Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Appendix 1: Northern Labrador

Population trend data for each of the Atlantic cod management units recognized by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans

 

Northern Labrador(NAFO Divisions 2GH):

There are very few population abundance data available for cod in this area.  The available data are complicated by the fact that surveys prior to 1986 were line transect surveys (i.e., involving non-random sampling) whereas those conducted thereafter were stratified-random surveys.  The data reported here (Figure 10) are those reported by DFO in the publication authored by Smedbol et al. (2002).  Based on an estimated age at maturity of 5.25 years for the period 1947 to 1950 (Smedbol et al. 2002), northern Labrador cod have declined 95% over the past three generations, based on the available data.

 

Northeast NewfoundlandShelf, or “Northern” Cod (NAFO Divisions 2J3KL):

The average age among individuals in the current cohort is 6.2 years, based on the survey catch rate data (Lilly et al. 1991; Peter Shelton, DFO, Newfoundland, personal communication).  Based on data from the 1980s, age at 50% maturity is about 6years for northern cod (Lilly et al. 2001).  Thus, in an unfished state, generation time is estimated to be 6+(1/0.2) = 11years, yielding a three-generation time period of 33 years.

The survey catch rate data are those reported by Lilly et al. (1991) and by Peter Shelton (personal communication).  Abundance of the mature portion of the population, as estimated by VPA, are available from Baird et al. (1992) for the years 1962 to 1977 and from Bishop et al. (1993) for the years 1978 to 1992.  Spawning population size for the years 1993 through 2001, for which VPA-based estimates are unavailable, was extrapolated from the survey-based spawner biomass index provided by Lilly et al. (1991; Fig. 13).  To undertake this estimation, I first regressed the (log) survey catch rate data (numbers per tow for individuals age 5 years and older) against the (log) VPA abundance estimates for the same age classes for the years 1983 to 1992.  The correlation coefficient (r=0.74) associated with this regression was significant (p=0.01).  I then used this regression, incorporating the survey catch rate data from 1993 to 2001, to estimate numbers of individuals for the years 1993 to 2001.

Irrespective of the data source, the 3-generation rate of decline experienced by northern cod exceeded 95% (Figure 11).

Age (yr) at maturityGeneration
time (yr)
Data SourceData typeTime periodRate of change
611surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1983-2001−99.9%
  VPAnumbers of spawners1968-2001−97%


Figure 11.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Northern cod stock (NAFO Divisions 2J3KL).

Figure 11.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Northern cod stock (NAFO Divisions 2J3KL).

Among other things, this has resulted in an extraordinary decline in the overall abundance of cod in Canadian waters.  In the early 1960s, approximately 75-80% of the cod in Canadian waters was located in NAFO areas 2J, 3K, and 3L (see Figure 12); in 2001, approximately 20% of Canada's cod were located in the same area.  Of note is the fact that I have used ages 5 years and older for my calculation of the size of the breeding population of northern cod.  The reason for doing so is based on the observation that significant numbers of cod 5 and 6 years of age in this stock are mature (Lilley et al. 2001).  In contrast, recent estimates of the size of the breeding population of northern cod by DFO (Smedbol et al. 2002) included only those fish aged 7 and older.  Thus, although the trends in abundance are the same, my estimates will over-estimate breeding population size while those presented by DFO can be considered under-estimates.

Figure 12.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in Canada’s Atlantic cod stocks, showing the size of the Northern cod stock (2J3KL), part of the Newfoundland & Labrador population, relative to the sizes of the other stocks.

Figure 12.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in Canada’s Atlantic cod stocks, showing the size of the Northern cod stock (2J3KL), part of the Newfoundland & Labrador population, relative to the sizes of the other stocks.

Area of occupancy:

Between 1983 and 2001 (the range of the reported data), area of occupancy declined from approximately 275,000 km2 to approximately 215,000 km2, a rate of decline of roughly 22% (Smedbol et al. 2002).

Threats to recovery posed by fishing and marine mammal predation:

DFO has estimated that, since 1999, fishing has been removing 4 to 63% of the available northern cod, depending on the fishing region (DFO 2002; Brattey and Healey MS2003) (prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%).  For the northern cod stock as a whole, recent estimates of exploitation rate are in excess of 30% (Smedbol et al. 2002). Regarding predation of cod by seals, an independent Expert Panel concluded that "it is difficult to disagree with the most recent stock status assessment that 'there is a possibility that predation by seals is preventing the recovery of the cod stock'. This view is further supported by new (although highly uncertain) estimates that the consumption of cod >3 y old by hooded seals in the offshore substantially exceeds the estimated biomass" (McLaren et al. 2001).

