Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Appendix 1: Cabot Strait

Cabot Strait (NAFO Division 4Vn):

The average age among individuals in the current cohort is 5.2 years, based on the survey catch rate data (Mohn et al. 2001; Diane Beanlands, DFO, Dartmouth, personal communication).  Based on data from the 1970s and 1980s for 4T cod, age at 50% maturity is about 4.5 years for southern Cabot Strait cod (Trippel et al. 1997). 

Figure 16.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence cod stock (NAFO Division 4T)


Figure 16.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence cod stock (NAFO Division 4T)


Figure 16.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence cod stock (NAFO Division 4T).

Thus, in an unfished state, generation time is estimated to be 9.5 years, yielding a three-generation time period of 28.5 years.  The survey data and VPA-based estimates of abundance are those reported by Mohn et al. (2001) and communicated to me by Diane Beanlands.  The earliest year for which survey data are available is 1970.  VPA estimates of abundance extend back to 1981.

The rate of decline experienced by Cabot Strait cod differs with the time period and with the type of abundance data used in the analysis.  In the past 20 years, it has declined 95%, based on VPA data.  The research survey data, which extend back to 1970 (Figure 17), suggest that the size of the Cabot Strait cod stock has remained stable over a 3-generation time frame.

Age (yr) at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
4.59.5Surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1972-2001+4%
  VPAnumbers of spawners1981-2000−95%

Area of occupancy:

Between 1970 and 2001 (the range of the reported data), area of occupancy remained constant at approximately 12,000 km2  (Smedbol et al. 2002).

Threats to recovery posed by fishing and marine mammal predation:

Since 1994, exploitation rates have remained very low at approximately 2% (Smedbol et al. 2002) (prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%).  McLaren et al. (2001) report that there is little information with which to judge the effects of seals on Cabot Strait cod.

Eastern Scotian Shelf (NAFO Divisions 4VsW):

The average age among individuals in the current cohort is 5.8 years, based on the survey catch rate data (Mohn et al. 1998; Diane Beanlands, DFO, Dartmouth, personal communication; Paul Fanning, DFO, Dartmouth, personal communication).  Based on data from the 1980s and 1990s, age at 50% maturity is about 4 years for eastern Scotian Shelf cod (Trippel et al. 1997).  Thus, in an unfished state, generation time is estimated to be 9 years, yielding a three-generation time period of 27 years.  The survey data are those reported by Mohn et al. (1998).  Abundance data for the mature part of the population, as estimated by VPA, are available from Mohn et al. (1998).  The earliest year for which survey data are available is 1970.  VPA estimates of abundance extend back to 1970 and end in 1997.

Figure 17.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Cabot Strait cod stock (NAFO Division 4Vn)


Figure 17.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Cabot Strait cod stock (NAFO Division 4Vn).

The 3-generation rate of decline experienced by Eastern Scotian Shelf cod ranges between 75 and 92% (Figure 18).  Indeed, in the five years since a VPA was last undertaken for this stock, survey data indicate a decline in catch rate of one order of magnitude (1998-2002 data).

Figure 18.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Eastern Scotian Shelf cod stock (NAFO Divisions 4VsW)


Figure 18.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Eastern Scotian Shelf cod stock (NAFO Divisions 4VsW)


Figure 18.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Eastern Scotian Shelf cod stock (NAFO Divisions 4VsW).

Age (yr) at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
49Surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1975-2002−92%
  VPAnumbers of spawners1970-1997−75%
        

Area of occupancy:

Between 1970 and 2000 (the range of the reported data), area of occupancy declined from approximately 65,000 km2 to approximately 35,000 km2, a rate of decline of roughly 46% (Smedbol et al. 2002).

Threats to recovery posed by fishing and marine mammal predation:

Since 1994, exploitation rates have remained very low at less than 2% (Smedbol et al. 2002) (prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%).  McLaren et al. (2001) concluded that "the overall evidence that grey seals may be preventing recovery of stocks on the Scotian Shelf is weak".

