interactions interspécifiques (comme l’augmentation de la mortalité des morues attribuable à la prédation par les phoques). Ces changements à l’échelle des écosystèmes semblent avoir entraîné une augmentation de la mortalité chez les morues plus âgées. La sélection défavorable à la maturité tardive et aux taux de croissance rapide, découlant des taux d’exploitation élevés d’autrefois, pourraient également contribuer à la forte mortalité (liée à l’accélération de la maturité; Beverton et al., 1994) et au ralentissement de la croissance observés aujourd’hui dans certaines régions.