Southern Grand Bank (NAFO Divisions 3NO):

The average age among individuals in the current cohort is 11.3 years, based on the spring survey catch rate data for 2001 (Don Stansbury, DFO, Newfoundland Region, personal communication).  Based on data from the 1970s and 1980s, age at 50% maturity is about 6yr for southern Grand Bank cod (Trippel et al. 1997; Stansbury et al. 2001).  Thus, in an unfished state, generation time is estimated to be 11years, yielding a three-generation time period of 33 years.  The survey data are those reported by Stansbury et al. (2001) and by Stansbury (personal communication).  Abundance data for the mature part of the population, as estimated by VPA, are available from Stansbury et al. (2001).  The earliest year for which survey data are available is 1984.  VPA estimates of abundance extend back to 1959.

Irrespective of the data source, the 3-generation rate of decline experienced by southern Grand Bank cod exceeded 95% (Figure 13).

Age (yr) at maturityGeneration
time (yr)
Data SourceData typeTime periodRate of change
611surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1984-2001−95%
  VPAnumbers of spawners1968-2001−98%

 


Figure 13.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Southern Grand Bank cod stock (NAFO Divisions 3NO).

Figure 13.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Southern Grand Bank cod stock (NAFO Divisions 3NO).

Area of occupancy:

Between 1984 and 2000 (the range of the reported data), area of occupancy declined from approximately 90,000 km2 to approximately 75,000 km2, a rate of decline of roughly 17% (Smedbol et al. 2002).

Threats to recovery posed by fishing and marine mammal predation:

In the past 5 years, exploitation rates have been low, generally estimated to be less than 5% (Smedbol et al. 2002) (prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%).  There is insufficient data to evaluate the threat to recovery posed by marine mammal predation on southern Grand Bank cod (McLaren et al. 2001).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Annexe 1: Nord du Labrador

Données sur les tendances des populations pour chacune des unités de gestion de la morue franche reconnues par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans

 

Nord du Labrador (divisions 2GH de l’OPANO) :

Il existe très peu de données sur l’abondance de la population de morue dans cette région. L’utilisation des données disponibles est compliquée par le fait qu’avant 1986, les relevés étaient réalisés sur des transects linéaires (c.-à-d. par échantillonnage non aléatoire), alors que par la suite on a effectué des relevés par échantillonnage aléatoire stratifié. Les données retenues ici (figure 10) sont celles que rapporte le MPO dans la publication de Smedbol et al. (2002). Si l’on estime l’âge à la maturité à 5,25 ans pour la période de 1947 à 1950 (Smedbol et al., 2002), la morue du Nord du Labrador a subi une baisse de 95 p. 100 au cours des trois dernières générations, d’après les données disponibles.

Morue du Nord-Est de la plate-forme de Terre-Neuve, ou « morue du Nord » (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO) :

 

L'âge moyen des individus de la cohorte actuelle est de 6,2 ans, d’après les données sur le taux de capture des relevés (Lilly et al., 1991; Peter Shelton, MPO, Terre-Neuve, communication personnelle). D’après les données des années 1980, l'âge à 50 p. 100 de maturité est d’environ 6 ans pour la morue du Nord (Lilly et al., 2001). Ainsi, en l’absence de pêche, on estime la durée d’une génération à 6+(1/0,2) = 11 ans, soit 33 ans pour la durée de trois générations.

Les données sur le taux de capture des relevés sont celles de Lilly et al. (1991) et de Peter Shelton (communication personnelle). L’abondance de la portion mature de la population, estimée par APV, est tirée de Baird et al. (1992) pour les années 1962 à 1977, et de Bishop et al. (1993) pour les années 1978 à 1992. L’effectif de la population reproductrice pour les années 1993 à 2001, période pour laquelle on ne dispose pas d’estimations basées sur l’APV, a été extrapolé à partir de l’indice de biomasse reproductrice tiré des relevés et fourni par Lilly et al. (1991; fig. 13). Pour réaliser cette estimation, j’ai tout d’abord fait une régression du logarithme du taux de capture des relevés (nombre par trait pour les individus âgés de 5 ans et plus) sur le logarithme des estimations de l’abondance obtenues par APV pour les mêmes classes d'âge, pour les années 1983 à 1992. Le coefficient de corrélation (r=0,74) associé à cette régression était significatif (p=0,01). Je me suis alors servi de cette régression, en intégrant les données sur le taux de capture des relevés de 1993 à 2001, pour estimer le nombre d’individus pour les années 1993 à 2001.


Quelle que soit la source des données, le taux de déclin sur trois générations observé chez la morue du Nord dépassait 95 p. 100 (figure 11).

Âge (ans) à maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
611relevétaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1983-2001–99,9 %
  APVnbre de géniteurs1968-2001–97 %


Figure 11. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du Nord (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO).

Figure 11. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du Nord (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO).