 

Western Scotian Shelf/Bay of Fundy (NAFO Division 4X):

The average age among individuals in the current cohort is 3.7 years, based on the survey catch rate data (Donald Clark, DFO, St. Andrews, personal communication).  Based on data from the 1970s and 1980s for 4X cod, age at 50% maturity is about 2.5 years (Trippel et al. 1997).  Thus, in an unfished state, generation time is estimated to be 7.5 years, yielding a three-generation time period of 22.5 years.  The survey data and VPA-based estimates of abundance are those reported by and communicated to me by Donald Clark.  The earliest year for which survey data are available is 1970.  VPA estimates of abundance also extend back to 1970.

The 3-generation rate of decline experienced by cod on the Western Scotian Shelf and Bay of Fundy ranged between 53 and 78% (Figure 19).

Age (yr) at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
2.57.5Surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1978-2001−53%
  VPAnumbers of spawners1979-2002−78%

Area of occupancy:

Between 1970 and 2000 (the range of the reported data), area of occupancy declined slightly from approximately 45,000 km2 to approximately 40,000 km2, a rate of decline of roughly 11% (Smedbol et al. 2002).


Figure 19.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Western Scotian Shelf/Bay of Fundy cod stock (NAFO Division 4X)

Figure 19.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Western Scotian Shelf/Bay of Fundy cod stock (NAFO Division 4X).

Threats to recovery posed by fishing and marine mammal predation:

Since 1994, exploitation rates have remained close to 30% (Smedbol et al. 2002) (prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%).  There is little information with which to judge the threat posed by seal predation to Western Scotian Shelf/Bay of Fundy cod (McLaren et al. 2001).

Georges Bank (NAFO Division 5Zj,m):

The average age among individuals in the current cohort is 4.9 years, based on the survey catch rate data (Hunt and Hatt 2002).  Based on data from the 1970s and 1980s, age at 50% maturity is about 2.5 years for Georges Bank cod (Hunt and Hatt 2002).  Thus, in an unfished state, generation time is estimated to be 7.5 years, yielding a three-generation time period of 22.5 years.  The survey and VPA abundance data are those reported by Hunt and Hatt (2002).  The earliest year for which survey data are available is 1978 for the U.S. NMFS (National Marine Fisheries Service) fall survey and 1986 for DFO's spring survey.  VPA estimates of abundance extend back to 1978.

The estimated rate of decline for Georges Bank cod differed considerably among the sources of abundance data.  Estimated rates of change over three generations ranged from a 68 to 70% decline for the longest of the time series to a 5% increase for the DFO spring survey data.  Although the VPA abundance data reveal a steady decline since the late 1970s, survey catch rate data available since the mid-1980s are highly variable (Figure 20).

Age (yr) at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
2.57.5NMFS fall surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1978-2001−68%
  DFO spring surveycatch rate
(# per tow)
1986-2002+5%
  VPAnumbers of spawners1979-2002−70%

Area of occupancy:

Between 1987 and 2001 (the range of the reported data), area of occupancy remained unchanged at approximately 14,000 km2 (Smedbol et al. 2002).

Threats to recovery posed by fishing and marine mammal predation:

Since 1999, exploitation rates have declined to approximately 10% (Smedbol et al. 2002) (prior to the cod collapses in the early 1990s, it was estimated that cod populations could increase in abundance at exploitation rates less than 18%).  There is little information with which to judge the threat posed by seal predation to Georges Bank cod (McLaren et al. 2001).

Figure 20.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Georges Bank (Canadian portion) cod stock (NAFO Division 5Zj,m)

Figure 20.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Georges Bank (Canadian portion) cod stock (NAFO Division 5Zj,m).

Page 24

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Annexe 1: Détroit de Cabot

Détroit de Cabot (division 4Vn de l’OPANO) :

L'âge moyen des individus qui composent la cohorte actuelle est de 5,2 ans, d’après les données sur le taux de capture des relevés (Mohn et al., 2001; Diane Beanlands, MPO, Dartmouth, communication personnelle). D’après les données des années 1970 et 1980 pour la morue de 4T, l’âge à 50 p. 100 de maturité est d’environ 4,5 ans pour la morue du sud du détroit de Cabot (Trippel et al. 1997).

Figure 16. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (division 4T de l’OPANO)

Figure 16. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (division 4T de l’OPANO).

