Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Distribution

Global range

Atlantic cod inhabit all waters overlying the continental shelves of the Northwest and the Northeast Atlantic Ocean.  In the west, cod extend from waters just south of Georges Bank northward to Baffin Island, Nunavut, Canada (Figure 2).  In the Northeast Atlantic, cod range from the North Sea northward through the Norwegian Sea to the Barents Sea off Norway and northern Russia.  Cod are also found in abundance in the Skaggerak and Kattegak, the strait separating Scandinavia from Denmark, and in the southern parts of the Baltic Sea.  On a global scale, the historical distribution of cod probably differs relatively little from that of its present distribution.

Figure 2.  Global distribution of Atlantic cod

Figure 2.  Global distribution of Atlantic cod.

 

Canadian range

In Canada, Atlantic cod are found contiguously along the east coast from Georges Bank and the Bay of Fundy in the south, northward along the Scotian Shelf, throughout the Gulf of St. Lawrence, around the island of Newfoundland, and finally along the east coasts of Labrador and Baffin Island, Nunavut (Figures 2 and 3).  There are also several landlocked populations of Atlantic cod on Baffin Island (McLaren 1967; Patriquin 1967; Table 1).  Outside Canadian waters, cod can be found on the northeast and southeast tips of Grand Bank and on Flemish Cap, lying immediately northeast of Grand Bank.

In addition to these offshore waters (typically at depths less than 500 metres), cod can also be found throughout the coastal, inshore waters of Atlantic Canada.  The best-studied of these is probably the small, resident Gilbert Bay population in southern Labrador (Green and Wroblewski 2000; Morris and Green 2002), a population that is geographically and genetically distinct from cod inhabiting the offshore waters in this area (Ruzzante et al. 2000; Beacham et al. 2002).  Local ecological knowledge, based on interviews with fishers conducted by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans in concert with the Fishermen and Scientists Research Society in the Maritimes, suggests that local, inshore spawning aggregations of cod along coastal Nova Scotia were fewer in number in the late 1990s compared with earlier years.

Figure 3.  Distribution of Atlantic cod in North America from the southern extreme of the species’ range to northern Labrador

Figure 3.  Distribution of Atlantic cod in North America from the southern extreme of the species’ range to northern Labrador, as determined from fisheries independent surveys conducted by the Canadian Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the National Marine Fisheries Service in the United States.  Dots represent survey catch rate data from 1975 to 1994.

The extent of occurrence of Atlantic cod in Canadian waters is probably on the order of 1.1 million square kilometers, an area larger than Ontario, and an area slightly smaller than Quebec.  The extent of occurrence has either remained stable over the past four decades (and earlier) or it has declined.  Area of occupancy appears to have declined in the areas where such measurements are possible (see POPULATION SIZES AND TRENDS below).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

La morue franche habite toutes les eaux qui couvrent les plates-formes continentales de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest et Nord-Est. Dans l’ouest, on retrouve ce poisson depuis les eaux situées juste au sud du banc Georges jusqu’à la Terre de Baffin, Nunavut, Canada (figure 2). Dans l’Atlantique Nord-Est, la morue est présente dans la mer du Nord, la mer de Norvège et jusque dans la mer de Barents, qui baigne les côtes de la Norvège et du nord de la Russie. Elle abonde aussi dans le Skaggerak et le Kattegak, qui forment le détroit séparant la péninsule scandinave du Danemark, et dans les parties méridionales de la mer Baltique. À l’échelle planétaire, la répartition historique de la morue diffère probablement assez peu de sa répartition actuelle.

Figure 2.  Répartition mondiale de la morue franche

Figure 2.  Répartition mondiale de la morue franche.

 

Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, la morue franche occupe un territoire continu le long de la côte est, au sud à partir du banc Georges et de la baie de Fundy, puis en remontant le long de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise, dans tout le golfe du Saint-Laurent, autour de l'île de Terre-Neuve, et enfin le long des côtes orientales du Labrador et de la Terre de Baffin, au Nunavut (figures 2 et 3). Il existe aussi plusieurs populations dulcicoles de morue franche sur la Terre de Baffin (McLaren, 1967; Patriquin, 1967; tableau 1). À l’extérieur des eaux canadiennes, on retrouve la morue sur les pointes Nord-Est et Sud-Est du Grand Banc et sur le Bonnet flamand, situé juste au Nord-Est du Grand Banc.

Outre dans ces eaux hauturières (à des profondeurs généralement inférieures à 500 mètres), on retrouve aussi la morue dans toutes les eaux côtières et littorales du Canada atlantique. Le groupe le mieux étudié est probablement la petite population résidente de la baie Gilbert, dans le Sud du Labrador (Green et Wroblewski, 2000; Morris et Green, 2002), population qui est géographiquement et génétiquement distincte des morues occupant les eaux du large dans la même région (Ruzzante et al., 2000; Beacham et al., 2002). D’après le savoir écologique local, recueilli grâce à des entrevues de pêcheurs menées par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans en collaboration avec la Fishermen and Scientists Research Society des Maritimes, il semble que les regroupements localisés de géniteurs le long du littoral de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont été moins nombreux à la fin des années 1990 par rapport aux années antérieures.

Figure 3. Répartition de la morue franche en Amérique du Nord, de la pointe méridionale de l’aire de l’espèce jusqu’au nord du Labrador, d’après des relevés indépendants des pêches effectués par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada et le National Marine Fisheries Service des États-Unis. Les points représentent les données sur les taux de capture des relevés de 1975 à 1994.

Figure 3. Répartition de la morue franche en Amérique du Nord, de la pointe méridionale de l’aire de l’espèce jusqu’au nord du Labrador, d’après des relevés indépendants des pêches effectués par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada et le National Marine Fisheries Service des États-Unis. Les points représentent les données sur les taux de capture des relevés de 1975 à 1994.

La zone d’occurrence de la morue franche dans les eaux canadiennes est probablement de l’ordre de 1,1 million de kilomètres carrés, soit une superficie plus vaste que celle de l’Ontario et légèrement plus petite que celle du Québec. Cette zone d’occurrence est demeurée stable au cours des quatre dernières décennies (et plus avant dans le passé) ou a diminué. La zone d’occupation semble avoir diminué dans les régions où une telle mesure est possible (voir la section TAILLE ET TENDANCES DES POPULATIONS plus bas).