Ce facteurs, parmi d’autres, a provoqué une baisse extraordinaire de l’abondance globale de morue dans les eaux canadiennes. Au début des années 1960, environ 75 à 80 p. 100 des morues des eaux canadiennes se trouvaient dans les zones 2J, 3K et 3L de l’OPANO (voir la figure 12); en 2001, on n’y retrouvait qu’environ 20 p. 100 des morues canadiennes. Il faut souligner que j’ai retenu les individus âgés de 5 ans et plus pour calculer la taille de la population reproductrice de morue du Nord, après avoir observé qu’un nombre significatif de morues de 5 et 6 ans de ce stock sont matures (Lilly et al., 2001). Par contre, des estimations récentes de la taille de la population reproductrice de morue du Nord effectuées par le MPO (Smedbol et al., 2002) ne tenaient compte que des morues de 7 ans et plus. Donc, même si les tendances de l’abondance sont similaires, mes chiffres vont surestimer la taille de la population reproductrice, alors que ceux du MPO peuvent être considérés comme des sous-estimations.

Figure 12. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans les stocks de morue du Canada atlantique, montrant la taille du stock de morue du Nord (2J3KL), qui fait partie de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, relativement à la taille des autres stocks.

Figure 12. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans les stocks de morue du Canada atlantique, montrant la taille du stock de morue du Nord (2J3KL), qui fait partie de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, relativement à la taille des autres stocks.

Zone d’occupation :

Entre 1983 et 2001 (période couverte par les données), la zone d’occupation a diminué, passant d’environ 275 000 km2 à environ 215 000 km2, soit un taux de diminution de l’ordre de 22 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Entraves au rétablissement attribuables à la pêche et à la prédation par les mammifères marins :

Le MPO estime que, depuis 1999, la pêche a prélevé de 4 à 63 p. 100 du volume disponible de morue du Nord, selon la région de pêche (DFO, 2002; Brattey et Healey, MS2003) (avant les effondrements du début des années 1990, on estimait que les populations de morue pourraient connaître une hausse de l’abondance si le taux d’exploitation était inférieur à 18 p. 100). Pour l’ensemble du stock de morue du Nord, les estimations récentes du taux d’exploitation dépassent 30 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002). En ce qui concerne la prédation exercée par les phoques, un comité d’experts indépendant a conclu qu’il est difficile de rejeter la plus récente évaluation de l’état des stocks, selon laquelle il est possible que cette prédation empêche le rétablissement du stock de morue. Cette opinion est étayée par de nouvelles estimations (encore très incertaines) selon lesquelles la consommation de morues âgées de plus de 3 ans par les phoques à capuchon dans les eaux du large dépasserait fortement la biomasse estimée (McLaren et al., 2001).

Sud du Grand Banc (divisions 3NO de l’OPANO) :

L'âge moyen des individus qui composent la cohorte actuelle est de 11,3 ans, d’après les données sur le taux de capture des relevés du printemps pour 2001 (Don Stansbury, MPO, Région de Terre-Neuve, communication personnelle). D’après les données des années 1970 et 1980, l'âge à 50 p. 100 de maturité est d’environ 6 ans pour la morue du sud du Grand Banc (Trippel et al. 1997; Stansbury et al., 2001). Ainsi, en l’absence de pêche, la durée d’une génération est estimée à 11 ans, soit 33 ans pour la durée de trois générations. Les données des relevés sont celles que rapportent Stansbury et al. (2001) et Stansbury (communication personnelle). Les données sur l’abondance de la portion mature de la population, estimée par APV, sont tirées de Stansbury et al. (2001). La première année pour laquelle on dispose de données de relevés scientifiques est 1984. Les estimations de l’abondance obtenues par APV remontent à 1959.


Quelle que soit la source des données, le taux de déclin sur trois générations observé chez la morue du sud du Grand Banc dépassait 95 p. 100 (figure 13).

Âge (ans) à maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)
Source des données

Type de données

Période

Taux de changement
611relevétaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1984-2001–95 %
  APVnbre de géniteurs1968-2001–98 %


Figure 13.  Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du Sud du Grand Banc (divisions 3NO de l’OPANO).

Figure 13.  Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du Sud du Grand Banc (divisions 3NO de l’OPANO).

Zone d’occupation :

Entre 1984 et 2000 (période couverte par les données), la zone d’occupation a diminué, passant d’environ 90 000 km2 à environ 75 000 km2, soit un taux de diminution de l’ordre de 17 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Entraves au rétablissement attribuables à la pêche et à la prédation par les mammifères marins :

Depuis 5 ans, les taux d’exploitation sont très faibles – généralement estimés à moins de 5 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002) (avant les effondrements du début des années 1990, on estimait que les populations de morue pourraient connaître une hausse de l’abondance si le taux d’exploitation était inférieur à 18 p. 100). Les données sont insuffisantes pour permettre d’évaluer la menace que représente pour le rétablissement de la morue du sud du Grand Banc la prédation exercée par les mammifères marins (McLaren et al., 2001).