         Ainsi, en l’absence de pêche, la durée d’une génération est estimée à 9,5 ans, soit 28,5 ans pour la durée de trois générations. Les données des relevés et les estimations de l’abondance basées sur l’APV sont tirées de Mohn et al. (2001) et m’ont été communiquées par Diane Beanlands. La première année pour laquelle on dispose de données de relevés scientifiques est 1970. Les estimations de l’abondance obtenues par APV remontent à 1981.

Le taux de déclin observé chez la morue du détroit de Cabot diffère selon la période et le type de données sur l’abondance qui a servi pour l’analyse. Depuis 20 ans, le déclin atteint 95 p. 100, d’après les données basées sur l’APV. Les données des relevés scientifiques, qui remontent à 1970 (figure 17), permettent de penser que la taille du stock de morue du détroit de Cabot est demeurée stable sur la durée de trois générations.

Âge (ans) à maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)
Source des données

Type de données

Période

Taux de changement
4,59,5relevétaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1972-2001+4 %
  APVnbre de géniteurs1981-2000–95 %

Zone d’occupation :

Entre 1970 et 2001 (période couverte par les données), la zone d’occupation est demeurée constante à environ 12 000 km2 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Entraves au rétablissement attribuables à la pêche et à la prédation par les mammifères marins :

Depuis 1994, le taux d’exploitation demeure très bas – environ 2 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002) (avant les effondrements du début des années 1990, on estimait que les populations de morue pourraient connaître une hausse de l’abondance si le taux d’exploitation était inférieur à 18 p. 100). McLaren et al. (2001) signale qu’on dispose de peu d’information qui permettrait de juger des effets des phoques sur la morue du détroit de Cabot.

Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (divisions 4VsW de l’OPANO) :

 

L'âge moyen des individus qui composent la cohorte actuelle est de 5,8 ans, d’après les données sur le taux de capture des relevés (Mohn et al. 1998; Diane Beanlands, MPO, Dartmouth, communication personnelle; Paul Fanning, MPO, Dartmouth, communication personnelle). D’après les données des années 1980 et 1990, l’âge à 50 p. 100 de maturité est d’environ 4 ans pour la morue de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (Trippel et al. 1997). Ainsi, en l’absence de pêche, la durée d’une génération est estimée à 9 ans, soit 27 ans pour la durée de trois générations. Les données des relevés sont tirées de Mohn et al. (1998). Les données sur l’abondance de la portion mature de la population, estimée par APV, sont aussi tirées de Mohn et al. (1998). La première année pour laquelle on dispose de données de relevés scientifiques est 1970. Les estimations de l’abondance obtenues par APV remontent à 1970 et prennent fin en 1997.

Figure 17. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du détroit de Cabot (division 4Vn de l’OPANO)

Figure 17. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du détroit de Cabot (division 4Vn de l’OPANO).

Le taux de déclin sur trois générations observé chez la morue de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise va de 75 à 92 p. 100 (figure 18). En fait, au cours des cinq années écoulées depuis la dernière APV visant ce stock, les données indiquent que le taux de capture a baissé d’un ordre de grandeur (données 1998-2002).

Figure 18. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (divisions 4VsW de l’OPANO)

Figure 18. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (divisions 4VsW de l’OPANO).

Âge (ans) à maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
49relevétaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1975-2002–92 %
  APVnbre de géniteurs1970-1997–75 %
        

Zone d’occupation :

Entre 1970 et 2000 (période couverte par les données), la zone d’occupation a diminué, passant d’environ 65 000 km2 à environ 35 000 km2, soit un taux de diminution de l’ordre de 46 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Entraves au rétablissement attribuables à la pêche et à la prédation par les mammifères marins :

Depuis 1994, le taux d’exploitation reste très bas, à moins de 2 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002) (avant les effondrements du début des années 1990, on estimait que les populations de morue pourraient connaître une hausse de l’abondance si le taux d’exploitation était inférieur à 18 p. 100). McLaren et al. (2001) jugent que les preuves qui tendraient à montrer que les phoques gris pourraient entraver le rétablissement des stocks sur la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise ne sont pas concluantes.

 

Ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise /baie de Fundy (division 4X de l’OPANO) :

L'âge moyen des individus qui composent la cohorte actuelle est de 3,7 ans, d’après les données sur le taux de capture des relevés (Donald Clark, MPO, St. Andrews, communication personnelle). D’après les données des années 1970 et 1980 pour la morue de 4X, l’âge à 50 p. 100 de maturité est d’environ 2,5 ans (Trippel et al. 1997). Ainsi, en l’absence de pêche, la durée d’une génération est estimée à 7,5 ans, soit 22,5 ans pour la durée de trois générations. Les données des relevés scientifiques et les estimations de l’abondance basées sur l’APV sont rapportées et m’ont été communiquées par Donald Clark. La première année pour laquelle on dispose de données de relevés scientifiques est 1970. Les estimations de l’abondance obtenues par APV remontent aussi à 1970.

Le taux de déclin sur trois générations observé chez la morue de l’ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et de la baie de Fundy se situe entre 53 et
78 p. 100 (figure 19).

Âge (ans) à maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
2,57,5relevétaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1978-2001–53 %
  APVnbre de géniteurs1979-2002–78 %

Zone d’occupation :

Entre 1970 et 2000 (période couverte par les données), la zone d’occupation a légèrement diminué, passant d’environ 45 000 km2 à environ 40 000 km2, soit un taux de diminution de l’ordre de 11 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Figure 19. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue de l’ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise / baie de Fundy (division 4X de l’OPANO)

Figure 19. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue de l’ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise / baie de Fundy (division 4X de l’OPANO).

Entraves au rétablissement attribuables à la pêche et à la prédation par les mammifères marins :

Depuis 1994, le taux d’exploitation est demeuré proche de 30 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002) (avant les effondrements du début des années 1990, on estimait que les populations de morue pourraient connaître une hausse de l’abondance si le taux d’exploitation était inférieur à 18 p. 100). On dispose de peu d’information pour mesurer la menace constituée par la prédation des phoques sur la morue de l’ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise / baie de Fundy (McLaren et al., 2001).

 

 

Banc Georges (division 5Zj,m de l’OPANO) :

L'âge moyen des individus qui composent la cohorte actuelle est de 4,9 ans, d’après les données sur le taux de capture des relevés (Hunt et Hatt, 2002). D’après les données des années 1970 et 1980, l’âge à 50 p. 100 de maturité est d’environ 2,5 ans pour la morue du banc Georges (Hunt et Hatt, 2002). Ainsi, en l’absence de pêche, la durée d’une génération est estimée à 7,5 ans, soit 22,5 ans pour la durée de trois générations. Les données des relevés scientifiques et les estimations de l’abondance basées sur l’APV sont rapportées par Hunt et Hatt (2002). La première année pour laquelle on dispose de données de relevés scientifiques est 1978 (relevé d’automne du National Marine Fisheries Service des États-Unis), puis 1886 pour le relevé de printemps du MPO. Les estimations de l’abondance obtenues par APV remontent à 1978.

Le taux de déclin estimatif du stock du banc Georges différait considérablement selon les sources de données sur l’abondance. Les taux de changement sur trois générations allaient d’une baisse de 68 à 70 p. 100 pour la plus longue des séries chronologiques à une augmentation de 5 p. 100 pour le relevé de printemps du MPO. Bien que les données sur l’abondance obtenues par APV révèlent un déclin régulier depuis la fin des années 1970, les données sur le taux de capture des relevés dont on dispose depuis le milieu des années 1980 sont très variables (figure 20).

Âge (ans) à maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
2,57,5NMFS – relevé d’automnetaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1978-2001–68 %
  MPO – relevé de printempstaux de capture
(nbre par trait)
1986-2002+5 %
  APVnbre de géniteurs1979-2002–70 %

Zone d’occupation :

Entre 1987 et 2001 (période couverte par les données), la zone d’occupation n’a pas changé, demeurant à environ 14 000 km2 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Entraves au rétablissement attribuables à la pêche et à la prédation par les mammifères marins :

Depuis 1999, le taux d’exploitation a baissé à environ 10 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002) (avant les effondrements du début des années 1990, on estimait que les populations de morue pourraient connaître une hausse de l’abondance si le taux d’exploitation était inférieur à 18 p. 100). On dispose de peu d’information pour mesurer la menace constituée par la prédation des phoques sur la morue du banc Georges (McLaren et al., 2001).


Figure 20. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du banc Georges (partie canadienne) (division 5Zj,m de l’OPANO)

Figure 20. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du banc Georges (partie canadienne) (division 5Zj,m de l’OPANO).